Customer Reviews for

Bonefire of the Vanities (Sarah Booth Delaney Series #12)

Average Rating 4.5
( 39 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(31)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Bonefire a welcome respite By mb gokee

Each year, I anxiously await Carolyn Haines' next Bones book. This 12th book in her series certainly didn't disappoint me! I wait for the book launches like I await a dear friend whom I only get to visit with once a year. I sit down with, sorry Sarah Booth, a cup of ...
Each year, I anxiously await Carolyn Haines' next Bones book. This 12th book in her series certainly didn't disappoint me! I wait for the book launches like I await a dear friend whom I only get to visit with once a year. I sit down with, sorry Sarah Booth, a cup of hot tea, devour the book, and then am saddened that I won't visit Zinnia for another year! I really liked that Jitty, Sarah Booth's haint, encouraged her to be a bit more independent this time around. It blended wonderfully with the compromising that Tinkie's AND Sarah Booth's men did...great growth on the character's part, this time around. The setting, borrowing eccentric con artists from the Big Easy, was masterful, since everyone in Mississippi knows, we all loved to be around LA folks for inspiration! There was redemption amidst all the conning and chaos, leaving me with the feeling I'd like to see some of these minor characters again. And I can't wait for the B & O ball!!!

Carolyn always does such a fun job of making us all want to have a drink and set out on the veranda watching her animals. But Pluto was a welcome addition to her four-legged crew. Having become a cat person because my dog chose one, I totally felt that Carolyn pegged the brilliant cat. I believe she may have had Jitty come spy on mine!!!

This book, by far, made me like Sarah Booth's fiance, Graf, more than ever. So far, I've been rooting for her to end uo with Sheriff Coleman, or even perhaps her buddy at the bank. But this story gave Graf a deeper place, a more human, man who may actually treat SB like she deserves to be treated, even if she's not a traditional DG. I enjoyed that.

As always, Carolyn left me wanting more, sad to leave my Bones friends, and wishing I was back in MS hanging out, riding horses and getting into mischief.
Mbg

posted by MB_Gokee on July 5, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Hate to be a nay sayer, but....

I've read all the previous Sarah Booth Delany books. I love Carolyn Haines characters, but this book just didn't do it for me. I bought the book because I really wanted to find out what the gang (of characters) was up to, and the book was like "old home week" but it jus...
I've read all the previous Sarah Booth Delany books. I love Carolyn Haines characters, but this book just didn't do it for me. I bought the book because I really wanted to find out what the gang (of characters) was up to, and the book was like "old home week" but it just didn't live up to what I remember of the previous books. It was too sketchy--not enought attention to details and not much depth. And, can there be such a thing as too many twists and turns? For me the book had too many twists without fleshing out what was going on.

posted by TheShort1 on July 31, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2012

    Bonefire a welcome respite By mb gokee

    Each year, I anxiously await Carolyn Haines' next Bones book. This 12th book in her series certainly didn't disappoint me! I wait for the book launches like I await a dear friend whom I only get to visit with once a year. I sit down with, sorry Sarah Booth, a cup of hot tea, devour the book, and then am saddened that I won't visit Zinnia for another year! I really liked that Jitty, Sarah Booth's haint, encouraged her to be a bit more independent this time around. It blended wonderfully with the compromising that Tinkie's AND Sarah Booth's men did...great growth on the character's part, this time around. The setting, borrowing eccentric con artists from the Big Easy, was masterful, since everyone in Mississippi knows, we all loved to be around LA folks for inspiration! There was redemption amidst all the conning and chaos, leaving me with the feeling I'd like to see some of these minor characters again. And I can't wait for the B & O ball!!!

    Carolyn always does such a fun job of making us all want to have a drink and set out on the veranda watching her animals. But Pluto was a welcome addition to her four-legged crew. Having become a cat person because my dog chose one, I totally felt that Carolyn pegged the brilliant cat. I believe she may have had Jitty come spy on mine!!!

    This book, by far, made me like Sarah Booth's fiance, Graf, more than ever. So far, I've been rooting for her to end uo with Sheriff Coleman, or even perhaps her buddy at the bank. But this story gave Graf a deeper place, a more human, man who may actually treat SB like she deserves to be treated, even if she's not a traditional DG. I enjoyed that.

    As always, Carolyn left me wanting more, sad to leave my Bones friends, and wishing I was back in MS hanging out, riding horses and getting into mischief.
    Mbg

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 31, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Hate to be a nay sayer, but....

    I've read all the previous Sarah Booth Delany books. I love Carolyn Haines characters, but this book just didn't do it for me. I bought the book because I really wanted to find out what the gang (of characters) was up to, and the book was like "old home week" but it just didn't live up to what I remember of the previous books. It was too sketchy--not enought attention to details and not much depth. And, can there be such a thing as too many twists and turns? For me the book had too many twists without fleshing out what was going on.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 9, 2012

    Carolyn Haines Never Disappoints

    Every year I wait for the new "BONES" book to be released so that I can read it while on vacation in Mississippi.I was not disappointed at all woth this book, never have been with any of them!
    This year I was happy to find that the gang was back in Zinnia, Mississippi and helping locals with their problems. I enjoyed Roscoe having a larger part in this book and hope that he continues with his shenanigans! Jitty had more of a role in this book than she has had in some time and I hope that it continues in future books.
    Sarah Booth and Tinkie can never seem to stay out of trouble and this time it was great to find Tinkie trying to do something that was out of her comfort zone. She may not have been able to pull it off the way Sarah Booth could, but she did try.
    I look forward to the 13th book in this series and reading about the Zinnia gang and life in the Delta. What can Sarah Booth and TInkie get in to next?

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 5, 2012

    The best in the series so far! I loved the fact that there were

    The best in the series so far! I loved the fact that there were ghosts in the storyline other than Jitty. Carolyn has really outdone herself with this one!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 5, 2012

    Awesome, must read

    I loved this book. I really enjoy seeing more of Harold and Jitty. I know that it is hard for Sarah Booth to keep Jitty to her self, but I understand her need to do so. I almost died laughing at the mystery male guest and his driver when they showed up. That was unexpected and so random. But very needed for both the others at the house. Such a wonderful suprise. Very wonderful plot twist at the end as well. I also hope to get visions of the Black and Orange Ball in the next book. Thanks for everything Carolyn. I can't wait for the next book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2013

    Highly Recommended

    This was definitely up to Carolyn's usual standards of spoof, suspense, humor and romance. I thoroughly enjoyed it as I have with all her other books. Can't wait for #13.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2013

    EVERYBODY PARTAAAAAAY

    CHA CHA CHA CHA CHA, CHHHAAA!!!!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2012

    Hi-5

    Hi-5 walked in curious

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2012

    Lead Stallion and Mate's den

    (( I've had enough. We all know its you, Jocko/Dauphin/Lost. I'm getting ready to exile your horses no matter if they are good or not... )) Sorry guys, anyway this den is very large and has extremely comfortable nests. The lead stallion sleeps here with his mate. ~MAR€D

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2012

    E

    Not the best in the series, but a decent read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 31, 2012

    As usual, Carolyn Haines comes through with a hit!

    While studying these past two years to become a graduate nurse (soon to be RN), I had little time for fun reads however, the Sarah Booth Delaney series books were among my top choices to read during semester breaks. Sarah Booth and Tink always came through providing the much needed levity and time away from curriculum demands.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 31, 2012

    I think Bonefire of Vanities is the best book that Carolyn has w

    I think Bonefire of Vanities is the best book that Carolyn has written so far in the Bones series! After I finish one of her books, it seems like forever before another is there for me to read! When I get to the end of the book I want the story to just continue on and never end. Sarah Booth is so real and I feel like I'm right there with her trying to solve the mystery and Jitty, well, I wish I had a ghost like her that I could call upon! Carolyn Haines is not only a great writer, but a great and wonderful person with a heart of gold. We need more like her to help with our stray animals in finding homes for them and taking care of them!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 28, 2012

    What I liked most: The creepy atmosphere. Confession – the

    What I liked most: The creepy atmosphere. Confession – there are some parts in this book that really raised the little hairs on the back of my neck. I didn’t expect Carolyn Haines to creep me out with one of her cozy little Bones mysteries, but she never ceases to surprise me! Some of the happenings in the psychic reading room, located in the bellows of the resort, were really spooky. This particular scene gave me some serious goosebumps:

    A soft moaning emanated from the end of the hallway. My mind leaped instantly to the classics of horror written by Edgar Allan Poe. This was a moment the melancholy master would employ to great effect. Corpse in the wall, living person in a coffin, pendulum. Black cat!

    Favorite secondary character: This mystery series is packed with a slew of colorful characters – from a sassy transgender reporter to a local resident psychic to a Southern belle best friend. But of all the eclectic characters, Jitty is my fave. The resident ghost of Sarah Booth’s beloved Dahlia house, Jitty has a way of making surprise appearances in unexpected places. I especially love her outlandish disguises - and in this book she dresses up as two of my favorite detectives: Jessica Fletcher and Nancy Drew!

    The romance: Yes, the romantic tension between Sarah Booth and her actor fiancé Graf Milieu, is pretty hot, but I still hope in my heart of hearts that she gets back together with Cole. They’re destined to be together, but whenever they find a happy place a stupid wrench gets thrown in the works. In Cole’s case, the wrench is his psychotic, control freak ex-wife. But being the Southern gentleman that he is, Cole must always save the perpetual damsel in distress whenever she has a meltdown. Ugh! That kind of thing can really wear on a girl, so I don’t blame Sarah Booth for calling it quits. But hopefully someday, they’ll find their way back into each other’s arms!

    This book is best paired with: A super-sweet glass of iced tea and a Rosanne Cash playlist.

    Overall: As I expected, Carolyn Haines delivers a tightly-plotted mystery filled with rollicking adventures, loveable characters, four-legged sidekicks and surprise twists! I’m really good at pinpointing the killer, but this author always gets me at the end! Of all the cozy mystery series out there, this is my absolute favorite. That says a lot because I read a TON of mysteries! The author’s love of the Mississippi Delta clearly comes through in her writing. Through her lyrical prose, I can smell the earthy scent of red dirt, see the sun sparkling through the moss-covered trees, and hear the humming of cicadas on a hot summer’s day. Oh how I love Southern fiction!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2012

    Another Winner

    Carolyn Haines is the queen of southern writers and her Sarah Booth series is the literary kingdom over which she reigns. Her latest book, Bonefire of the Vanities, is one more jewel in her crown of achievements. She slowly lures you into the story until you find yourself immersed in intrigue to the point of oblivion from the outside world. This is done with characters that appear so real you feel as though you are in a circle of personal friends. Each book has a more creative plot than the last and Bonefire of the Vanities is no exception.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 23, 2012

    Never Disappoints!!!!!!

    Have read, loved and collected every Sarah Booth Delaney book. The only problem is that they are too few and far between! Her love of animals, antiques, heritage and the South fits me to a tee.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 19, 2012

    RECOMMENDED

    if you liked the previous Sarah booth Delaney books, you will definitely like this one. Highly recommend

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 18, 2012

    Every time Sarah Booth and Tinkie take on a case that as easy as

    Every time Sarah Booth and Tinkie take on a case that as easy as pie, it turns into something much bigger. They agree to go undercover as maid to help a woman who has mourned the death of her daughter oh so long ago. Con artists or the real thing… that is what they both hope to find in their investigation. When murder crosses their path, their case turns deadly. I love this series. This book oozes southern charm on every page in the evenly paced and well-written mystery. The butler, the chef, the owners and the guests all played a role of hide and seek and I enjoyed the chase to the end in identifying the killer. Meeting Mrs. Littlefield and Pluto was an added bonus that rounded out the supporting appearances of Oscar and Graf who were most helpful in navigating the clues to bring resolution to this case. This was a great read and I look forward to the next book in this charismatic and enjoyable series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2012

    Sarah Booth Delaney

    As always a great story and fun to read. I really love Jitty and she didn't disappoint.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 5, 2012

    Recommend complete series

    Loved it! It ended too soon!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 3, 2012

    Sarah Booth at her finest! For once her life is not in jeopardy

    Sarah Booth at her finest! For once her life is not in jeopardy.....quite a twist on this one......keeps you guessing right up to the end. Carolyn, where do you get your ideas?? Keep up the great work and hope to see a new Sarah Booth and Jitty in the not too distant future.
    Thanks, Wanderinstar

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2