Customer Reviews for

A Bold Fresh Piece of Humanity: A Memoir

Average Rating 4
( 267 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(136)

4 Star

(64)

3 Star

(25)

2 Star

(14)

1 Star

(28)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

Outstanding Book

I just read your book and it was wonderful. I don't agree with some of the other comments. If people only had the insight that Bill O'Reily does the world would be a happier place.

posted by Anonymous on October 1, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

14 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

Life is a constant struggle between good and evil. In this autobiography, O¿Reilly describes the key life experiences which shaped his beliefs with examples intermingled of what he considers evil.

If you watch O'Reilly's show and you have read any of his other books, you probably already know most of what is in this latest book. This was my second O'Reilly book and I found it quite repetitive (I keep getting the books for Christmas). If you don't watch the show...
If you watch O'Reilly's show and you have read any of his other books, you probably already know most of what is in this latest book. This was my second O'Reilly book and I found it quite repetitive (I keep getting the books for Christmas). If you don't watch the show, you should give this book a try. O'Reilly's books are quick reads, tend to be entertaining and just might challenge the way you look at life.

Bill O¿Reilly¿s core belief is that ¿life is a constant struggle between good and evil. That each person has free will and must choose a side. Refusing to choose puts one in the evil category by default, because bad things will go unchallenged.¿ O¿Reilly uses the German people during Nazi rule as an example of this last point. O¿Reilly goes on to say ¿the most frustrating part of life: seeing evil individuals continue to harm people with impunity¿ and that he believes that he ¿was put on this earth for a reason and confronting evil is that purpose.¿ When you are dead, ¿your legacy will be defined by two simple questions: How many wrongs did you right, and how many people did you help when they needed it.¿

In this autobiography, O¿Reilly describes the key life experiences which shaped his beliefs with examples intermingled of what he considers evil. Some of the things Bill considers evil include knowingly hurting another person without significant cause, child abuse, selling drugs to children, and deriving pleasure from watching human suffering. Terrorism is also central to Bill¿s concept of evil - terrorist acts, supporting terrorists, and doing business with countries that sponsor terrorism. Bill states that getting people to understand that terrorism is evil is a central struggle of our times.

Other things that bother Bill are people unfairly receiving special privileges, individuals that don¿t take personal responsibility and who instead rely on government safety nets, hiding behind the First Amendment when doing dishonest things, and seeing people treated unfairly.

Bill uses his life experiences to highlight some of his other beliefs which include:
- Individual responsibility is the key to success
- The solution to poverty is education and hard work, not sympathy
- Enough money is spent in the U.S. on education. Teaching is about presentation and personal accountability; money is secondary
- Long-term friendships are declining in the U.S. because people are moving so frequently
- The U.S. did nothing ¿immoral¿ by removing Saddam Hussain, ¿a murderous dictator . . . hell-bent on causing trouble for America.¿
- People in positions of power have a responsibility to make the world a better place
- Life is unfair, but if people strive to be fair then things will balance out.

Bill¿s opines for simpler times when people worked, obeyed the law, cared for their family, looked out for their neighbors and respected their country.

His advice for success in life:
- Design your own life
- Work hard
- Don¿t cloud your thinking by getting high on drugs or alcohol
- Give most people the benefit of the doubt
- Don¿t fear authority
- Have a good time.

posted by speed-learn on January 5, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted January 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Life is a constant struggle between good and evil. In this autobiography, O¿Reilly describes the key life experiences which shaped his beliefs with examples intermingled of what he considers evil.

    If you watch O'Reilly's show and you have read any of his other books, you probably already know most of what is in this latest book. This was my second O'Reilly book and I found it quite repetitive (I keep getting the books for Christmas). If you don't watch the show, you should give this book a try. O'Reilly's books are quick reads, tend to be entertaining and just might challenge the way you look at life.<BR/><BR/>Bill O¿Reilly¿s core belief is that ¿life is a constant struggle between good and evil. That each person has free will and must choose a side. Refusing to choose puts one in the evil category by default, because bad things will go unchallenged.¿ O¿Reilly uses the German people during Nazi rule as an example of this last point. O¿Reilly goes on to say ¿the most frustrating part of life: seeing evil individuals continue to harm people with impunity¿ and that he believes that he ¿was put on this earth for a reason and confronting evil is that purpose.¿ When you are dead, ¿your legacy will be defined by two simple questions: How many wrongs did you right, and how many people did you help when they needed it.¿<BR/><BR/>In this autobiography, O¿Reilly describes the key life experiences which shaped his beliefs with examples intermingled of what he considers evil. Some of the things Bill considers evil include knowingly hurting another person without significant cause, child abuse, selling drugs to children, and deriving pleasure from watching human suffering. Terrorism is also central to Bill¿s concept of evil - terrorist acts, supporting terrorists, and doing business with countries that sponsor terrorism. Bill states that getting people to understand that terrorism is evil is a central struggle of our times.<BR/><BR/>Other things that bother Bill are people unfairly receiving special privileges, individuals that don¿t take personal responsibility and who instead rely on government safety nets, hiding behind the First Amendment when doing dishonest things, and seeing people treated unfairly.<BR/><BR/>Bill uses his life experiences to highlight some of his other beliefs which include:<BR/>- Individual responsibility is the key to success<BR/>- The solution to poverty is education and hard work, not sympathy<BR/>- Enough money is spent in the U.S. on education. Teaching is about presentation and personal accountability; money is secondary<BR/>- Long-term friendships are declining in the U.S. because people are moving so frequently<BR/>- The U.S. did nothing ¿immoral¿ by removing Saddam Hussain, ¿a murderous dictator . . . hell-bent on causing trouble for America.¿<BR/>- People in positions of power have a responsibility to make the world a better place <BR/>- Life is unfair, but if people strive to be fair then things will balance out.<BR/><BR/>Bill¿s opines for simpler times when people worked, obeyed the law, cared for their family, looked out for their neighbors and respected their country. <BR/><BR/>His advice for success in life:<BR/>- Design your own life<BR/>- Work hard<BR/>- Don¿t cloud your thinking by getting high on drugs or alcohol<BR/>- Give most people the benefit of the doubt<BR/>- Don¿t fear authority<BR/>- Have a good time.

    14 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2009

    Cutesy

    It was just okay. Entertaining for a while.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2008

    The Latest from 'Buy My Book Bill'

    Good, but not Great!

    1 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 3, 2013

    I liked this book. I enjoy O'Reilly's sense of humor. This is ea

    I liked this book. I enjoy O'Reilly's sense of humor. This is easy to read &amp; understand. He's shared his life with us from his childhood, high school &amp; college days. He shares his experience &amp; wisdom that he's gained along the way in life in the 50's &amp; 60's. I appreciate the ladder that he climbed &amp; how hard he worked to achieve his success. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 13, 2010

    I am not a big fan of Bill O'Rilley - but because I'm also a Catholic and grew up in Catholic schools. That is what caught my attention to this book. It is a so-so book read, not sure I would recommend it.

    However, I admire Mr. O'Reilly's thoughts on some of our people in the political world. All in all, some people like Mr. O'Reilly and some do not, but then I'm sure he doesn't care what people think of him as his book describes.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2009

    Good read, but I'm glad it was short.

    I snickered quite a few times while reading "Bold Fresh", but didn't find it as hilarious as others who reviewed it. I think my mom, who spent 12 years in Catholic school, might get a few more laughs out of it than I did.
    I'm a big fan of O'Reilly on his Fox News show. In this book, though, I found his writing style a bit simplistic. I often caught myself thinking maybe he was targeting a much younger audience.
    Bold Fresh contains lots of insight, personal reflection, and a few tidbits about well-known personalities that made me think better of them. I did grow weary of the writer referring to himself as "the bold fresh guy" throughout the book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2