BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Bon Appetit Desserts: The Cookbook for All Things Sweet and Wonderful

Average Rating 3.5
( 15 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(4)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 15 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted February 13, 2011

    missing some measurements...

    Just purchased this ebook, and it looks lovely other than the fact that some of the measurements are listed as question marks. Like '? cups milk' and '? teaspoons salt'. I'm a little confused as to why this is the case, as it is obviously important to have this information in a cookbook.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 16, 2011

    Measurements Missing!!!

    How do you make a recipe with an ingredient quantity missing? Instead is has a ?. The very first recipe I chose listed sugar as "?". I chose a few other chapters and ran into the same thing every few recipes! What a disapointment. I contacted B&N customer service and they refunded me the money, but I really would rather the book got fixed! I really loved the idea of having all these recipes on my ipad. I still want this as an ibook version, but how to know when it will be fixed? Don't buy it!!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 20, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    The Only Dessert Book You Really Need

    Bon Appétit Desserts is a whole book, a huge book actually (680 pages), devoted solely to desserts. Every dessert you've ever heard of, every dessert you could ever want or need to make. All in one book. My kind of book. The book was edited by recently resigned Bon Appétit Editor-in-Chief, Barbara Fairchild. In her introduction she writes about how while growing up her family had dessert after every dinner, something sweet was included in her lunch, and how her mother always served a sweet of some kind whenever company dropped by. I like that. To me it reveals the sentiment behind this book. Desserts and sweets as part of the eating process. The 600 recipes in the book are culled from Bon Appétit's extensive archives; never-before-published recipes are also included. Well-known cooks, bakers, and pastry chefs (like Dorie Greenspan, Sherry Yard, and Susan Feniger), and Bon Appétit staff and writers also contributed to the book. If that's not enough the book also has the Bon Appétit pedigree. It's truly a reference-cookbook -- the first three chapters are 'The Desserts Pantry'; 'Equipment: The Basics'; 'Techniques: The Basics,' at the back of the book are 'Online & Mail-Order Sources,' and 'Metric Conversions & Equivalents.' Everything needed to make desserts with skill and aplomb. The rest of the book is all about the recipes. It has, in addition to the standard and expected American-style desserts, many of the classics: fools, crepes, Linzertortes, napoleons, cannolis, crème brûlées, éclairs, panna cottas, tiramisùs, pavolovas and more. I was thrilled to see a recipe for bûche de Noël! Short and to-the-point head notes are followed by well-organized recipes. A whisk rating system showing the level of difficulty (1 to 4 whisks) is included with each recipe. An easy reference 'Index of Whisk Ratings' at the back of the book allows for quick decisions on which recipe to try. Food photographer, Con Poulo's fifty gorgeous photos are sprinkled unobtrusively throughout. Recipe testing on a book of this size could take months but of the recipes I was able to try all worked beautifully. I can't recommend it highly enough. It should be part of every cook's library especially those who love to make desserts.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2011

    This Book Has It All

    How fun to have a very large (689 pages) and beautiful cookbook devoted entirely to desserts by one of the premier food magazines, Bon Appetit. There are over 600 recipes in this book, most reprinted from the magazine archives but also some new ones. The photos are gorgeous and inspire me to want to head to the kitchen to create something wonderful. This is one of those cookbooks that anyone can use no matter what level of cooking experience because the recipes are well-written with plenty of explanation and diagrams. Also included are chapters on what kinds of foods to keep on hand in the pantry, equipment basics, and techniques explained. Every kind of dessert is covered: cakes and cupcakes; pies, tarts, and pastries; custards and puddings, fruit desserts, frozen desserts, cookies, bars and brownies, candy, and even a chapter devoted to cheesecake. I like that most of the recipes use regular ingredients that are easily found in any grocery store. The traditional recipes for things like classic chocolate chip cookies, apple pie, and chocolate cake can be found alongside unique offerings such as Mai Tai Sorbet, Cherry Creme Brulee, Hazelnut Macaroon and Strawberry Tart, Hazelnut Praline Cheesecake, and Lemon Raspberry Cupcakes. Whether needing a dessert for a casual pot-luck dinner or something elegant for a bridal shower or a tea, I can find it all in this one book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 19, 2011

    A big, beautiful book of desserts!

    Bon Apetit Desserts is a big, huge, beautiful book packed with recipes for every type of dessert you could ever want to make. More than 600 recipes are included, most from the archives of the magazines, but a few new ones as well. With that many recipes all in one place you will find every kind of cake, pie, pudding, tart, cookie, candy and cheesecake. Here are a few of the ones I tried out:

    Chocolate -Peanut Butter Cake with Cream Cheese and Butterfinger Frosting
    Wow! This is an over-the-top indulgent, special occasion cake. I made the cake 1 day ahead, then filled and frosted it the next day. It was everything I wanted, rich, pretty, and absolutely delicious.

    Cranberry-Lime Tart

    This pretty tart is the perfect ending to a Thanksgiving dinner. The cranberry and lime give it a nice, light flavor and the white chocolate cream sweetens it up a bit. It does require some planning ahead, so be sure to read the recipe carefully.

    Lime Snowball Cookies

    These are one of my all-time favorite cookies. They look just like regular snowball cookies, so the hit of lime comes as a surprise. You can make them with any kind of citrus. They always end up on my cookie trays because they are so unique and easy to make.

    Pumpkin Cheesecake Crumble Squares

    These were another big Thanksgiving dinner hit. They are four layers but really pretty quick and easy to put together. I loved everything about these bars, the crispy pecan crust, the sweet pumpkin filling, and the tangy topping. I will make these over and over!

    I love this cookbook! Unlike many compilations that have mostly standard recipes with a few interesting ones thrown in, this book is packed with creative, unusual desserts and lots of beautiful photos. I have some many marked to try - Fig and Rum Squares, Chocolate Stout Cake, Pear-Cardamom Pie with Almond Crust, and Mexican Chocolate Cherry Rounds.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2012

    Yummy

    Loved everything in it...........so mouth watering...hard to keep from eating it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 21, 2011

    Cookbook is great, but don't expect the free magazine subscription

    I've tried several of the desserts in this book for my nook, and loved it. What I have not loved at all is how difficult it has been to get the free subscription to the magazine. There are no directions to be found anywhere, and no one seems to know how to redeem this offer. In the overview, the first sentence promises a subscription. I've been on the phone with Barnes and Noble for longer than I can count, and have also tried contacting both Bon Appetit and the publisher. What a hassle!

    If you'd like the cookbook, it's worth it! But don't have your heart set on the magazine as well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 15 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1