Customer Reviews for

Bone #9: Crown of Horns

Average Rating 5
( 22 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(18)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted March 17, 2009

    A world I always dream of returning to.

    Jeff Smith is a true author. He breathes the heart and soul into his characters. He has made a beautiful, inconceivable world with heart-warming heroes and spine-chilling villains. From the Bone cousins to the Red Dragon to the shadowy Lord of the Locusts, I love them all!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 11, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Randstostipher "tallnlankyrn" Nguyen for TeensReadToo.com

    From the very first page, the ninth installment in the BONE graphic novel series starts off with a bang.

    It begins with Thorn and Fone Bone, who are imprisoned by their own people, having the recurring dream of when her parents gave her away to the dragons. This time, however, the dream is clearer than before - she is able to see her mother.

    With this dream, Thorn figures out that the only way for the war to end is if she finds the Crown of Horns. But Fone Bone is quick to object, since the object could just lead to an unclear end to the war.

    Outside, the war has begun between the enemies - the Pawan and rat creature army led by Briar - and the city of Atheia. Although Atheia's army are able to force the enemy to retreat, they are still surrounded by them. With this, despite objections, Thorn understands that it is up to her to save her Gran'ma and her city, even if it could mean that it will end her life.

    So as Phoney and Gran'ma hold down the fort and venture off on their own journey, Thorn and Fone Bone, along with Bartleby, are off to seal the fate of their city. Whether or not Fone Bone is right is a different story. Finding the Crown of Horns is a challenge with so many obstacles standing in their way, and what it could possibly awake is what makes this installment darker than those before.

    As the first BONE graphic novel I've ever read, it definitely grabbed me from the start. For one, the art and the colors are extremely stunning. The plot itself is intriguing and compelling and is full of action and ferocious creatures that no one should ever have to encounter. The intensity of the war is balanced by the hilarious characters of Phoney and Smiley, who just put a smile on the reader's face whenever they are featured in the story.

    This is a wonderful series for those reluctant to pick up a book, and BONE: CROWN OF HORNS makes for a thrilling addition.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2013

    The book Bones the Crown of Horns by Jeff Smith is a great boo


    The book Bones the Crown of Horns by Jeff Smith is a great book. I recommend this book for anyone who likes adventure and battles. I agree with the blog on Bone Wiki. The wiki says that the crown of horns is a mystical artifact considered the most guarded secret of the dragons. Humans know very little about it themselves. Luckily Thorn isn’t an ordinary human. She can see visions and she can fly. She is able to get to the crown, all she has to do is touch it and the locust spirit will be gone forever but she gets stuck and is unable to touch it. Fone Bone comes and uses static electricity to touch it for her. It worked the locust is gone forever and there is piece throughout the land. This adventure was great and that is why the book is good. Another reason why I recommend this book is because of the characters. The Bone brothers’ character trait is inspirational. They get run out of Boneville because they are wrongfully accused of stealing. They never give up on life. They want to make their lives better by helping others. They end up trying to save the kingdom from the locust. They do everything they can to save the kingdom. This is karma they do nice things and expect nice things in return. The last reason why I recommend this book is because of the battles in the book. It has battles between two armies. It also has battles between dragons. The battles are very interesting to read. I couldn’t put the book down. One battle was between the dragons. It was all the dragons against the biggest dragon. The big dragon was a bad dragon that ruined the balance in the land. All the other dragons had to fight the big dragon, which was 500 times bigger than the normal dragons. This battle was one of the key battles and when the small dragons won the good guys got a chance to win. I recommend this book because of the adventure, characters, and the battles.
    My favorite character is Fone Bone. I like Fone the most because he is the leader of the Bone brothers. He has great leadership qualities. He also is the reason why there is peace throughout the kingdom. If he weren’t there with Thorn then she would never have touched the crown of horns. Since he saved the kingdom he is my favorite character. He also was in love with Thorn and had the choice to become king or to go back to Boneville. He decided to go back to Boneville. I like this about him because he decided not to be the wealthy ruler but to be the wise middle classmen. I admire his choices.
    My favorite quote from the book “We will never stop until I say so” (Smith 63). Fone Bone says it to Thorn and to the other Bone brothers. This is my favorite quote because they were about to give up and if Fone never said this then they would have given up, therefore they would all be slaves or they would be dead. The book Bone the Crown of Horns is a great book and I definitely recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Best book series I ever read

    To read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    My 9 Year Old LOVES These Books

    My 9 year old read numbers 8 & 9 in just under two days. The video game system remained off for that entire period...his choice. I do recommend a parent pre-read as some material may not be suitable for some children.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Great series for boys 9-11 yrs. old

    The books in this series have made wonderful gifts for my grandsons. They LOVE the books and anything that keeps boys 9 - 12 years old interested and excited about reading is a good thing!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2010

    This book is is one of the BEST books ever!!!!

    When I first herd about this book or sires I really wanted to read them. They are all so interesting and the Crown of Horns is my favorite because it is the battle between good and evil!Or the rat creatures mostly! Thorn now knows that she is a princess and has to fight for her side but when her mom keeps telling her "Crow of Horns" she goes on an adventure that will change her life forever!!!!!! But I cannot tell you the end you will just have to read for yourself to find out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2010

    Bone:Crown of Horns

    My almost 10 year old grandson just got into this series. He really enjoys reading them

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2010

    my friend's son loved the entire series

    Over the years, I've bought all 9 Bone books, plus Rose, for my friend's son. He's now 10 years old and just received the last books in the series. He has read them several times and is raving about them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 25, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Bone

    My 8 year old loves this series. This book got him to love reading!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2009

    enjoy the latest in the series

    look forward to more

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2009

    My 10 year old loves this series

    My son has all 9 of the books in the series and has read them each several times. This is just a fun series for children to enjoy reading without any pressure. There is more violence in this book than the other 8 in the series. But still a good book according to him.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    A WONDERFUL CONCLUSION TO ONE OF THE BEST SERIES OF GRAPHIC NOVELS!

    Crown of Horns is a wonderful conclusion to the Bone series of graphic novels. Filled with non-stop action, adventure, romance, comedy, suspense, drama, and a great set of characters and villains, the Bone graphic novel series is a must for all readers. The saddest part is, though, that this is the last book in the series! If only there was more! Jeff Smith is one of the best authors ever! Three cheers for Bone!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2008

    To bad its the last book.

    The ninth book has to be the best. I was always wanting to see what would happen after number 8. Too bad its the last book...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2