Customer Reviews for

Bones of a Feather (Sarah Booth Delaney Series #11)

Average Rating 4.5
( 28 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(17)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

MUST READ SERIES/AUTHOR

This series is written by an amazing author! Ms. Haines not only has written the Sarah Booth Delaney series, she has written many "dark" stand alones. BONES OF A FEATHER is fun to read and made me laugh many times. The characters are well written as is the story line. I...
This series is written by an amazing author! Ms. Haines not only has written the Sarah Booth Delaney series, she has written many "dark" stand alones. BONES OF A FEATHER is fun to read and made me laugh many times. The characters are well written as is the story line. If you like mystery, comesy and romance then this is a book and a series for you to read. Be sure to pick up THEM BONES if you ave not yet started the series, start from the beginning and you will be hooked.

posted by nuyear75 on January 3, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

This was my first book of this series and I was shocked to reali

This was my first book of this series and I was shocked to realize that this was the 11th of these terrible tales! The heroine is so absolutely stupid, ridiculous and insipid that I wanted to shout obscenities at her the farther the book progressed. Totally unbelieva...
This was my first book of this series and I was shocked to realize that this was the 11th of these terrible tales! The heroine is so absolutely stupid, ridiculous and insipid that I wanted to shout obscenities at her the farther the book progressed. Totally unbelievable. Some authors make insipid and girly into funny (take Sookey Stackhouse for example) but this had absolutely no humorous saving grace anywhere in the entire book. And the random throwing in of the ghost that had nothing to do with the plot was gratuitous as a pandering to the paranormal craze. Sad that I wasted my time on this book!

posted by Bhakti11 on January 22, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 17 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted January 3, 2012

    MUST READ SERIES/AUTHOR

    This series is written by an amazing author! Ms. Haines not only has written the Sarah Booth Delaney series, she has written many "dark" stand alones. BONES OF A FEATHER is fun to read and made me laugh many times. The characters are well written as is the story line. If you like mystery, comesy and romance then this is a book and a series for you to read. Be sure to pick up THEM BONES if you ave not yet started the series, start from the beginning and you will be hooked.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2014

    Awesome

    I do believe that it is a awesome book for thosebwho wnt to read it please do it is very good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2012

    Hazelpool

    A hazel colored she th red streaks and green eyes padds to him. Ill b your mate dakclaw he smiles at hin

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2012

    Love this series!!!

    I absolutely love what Carolyn Haines has done with this series. You get attached to the charavters and the lives they lead. I will continue to follow Sarah Booth and friends as long as Ms. Haines continues to bring her to life!!! Thank you!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 27, 2011

    Lots of twists and turns

    Bones of a Feather is full of twists and turns. I couldn't figure them all out until almost the end. Great book. Can't wait for the next one in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2011

    Couldn't Guess Whodunit

    This is the first Delta Murder -Sarah Booth Delaney book I have read and I cannot wait to read the ones I missed. Loved the characters, the spooky ones not to much, but all the others were great. I had chills trying to figure out what was going to happen next. The end was a real mystery thriller. Lots of twists and turns.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 5, 2011

    Wonderful

    I could not put this down it left you almost breathless with the pace and the twist and turns!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 23, 2011

    Captivating til the end

    Once I started reading this book I couldn't put it down! I read the entire thing in one day. I found the Delta Murder series a couple years ago and very impatiently await each new release. Carolyn never disappoints! She is a wonderful author and person. She suports many great casues and takes time for her readers. I continue to be an adoring fan. <3

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    a strong whodunit

    In Zinnia, Mississippi Dahlia House is home to private investigator Sarah Booth Delaney and the resident haint Jitty. She misses her fiancé, movie star Graf Milieu who is on location. Sarah is good enough to have a film career but prefers to remain mostly in the Mississippi Delta that flows through her veins.

    Heiress Monica Levert of Briarcliff in Natchez asks Sarah to help her on a case in which she and her sister Eleanor were robbed of a family necklace valued at four million dollars that the insurance firm balks at paying. Monica believes an independent private investigator could expedite the payment. Sarah and her partner Tinkie drive to Natchez to talk with the police, examine the evidence, and conclude the siblings were robbed. Monica is kidnapped and the perpetrator demands four million dollars for her release. Eleanor cannot cash the insurance check because she needs her sister's co-signature. Tinkie prevails on her banker husband to help, but before the sleuths finish with the siblings, they realize their deaths are the end game.

    The excellent eleventh Sarah Booth Delaney paranormal private investigative tale (see Bone Apetit) is a strong whodunit filled with key support characters who are not quite what they seem as first reader impressions will not hold up; just ask the two sleuths. Sarah and Tinkie see many faces of evil; some of whom shouldn't have existed as they make psychopaths seem stable. The superb Mississippi Delta mystery is a terrific thriller as almost everyone believes the sisters are con artists, but the conscientious sleuths cannot take the chance they are not.

    Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 18, 2011

    Best Bones story yet. "Are you a Daddy's Girl?"

    Carolyn Haines may have "grown up more tomboy than Daddy's Girl," but she has once again captured the heart of that southern icon in her character Sarah Booth Delaney. Sarah Booth is a private investigator from Zinna, a small town in the Mississippi delta. Haines avoids Jessica Fletcher syndrome by having Sarah Booth travel to Natchez to investigate the theft of a multi-million dollar heirloom necklace belonging to to twin sisters Monica and Eleanor Levert. Sarah Booth and her best friend and business partner Tinkie have agreed to not accept dangerous cases anymore at the request of the men in their lives. The disappearance of Monica Levert changes the case from an innocuous insurance investigation to one of kidnapping and possible homicide. Throw in a couple of ghosts, a son born on the wrong side of the blanket, and a society belle who creates life-size barbie style replicas of herself in halloween costumes and you have Haine's uncanny knack for combining a murder mystery with a laugh out loud tale of southern characters and the world they belong to. The particular world that Carolyn Haines has captured, boxed, and delivered to us wrapped in vintage peignor lace is of Natchez, MS and its tightly knit group of society matrons. Known locally as the "Hoop Skirt Mafia", these women make up an exclusive network that has controlled everything from the annual Natchez pilgrimage to activities in boardrooms and bedrooms for years. The old South survives in these women who will always present the "proper" image to society. Behind closed doors, a few of the antebellum mansions guard activities better suited to the reputation of Natchez Under the Hill. Monica and Eleanor Levert are prime examples of women willing to run their lives to ruin as long as the image that society sees is one of grace, wealth, and beauty. If you have not read the first ten books in Haines' Mississippi delta mysteries, you will still enjoy Bones of a Feather and be able to pick right up with the storylines recurring characters. You could easily enjoy this book as a stand alone title, but don't cheat yourself. Go back and get the rest of the Sarah Booth Delaney mysteries. .

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 17 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1