Customer Reviews for

Bone Crossed (Mercy Thompson Series #4)

Average Rating 4.5
( 1191 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(833)

4 Star

(279)

3 Star

(57)

2 Star

(12)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

17 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

Well, I liked it.

The 4th book in the Mercy Thompson series picks up exactly where 3 left off. Mercy has alot of healing to do mentally & emotionally after the rape and as much as she wants to just "snap out of it", it does take time. She also has to deal w/ Adam,the werewolf alpha makin...
The 4th book in the Mercy Thompson series picks up exactly where 3 left off. Mercy has alot of healing to do mentally & emotionally after the rape and as much as she wants to just "snap out of it", it does take time. She also has to deal w/ Adam,the werewolf alpha making her an offical member of the pack and the rest of the pack that may not want her there. She also discovers that the mistress of the local vampire seeth knows Mercy killed one of her vamps awhile back and wants her dead. Her vampire friend Stefan, who helped cover up the other vamps death is kicked out of the seeth and goes to Mercy to warn and help protect her. Unfortunately, another vampire also has his sights set on the coyote walker and is determined to use her friends against her in order to capture her for himself. We learn more about the pack and pack magic in this book and Mercy does heal well enough to get through the book and come out on top as the strong heroine we all know and love.

posted by Sparkling_Ruby on March 31, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Solid, but not exceptional ...

When you get any series that goes beyond a trilogy, you're going to have a weak one. This was it, in my opinion. Not saying it was bad, but ... it wasn't great. Was it just me, or was Mercy just not very sharp mentally in this instalment? I liked the development of her ...
When you get any series that goes beyond a trilogy, you're going to have a weak one. This was it, in my opinion. Not saying it was bad, but ... it wasn't great. Was it just me, or was Mercy just not very sharp mentally in this instalment? I liked the development of her relationship with Adam, but the author needs to stop playing up the bond with Samuel; it's distracting. And what's with the Samuel/Adam anyway? Makes me think of the beer commercial. Also, the main conflict of the story was poorly approached, the build-up was dissatisfying and so was the conclusion. It was obvious to me from almost the beginning who the villain of the piece would be in this book - why did it take the main characters such a long time to get it? I'm all for suspending disbelief for a good author, but I find it hard to suspend common sense or intelligence. Overall, a solid offering with good elements that add up to less than the sum of their parts. At the risk of sounding contrary, I remain eager for the next Briggs book.

posted by IrredeemableBibliophile on February 6, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 279 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 14
  • Posted May 31, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Like you were there!

    So I recently have joined the relm of ficition and as a second book of fiction to start reading I think this an excellent book. I would find my self lost in it. laughing at funny parts. I would catch myself totally enthralled in it and thinking i was there for a moment. The style and the story keep you wanting more. Must read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 29, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Mercy's at it again

    I love Mercy. She is constantly finding new ways to making trouble and getting out of it eventually. This time there are more ghosts, more vampires, and fae to assist in her trouble.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Good, but not one of the best.

    I have read the first three books a couple of times now and I really liked the series to date. I even really enjoyed the spinoff series on the Omega wolf. So when this one came out of course I went out and bought it. However, there was something about this book that just didn't fit for me.

    Though in other books Mercy has been a bit over her head, she never felt helpless to me. In this book, Briggs departs a bit from that perspective of the characters that she established in the previous three books. Don't get me wrong it is still an entertaining read, but I probably won't reread it unless I feel I forgot something when the next one comes out.

    Bottom line, it is an decent book, but I would wait for it to be in paperback or check it out from a library if you can.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Great characters with a small touch of romance

    I have been keeping up the Mercy Thompson series. I enjoy the way Ms.Briggs gives you a little more insight into each characters motivation as the series continues. I read this book in one afternoon and the plot moved along, and I was never bored. There is a little romance going on between Adam and Mercy, and finally in "Bone Cross," you get Mercy to commit herself to Adam and his pack. The book doesn't contain much if any sex, and the profanity is kept very low. A really good read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2013

    check it out

    slower starting but fun

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2012

    Highly recommend

    Great continuation of series and plot line.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Good book

    Good book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Really good

    This book starts immediately after the 3rd book. I was hooked instantly. Very good read, can't wait to read the next one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Another Good one

    Just keep reading!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 14, 2012

    Enjoyable read!

    I stumbled upon this series waiting for the next in the Rachel Morgan series, by Kim Harrison. Got sucked in and inhaled this whole series in about two weeks! Looking forward to further adventures with the world of Mercy Thompson!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    kept me turning the pages

    Bone Crossed the fourth installment in the Mercy Thompson series was my favorite thus far. In this action packed novel, Mercy manages to get herself in some predicaments. I consumed this in a few hours and loved every minute of it. The tale picks up right where the last one left off. Finally it looks like, Adam and Mercy might share an intimate moment; NOT. Mercy’s Mom shows up to check on Mercy, and an old friend from college seeking Mercy’s help with a ghost. Complete chaos right? Not even close, because Mercy’s vampire friend Stephan shows up and he‘s starving. Marsilia knows about Mercy killing the second vampire and wants her dead. Mercy’s shop is vandalized and an attack occurs against one of the pack. Mercy now has a death threat on her head; she’s trying to deal with panic attacks caused by the rape, and accept Adam as her mate. It’s decided that Mercy will head out of town and help her friend with her ghost problem. Adam will try and negotiate with the vampire queen to save Mercy and prevent anymore of his pack from being injured. Sounds simple right? Not when your name is Mercy. The tale that unfolds has Mercy in peril as she attempts to save a little boy and his family from much more than a ghost. We learn a lot more in this novel and I love how Brigg’s explains Stephan’s absence. Marsilia is shaping up to be a very complex character, which surprisingly I am beginning to like. Mercy begins to realize that Adam truly loves her, and that it’s ok to depend on someone. The other characters old and new bring a sense of believability to the tale. The suspenseful predicament that Mercy finds herself in, had me complete engrossed. The supernatural creatures she encountered along the way were delightful, horrifying, and had me fearing for Mercy’s life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 3, 2012

    awesome buy it

    as always this series is really good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2011

    Smarter than a Vampire

    The queen of the Vamps wants Mercy dead. Eye for an Eye stuff. Mercy is smarter and has plenty of muscle on her side. Good page turner.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 21, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great Book

    wasnt as good as the other but it wasnt bad still liked it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 1, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    More vampires...

    Mercy is dealing with the aftermath of Iron Kissed, and still trying to cope with relationships. But this book deals with vampires again, which I'm not the biggest fan of personally. At least the vampires in this world have slightly more interesting twists to them than standard urban fantasy fare. The story itself is well done, moves nicely, and is a good addition to the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2011

    really like this series

    my only complaint is the intensity of the main characters relationship - their interactions. i don't think this is an area of creative comfort for the author. using it tastefully pulls the adult reader into the story deeper. an overall good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2010

    Best one in series!!!

    I was wondering if anyone would like to LENDME this book on my nook I bought it in paperback and lost it and would love to re read it please email me at robin_borish@yahoo.com

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 22, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    The story gets better!!

    I read the first three books say that this book is okay on my standards, it have action, drama, thrill and some fun! some romance but nothing beyond that, i know people who got as far as the second will read the rest of Mercy Thompson, although sometimes, i feel she's too dump for her bad self, I'm sorry but I'm weak for bad ass smart heroines, is not that she's so dumb but i think is the bad choices she makes, oh well I'm almost done with the book and i could say is worth bothering reading the rest of it, is pretty decent.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2010

    Another great one

    Mercy kicks a**. I can't wait to read the next one. I was a bit disappointed to find out that she may be settling down, I have liked her as a lone coyote and hope she doesn't lose her edge

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 26, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Bone Crossed

    Mercy Thompson is back in Bone Crossed, an unusual mystery/paranormal story. Mercy is a shape shifter who gets into some sticky situations. After killing two vampires to save her friends the queen of the seethe seeks revenge. In addition a college friend comes to Mercy seeking help for her trouble son who is tormented by a ghost. Mercy must balance protecting her friends and saving a child from danger. An enjoyable read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 279 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 14