BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Bone Thief (Body Farm Series #5)

Average Rating 4
( 128 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(70)

4 Star

(33)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 70 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted May 6, 2012

    Another top read by JeffersonBass... ethics and morality versus

    Another top read by JeffersonBass... ethics and morality versus friendhip... a mystery to solve and body parts black marketing that must be stopped... Dr. Brockton has his hands (and heart) full in this must read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2012

    Great continuation of the Body Farm Series

    I have loved reading this series and becoming involved with all the characters. Look forwards to more

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 28, 2010

    Stronger writing than its predecessors

    Anytime Grease calls, Dr. Bill Brockton knows the case could be dicey. "Grease" is the nickname given to Burt DeVriess, a wealthy Knoxville defense attorney. DeVriess wants Dr. Brockton to exhume the body of a eight-year-old corpse in order to determine if the wealthy decedent fathered an illegitimate child with one of the city's most notorious madams.

    But, the body in the coffin isn't intact. Someone's chopped up the decedent. As Dr. Brockton continues his investigation, he uncovers more of the Ivy Funeral Home's former clients with empty graves.

    But why are dead bodies being stolen? Parts are big business. Some unscrupulous tissue firm is clearly paying for cadavers.

    When the FBI get a lead on a firm, they ask Dr. Brockton to go undercover and offer to supply the group with donated cadavers from the Body Farm. The assignment goes against everything Dr. Brockton stands for, but if the law has any chance of catching the grave robbers, he's going to have to help.

    "The Bone Thief" is my favorite of the Body Farm novels by the award-winning team of Dr. Bill Bass, the founder of the real Body Farm, and Jon Jefferson, his film and writing partner. It's the grittiest and tightest paced of their efforts so far. The book will literally have you up reading well past your bedtime.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2014

    Best ever

    A must to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2014

    Love

    I love his books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 24, 2013

    Excellent suspense and good character development

    This is a great book, providing twisty-turny mysteries within a mystery and good character development. I also enjoy the education imparted throughout the story by its authors.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 22, 2013

    Highly Recommended

    This whole series is intriguing. Love the story for it's factuality of the anatomy and of some history. This book is for those who are not squeamish about unpleasant things such as decomposition of the human body and all that it involves.
    I would definitely recommend this for a book club discussion.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Excellant

    Highly recommend

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2012

    Another great book!!!

    Im a fan of Dr. Bass and love his stories. Book 2 is still one of my favorites. Great writeing duo. Bass' stories and Jeffersons words. Keep it up!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 26, 2011

    Fun page turner

    Another great story in the body farm series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2011

    Highly Recommend

    I have enjoyed all of the Jefferson Bass books. The Bone Thief provided a perspective about the secretive work & creation of the atom bomb. Great book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 20, 2011

    Wow! Hard to put down

    I liked the synopsis, knew a little about Dr. Bass' body farm before I discovered this series, but did not expect such a wonderful story. Great characters, some of the most detailed and unique I've ever seen. The story is complex, multi-faceted, and if you like forensic stories, Patricia Cornwell, autopsies, murder investigations, etc, then this is a must for you. This is book #5, I went out and bought the first four in the series and my wife and I devoured them one by one. It is not necessary to read them in sequence, but it will help as some events and characters are referred to downstream and come into play in subsequent stories (in a peripheral way). Start with Carved in Bone (#1), then Flesh & Bone, The Devil's Bones, Bones of Betrayal, The Bone Thief, then The Bone Yard (hardback as I write this). You won't be disappointed!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 5, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Again!

    Superb Body Farm book, yet again! Keep 'em coming.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2010

    One for the Good Guys

    If you have not yet found one of the most likable characters in literature, you need to meet Dr. Bill Brockton. He is a straight arrow with a firm moral compass which, in The Bone Thief, gets him into all kinds of trouble. As usual, Jefferson Bass wraps several plots around each other. In one plot, Brockton is asked to do a simple paternity test on a dead man (Brockton is the fictional director of the University of Tennessee's very real body farm) But when the corpse is exhumed, it has been horribly mutilated. In another plot, the FBI wants the good doctor to go undercover in a sting operation to stop someone who is illegally selling body parts. This leads to one of the funniest scenes, where the bad guy has Dr. Brockton meet him at the Library in Las Vegas, which is not a library at all. Then there's the plot about a one-time lover who is now on the run for the murder of an atomic physicist, There are at least three more plots in the book, One reviewer said that it was confusing. I prefer to call in interesting and devious

    I love the characters in this series. Besides Brockton, there is his graduate assistant, Miranda, an outspoken save the whales type, and there is Grease, the high-powered defense lawyer. There are also administrative and academic types, as well as an abundance of law enforcement types.

    I thought it was great fun, with a wonderfully hopeful ending.

    Again, if you are not familiar with The Body Farm Series, you are in for a real treat

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 70 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4