Customer Reviews for

Bonds of Justice (Psy-Changeling Series #8)

Average Rating 4.5
( 183 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(99)

4 Star

(55)

3 Star

(17)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

"We are what we make ourselves"

Max and Sophia know the truth of this saying, have wrested it from their traumatic childhoods when they were both abused or abandoned by those who should have cared for them most. That trauma has shaped them, honed them both into warriors for justice, and that quest br...
Max and Sophia know the truth of this saying, have wrested it from their traumatic childhoods when they were both abused or abandoned by those who should have cared for them most. That trauma has shaped them, honed them both into warriors for justice, and that quest brings them together in this, the terrific 8th entry in Nalini Singh's fantastic futuristic world. Joining forces on 2 missions - to seek out the force behind a concerted attack on Nikita Duncan's (the coldly Psi mother-from-hell...OR IS SHE?!)empire and to find justice for the victims of a sociopath, human cop, Max, and Psi J Corp operative, Sophia, are a perfect team for the job and a perfect romantic match. Tortured by their pasts, shaped by their flaws, theirs is one of Singh's most tender yet intense couplings to date. In past books we've been introduced to varying Psi powers: Sascha's abilities as an E (empath); Ashaya's M (medical) talents; Faith's all-seeing but hard to interpret F (forseer) capabilities; Judd's terrifying yet harnessed powers as a TK (telekinetic) and ex-military/assassin Arrow training; and now the J (justice) seeking Sophia who can literally pull the memories of very dirty deeds from the minds of criminals. Yet J's, like F's, invariably descend into insanity and Sophia's mental protective shields have deteriorated under the crushing blows of all that violence culled from the memories of others. Can Max somehow save her by pulling her from the Net...or will the twin Net Mind forces of Dark and Light have something to say about it?

And as always we have the Changeling Pack at its protective best. We get to see Lucas and Sascha, Vaughn and Faith, Clay and Tally, and the lucious Dorian as they all play their roles in aiding the investigation and helping the wholly human Max to have his chance with Sophia. This is the first time we've seen a fully human character mate with either the Psi or Changelings in this world...both Tally and Dev had a little Psi in them...and Max holds his own and then some.

As Silence continues to deteriorate into violence, it looks like this futuristic society of Psi, Changeling, and low man on the totem pole, the Humans, are hurtling toward some sort of showdown. And, man, will it be a doozy!

Neat developments in both Nikita and Kaleb's characters also rev up the forward motion in this, my favorite of all the paranormal romance series.
Fantastic!!!!!!!

posted by romancemistress on July 3, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Just waiting for the next in the series

I am undecided about this one. I loved this series from the start but this one and the last (Blaze of Memory) have not been my favorites. I really liked Max and Sophia but their feelings for each other seemed so rushed. It was worth the purchase and I do recommend it...
I am undecided about this one. I loved this series from the start but this one and the last (Blaze of Memory) have not been my favorites. I really liked Max and Sophia but their feelings for each other seemed so rushed. It was worth the purchase and I do recommend it. At the end there is an excerpt from the next novel (Play of Passion) and it looks great. I've been waiting for Drew to get a novel since Caressed by Ice.

posted by C3_1991 on July 16, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 99 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted July 3, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    "We are what we make ourselves"

    Max and Sophia know the truth of this saying, have wrested it from their traumatic childhoods when they were both abused or abandoned by those who should have cared for them most. That trauma has shaped them, honed them both into warriors for justice, and that quest brings them together in this, the terrific 8th entry in Nalini Singh's fantastic futuristic world. Joining forces on 2 missions - to seek out the force behind a concerted attack on Nikita Duncan's (the coldly Psi mother-from-hell...OR IS SHE?!)empire and to find justice for the victims of a sociopath, human cop, Max, and Psi J Corp operative, Sophia, are a perfect team for the job and a perfect romantic match. Tortured by their pasts, shaped by their flaws, theirs is one of Singh's most tender yet intense couplings to date. In past books we've been introduced to varying Psi powers: Sascha's abilities as an E (empath); Ashaya's M (medical) talents; Faith's all-seeing but hard to interpret F (forseer) capabilities; Judd's terrifying yet harnessed powers as a TK (telekinetic) and ex-military/assassin Arrow training; and now the J (justice) seeking Sophia who can literally pull the memories of very dirty deeds from the minds of criminals. Yet J's, like F's, invariably descend into insanity and Sophia's mental protective shields have deteriorated under the crushing blows of all that violence culled from the memories of others. Can Max somehow save her by pulling her from the Net...or will the twin Net Mind forces of Dark and Light have something to say about it?

    And as always we have the Changeling Pack at its protective best. We get to see Lucas and Sascha, Vaughn and Faith, Clay and Tally, and the lucious Dorian as they all play their roles in aiding the investigation and helping the wholly human Max to have his chance with Sophia. This is the first time we've seen a fully human character mate with either the Psi or Changelings in this world...both Tally and Dev had a little Psi in them...and Max holds his own and then some.

    As Silence continues to deteriorate into violence, it looks like this futuristic society of Psi, Changeling, and low man on the totem pole, the Humans, are hurtling toward some sort of showdown. And, man, will it be a doozy!

    Neat developments in both Nikita and Kaleb's characters also rev up the forward motion in this, my favorite of all the paranormal romance series.
    Fantastic!!!!!!!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 6, 2011

    ANOTHER FANTASTIC READ!!!M

    I absolutely LOVED this book; it's one of my favorites in the series. One of the things I love about Nalini Singh is her attention to detail as she builds her PsyChangeling world. This book had everything for me: a breathtaking, gut-wrenching romance between Max and his Sophie, a very revealing look into Nikita's business empire, details about Sascha's pregnancy, visits with the DarkRiver cats, more information about the elusive Councilor Krychek, and a front row seat on the complex justice system and the ever widening rift between the members of the Psy Council. The tension is mounting and people are taking sides, choosing allies. It's about to get really nasty and boy, can we feel it!!!! I know most people would have preferred a romance between two changelings or a Psy-changeling romance, but humans live in Nalini's universe too, and she's made sure they're not shortchanged with this novel. Max is as intelligent, sexy, cunning, loyal and alpha as any changeling male, and I love him to bits. He's pretty spectacular, even for a 'lowly human'. Nalini writes romance that capture my heart as well as my mind. I'm forever playing connect the dots, trying to figure out what happens next. I can't wait for the next one....

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 23, 2010

    Bonds of Justice by Nalini Singh

    Synopsis
    Max Shannon is a good cop, one of the best in New York Enforcement. Born with a natural shield that protects him against Psy mental invasions, he knows he has little chance of advancement within the Psy- dominated power structure. The last case he expects to be assigned to is that of a murderer targeting a Psy Councilor's closest advisors. And the last woman he expects to compel him in the most sensual of ways is a Psy on the verge of catastrophic mental fracture.

    Max Shannon , human cop has been teamed up with Sophia Russo a Justice Psy who has been mentally exhausted doing her job. These two are paired to try to bring a sociopath killers victims bodies home and on a different front, find out if a Psy Councilors' closet advisors truly committed suicide.

    The chemistry is definitely hot between the two main characters , but they have to overcome tremendous odds to be together. This story is action packed and has an outlook on this world that will make you look on all the complexities of life. There is very few black and white answers in this book but various shades of gray.

    It is a wonderful story and definitely can be read alone but I feel if you read the other books in the series you will have a better appreciation for this novel.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 14, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    This is a great police procedural romantic urban fantasy

    In New York, Councilor Nikita Duncan finds too coincidental the deaths of several of her closest advisors and employees in the Bay area. She sends enforcer Max Shannon to San Francisco to investigate the recent deaths in order to ascertain if they were murdeedr as she suspects has occurred. Nikita trusts Max's sleuthing skills and as important his ability to thwart Psy mental influences even though he is human.

    Psy Justice operative Sophia Russo volunteers to assist Max although she knows that each new memory extraction may mean her death. She fully understands her mind is fracturing due to her hazardous work that also dramatically reduces life spans. This is due to the consequences of telepathic shields being lowered dangerously so the J agent can take down the barrier of the prey they extract their information from. Still she refuses to quit as she works closely with Max on his inquiry.

    This is a great police procedural romantic urban fantasy entry in a terrific series that seems heading to a pandemic cataclysm. Max is terrific as he understands the glass ceiling for primitive humans in law enforcement, but has unique skills that make him perfect for this investigation. The star-crossed romance enhances a terrific mystery as the world of Nalini Singh is deeply explored through the primitive cop and the Psy Justice.

    Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2013

    Loved it.

    Loved it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2013

    Wow

    This was one heck of a ride. The seties has been building and is pretty complocated at this point. This book definitely upped the mystery and suspense. And I loved Max and Sophia together.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2013

    Highly recommend

    Great series, have enjoyed reading them. Author has a great talent for making you feel what you are reading will look for more of her books. They are really imaginitive and have a different outlook on shifters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2012

    Excellent

    One of my favorites in a wonderful series, I loved the story of Max and Sophia, the cop and the justice Psy. Highly recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 12, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    love them

    strong man and stronger women love it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2010

    Loved it!!

    I am a big fan of Nalini Singh's books, especially the Psy-changeling series. The world that she has created in her books is utterly unique, detailed and absorbing. I find myself actually pausing to think about the moral and ethical ramifications of the Psy world.
    This new book has to be one of my favorite stories in the series. I wasn't anticipating a book for Max nor was I excited about it. I began reading it in order to continue with the series I've enjoyed so much thus far. However I quickly fell in love with Max, who we are introduced to in the Mine to Possess story of Talin and Clay. Right from the start I liked Sophia and Max's characters. Even though Max is fully human he very much could have been one of the changeling males. We also get introduced to the fascinating J designation (which is what Sophia is). There is great chemistry between Max and Sophia and you immediately start rooting for the pair. They both have a lot of emotional scars, from traumatic childhoods as well as dealing with the pain and horror that accompanies their job roles. I loved the fact that Sophia was far from the perfect Psy in appearance and in behavior and yet Max saw right to her amazing spirit.

    The best part of the story though is really the developments that take place in the Psy council. The plot takes a crucial turn which makes this book a must read if you follow the series. I was intrigued to get a closer look at Nikita's character as well as the unexpected actions of Kaleb.

    I don't know how I'm going to be able to wait for the next book (Drew and Indigo). Though I'm especially looking forward to a Hawke and Sienna installment!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 99 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5