Customer Reviews for

A Bold Fresh Piece of Humanity: A Memoir

Average Rating 4
( 268 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(137)

4 Star

(64)

3 Star

(25)

2 Star

(14)

1 Star

(28)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

Outstanding Book

I just read your book and it was wonderful. I don't agree with some of the other comments. If people only had the insight that Bill O'Reily does the world would be a happier place.

posted by Anonymous on October 1, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

14 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

Life is a constant struggle between good and evil. In this autobiography, O¿Reilly describes the key life experiences which shaped his beliefs with examples intermingled of what he considers evil.

If you watch O'Reilly's show and you have read any of his other books, you probably already know most of what is in this latest book. This was my second O'Reilly book and I found it quite repetitive (I keep getting the books for Christmas). If you don't watch the show...
If you watch O'Reilly's show and you have read any of his other books, you probably already know most of what is in this latest book. This was my second O'Reilly book and I found it quite repetitive (I keep getting the books for Christmas). If you don't watch the show, you should give this book a try. O'Reilly's books are quick reads, tend to be entertaining and just might challenge the way you look at life.

Bill O¿Reilly¿s core belief is that ¿life is a constant struggle between good and evil. That each person has free will and must choose a side. Refusing to choose puts one in the evil category by default, because bad things will go unchallenged.¿ O¿Reilly uses the German people during Nazi rule as an example of this last point. O¿Reilly goes on to say ¿the most frustrating part of life: seeing evil individuals continue to harm people with impunity¿ and that he believes that he ¿was put on this earth for a reason and confronting evil is that purpose.¿ When you are dead, ¿your legacy will be defined by two simple questions: How many wrongs did you right, and how many people did you help when they needed it.¿

In this autobiography, O¿Reilly describes the key life experiences which shaped his beliefs with examples intermingled of what he considers evil. Some of the things Bill considers evil include knowingly hurting another person without significant cause, child abuse, selling drugs to children, and deriving pleasure from watching human suffering. Terrorism is also central to Bill¿s concept of evil - terrorist acts, supporting terrorists, and doing business with countries that sponsor terrorism. Bill states that getting people to understand that terrorism is evil is a central struggle of our times.

Other things that bother Bill are people unfairly receiving special privileges, individuals that don¿t take personal responsibility and who instead rely on government safety nets, hiding behind the First Amendment when doing dishonest things, and seeing people treated unfairly.

Bill uses his life experiences to highlight some of his other beliefs which include:
- Individual responsibility is the key to success
- The solution to poverty is education and hard work, not sympathy
- Enough money is spent in the U.S. on education. Teaching is about presentation and personal accountability; money is secondary
- Long-term friendships are declining in the U.S. because people are moving so frequently
- The U.S. did nothing ¿immoral¿ by removing Saddam Hussain, ¿a murderous dictator . . . hell-bent on causing trouble for America.¿
- People in positions of power have a responsibility to make the world a better place
- Life is unfair, but if people strive to be fair then things will balance out.

Bill¿s opines for simpler times when people worked, obeyed the law, cared for their family, looked out for their neighbors and respected their country.

His advice for success in life:
- Design your own life
- Work hard
- Don¿t cloud your thinking by getting high on drugs or alcohol
- Give most people the benefit of the doubt
- Don¿t fear authority
- Have a good time.

posted by speed-learn on January 5, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 64 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted November 20, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Biographical in Nature

    I laughed at many places throughout the book. It's a fast read and only took me 2-3 days (that's fast for me). It did feel like my story as well (as he said it would). Is it the greatest book I ever read? No. But, it is one of the best biographies I've ever read. AND he helps me to still believe in the goodness of America.

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 23, 2009

    A Good Read

    A personal look in the early life of Bill O'Reilly. He goes back and tells about the people and experiences in his life from a working -class boy to the influential television personality and best selling author he is today. He tells of his family, his neighborhood, his church, his schools with truth, wit and humor.

    I thoroughly enjoyed his book and recommend it to all.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2009

    O'Reilly made me cry -- I was laughing so much!

    My fiance purchased this book at the airport just before we took off for our Thanksgiving vacation to Cancun. He read it first; I read it after we got back. I'm an O'Reilly fan, but I really didn't know what to expect when I picked up this book (except for the few photos and stories that my fiance shared with me while he was reading). <BR/><BR/>While I enjoyed all of the content, I felt it a bit bothersome that "the bold fresh guy" recounted the facts of his upbringing and early life in a non-linear fashion. I would have enjoyed his anecdotes much more if I didn't constantly have to keep track of when in his life the story occurred. <BR/><BR/>Although I am a few years younger than Mr.O, I do share his heritage (Irish) and religion (Roman Catholic). While reading Chapter 5 (Religion), I literally could not breathe because I was laughing so much! I grew up in NJ and did not attend Catholic school, but I've heard enough anecdotes from family and friends to make me feel like I was there. I still attend Mass regularly, so I was very familiar with all religious references. It's very unfortunate that the level of "scholarly discipline" exercised during the days when Mr.O was in school could not have lasted until this day. On the flip side, Catholic school enrollment in my parish has boomed in recent years (and I don't believe it's due to any 'religious renaissance'). <BR/><BR/>Chapter 14 (Mysteries of the Universe) was my next favorite chapter. It made me laugh - alot. A chapter chock full of Mr.O's pet-peeves which range from obscure and silly pop song lyrics to politics to television show finales and his 'dry-as-toast' explanations of what irritates him about the particular subject, entertained me very much because I can relate to this facet of his personality.<BR/><BR/>Overall, a great read. I'm curious about his other books now, but I have a feeling that this one is one of a kind!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    How O'Reilly became O'Reilly

    O'Reilly is a crack up. As with the Factor, I listened to this (do the CD version on a long trip..great entertainment) and rolled my eyes, yelled,"Oh..shut up!", nodded my head and said, "Right on, O'Reilly!" In other words, he is the guy you love to hate and also the guy you hate to love. But always an adventure in listening. As a Long Island girl, it was a nice visit home, especially to that time. It was fun to get a bit of a glimpse into how O'Reilly came to be O'Reilly. It is far less personal than most memoirs..lacking good sex stories or even sweet romance...but I must respect him for that.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 4, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Articulate and humorous, but a little condescending

    I generally love watching Bill O'Reilly on TV; whether I agree with his opinion or just want to slap him silly. He's a good public speaker with a good knowledge of his subject matter. I thought A Bold Fresh Piece of Humanity was quite humorous in parts and O'Reilly's writing voice even and articulate. With that said, I did perceive a condescending element to his style that I think is probably best used in books aimed at a younger audience. If he writes another book I will be sure to read it; I just hope his voice is stronger in the next one.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2009

    Great title

    Well-written; entertaining; thought-provoking; necessary to understand both sides of many of today's ideological debates. This book, and this author, for that matter, shouldn't scare away or turn away anyone looking to fairly understand many of today's complex political and social issues.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 17, 2008

    Bill O'Reilly's best book yet!!

    I was hooked with Mr. O'Reilly's first book "The No Spin Zone". I've read all of his books, liked some more than others - but this one was a wonderful read. <BR/>Not only do we get to know Bill a bit better, but we see the conservative backround that makes him the man he is today. I felt better about myself after reading it as I could relate to so much in it. Maybe I liked the book as he reminds me so much of my husband who grew up much in the same way. Something for everyone.<BR/>I do wish he had elaberated more on his personal life. I know he is married with a child. While I respect his privacy, I am curious...<BR/>Enjoy the book.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 5, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    An Odd Autobiography

    Perhaps not a true autobiography in the traditional sense, but a self-portrait with a purpose. I did not buy this and probably would not have bought it. It was a gift. It's not that I don't appreciate O'Reilly. I do. But I get enough of his "bloviating" from listening to his radio program and watching The Factor a couple times a week. This book is a little different. Yes, it has the typical O'Reilly attitude of self-importance and Knowitallism (is that a word Bill?), but he also has some very funny stories and adeptly uses those stories to illustrate what has made him who he is today. There is very little political commentary in this book, other than in general terms. Probably a wise move on O'Reilly's part, as it wouldn't fit in with the purpose of this book. Overall it's a good read.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2014

    Thekillingofkennedy

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2013

    Enjoyable

    Interesting fella

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2012

    Did he give the nun a cut $?$??

    Let's hope so.....seriously, a good book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 29, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Good read from a fellow New Yorker.

    I enjoyed this book & it certainly brought back a lot of memories. Plus, it's a pleasure to know why Bill O'Reilly is who he is. Definitely takes away his rough edges - LOL

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Fighting evil from birth

    A Bold Fresh Piece of Humanity is an inspirational non-fiction book that tells the story of controversial news report Bill O'Reilly. Bill is a man raised in a middle class family in Levittown a conservative christan town. Throughout his childhood Bill attended private Catholic schools were he was constantly pushing the envelope and giving the nuns a hard time. He was raised by a father that had a steady job in uncertain times and yet hated working for "the man". As Bill grows up he maintains the class clown attitude and fights his own fights. Through many inspiring anedotes the readers learn what drove Mr. O'reily to media fame and the ability to cover stories without biases. Bill believes that EVERY American has the opportuinty to make it in the world with a good education and strong work ethic. He also feels that no one should trust the government for any type of assistance. This hard approach to life lead Bill to become one of the most contraversial reporters in the world, and yet he tells the truth about tough matters. I highly recommend this inspirational novel to all people because it inspires readers to fight for what they believe in and to embrace their fears. This book is a must read for anyone who believes that they had an unfair go at life and deserve some sort of government assitance.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2009

    Bold Fresh

    Not as funny as some have said.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 64 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4