Customer Reviews for

Bones of the Lost (Temperance Brennan Series #16)

Average Rating 4
( 69 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(36)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

4 Stars Don't like the cover I like the UK better. I am always

4 Stars

Don't like the cover I like the UK better. I am always surprised how much a cover on a ebook makes me either want to look at book or turn me away from one.
This is the first Temperance Brennan novel that I have read. I admit to being a fan of the T.V. series Bo...
4 Stars

Don't like the cover I like the UK better. I am always surprised how much a cover on a ebook makes me either want to look at book or turn me away from one.
This is the first Temperance Brennan novel that I have read. I admit to being a fan of the T.V. series Bones. Their is a lot different but a lot the same especially the tone of the book. I hope to be able to read more of Kathy Reich's books in the future.

The lead character is Tempe Brennan a forensic anthropologist. She is smart, strong will and determined to find the answers to her case. She travels over to Afghanistan to dig up some remains as evidence on a article 32 hearing. Her daughter is over their serving. I like Tempe Brennan.
The characters are believable and some are likable while others are not.
The book really does not make me care about the characters and their lives. It does about how many people are sold into slavery each year. Especially females. I wish I could do something to help stop it like Dr. Brennan does.
A Teenage's body is found the cause of death is a hit and run accident they think. No one has come forth about who she might be. The police are at a dead end and ask Tempe to look at the bones. She is determined to help find out who she was and who killed her. She even bugs the cop from Afghanistan.
She works a few cases at a time some just take hers a few minutes of looking at ex-rays of bones that are wrapped.

There is some drama that happens to Dr. Brennan over in Afghanistan also someone threatening her in her home.
I liked the book and would read more of them.
I was given this ebook to read and asked in return to give honest review of it by Netgalley.
08/27/2013 PUB Scribner 336 pages ISBN9781439102459

posted by rhonda1111RL on August 27, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Tiresome

If Brennan wants to be a cop, she should join the force. Otherwise, she should try doing her own job and butt out of other oeoples.' With each book, she gets more unrealistically involved in things that are absolutely none of her business, and would be allowed by no p...
If Brennan wants to be a cop, she should join the force. Otherwise, she should try doing her own job and butt out of other oeoples.' With each book, she gets more unrealistically involved in things that are absolutely none of her business, and would be allowed by no police department in the world. I' m tired of it.

I find forensic anthropology fascinating. Blundering amateur detectives, not so much. Go back to your roots, Reichs. You didn't start off with the ridiculous premises of the Tv show, and I'm sorry you decided to adopt them. What makes entertaining TV makes for a specious book.

posted by sansmerci on August 29, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted September 20, 2013

    Keep up with Temperance Brennan in Afghanistan

    This book takes Temperance to Afghanistan to help clarify the role of a US serviceman in the death of two Afghani locals. But of course, it comes home to roost in classic Reichs fashion. In other news, which way will Temperance's love life go? And how's her daughter doing these days? Catch up on all the newest from the lab of our favorite forensic anthropologist. Great writing, great story, great heavens, go read it!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2013

    I highly recommend

    Kathy Reichs books are always informative and leaves you wanting more right away. I'm glad she has kept Temperance Brenan Series going, they are really enjoyable to read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 22, 2014

    Although Bones of the Lost is not what I expected, I enjoyed it

    Although Bones of the Lost is not what I expected, I enjoyed it very much. I thought it would be similar to the Bones television series, but it’s not. Only one character is the same, and that is Tempe herself. The plot has so many branches, the reader may think it’s several different stories, but it’s not. At the end, all those branches come together in a surprise conclusion. There are some dark issues in this story, as well as lots of adventure. Tempe does some things one would not expect from a forensic anthropologist. I think if you enjoy mystery/thriller stories, especially ones that are up to date, you will enjoy this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2014

    LOVE

    I really enjoy all of her books. This was no exception.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 10, 2013

    A winner!!!

    In Bones of the Lost, Kathy Reichs has done it again. Love all her books and can't wait for another one with Temperance Brennan. Her writing style connects you with the characters as if they are alive. It will hold you in suspense right up to the end.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 1, 2013

    Reichs Doesn't Disappoint!

    I have yet to be disappointed by Reichs' writing and Bones of the Lost is no exception to that theory. This book was solidly written and contemporary in its inclusion of military life in Afghanistan. I would highly recommend it to anyone who has like previous Brennan books or someone who is looking to get into Reichs' writing for the first time.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 1, 2013

    What a great read

    There hasn't been a Kathy Reichs book yet that I have not liked. She deals with relavent topics, and some which you would never think were issues. I was amazed how she handled the topic of human trafficking. She explains the medical technology in terms a regular non-medical person like me can understand. It is so interesting and I learn something with each book I read. The added information at the end about her daughter and the work she does. The story was good, read quickly and the surprise twist near the end. As always, A great job Temperance Brennan --- & Kathy Reichs! And, as always, I await the next Bones book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 25, 2013

    Another great Brennan novel!

    What a great book! Can't wait for the next one to come out.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 12, 2013

    good reading

    I liked it very much because Tempe got much more involved with trying to solve the case. I dont like the idea of her and Pete getting back together. I love Ryan and felt so bad for him at the end of the book. I hope the next book they connect up with each ohter again. ll in all it was a great book. I have read all her books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 6, 2013

    ALWAYS EXCITING!

    Once you read a Kathy Reich's novel, you are hooked and want to read all of her novels. Loved this one with her descriptions of Afghanistan.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2013

    Bones of the Lost

    Temperance is asked to identify bones of a young female a local policeman says is an illegal from Mexico working as a prostitute. Tracking the killer or killers is interrupted by a trip to Afghan to I interpret bones of 2 nationals supposedly shot by one report in the front during a sweep of a local Afghan village, another soldier says it was a rash shooting in the Back. After testifying to the frontal shooting in an attack or panic of villagers Back at home shadows of the war continue to follow Tempe as she pursues her original set of bones and finds memories from the war are there with her. Good ending.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 20, 2013

    always so informative..glad she's back in Georgia!

    once again, Tempe is caught in family and a different type of case problems. Love it when she becomes involved in "military" law. Glad she has family problems, like the rest of us :-(

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2014

    Anon

    I love Kathy Reichs' Tempe books and this one is no exception. Very good read, a real pageturner. A great mystery/thriller. The science is written so anyone can understand. Even my CSI son loves these books for the forensic aspect.
    Best to read the books in order so that you can follow her personal life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 24, 2014

    must read

    I really liked the book, to me Kathy is just getting better and better. will continue to read more in series as they come out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2014

    Did not want to put this one down

    Excellent book with a little bit of everything!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 22, 2014

    Love all of Kathy Reichs books. I have read them all and have l

    Love all of Kathy Reichs books. I have read them all and have loved all of them. Would like more forensic anthropology from Temperance rather than police work, but otherwise, can't wait for her next book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2013

    Wonderful, as usual

    Love Kathy Reichs books. This one was no exception. Can't wait for the next one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2013

    Check out entire series, highly recommended

    Love this author, fascinating forensic material with a nice twist.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2013

    Loved it!

    Another good read by Kathy Reich! She is one of my go-to authors!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2013

    Can't waitfor the next one1

    I'm never disappointed by Kathy Reichs Temperance Brennan.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2