Customer Reviews for

The Boleyn Inheritance

Average Rating 4.5
( 481 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(234)

4 Star

(163)

3 Star

(69)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Hold your head

The 2 least known wives of the fat, old, slovenly, smelly, constipated, and unable to perform Henry VIII. What a ghastly picture of him. This book was fabulous. Doubt if you see this on "Tudors", but indeed this is a part of English History you may not have heard of, at...
The 2 least known wives of the fat, old, slovenly, smelly, constipated, and unable to perform Henry VIII. What a ghastly picture of him. This book was fabulous. Doubt if you see this on "Tudors", but indeed this is a part of English History you may not have heard of, at least I didn't. Ms. Gregory is exceptional in taking you to the many castle of the King, and especially the "Tower". This is a must for anyone interested in Tudor history. The author has set up the book so that each chapter is narrated by a different woman, and tied in to each other brilliantly. Hold onto your head!

posted by just-a-thot on May 3, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

Yet another poor look at some of Henry's wives, by this author...

Phillipa Gregory is a bad writer. Period. She makes a joke of this period in time with her awful writing. By far the worst book I've read by her, or anyone else that has written anything about Tudor England. I would only recommend this book to people who favor daytime T...
Phillipa Gregory is a bad writer. Period. She makes a joke of this period in time with her awful writing. By far the worst book I've read by her, or anyone else that has written anything about Tudor England. I would only recommend this book to people who favor daytime TV to reading -- because at best, that is all this shallow, not-very-historical-but-very-soap-opera, poorly written dramafest is...the written equivalent of Jerry Springer. How insulting, that she is hailed as 'The First Lady of Historical Fiction'

posted by Anonymous on September 25, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 483 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 25
  • Posted May 3, 2010

    Hold your head

    The 2 least known wives of the fat, old, slovenly, smelly, constipated, and unable to perform Henry VIII. What a ghastly picture of him. This book was fabulous. Doubt if you see this on "Tudors", but indeed this is a part of English History you may not have heard of, at least I didn't. Ms. Gregory is exceptional in taking you to the many castle of the King, and especially the "Tower". This is a must for anyone interested in Tudor history. The author has set up the book so that each chapter is narrated by a different woman, and tied in to each other brilliantly. Hold onto your head!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2012

    I couldn't put this book down. The Boleyn Inheritance follows th

    I couldn't put this book down. The Boleyn Inheritance follows three very different women, two wives of Henry VIII and the widow of George Boleyn, Anne Boleyn's brother who was executed for incest and treason-on the evidence given by his own wife. Anne of Cleves is the plain but honest, brave, and kind hearted wife brought in to marry Henry on recommendation of Secretary Cromwell. She is a Lutheran and Cromwell hopes to encourage Henry further towards Protestantism. But after their disasterous meeting at Rochester, where the old and vain king foolishly presented himself in the unflattering guise of an ordinary man and was repulsed by Anne, the marriage was doomed. Henry, pride wounded, determines to hate Anne no matter what she does to please him. He then falls in lust with Anne's maid Katherine Howard, who was brought to court by none other than the nefarious schemer the Duke of Norfolk, Anne Boleyn's wicked uncle. Katherine-Anne Boleyn's cousin-is silly, beautiful, and with a vanity that rivals Henry's own but none of his shrewd intellegence. She is a pawn used by Norfolk, who seizes on the King's hatred of Anne of Cleves and pushes Katherine forward in hopes to play the Queenmaker once more. But a girl of fourteen will fall in love, and as Gregory tells us, "Never with a husband of forty-nine." With the King losing his vigor, the Duke of Norfolk next pushes the naive Katherine into the arms of a groom of the chamber, setting her on a dangerous path. Norfolk's other pawn in this is Jane Rochford, George Boleyn's widow and possible Gregory's most brilliantly created character.
    Historically, Jane Rochford is perhaps one of Europe's most despised women. Her name is "a byword for jealous and twisted lust", and Gregory depicts Jane's mental decline with skill, intriguing and horrifying the reader at once. Those who do not know Lady Rochford will meet her and think she is no more than a grieving young widow trying to make her way back into the world. But slowly, Jane's protestations of love for her husband and sister-in-law give way to excuses, and finally when pressed, the truth of what Jane did to George and Anne Boleyn-and why-comes to light. The Duke of Norfolk skillfully manipulates a deteriorating Jane into doing his dirty work with Katherine Howard, and so when yet another of Henry's Queens falls into peril, his hands are clean. Many will think that Jane gets just what she deserves!
    Philippa Gregory handles the difficult task of writing a credible and gripping novel using three seperate narrators: Jane, Anne, and Katherine. Three distinct personalities are shown, and Gregory develops each masterfully. Gregory's portrayal of Henry VIII is less than flattering, and in some cases downright disgusting. All in all, The Boleyn Inheritance is bold, brilliant, like a gossipy friend who you cannot get enough of. I highly recommend this book.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 27, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Highly Recommended - You'll Get Hooked!

    The Boleyn Inheritance is the second I've read of Gregory's works, after The Other Boleyn Girl. For years, I have hesitated to read any of the 'historical fiction' novels written by Gregory and other authors like her (Anne Easter Smith, Vanora Bennett, Alison Weir, etc), but I sure am kicking myself now for waiting so long to give them a chance! Gregory's writing style is effortless and addicting, and she does a fantastic job creating unique and interesting characters. This book, like most of her others, is written from the point of view of three different characters. Gregory does a great job varying her writing so that you can easily tell which character's point of view you are experiencing, even without reading the chapter title that tells which character is narrating. I appreciate that the chapters are relatively short, because it makes it so much easier to fit reading into my busy lifestyle. Overall, I very much enjoyed The Boleyn Inheritance, and I am looking forward to reading many more by this author!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 10, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Wonderful

    This book was told from the point of view of three different characters. Anne of Cleves, Jane Boleyn, and Katherine Howard. Two of these women become wives to King Henry VIII. I really enjoyed reading from the different perspectives in this book because it allows you to better understand the bigger picture of what was going on, the scandal, and the intimacy of the plot as well. One character alone could not have brought so much depth to this story. I thought Philippa Gregory did a wonderful job yet again!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 17, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Masterfully written and insightful

    This gripping novel is told from the perspective of three historical figures, Jane Boleyn, Anne of Cleves, and Katherine Howard. Gregory interweaves their stories as short pieces almost as though they had written diaries, portraying the roles and expectations of, as well as the injustices to, women. Each of these women were caught up in the court and the peculiarities of King Henry and their lives flow ever faster towards their conclusion.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Three noble women share one tragic fate...

    After reading that on the back how could I not be intrigued. The story is from three points of view: Anne of Cleves, Jane Boleyn Rochford and The young Kitty Howard.
    It's set after the executions of Anne and George Boleyn. Now I find historical fiction fascinating and this was no different. We all know the story of Henry the 8ths tyranny but Gregory writes it with a refreshing flare.

    Anne of Cleve's marriage to Henry was a disaster from their tragic first meeting. She humiliated him so from there he makes her life a living hell. And we all know that whom Henry doesn't like have a way of losing their heads. EEKS! Poor girl not only does she have to deal with the rumors of her unappealing smell, ugly homeliness, her husband's oozy wound and her husband's wandering eye and peen...Ahem! Little Miss not so virginal Kitty Howard. She has to worry about the "off with her head!" factor. Okay wrong historical figure but you get the idea.
    This book was pure courtly Gold! It spans from July 1539 through January 1547. The reign of Anne and Kitty. As well as the much deserved fall of Jane wanna-be Boleyn Rochford.

    catholickittie.blogspot.com

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 6, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Love this Book

    I was just excited to read each page and to learn what was going to happen next. Learned things I never knew or imagined about that time in our history.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2007

    Yet another poor look at some of Henry's wives, by this author...

    Phillipa Gregory is a bad writer. Period. She makes a joke of this period in time with her awful writing. By far the worst book I've read by her, or anyone else that has written anything about Tudor England. I would only recommend this book to people who favor daytime TV to reading -- because at best, that is all this shallow, not-very-historical-but-very-soap-opera, poorly written dramafest is...the written equivalent of Jerry Springer. How insulting, that she is hailed as 'The First Lady of Historical Fiction'

    1 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2014

    A must read

    Great book! Highly recommend. Easy reading. Page turner. Tells history through the eyes of true life people. History come alive.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2014

    Excellent Reading

    I love reading this authors books she can bring history alive and make it so interesting. It is a shame she wasn't an advisor for the series The Tudors because it was so off base in so many ways. Henry Tudor was a horrible man even in his youth. Bravo! I look forward to reading more by Philippa Gregory.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2013

    Loved this book!

    Loved this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2013

    Reading History the fun way

    I like the way Philippa Gregory writes about the Royal Court and all of their antics and what they go through in their daily lives. It is reading about history.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 5, 2013

    Beautifully Written!

    I love historical novels and started with the audio book of this first and then added it to my Nook library. The writing is amazing and entertaining. Three stories from Lady Jane Rochford, Lady Katherine Howard and Queen Anne of Cleves. Each page pulls you further and further into the world of Henry VIII just after the death of Queen Jane and the arrival of Anne of Cleves.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2013

    Loved it

    Great read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2013

    Engaging

    Philipa Gregory knows how to write great historical fiction.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2013

    Great follow up to 'The Other Boleyn Girl'

    After reading 'The Other Boleyn Girl', I was very curious as to other marriages of Henry, King of England. Although the first book was, in my opinion, the best, this is a formidable 2nd choice. Philippa Gregory creates a stunning visual of her characters, and her plot twists and turns are irresistible. A worthy read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    Once again Philippa Gregory takes us into fact and fiction with a flair like no other author I have ever read. Anyone who enjoys English history and a wonderful story to go with it will want to read this book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2012

    Good

    Read the other boelyn girl first

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2012

    FUCK YOU KING HENRY THE 8

    Omg i hate him hes so horrible

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2012

    Very interactive

    The book brings the past alive and gives emotion to two lady queens with little historty to tell of them. She gives the reader depth and understanding, compassion, of the ill.hatred of sister by mariiage jane bolyne . She ties these event in very well and give a close accurate portral of the life lead in court under kimg henry and high rise of emotions and constant concerns of saving ones own skin. An inside peak to be a wife of a hideous dangerous monster and how noone matched his anger and felt it worse than those closes to him. Its a long winded book and ocassionally drags or repeats in similarities but it gives a strong sense to the urgencies that each character fears for their lives and if you can get past that you can see great work put into the book. It is at time vulgar and distinctly blunt and to the point but that to gives the reader an idea of how barbaric and icily cold heart the court life can be ruled under malicious king. All in all I give four stars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 483 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 25