Customer Reviews for

The Bone House (Bright Empires Series #2)

Average Rating 4
( 59 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(27)

4 Star

(20)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Lawhead doesn't disappoint in Bone House

The second in the five-book Bright Empires Series, The Bone House lives up to Stephen Lawhead's reputation as one of the finest science fiction/fantasy writers today. An ambitious work, it is filled with vivid descriptions of foreign lands, gripping action and a plot th...
The second in the five-book Bright Empires Series, The Bone House lives up to Stephen Lawhead's reputation as one of the finest science fiction/fantasy writers today. An ambitious work, it is filled with vivid descriptions of foreign lands, gripping action and a plot that moves through multiple worlds. Lawhead sculpts a believable universe and peoples it with memorable characters that come to life as you read. Following Kit Livingstone, the story tracks his progress in trying to locate the skin map, a map that supposedly shows the connections between multiple dimensions and worlds. But his steps are dogged by the ruthless Archelaeus Burleigh, who will stop at nothing to get his hands on the map. Written with characteristic sweeping panoramas, The Bone House is never static. A wonderful sense of movement and change pervades it from the very first page. The characterizations are never dull, and Lawhead has a way with description that, once read, provokes an accompanying flash of recognition and personal recollection that realizes "yes, that's it!" Become like Coleridge and willingly suspend your disbelief as you turn the pages of this book to enter into an interdimensional race! Put your feet up, lean back in your favorite chair and let this author's words take you on a journey that won't disappoint.

posted by markn12 on September 19, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

L

Harriet klausner and all the long winded posters who reveal everything about the plot just ruined another book choice for me. Hey, dont waste money buying the book. Let the long winded posters who brag about getting the book for free read it and tell us all about it! Th...
Harriet klausner and all the long winded posters who reveal everything about the plot just ruined another book choice for me. Hey, dont waste money buying the book. Let the long winded posters who brag about getting the book for free read it and tell us all about it! That way you save money!!!!

posted by 8888649 on October 19, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 59 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2012

    L

    Harriet klausner and all the long winded posters who reveal everything about the plot just ruined another book choice for me. Hey, dont waste money buying the book. Let the long winded posters who brag about getting the book for free read it and tell us all about it! That way you save money!!!!

    6 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 19, 2011

    Lawhead doesn't disappoint in Bone House

    The second in the five-book Bright Empires Series, The Bone House lives up to Stephen Lawhead's reputation as one of the finest science fiction/fantasy writers today. An ambitious work, it is filled with vivid descriptions of foreign lands, gripping action and a plot that moves through multiple worlds. Lawhead sculpts a believable universe and peoples it with memorable characters that come to life as you read. Following Kit Livingstone, the story tracks his progress in trying to locate the skin map, a map that supposedly shows the connections between multiple dimensions and worlds. But his steps are dogged by the ruthless Archelaeus Burleigh, who will stop at nothing to get his hands on the map. Written with characteristic sweeping panoramas, The Bone House is never static. A wonderful sense of movement and change pervades it from the very first page. The characterizations are never dull, and Lawhead has a way with description that, once read, provokes an accompanying flash of recognition and personal recollection that realizes "yes, that's it!" Become like Coleridge and willingly suspend your disbelief as you turn the pages of this book to enter into an interdimensional race! Put your feet up, lean back in your favorite chair and let this author's words take you on a journey that won't disappoint.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2012

    will make you crave for the next

    The first thing that I liked about this book is the author's conscientious effort to provide valuable information at the beginning for both new and old readers alike. I found the recapping of the events in the first book, Skin Map, really helpful in reminding me where I have previously left the characters in this book, who have become quite familiar enough for me to care about what happens to them next--yes, even those evil Burley men.

    Stephen R. Lawhead's writing and placing of the events in this book couldn't have been better. I found it hard to get into the first few chapters of the first book, but as i progressed, I found myself getting roped into the fascinating idea of ley travel and the infinite possibilities that open up to anyone who learns its secrets. The second book, though, held my interest from start to finish with its easy dialogues, intriguing storyline/s, and characters that have furthermore become dear to me.

    You may need to have read the first book, though, to really be able to appreciate this one. Again, nothing is concluded in the last chapter, but it efficiently paves the way for the last book in this series. I can hardly wait!

    Thank you, Booksneeze for my free review copy!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2012

    Garbage

    As soon as I saw the glowing reference to Ted Dekker I should have realized it was just the same level of unreadable garbage.

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 23, 2012

    Stephen Lawhead has done it again. THE BONE HOUSE picks up nice

    Stephen Lawhead has done it again. THE BONE HOUSE picks up nicely from where he left off in THE SKIN MAP and continues to cleverly build the story line. The many questions left at the end of THE SKIN MAP are beginning to be answered. I love the characters and the varying time/spaces in which he places them. Picturing myself in their situations, how in the devil would I keep track of where I was and the ley lines necessary to navigate my way back? Oh well, off to THE SPIRIT WELL and more fascinating adventure.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 5, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    A fascinating twist of layers

    The first book in the Bright Empires series intrigued me, so I wanted to continue my journey with this tale. Like the ley lines of time and dimensions the characters travel in this story, the plot is a fascinating twist of layers. Where I would be confused one moment, the “Ah ha…” was never far behind. There are many point of view characters, which is distracting at first, but I got used to it. This book gave many answers to questions posed in book one, but introduced just as many new questions that will, hopefully, be answered in book three. Overall, I enjoyed this book. It’s a different kind of way to tell a story, and I want to know what happens next.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 31, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    "The Bone House"

    The adventure from "The Skin Map" continues in the second installation of the Bright Empires series by Stephen Lawhead. Kit and his grandfather, Cosimo, resume their search for the missing parts of the map (the map that literally contains all of the ley lines), with Wilhelmina becomes very good at time travel. Each jump on a "ley line" brings adventure (i.e. Egypt) and danger (i.e. burly men), yet they continue on. The author gives more information about Lord Burleigh and how he became the person he is. What do Kit and Cosimo find this time? Why is Kit more laid back now? Will they escape Lord Burleigh and the burly men once again, or will the evil forces win a battle? Come along with Kit, Cosimo, and Mina as they explore time travel while unraveling the secrets of the Bone House.

    I was excited to see this book available because I read the first one. I recommend reading them in order so that the story and characters make sense to you. The characters are wonderfully written and the story line is fun. As the book comes to life, each reader gets to become a detective and a time traveler. The different characters and transitions may cause some difficulty at first, but taking the time to figure them out is worth it. This book will make a wonderful gift for young readers who love using their imagination and detective skills. I received the free copy I read on my Nook from Net Galley, and thank them for the opportunity. I look forward to the next installation.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2013

    Disappointing

    I was disappointed in this book. Mr Lawhead's writing seems immature. Perhaps an attempt to appeal to a much younger audience? I have long been a an of this writer. I hope this book is an abberation.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2012

    Loved the continuation

    Now on to the next one. I'm even thinking of checking out his Robin Hood series, sounded interesting!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2012

    Hard to believe Lawhead wrote this.

    I've read just about everything Stephen Lawhead has written and this isn't up to his usual standards. Try it if you must, but be prepared to be disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2012

    Read

    Ha ha ha MADE YOU LOOK!

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2012

    -

    -

    0 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 28, 2012

    This book was very enjoyable. It didn't draw me in quite like th

    This book was very enjoyable. It didn't draw me in quite like the first one, but still, a very fun read. I will be purchasing the last book in the series when it comes out =)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2012

    One word. Awesome.

    Awesome. Book 2, Love the characters, love the story, I cannot wait for the third book! I finished this book a while ago, and I still find myself thinking about the characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 30, 2012

    Exalent read, cant wait for the next one!

    This is the second Lawhead book I have read. The first being the Skin Map the first book in the Bright Empires Series. I enjoy how the writer is constantly changing the story line with adventures to far-away lands. I love it when I cant put a book down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 23, 2012

    Excellent fantasy.

    Lawhead is one of my favorite authors. Even in this series he works in the Celtic concept of 'between times'. Sometimes it is a bit confusing when the various 'locations' have different time RATES. Looking forward to #3!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 22, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    The Bone House

    ¿The Bone House¿ is the sequel to ¿The Skin Map¿ and while I loved the intriguing book cover, I can¿t very much say the same about the story in this sequel. I very much preferred the first book, ¿The Skin Map¿. I believe I¿ve reviewed it quite some time ago and I was really hooked on the story.

    While this book have the same thrilling factor in it, I can¿t seems to pay attention to the story because there¿s too much scenes shift. I struggled to read this sci-fi book and I find it difficult to finish.

    Perhaps this book is just not for me. If you¿re into sci-fi, however, don¿t let my opinion stop you from reading it. I¿m sure you¿ll enjoy it.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 26, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    House of thrilling fiction

    The Bone House is the second book in Stephen Lawhead¿s The Bright Empires Series following The Skin Map.
    In this episode the race to find missing pieces of the map continues to explore the uncharted dimensions of the multiverse, with enthralling action. Kit has found one piece of the skin map but others are still left, which will give a complete understanding of the Ley lines enabling him to travel through time and space. The sub plots are also gaining advancement, where Kit¿s girlfriend Mina, caught in the Seventeenth century Prague developing her knowledge of Ley lines, Burleigh has also raised his stake and willing to go on any terms to get the map.
    There are only a handful of series in which a novel gets better than the previous one, and this is that novel. This book is fast paced since the first chapter and keeps the reader hooked till the end and craving for more. Apart from developing more depth to the characters, the writing has also been eased in the flow, to tag along new readers.
    At the end of the book there is an essay which depicts the research work done by the author to make this story such intriguing. The Spirit Well coming in September 2012 will mark the next installment in the series.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2011

    The Bone House

    "The Bone House", by Stephen R. Lawhead, is the second book in the Bright Empires series. The Bright Empires series is a trilogy starting with 'The Skin Map' (That I've already read). It is important to mention at this point that one should read the Skin Map before the Bone House and plan to read 'The Spirit Well' - the final installment due out in September 2012, since the story line flows. "The Bone House" continues the story of Kit Livingstone and assorted others as they journey through the multiple realities and different relative times using mysterious ley lines. The reason -they are trying to find the Skin Map, the ultimate prize in the universe.
    This is an excellent book on fantasy and thrill and every Stephen Lawhead fan must read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 25, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A Highly Entertaining Sequel

    Stephen R. Lawhead in his new book "The Bone House" Book Two in the Bright Empires series published by Thomas Nelson continues the search for the Skin Map.

    There is a concept known as Ley Travel. This is not the same as Time Travel, which is movement between the past, present and the future. No, Ley Travel, which involves lines of electromagnetic force embedded in the Earth can cause jumps not only in time but in space and reality as well. Explorer Arthur Flinders-Petrie used these Ley Lines and recorded his trips by tattooing his map on his torso. When he died this map was divided up in various places and times. Kit Livingstone is still on the quest given to him by his great-grandfather, Cosimo, to restore the skin map. This is not an easy task as not only is he in search of it others are as well. Others that want the map for selfish purposes and do not want Kit to succeed and will stop at nothing to accomplish this.

    I like a good adventure not only where there is action but where we are forced to think as well. In "The Bone House" Stephen R. Lawhead not only provides us adventure he also gives us much to think about. Kit and his fellow adventurers are placed in deadly danger time and time again, much like the heroes from the movie serials. Mr. Lawhead gives us such great characters that we are always rooting for them to succeed and get together with each other. Stephen R. Lawhead has given us an admirable sequel and I look forward with much anticipation to the next book in this series.

    If you would like to listen to interviews with other authors and professionals please go to Kingdom Highlights where they are available On Demand.

    To listen to 24 hours non-stop, commercial free Christian music please visit our internet radio station Kingdom Airwaves

    Disclosure of Material Connection: In conjunction with the CSFF Blog Tour, I received a free copy of this book from the publisher. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 59 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3