Customer Reviews for

BoneMan's Daughters

Average Rating 4
( 239 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(118)

4 Star

(73)

3 Star

(26)

2 Star

(13)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

A Nail Biter

I was curious as to how this author would do in his first of this kind. His award winning fantasy (Circle Trilogy) has a huge following, but I'm not into fantasy. Another of his books about a serial killer was supposedly religious, which again, I'm not into.

Now come...
I was curious as to how this author would do in his first of this kind. His award winning fantasy (Circle Trilogy) has a huge following, but I'm not into fantasy. Another of his books about a serial killer was supposedly religious, which again, I'm not into.

Now comes BoneMan's Daughters and as an employee of a major book seller and a lover of thrillers I got my hands on an early copy.

Every bit as good as any thriller I've read this last year. Not perfect (some of the details in Iraq were off) but once it gains steam this is a nail-biter to the bitter end. Dekker knows how to write with heart and he had mine all the way through.

Not bad, not bad at all.

posted by pennywisePC on March 9, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

SIMPLY DREADFUL

Words cannot even begin to explain how bad this book is. I enjoy reviewing a good book for others to enjoy but I really get upset when a writer with a considerable following writes something that his fans are going to waste their money on when they are expecting much mo...
Words cannot even begin to explain how bad this book is. I enjoy reviewing a good book for others to enjoy but I really get upset when a writer with a considerable following writes something that his fans are going to waste their money on when they are expecting much more. This has a plotline that has been done again and again..the serial killer with his many quirks (his mother's fault of course), grabbing girls off the street and murdering them of course, in his basement. The only thing that differs from this overused plot is the method of killing which in this case is breaking all the bones in their body without breaking the skin while he spends his free moments smearing, of all things, Noxzema all over his body. Again his mother's fault.
In comes the estranged ex-military father to save the day. His credibility would make any military specialist cringe as his methods are unreasearched and ludicrious. He also suffers from various forms of nausea and threats of throwing up every few pages.
If all this isn't enough, the writing is so bad it is sad,no other word for it.
In this genre of torturing girls you may read the other book this taken from or watch the movie as this is not an original by any means.
I thought perhaps the ending would perhaps hold some redeeming or surprising revelation but nothing there either.
A thump on the head to the Hatchett Book Group ,if you buy this you will want to bury the hatchet, literally.
So many great writers out there but fail to understand why they are lettin down thier fans more often lately, don't they owe their readers their best?

posted by Lindacat on March 5, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 118 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted March 9, 2009

    A Nail Biter

    I was curious as to how this author would do in his first of this kind. His award winning fantasy (Circle Trilogy) has a huge following, but I'm not into fantasy. Another of his books about a serial killer was supposedly religious, which again, I'm not into.

    Now comes BoneMan's Daughters and as an employee of a major book seller and a lover of thrillers I got my hands on an early copy.

    Every bit as good as any thriller I've read this last year. Not perfect (some of the details in Iraq were off) but once it gains steam this is a nail-biter to the bitter end. Dekker knows how to write with heart and he had mine all the way through.

    Not bad, not bad at all.

    12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 18, 2009

    Suspenseful thriller will haunt long after you put it down

    BoneMan's Daughters by Ted Dekker is a cringe-worthy, hair-raising thriller. Ryan Evans has spent most of his adult life devoted to the Navy, at the expense of his relationships with his daughter, Bethany, and wife, Celine. When he is captured and tortured in Iraq, he realizes how much time he wasted with his family and returns home to make it right. But after sixteen years of abandonment, both Celine and Bethany are more than willing to move on. Celine with the handsome district attorney, Burt, who put serial killer BoneMan behind bars, and Bethany with a modelling career. Burt messed up, and the man who was imprisoned as the BoneMan has been set free. The killer takes Bethany, and Ryan is soon suspected to be the BoneMan, so the only way to prove his innocence and save his daughter from a brutal monster is to find her himself. Dekker writes a haunting, frightening story with parallels to the love of God. He uses Ryan's love and willingness to sacrifice his life for her to demonstrate Jesus' death for us. The story doesn't get hung up on faith, however. The BoneMan is a frightening villain worthy of Hannibal Lecter, and Bethany's descent into Stockholm syndrome gave me goosebumps. Do not read this book late at night or in the house alone!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2009

    So Intense and Haunting

    If you like your stories intense, this debut mainstream novel from Dekker is a fantastic treat. Not for lovers of plodding plot with endless character development, this is a fast read and it had my pulse going steady, especially during the last half.

    I read an advance copy because of the endorsements from Brad Meltzer and some others who all commented on it being intense... So true. What surprised me most was how deeply I got sucked into the characters on this harrowing ride they take. Honestly, it's not the most original premise in the world, Father returns from Iraq to discover that his estranged daughter has been taken by a serial killer and goes after said killer on his own.

    But there are numerous reversal and twists and I had a very hard time putting this novel down which is quite unusual these days.

    A great, fast paced read if you want to lose yourself in an intense plot.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    BoneMan's Daughter

    Could not put this book down. Very suspenseful. The ending was not what I thought it would be. All of Ted Dekker's books are riviting.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    This was one of the stories that gets you involved from the very beginning and then never lets you go.

    This is one of the stories that gets you involved from the very beginning and then never lets you go. Keeps you on the edge of your chair. I found my self wanting to not put it down, and then anxiously waiting for the next chance to start reading it again. I really like the character development for each of the main players. I have suggested this book to many others as an introduction to Ted Dekker. So far, everyone that I suggested the book to really loved the book. Anytime a book can keep me interested, regardless of the story line, then I consider it a good book. I think that Mr. Dekker can do this with the talent he has been given. Hope you enjoy it as much as I did.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    I absalutely love Ted Dekker

    I think this is a great book! Its one of Ted's best yet. I have a brother who is over seas fighting and he is a Hum V Driver so part of the book made me cry for quite a bit. Anywho, this is a great book and Ted Dekker has to be my FAVORITE author. If you like christain authors and books then Ted is your man!! I wouldnt recommend this book if you dont have a strong tummy :) For example if the thought of breaking peoples bones makes your knees buckle this book is not for you. I loved it and hopefully you will too! :)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2009

    By Far Dekker's Best Yet

    I hate for someone to give me a summary of the book so here is my opinion instead. I can read just about any type of murder mystery/ serial killers, etc.. However, this book made me cringe when I begn reading the details and desscciption of breaking humans bones. I could only read for short periods of time before taking a short break - very intense.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 19, 2009

    Wild Ride

    Kinda hard writing a review for a story that leaves you speechless.
    From the sands of Iraq to the city and country-side of Texas, we follow Ryan Evans as he faces insurgents, a family torn apart and even the FBI. If that wasn't enough, he now has to deal with a serial killer named BoneMan-who strangely enough uses the same killing methods as the Iraqi insurgents.
    This is one book hard to put down. It grabbed me from the start and just had to read on to see what happens and who's really behind all that's going on-- who is this Boneman? Is there really a Boneman or is it really Evans as the FBI suspects? Or is he something else completely? Time is running out and somebody better do something to stop the madness.
    The twist towards the end is killer (pun intended). Although it ends rather abruptly.
    I'd rather not go into it with more details as I don't want to ruin the story for anybody.
    Ted Dekker takes you through one emotional, psychological thrill ride that will leave you breathless but still turning the pages at the same time.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2009

    Rich in Irony

    BoneMan's Daughters is a simple book on the surface, but as we all know, looks can be deceiving. What looks to be a straightforward serial killer novel is actually a more complicated tale rich in paradox and irony. What you take into this book will likely determine what you take out of it and the longer you dwell on it, the more it wraps around you.

    I love the way Dekker constructed the opening chapters of BoneMan's Daughters. The changing between scenes was highly effective and contrasted Ryan's suffering with his family's indulgence. It caused an immediate connection with Ryan and affected my attitude towards him throughout the whole story.
    I enjoyed a lot of the themes explored in BoneMan's Daughters. They were interesting to think through and some very good points were made. It wasn't as overt as some of Dekker's previous novels, but he was crystal clear in presenting his ideas. It was a nice change and more in the vein of Thr3e than Skin.

    My main complaint was I didn't feel the story as I should have. This had the making to be a story that could cause tears to flow and my blood pressure to rise. The problem with BoneMan's Daughters, was it was a rather subdued book. One the surface, it appeared as though it would be violent. After all, we are talking about a serial killer who breaks his victim's bones. Unfortunately, there were not a lot of details, so I knew when someone was injured, but I didn't get to experience it with them. Granted violence can go too far the other direction, to gratuitous, but there is a middle ground. An area where the reader can truly understand, but without feeling the need to puke. BoneMan's Daughters didn't go far enough. It stopped well short. I wanted to feel the horror that Ryan did when he watched the first child die. I wanted to know how he felt. I wanted to be outraged, but because it was anticlimactic it lacked true impact. Don't get me wrong, there is a respectable body count and none of the deaths would be a method I'd choose, but it lacked the chilling aspect I thought this book should really have.

    Over all, I enjoyed BoneMan's Daughters. I liked it even better a couple of hours after I finished it. In some ways it's a break from some of Dekker's recent books. It's not as energetic and fast paced. It's not slow by any means, but it doesn't have as many turns and they're taken a little more cautiously. There are some nice plot twists and great suspense elements. It's a well written book with some deep spiritual themes. It's the type of book I most enjoy. I know I'll be contemplating it for several days, and that's exactly what I want in my fiction.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    Couldnt put it down

    Good book, good twist at the end

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2013

    First novel of Dekker that I read, and it was excellent. Im read

    First novel of Dekker that I read, and it was excellent.
    Im reading the newest series now and its just not quite as enjoyable as this book
    but hoping the 3rd story of 3 turns out to be the best.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2012

    Not for faint of heart

    Is sad killer kills by breaking every bone in your body. Dekker is my fav author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2012

    Ted Dekker at his best

    Just finished this book, definately one of Ted's better novels. I highly recommend it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2012

    Amazing !

    This was the first book I ever read by Ted Dekker. He is now my favorite author !

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2012

    Great book

    If you are into the serial killer thing this is a great read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2011

    Exciting Plot twists

    I found this book to be a great short read it held you on to the very end with twists to make you think about just how things would connect together,

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2011

    Must read

    If you love twists you will love this book... awesome!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 31, 2011

    One of ted dekkers best

    This book i amazing. Its a page turner that keeps you on the edge of your seat.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2011

    Amazing!

    As an English Honors student in high school, I find this novel intense, compelling, and filled with emotions. It not only tells of Ryan's feelings, but it also alludes to Christ's unending love for the human race as a whole. Boneman's Daughters also tells of Christ's crucificton, and how it differed from other crucifictions. As a Christian thriller, this book contains a lesson on love for not only Christians but also for parents as well. Ted Dekker did not intend to write a gory novel about serial killers. This novel is more a lesson, told through a horrible event than a horror novel wrote to make your skin crawl. If you buy this book expecting horror, gore and blood, you bought the wrong book. True, it is intense and if you are a parent the whole idea of the thought behind the novel is horrifying, however it is not GORY. It is a CHRISTIAN NOVEL.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 10, 2011

    COULDN%27T+PUT+IT+DOWN

    One+of+my+favorite+dekkers%21+LOVED+IT%21%21%0A

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 118 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6