Customer Reviews for

Bones (Alex Delaware Series #23)

Average Rating 4
( 60 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(21)

4 Star

(21)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

WELL WORTH THE READ!

Alex is back, and this is one of his better books, BONES. When one body is found in a protected wetland, oddly, with a hand missing, the chase is on. Within a short time, more bodies missing hands have been located in the same marsh. All the bodies face east and all exc...
Alex is back, and this is one of his better books, BONES. When one body is found in a protected wetland, oddly, with a hand missing, the chase is on. Within a short time, more bodies missing hands have been located in the same marsh. All the bodies face east and all except the latest one were prostitutes. Apparently, a serial killer is stalking LA, and Alex and Milo are in pursuit.
The characters in "Bones" are memorable, including an environmental fanatic, a genius child set to inherit a mind boggling fortune, a smarty rich teenager so awful even his mother can barely stand him, and, I kid you not, a fifty year old prostitute. It's entertaining. It's quick. It's one not to miss.

posted by 148253 on October 30, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Not great, not too bad

A mysterious caller to Save the Marsh tells the young "volunteer" doing community service at the marshlands that a body is on the premises and doesn't tell anyone right away. After the brother of one teen's friend call the police to report said fact, a body of a young, ...
A mysterious caller to Save the Marsh tells the young "volunteer" doing community service at the marshlands that a body is on the premises and doesn't tell anyone right away. After the brother of one teen's friend call the police to report said fact, a body of a young, gifted piano teacher to a wealthy child prodigy is found with her right hand cut off. Soon three more skeletons are found on Save the Marsh property. They are determined to be female. A man attending an auction buys a beautiful box in which are human bones. Intriguing plot, but poor execution.

Kellerman devotes an entire chapter developing the buyer of the box only to have this character to make a cameo appearance later in the novel. The reader is bombarded with the teen volunteer's usage of the F word throughout the story and even devotes a whole chapter to it, wonderful.not! Immediately the investigation focuses upon the hapless, somewhat disabled caretaker of the Vander estate, and I mean focused to the point that Milo Sturgis (is he gay?), Moses Reed, and Delaware almost exclude everyone else. When the skeleton's were identified as long missing female prostitutes, psychologist Alex Delaware should have pointed the two detectives in another direction, though he does investigate a couple of leads himself.

No red herrings here, unfortunately for an avid mystery reader. Even the dialogue was confusing. All of the characters sounded the same except Fox and Simone Vander The side story of Reed and his bi-racial brother, Aaron Fox, as well as the identity of the prostitutes' killer kept me reading. My introduction to Joseph Kellerman reminded me of James Patterson, good plots, bad dialogue, the hard deadline forced poor execution of a very promising plot.

posted by Molinarolo on September 4, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 60 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    WELL WORTH THE READ!

    Alex is back, and this is one of his better books, BONES. When one body is found in a protected wetland, oddly, with a hand missing, the chase is on. Within a short time, more bodies missing hands have been located in the same marsh. All the bodies face east and all except the latest one were prostitutes. Apparently, a serial killer is stalking LA, and Alex and Milo are in pursuit. <BR/>The characters in "Bones" are memorable, including an environmental fanatic, a genius child set to inherit a mind boggling fortune, a smarty rich teenager so awful even his mother can barely stand him, and, I kid you not, a fifty year old prostitute. It's entertaining. It's quick. It's one not to miss.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 5, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    #23 in this fantastic series!

    One of the best pairings in detective/suspense novels returns in the 23nd (!) novel in this series from Jonathan Kellerman.<BR/><BR/><BR/>Psychologist and police consultant Alex Delaware and LA police Lieutenant Milo Sturgis are back together to solve one of their darkest cases yet.<BR/><BR/>A young volunteer at a marsh sanctuary receives an anonymous call telling him to look for something dead in the marsh. The call is dismissed as a prank. That changes when a young woman's body is found - in plain view. A search dog discovers three more bodies, submerged in the marsh. These women are all prostitutes, but the first body found is that of a piano teacher. Are they connected? Is the marsh the dumping ground of a serial killer? Will he kill again? Can they find him before he does? Milo and Alex's investigation leads to unexpected places.<BR/><BR/>Lots of plot twists and turns will keep you turning pages. The banter between Milo and Alex is always witty and entertaining. A new character is introduced, Moses, a young rookie Homicide detective. I found him to be an engaging addition and hope he returns in future books. In the past Alex's girlfriend Robin played a more significant role. She seems to have been relegated to deciding dinner selections. Milo's boyfriend Rick is another character I'd like to see more of. Kellerman is a clinical psychologist and his character's insight and dialogue have the ring of authenticity.<BR/><BR/>Jonathan Kellerman is on my list of favourite authors and I was not disappointed with Bones. My only disappointment was finishing it too quickly! I'll be waiting for #24!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 4, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Not great, not too bad

    A mysterious caller to Save the Marsh tells the young "volunteer" doing community service at the marshlands that a body is on the premises and doesn't tell anyone right away. After the brother of one teen's friend call the police to report said fact, a body of a young, gifted piano teacher to a wealthy child prodigy is found with her right hand cut off. Soon three more skeletons are found on Save the Marsh property. They are determined to be female. A man attending an auction buys a beautiful box in which are human bones. Intriguing plot, but poor execution.

    Kellerman devotes an entire chapter developing the buyer of the box only to have this character to make a cameo appearance later in the novel. The reader is bombarded with the teen volunteer's usage of the F word throughout the story and even devotes a whole chapter to it, wonderful.not! Immediately the investigation focuses upon the hapless, somewhat disabled caretaker of the Vander estate, and I mean focused to the point that Milo Sturgis (is he gay?), Moses Reed, and Delaware almost exclude everyone else. When the skeleton's were identified as long missing female prostitutes, psychologist Alex Delaware should have pointed the two detectives in another direction, though he does investigate a couple of leads himself.

    No red herrings here, unfortunately for an avid mystery reader. Even the dialogue was confusing. All of the characters sounded the same except Fox and Simone Vander The side story of Reed and his bi-racial brother, Aaron Fox, as well as the identity of the prostitutes' killer kept me reading. My introduction to Joseph Kellerman reminded me of James Patterson, good plots, bad dialogue, the hard deadline forced poor execution of a very promising plot.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2009

    A great read! Typical Alex Delaware excitement from Jonathan Kellerman.

    A thrilling combination of science and psychology with outstanding policework.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 14, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Must read.

    I read all the Alex Delaware series and was surprised to see another one out so soon. Alex and Milo are so like The Odd Couple, but work together smoothly. Lots of twists and turns and great finish. I would like to see more of Robin than small cameos and also Rick, Milo's partner. I wish Kellerman would clean Milo up a little, and think about a weight lose program. He reads like a heart attack waiting to happen. Couldn't he go to the gym with Rick once in a while?

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2013

    Very good.

    I liked the part where Alex and Milo were at the shooting range.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2013

    Fireclaw

    Fireclaw hunts a bird.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 4, 2012

    highly recommended

    you must check it out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 10, 2010

    bones

    James patterson is a great writer this book will make you not want to put the book dowm. it is very well written.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 17, 2009

    Typical Kellerman fair. Good writting and delivers the goods as you expect.

    Typical characters, enjoyable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 17, 2009

    Not Up to His Usual Standard

    Bones by Jonathan Kellerman is certainly worth reading. As a devoted J. Kellerman fan, I would never pass up any of his mystery books---I've read them all. But his latest two or three are not up to his former standards. The writing is still excellent, fast-paced with sparkling dialog. BUT, I liked earlier books where Alex Delaware was actually involved in solving the crime, etc., instead of more or less an interested observer. There is not the immediacy that there once was. Still, they are great for a relaxing, interesting read, and I'll continue to buy them. Marjorie Flathers

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2009

    Well-written, exciting story.

    Interesting cast of characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2009

    bones

    More twists and turns in this one than a coiled rope. Hard to follow the characters. Could have been a ot better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 28, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Another great read!

    Cannot get enough of the Alex Delaware series. Looking forward to the next one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Not typical Kellerman - the characters weren't as well fleshed out as usual for a Delaware tale

    I was a bit disappointed in this particular Alex Delaware novel. Usually the recurring characters are better fleshed out than they were in Bones. There was little interaction between Alex and Robin on one hand or Milo and Rick on the other. And even the usual banter and dialogue between Milo and Alex was less peppy than I am used to.

    I was also disappointed in the development of the Moses and Aaron characters. It turned out to be rather formulaic brother versus brother with reconciliation at the end. Boring! Even the villains were less than scintillating. Maybe it's time for Mr. Kellerman start something different.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 20, 2009

    Great Book - Love Jonathan Kellerman's work- A real page turner.

    Great Book - Love Jonathan Kellerman's work- A real page turner.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2009

    bones

    Another Alex Delaware great novel. Kept me interested the whole time! Loved it

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 21, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    AWESOME

    I went to the book store to buy this book. and I'm glad I did. The plot and the characters are so real you will read it twice.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2008

    A good reading experience

    High school troublemaker Chance Brandt is doing community service at the Bird Marsh nature conservatory near Marina Del Rey, California when he receives a weird anonymous phone call that he assumes is a silly prank. The caller insists there are corpses buried in the marsh. Soon after the eerie call, the body of a woman is found and Chance mentions the message he received.---------------- LAPD Special case Investigator Police Lieutenant Milo Sturgis leads the investigation. They quickly find four female bodies with the right hand removed in the marsh. Realizing there is a serial killer on the loose murdering prostitutes though the last homicide does not fit the victims¿ pattern as the victim is musician Selena Bass. Milo asks police psychologist Dr. Alex Delaware to help. The focus is on the Bass murder as she was teaching piano to the wealthy offspring of the Vander family with the estate manager the prime suspect due to a criminal history.-------------- Although somewhat similar to most of the Delaware police procedurals, BONES is refreshed by the psychologist playing third fiddle on the investigation with Sturgis being the star he provides limited assistance on the investigation. The serial killer inquiry is clever and fun to follow with a couple of strong twists. In spite of the hero playing a tertiary role in the case (although Delaware has other goings-on), fans will enjoy Jonathan Kellerman entertaining whodunit.--------------- Harriet Klausner

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 60 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3