Customer Reviews for

The Bone House (Bright Empires Series #2)

Average Rating 4
( 59 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(27)

4 Star

(20)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Lawhead doesn't disappoint in Bone House

The second in the five-book Bright Empires Series, The Bone House lives up to Stephen Lawhead's reputation as one of the finest science fiction/fantasy writers today. An ambitious work, it is filled with vivid descriptions of foreign lands, gripping action and a plot th...
The second in the five-book Bright Empires Series, The Bone House lives up to Stephen Lawhead's reputation as one of the finest science fiction/fantasy writers today. An ambitious work, it is filled with vivid descriptions of foreign lands, gripping action and a plot that moves through multiple worlds. Lawhead sculpts a believable universe and peoples it with memorable characters that come to life as you read. Following Kit Livingstone, the story tracks his progress in trying to locate the skin map, a map that supposedly shows the connections between multiple dimensions and worlds. But his steps are dogged by the ruthless Archelaeus Burleigh, who will stop at nothing to get his hands on the map. Written with characteristic sweeping panoramas, The Bone House is never static. A wonderful sense of movement and change pervades it from the very first page. The characterizations are never dull, and Lawhead has a way with description that, once read, provokes an accompanying flash of recognition and personal recollection that realizes "yes, that's it!" Become like Coleridge and willingly suspend your disbelief as you turn the pages of this book to enter into an interdimensional race! Put your feet up, lean back in your favorite chair and let this author's words take you on a journey that won't disappoint.

posted by markn12 on September 19, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

L

Harriet klausner and all the long winded posters who reveal everything about the plot just ruined another book choice for me. Hey, dont waste money buying the book. Let the long winded posters who brag about getting the book for free read it and tell us all about it! Th...
Harriet klausner and all the long winded posters who reveal everything about the plot just ruined another book choice for me. Hey, dont waste money buying the book. Let the long winded posters who brag about getting the book for free read it and tell us all about it! That way you save money!!!!

posted by 8888649 on October 19, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted September 19, 2011

    Lawhead doesn't disappoint in Bone House

    The second in the five-book Bright Empires Series, The Bone House lives up to Stephen Lawhead's reputation as one of the finest science fiction/fantasy writers today. An ambitious work, it is filled with vivid descriptions of foreign lands, gripping action and a plot that moves through multiple worlds. Lawhead sculpts a believable universe and peoples it with memorable characters that come to life as you read. Following Kit Livingstone, the story tracks his progress in trying to locate the skin map, a map that supposedly shows the connections between multiple dimensions and worlds. But his steps are dogged by the ruthless Archelaeus Burleigh, who will stop at nothing to get his hands on the map. Written with characteristic sweeping panoramas, The Bone House is never static. A wonderful sense of movement and change pervades it from the very first page. The characterizations are never dull, and Lawhead has a way with description that, once read, provokes an accompanying flash of recognition and personal recollection that realizes "yes, that's it!" Become like Coleridge and willingly suspend your disbelief as you turn the pages of this book to enter into an interdimensional race! Put your feet up, lean back in your favorite chair and let this author's words take you on a journey that won't disappoint.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2012

    will make you crave for the next

    The first thing that I liked about this book is the author's conscientious effort to provide valuable information at the beginning for both new and old readers alike. I found the recapping of the events in the first book, Skin Map, really helpful in reminding me where I have previously left the characters in this book, who have become quite familiar enough for me to care about what happens to them next--yes, even those evil Burley men.

    Stephen R. Lawhead's writing and placing of the events in this book couldn't have been better. I found it hard to get into the first few chapters of the first book, but as i progressed, I found myself getting roped into the fascinating idea of ley travel and the infinite possibilities that open up to anyone who learns its secrets. The second book, though, held my interest from start to finish with its easy dialogues, intriguing storyline/s, and characters that have furthermore become dear to me.

    You may need to have read the first book, though, to really be able to appreciate this one. Again, nothing is concluded in the last chapter, but it efficiently paves the way for the last book in this series. I can hardly wait!

    Thank you, Booksneeze for my free review copy!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 5, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    A fascinating twist of layers

    The first book in the Bright Empires series intrigued me, so I wanted to continue my journey with this tale. Like the ley lines of time and dimensions the characters travel in this story, the plot is a fascinating twist of layers. Where I would be confused one moment, the “Ah ha…” was never far behind. There are many point of view characters, which is distracting at first, but I got used to it. This book gave many answers to questions posed in book one, but introduced just as many new questions that will, hopefully, be answered in book three. Overall, I enjoyed this book. It’s a different kind of way to tell a story, and I want to know what happens next.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2012

    Loved the continuation

    Now on to the next one. I'm even thinking of checking out his Robin Hood series, sounded interesting!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2012

    Read

    Ha ha ha MADE YOU LOOK!

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2012

    One word. Awesome.

    Awesome. Book 2, Love the characters, love the story, I cannot wait for the third book! I finished this book a while ago, and I still find myself thinking about the characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 30, 2012

    Exalent read, cant wait for the next one!

    This is the second Lawhead book I have read. The first being the Skin Map the first book in the Bright Empires Series. I enjoy how the writer is constantly changing the story line with adventures to far-away lands. I love it when I cant put a book down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 23, 2012

    Excellent fantasy.

    Lawhead is one of my favorite authors. Even in this series he works in the Celtic concept of 'between times'. Sometimes it is a bit confusing when the various 'locations' have different time RATES. Looking forward to #3!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 26, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    House of thrilling fiction

    The Bone House is the second book in Stephen Lawhead¿s The Bright Empires Series following The Skin Map.
    In this episode the race to find missing pieces of the map continues to explore the uncharted dimensions of the multiverse, with enthralling action. Kit has found one piece of the skin map but others are still left, which will give a complete understanding of the Ley lines enabling him to travel through time and space. The sub plots are also gaining advancement, where Kit¿s girlfriend Mina, caught in the Seventeenth century Prague developing her knowledge of Ley lines, Burleigh has also raised his stake and willing to go on any terms to get the map.
    There are only a handful of series in which a novel gets better than the previous one, and this is that novel. This book is fast paced since the first chapter and keeps the reader hooked till the end and craving for more. Apart from developing more depth to the characters, the writing has also been eased in the flow, to tag along new readers.
    At the end of the book there is an essay which depicts the research work done by the author to make this story such intriguing. The Spirit Well coming in September 2012 will mark the next installment in the series.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 24, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Another great book and can't wait for the rest! MUST READ!

    Kit Livingstone has once again stepped out of one Ley line and into trouble as he faces his arch enemy Lord Burleigh who will stop at nothing to claim the Skin Map. Little do they know that plans have been made, quite genius my I add to reclaim one of the pieces of the Skin Map by none other than Kit's own girlfriend Mina.

    The Bone House is the second installment in a 5 book series called the Bright Empires by Stephen R. Lawhead . This book takes you deeper into the story of the first book called the Skin Map in which Arthur Flinders-Petrie (the Man who is Map) has found a way to travel not only back in time, but can jump from place and time according to Ley Lines that are marked throughout our world and others in a multitude of Earth's which could be called a multiverse. Kit Livingstone is once again battling fro his life with some his friends he found along the way and is on the run from Lord Burleigh. A man with many talents and teams of men at his disposal which is on the hunt for the Skin Map. Little do they all know what treasure awaits them and what monumental life changing force they are about to discover!
    Please take the time to read The Skin Map before you read this book as you will understand more about the storyline and the characters. The Bone House can stand alone as a solo read, but with such a great storyline why would wouldn't you want to read The Skin Map as well. Thus book have many twists and turns so hold on to your seat and enjoy the ride! I would rate this book a 5 out of 5 stars and would highly recommend young readers to delve into this great Sci-Fi series. Stephen R. Lawhead has a great and imaginative mind to be able to suck you into the book from the moment you open the cover! Can't wait to see what happens in the next novel!

    I received this book with no monetary value attached and only for my honest review compliments of Christian Science Fiction and Fantasy Tours and Thomas Nelson Publishers.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 21, 2011

    The Bone House by Lawhead - a wonderful read!!!

    I have read Lawhead before and he is a wonderful writer. This book has every element to keep those teenage readers on the edge of their seats!
    The Bone House is the second book in the Bright Empire series. Read The Skin Map first. There is a cast of characters and summary of The Skin Map at the beginning of The Bone House, but you realy do need to read them in order.
    This second book in the 5 book series is all over the map, no pun intended but seems to focus on England and Egypt.
    The hardest part about the book was how slowly it reads. It has taken me several weeks to read this book, whereas I normally read through a book in a day or two.
    Let me stress again that book one, The Skin Map has to read prior to reading The Bone House or you wont be able to get into the story line at all.
    It has far more sci-fi aspects than the first book, so I enjoyed that but at the same time it really jumps around alot and without announcement - still, it does not take away from or necessarily distract a great deal from the story.
    It is a wonderful Christian written series for teen readers and I think it is shapping up into a great use of time! I give him 4 out of 5 stars!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great follow-up to The Skin Map!

    The Bone House is the second book in the Bright Empire series. This is not one of those series you can just jump into. You need to read The Skin Map first. There is a cast of characters and summary of The Skin Map at the beginning of The Bone House, but I encourage you to read them in order.

    In this book, we get more background on Lord Burleigh, as well as the Flinders-Petrie family. There is a lot of action in this story and there definitely aren't any dead spots... Well, maybe when Kit is staying with the cavemen. I could have used a little less detail there.

    This is a fun book that always keeps you guessing. You never know who is going to turn up or when or where they'll be. We're also not sure about the motives of a couple characters. I like the historic aspect of the story, but that's not really the focus, so it's not as much of a draw for me. I think what I like best is just the mystery of not knowing what's coming next. I'm looking forward to the third book, but not thrilled that I have to wait a year for it.

    I received an copy of this book for free from the BookSneeze review program.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Excellent Continuation

    With one piece of the skin map found, the race to find the other pieces gets all the more serious. With Wilhelmina's suspicious new mastering of ley leaping, Kit gets an extra step ahead. But if there is one thing he is learning in this reality of alternate worlds- you can run, but you can't hide. He must leap through the worlds on a quest to unlock the mystery of a house made all of bones, a place shrouded in mysticism.

    Meanwhile Mina has a journey of her own in Prague, and Burleigh and several others plot a way to win their prize in this ultimate race of greed.

    Number one, you must read The Skin Map first. No exceptions, the book will not make sense. If you have read The Skin Map, then: The Bright Empires is very unique in several ways. It does not follow the normal structural line of modern novels, it focuses on a group of individuals, each uniquely, and it dives into the present realities for many in different places at different times. All of which makes it very intriguing, though makes it difficult to review. I enjoyed book one in the series, The Skin Map, an I found the more time went on after having read the novel, like an enchantment, the more I realized that I truly loved the story, and the same appears to be happening with this book. The majority of the two books are not intense chase and suspense, no. But they are filled with side stories taking place at various points in history, and each one pulls me in deeply without fail.

    That said, I need to for-warn you of something. The Bone House, even more than The Skin Map, is filled with the following: Egypt, England, Egypt, Prague, England, other country, Egypt, England, Egypt, other country, Egypt, England, Egypt. They are a lot of countries, but predominately, England. And even more so, Egypt. If you love the two countries, as I do, than you are in luck. But if you have some sort of distaste (shame on you!), then you may get tired of hearing about the two cultures. Don't be concerned, though. It is called the Bright Empires for a reason, these are peaks of civilizations. Excellent novel, and I am anxiously anticipating the next installment.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 10, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Bright Empires, Part 2 - Make Sure You Read The Skin Map First.

    "The Bone House", by Stephen R. Lawhead, is the second book in the Bright Empires series. It continues the adventures of Kit and Mina as they travel through alternate realities to stop the evil Lord Burleigh. The Bright Empires series is a wonderful mix of suspense, fantasy and history as Kit, Mina and other characters travel between different time periods. One of the great things about this book is that it inspired me to go online and learn more about some of the historical characters featured, such as Roger Bacon and Thomas Young. Most of all, "The Bone House" is a fast-paced, action-packed read. The characters grab you and keep you wondering what is happening as you switch between time lines and stories. This is not a stand-alone book. It will not make much sense to you unless you have read "The Skin Map", the first book in the Bright Empires series. In fact, at times I wished that I had waited for all three books to come out before reading them, so to better keep track of the many plot twists. I think before the third book comes out next year, I will reread the first two. Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 3, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Intriguing novel with wisdom, adventure, and understanding

    The Bone House by Stephen R. Lawhead is the second installment to The Skin Map. During your journey into Kit's world, you find yourself running with him-on a quest restore a map the labels the hidden dimensions of the world. And his survival is dependent on being ahead one step of Burley Men. And tags along with Mina, who is gaining more experience in concurring the quest.This novel was a great read. I found the alternate detentions, quest, and characters intriguing throughout the whole continued journey. Lawhead makes the lead characters seem real right before your eyes as they go through alternate realities. And an easy read. Furthermore, I love how Lawhead takes the situations of what each and everyone of us goes through everyday; For example, a couple expecting their first child. I also like how he paraphrases bits and peaces of the Bible, making it not only a great fantasy novel, but also great words of wisdom, and understanding into who and what God and his creations are about.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 1, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Incredible!

    After finding on part of the Skin map, in the first installment of the series, our traveler Kit Livingstone must quicken the pace if he is to restore the map of the multiverse. Along the way he encounters the dreadful Burley men as well as the astute and resourceful Mina, both of whom are fellow ley travelers. Unsure of where the map leads or the meaning of his quest, he only knows that he can't let the Burley men beat him to it. With flashes into the life of Arthur, The Man Who is Map, and side excursions into the beginnings of Archie Burley, the quest takes the reader to several exotic locations in a breathless attempt to reveal the secret of The Bone House.

    Other than not having read the first book, The Skin Map, this book was an exhilarating read. Similar to coming up for air, I found the style of the novel to be so far above the drab novels that are so prevalent right now that it improved my outlook for the future of writing. With a vocabulary the rivals the SAT exam and college level spelling tests, Lawhead paints a vivid picture of not only the characters but also the environments which they visit.

    While reading the picture that was painted was both enjoyable and clean. Although the method of time and space travel confused me, my own fault not the author's, I enjoyed the freshness of his vision. I cannot say that this will be enjoyable for everyone, but I thoroughly enjoyed it.

    Note: If you do choose to read this book, be sure to read it in a distraction free zone. This novel reads so quickly that if you don't pay attention or reread then you will miss crucial elements.

    I received a complimentary copy of this book from the publisher through BookSneeze for my honest review.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 9, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    The second Bright Empires time-travel alternate historical thriller is an exciting, but convoluted tale

    Kit Livingstone no longer has the life of ennui since recently going back in time where he met his late great grandfather Cosimo who explained reality and its illusion variations to his future descendent. Since their family encounter, Kit has begun Cosimo's quest to obtain the Skin Map that enables users to time travel on ley line and hints at the Well of Souls. To his amazement, Kit succeeded in gaining his first section (see The Skin Map) though he met and eluded so far a brutal berserker Burley Man and alienated his girlfriend Wilhelmina Klug by being late for a London shopping trip.

    Currently Kit traverses an alterative realism in nineteenth century Egypt home to cavemen in the still-incomplete quest for the Skin Map, which holds the secret of the ley lines that make time travel possible and is the key to a further mystical secret involving the mysterious Well of Souls. While Kit fumbles his efforts, Mina sets up shop on seventeenth century Prague. She actually becomes proficient at time travel and keeps popping in and out of her placid boyfriend's life to encourage and advise him. Soon they find time anomalies as different epochs converge.

    The second Bright Empires time-travel alternate historical thriller is an exciting, but convoluted tale as too much occurs in the ley lines. The lead couple is a nice pairing as Mina is the aggressor ready to take the hill while Kit is the mellow one ready to take a nap on the hill. Although there are too many secondary characters with an overabundance of open threads, readers will still enjoy Stephen R. Lawhead's complex theory of relativity.

    Harriet Klausner

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2