BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Bones Are Forever (Temperance Brennan Series #15)

Average Rating 4
( 113 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(42)

4 Star

(32)

3 Star

(21)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Good yet refreshing allows readers to guess!

Good yet refreshing allows readers to guess!

posted by salvadore57 on August 31, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

reichs strikes out

Writing as a long time fan, I'm sad to say this book was a disappointment. Apparently Reich's tv series now takes precedence on her schedule, as she certainly didn't spend a great deal of time on her latest book.

The basic mystery was a solid "whydunit", the "who" havi...
Writing as a long time fan, I'm sad to say this book was a disappointment. Apparently Reich's tv series now takes precedence on her schedule, as she certainly didn't spend a great deal of time on her latest book.

The basic mystery was a solid "whydunit", the "who" having been apparent from the beginning. However, her usual complex and action-filled story lines went by the wayside this time. Such action as there was, was severely limited. Instead, Reichs filled paragraphs with unnecessary explanations of municipal and technical acronyms. This was followed by boring pages of the history of diamond mining in general, and Canadian diamond mining in particular.

Frankly, I was reminded of students desperate to pad the word count in a high school theme. I'll certainly think twice before I shell out $$ for another Reichs publication

posted by 9867551 on September 2, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted August 29, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Another exciting Temperance Brennan novel

    Reichs again strikes gold, or diamonds, with her latest Temerance Brennan novel. Back again in Montreal, the discovery of three dead babies hidden in secret alcoves of an apartment send Brennan and her partner, Lieutenant-dètective Andrew Ryan on the search for their missing mother. Seeking a prostitute is not as easy as one might think, and their search leads them from Montreal to Edmonton where they pair up with Brennan’s one time ex-lover, Sergeant Oliver Hasty.
    The discovery of another body, a drug dealing violent pimp, and a still missing mother lead the group from Edmonton to Yellowknife, deep in the Far North of Canada. Once the center of a gold rush, Yellowknife now is home to diamond mines, and controversy over the environmental concerns of the caribou. To make matters worse, old murders come to life, family scandal muddles the investigation and war wages over drug control, leaving more death and mystery for Brennan, Ryan, and Ollie.
    Reichs expertly fills the pages with fast moving action, solid forensics, and a wide assortment of colorful characters, as a vivid plot unfolds leading to a dramatic climax. Fans of Brennan will enjoy the history, scenery, and the mystery weaved into Bones are Forever.

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Smart, often funny and always thought provoking this installment

    Smart, often funny and always thought provoking this installment of the Temperance Brennan series doesn’t disappoint.

    Tempe is back in Canada and is working the case. Three infant bodies are found hidden in a prostitutes apartment but the mother is nowhere to be found. Tempe’s on again/off again (currently off) Andrew Ryan is lead detective on the case. This case takes them across Canada and into the Northwest Territories reuniting Tempe with an old fling RCMP sergeant Ollie Hasty. Gold and diamonds, drugs and prostitution. Motives abound. But the dead speak to Tempe and the Mounties always get their man.
    While this often reads like a travel brochure the story is intriguing and I always learn something new. This is a fantastic series and Bones Are Forever is a wonderful addition that I will re-read again and again and still pull something new.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 30, 2012

    I thoroughly enjoyed this latest book in the series - loved the

    I thoroughly enjoyed this latest book in the series - loved the storyline, although it broke my heart. I find that Ms. Reichs occasionally goes into too much background detail (in this book, the history of diamond mining in Canada; in another, several pages on the forensics of blood spatter). And the Brennan/Ryan relationship needs to be resolved; either have them get back together (which is what I'm hoping will happen) or let them go their separate ways. This issue has gone on for far too many books.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2013

    Back up to her usual great standards.

    I was a bit concerned as I odered this "pre-published" and I was very disappointed in her previous book. However, I didn't need to be worried! It's a really good read; i.e., well written, a good story, and keeps you interested right to the end. I read it in one day and was sorry to have it end...need I say more?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2013

    Great read

    I have read every book in the series and enjoyed them all Kathy Reichs has the ability to keep the characters fesh and and the storylines different and interesting

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2012

    Good, but not her best

    Good, but not her best. I waited so long for this one to come out that I just swallowed it up. I'll probably read it again for content.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 28, 2012

    really good

    Enjoyed the book immensely. Always find her explanation of facts interesting. Hope she resolves her love life back with the Detective.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2012

    Recommended

    I enjoyed this letest novel by Kathy Reichs, but not so much for the crime story, but the background information on Yellowknife and it's history of gold and diamonds. I've watched 2 seasons of Ice Road Truckers and was amazed at how business is conducted in the remote wilds of the Northwest Frontier. However, this novel gives you some real insite into the costs and rewards of working in the wilderness.

    The story line was a bit predictable, and in some cases, got lost in the history of Canada.

    Predictable or not, I'm a Kathy Reichs fan and love the way she weaves her stories to incorporate historical and current events.

    An enjoyable read - just not long enough!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2012

    Excellent read

    This is Kathy's 15th book and I read it in a day! Interesting and some interesting twists.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2012

    Bones

    Just started to read it. It takes place in Canada that surprise me. So far its good

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 2, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I am a huge fan of Kathy Reichs, and the latest installment in h

    I am a huge fan of Kathy Reichs, and the latest installment in her Temperance Brennan series was top-notch. The storyline moved at a good pace, though I felt some of the personal relationships were put to the side in this novel for the sake of the case. The case was very interesting, and a little bit heartbreaking at the same time.

    All in all, a great addition to the series. Can't wait til the next one comes out!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2