Customer Reviews for

Bond with Me

Average Rating 3.5
( 1392 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(355)

4 Star

(388)

3 Star

(336)

2 Star

(144)

1 Star

(169)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

superb romantic urban fantasy

Three thousand years ago, the Dominion angel guardians of Heaven's throne were murdering their brethren rather than protecting them. With proof, Archangel Michael punishes the rebels by removing their wings and souls, and exiling them as half man and half beast goblins...
Three thousand years ago, the Dominion angel guardians of Heaven's throne were murdering their brethren rather than protecting them. With proof, Archangel Michael punishes the rebels by removing their wings and souls, and exiling them as half man and half beast goblins with little hope of return unless they are redeemed by their soul mate who must teach these fallen to love. Three millennia later by 2090 none have redeemed their souls.

At the exclusive G2 club in M City, Mischka Baron searches for her cousin Pelinor "Pell" Arden who she fears has bonded with a fallen angel, which she knows means they suck at your soul. Club owner Brends Duranov wants her from the moment he senses her, but to his shock, Mischka rejects him. Right before her refusal, Brends learned from his sire Zer that a rogue Goblin Changed and was killing human and the Fallen. Brends vows to find the serial killer, but soon has a stronger motive when Mischka becomes the target; as he believes she is the one for him.

Bond With Me is a superb romantic urban fantasy with a strong enchanting world and a solid cast. The story line is a fast-paced suspense thriller as the serial killer and Brends target Mischka for totally opposite reasons. Action-packed, the key element that makes Marsh's land seen genuine is the goblins as these are soulless predatory beasts; of whom, for the most part, are unsympathetic.

Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on August 22, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

25 out of 34 people found this review helpful.

No more free Friday B&N books for me

If I could have given no stars for this book, I would have. What looks like an interesting fantasy concept for a book ends up being just poorly written porn. To be honest, after reading the first couple of pages, and scanning the last few, I knew this was a total waste ...
If I could have given no stars for this book, I would have. What looks like an interesting fantasy concept for a book ends up being just poorly written porn. To be honest, after reading the first couple of pages, and scanning the last few, I knew this was a total waste of my time. Thank goodness it did not cost anything.

Having been burned this way just a few too many times with BN free books, I am no longer going to take advantage of their offers unless it is for a classic book with which I am already familiar. It looks like BN (and I'm sure other places will follow suit) places more importance on pushing self-publishing authors on it's customers than truly well-written offerings.

posted by Gladtobehere on February 11, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1401 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 71
  • Posted February 11, 2011

    No more free Friday B&N books for me

    If I could have given no stars for this book, I would have. What looks like an interesting fantasy concept for a book ends up being just poorly written porn. To be honest, after reading the first couple of pages, and scanning the last few, I knew this was a total waste of my time. Thank goodness it did not cost anything.

    Having been burned this way just a few too many times with BN free books, I am no longer going to take advantage of their offers unless it is for a classic book with which I am already familiar. It looks like BN (and I'm sure other places will follow suit) places more importance on pushing self-publishing authors on it's customers than truly well-written offerings.

    25 out of 34 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2011

    Trash

    So-so story drenched in soft porn

    8 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    superb romantic urban fantasy

    Three thousand years ago, the Dominion angel guardians of Heaven's throne were murdering their brethren rather than protecting them. With proof, Archangel Michael punishes the rebels by removing their wings and souls, and exiling them as half man and half beast goblins with little hope of return unless they are redeemed by their soul mate who must teach these fallen to love. Three millennia later by 2090 none have redeemed their souls.

    At the exclusive G2 club in M City, Mischka Baron searches for her cousin Pelinor "Pell" Arden who she fears has bonded with a fallen angel, which she knows means they suck at your soul. Club owner Brends Duranov wants her from the moment he senses her, but to his shock, Mischka rejects him. Right before her refusal, Brends learned from his sire Zer that a rogue Goblin Changed and was killing human and the Fallen. Brends vows to find the serial killer, but soon has a stronger motive when Mischka becomes the target; as he believes she is the one for him.

    Bond With Me is a superb romantic urban fantasy with a strong enchanting world and a solid cast. The story line is a fast-paced suspense thriller as the serial killer and Brends target Mischka for totally opposite reasons. Action-packed, the key element that makes Marsh's land seen genuine is the goblins as these are soulless predatory beasts; of whom, for the most part, are unsympathetic.

    Harriet Klausner

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 13, 2011

    Plot, sex, and hopefully more to come!

    I wasn't sure because of some of the reviews I had read, but now I am looking forward to more. The storyline has great potential for a couple of sequels. The idea of Heaven being taken over by a dark angel and true love and acceptance of differences being the only way to save Heaven AND Earth speaks volumes about what can be accomplished by looking beyond prejudices and seeing individuals for who they are. The eroticism is NOT overdone in my opinion (I have seen just as much in some best sellers) and it adds a little spice without being overly pornographic. Anne Marsh will be on my "watch for" list. Don't let the naysayers scare you off.The plot is well thought out and nicely developed! I am glad I found this one!!!!!

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 13, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Lots of sex -- not for everyone

    I'm no prude, but the amount of sex talk in the beginning of the book turned me off, not on. I've read a lot of romance, so when I read the reviews I didn't think much of the ones that were complaining about the amount of sex. But when the word "p*ssy" was used 3 or 4 times in the first 30 pages, along with quite a few instances of "creamy," "creaming," etc., I decided this wasn't for me. I've archived my copy and maybe one day I'll try it again, but I have enough worthwhile things to read at the moment that I don't care to waste my time on erotica masquerading as romance.

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 17, 2010

    Fantastic Read

    What price would you pay to save someone you love? Would it be too much to ask for your soul? This is the dilemma Mischka Baran finds herself in when her cousin, Pelinor, goes missing. Before she can find Pell, Brends Duranov, resident club owner and fallen angel, convinces her she must accept his mate bond to ensure her safety from a rogue angel.

    My first thought when I read the blurb for Bond With Me was "Wow, this sounds darkly seductive". Let me tell you, I was right on the money! Dark and seductive only begin to describe this powerful and creative journey into the Russian underworld. Ms. Marsh had me riveted from the very beginning. Her characters exude strength in personality as well as spirit. I felt like the setting of an inhospitable war torn city and neglected countryside in the year 2090 is representative of the fallen angels or Dominions. After they were accused of heinous crimes, they were judged and sentenced to be separated from their families in Heaven, forced to suffer a lifetime on Earth until one among them finds his bond mate, and feed their internal beast that craves human souls. The differences in Brends attitude from the beginning of the story to the conclusion is like walking out of darkness into a brightly lit room.

    Brends character is filled with a soul consuming combination of self denial of his inner Beast, anger at the one he holds at fault for the lives of the fallen and a longing to return to Heaven. His one chance at redemption shows up his club needing help. Mischka is the consummate caretaker in her family. She feels it's her duty to always "do the right thing" when secretly she wants to be more carefree like her cousin, Pelinor. Brends brings out the bad girl in Mischka and she in turn reminds him that doing good has its own rewards.

    While Pell and Dathan are secondary characters in this novel their story is beautiful, poignant and pivotal to the plot. There is a rogue Fallen that does the dirty work and then there is the evil "puppet master" that manipulates the Fallen as well as circumstances to put himself into a position of power. This is a very typical bad guy plan that isn't quite completed by the end of this story. That was just fine by me because that means that hopefully Ms. Marsh is planning a follow-up book that will allow us to revisit Brend, Mischka, Pell, Dathan and the rest of the Fallen to see if they find the redemption they were promised.

    Originally posted at Whipped Cream Reviews

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 14, 2011

    If you are a lover paranormal romance, don't miss this great read!

    Despite some of negative reviews and ridiculous comparisons to other authors, I found this to be a definate great read. Anne Marsh did a wonderful job creating all the aspects of a paranormal action/mystery/sexy-romance story that we all love to read. If don't like books with (explicit) sex scenes, any adult paranormal book is probably not for you, unless you stay within the youth books (Twilight). This was a great book from beginning to end. I liked the fact that the author ended the story with the assumption that this will be a series, which means.......more to come. I just love series!!! And thanks Anne Marsh for the free read, I will definately check out your other books!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 11, 2011

    Great Read

    Paranormal ertoica at its best. Thank god it had a story line. Most people complain about too much sex and not enough story. I say enough story with just enough sex to compliment. Finally someone with the right mixture. Definately a good read.
    The story of the nemisis was a little predictable and non the the main character dying was unbelievable but not tying up the loose end of them using genic DNA to search for the rest of the brethen potential soul mates could have added substance.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2012

    Free

    Loved it! Captivating. And great for a free book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 9, 2011

    Good Read

    Very entertaining hope there is more to come.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 1, 2011

    Good read for free

    This was a good story but the excessive graphic sex got in the way. The concept was good but largely undeveloped, it seemed like an intro to a much bigger story that never happened.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2011

    I understand now why it was free....

    Laughably terrible. Granted, I didn't realize it was a romance/erotica story, but even given the premise, this book is horribly written. Take five words or so out of the author's vocabulary, and there wouldn't be a book at all.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2011

    No warning for extremely graphic sex

    There is a difference between a romance novel and a smut book.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 13, 2011

    T M I

    To much information. The sex was to detailed and the story suffered. Thank goodness it was a free friday. Don't waste your money.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 11, 2011

    suckish

    If I could rate no stars for this book I would have This book has to much porn writen sex This book is NOT reccomend by me This book might have a great title for a well fit fantasy but NO this book is reccomended for porns

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 21, 2013

    Brends Duranov is Fallen Angel called Dominions turned Goblin by

    Brends Duranov is Fallen Angel called Dominions turned Goblin by Michael for his part in rebellion. Michael offers redemption in the form a soul mate to regain all that is lost in the Fall from Heaven. Brends stop believing in soul mates over millennia ago. Zer tells Brends that there is a rogue killing women much like Michael did and that they need to find this rogue fast. Pellinor (Pell) Arden is seeking protection from a stalker and only Dathan can provide it. Dathan wants Pell to bond with him in return for his protection. Mischka Baran is searching for her cousin Pell in G2's despite her disgust with paranormals. Mischka made a promise and she intends to keep it. Mischka is suppose to meet with Brends but ends up discovering murder soul mates instead. Mischka is horrified by the deaths which remind her of her parents deaths as child. Mischka is straitlaced person that she shows everyone but secretly wants to be wild child instead. Brends knows Mischka's secret desire and intends to show her how good it can be. The rogue is Eilor. Will the killings be stopped? Can Mischka submit to Brends? Are soul mates real? Your answers await you in Bond With Me.

    This a very unique take on Fallen Angels. I adore Mischka for her wanting to be wild child. I also love the protective streak Brends has for Mischka. I want to claw Eilor's eyes out along with his boss. The best part of this book that is it's setting in Russia something that doesn't happen very often in books with the exception of classics like Anna Karenina. I will definitely read more of this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2012

    Good

    A good mix

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2012

    First paranormal romance

    This was my firt paranormal romance and not my normal read but i did find myself getting caught up in them. That being said i am not sure i will read more but i dont feel like i wasted my lime.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 16, 2012

    Awesome read! Mischka Baran needs to find her cousin, Pell, bef

    Awesome read!

    Mischka Baran needs to find her cousin, Pell, before her cousin does something rash…again. Brends Duranov owns the club G2, an exclusive club that caters to his brothers, The Fallen. Mischka can’t find her cousin without Brends help and Brends has never wanted a woman like he wants Mischka. Throw in the fact that Mischka and Pell need protection from a psycho serial killer, a Fallen rogue, and the odds tip in Brends favor of coercing Mischka’s agreement to bond with him. Let the fun begin.

    Awesome read! I love the world building. The plot is excellent. The characters are hot, interesting, well-developed and I did mention hot, right? The side story about Pell and Dathan included in the story arc is also decent though short. Don’t read the sex scenes in public. Wowzers! *fans self* This different take on Fallen Angels is very cool. I can’t wait to start His Dark Bond and see how the plot continues.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2012

    A very Good read.

    I highly recommend this read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1401 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 71