BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Boneseeker

Average Rating 4.5
( 10 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(5)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 10 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted December 8, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Boneseeker by Brynn Chapman was a mysterious and suspenseful sto

    Boneseeker by Brynn Chapman was a mysterious and suspenseful story starring two main characters who are the children of some pretty famous characters we all know and love. Arabella Holmes is someone everyone can relate to in some way. We may not all be scary intelligent like she is, but we've all felt like we didn't fit in with the human race at least once or twice or a million times. She grew up with Henry Watson. A Holmes and a Watson together again? Can you smell the trouble brewing?

    Boneseeker was a book that will appeal to a variety of audiences. Whether you like historical fiction, mystery, humor, romance, or all of the above.. this book is for you.

    The ARC of Boneseeker by Brynn Chapman was kindly provided to me by the author for review. The opinions are my own.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 13, 2014

    I¿m going to be honest¿ I was drawn to this book because of the

    I’m going to be honest… I was drawn to this book because of the cover. Not only do I have an unhealthy addiction to YA fiction, but when it’s historical as well… my inner book nerd goes a little crazy. And then when I read the synopsis to find that our heroine is the daughter of one of the greatest detectives ever… Sherlock Holmes… well I didn’t have a choice but to sign up for this one! The icing on the cake…she works at a museum (one of my dream jobs… yea, my inner geek was on overdrive here) as a “purveyor of abnormal science”… that just translates to she collects weird stuff and gets to study it. At that moment in time I wanted to BE her! Hey, it’s summer vacation around our house, which means my little heathens (I mean angels… of course they are angels) are running around like lunatics driving me crazy… I have to live vicariously through books right now :) And boy am I glad I signed up for this tour!

    Arabella Holmes and Henry Watson, the daughter of Sherlock Holmes and the son of Dr. John Watson, are our central players. While we do see a lot of Dr. Watson in this book, Holmes himself is not present until the end.




    Arabella is not your typical girl. She’s a social outcast because she doesn’t play the coquettish games that other ladies of society play. She isn’t focused on finding a husband, starting a family, owning and running a home… she is more focused on learning everything that she possibly can about science. She’s beautiful, but has no idea. She wears trousers and digs in dirt for fun. And that filter that most people have that run from their brain to their mouth? Yea, hers is broken. If she thinks it, she says it. If you don’t like it, she doesn’t care. She’s definitely a strong female character and I loved everything about her. Henry fits more into the mold that society has set for young gentleman. But he never lets that get in the way of his feelings for Arabella. He accepts her for exactly who she is… silly quirks and all.

    Sherlock Holmes has procured a position at the Mutter Museum in Philadelphia for his daughter and while she is there a giant hand is unearthed in upstate NY and brought to the museum. There is rumor that it’s part of the remains of a Nephilim (long story short, a fallen angel…of giant proportions). The existence of angels doesn’t make any sense to Arabella’s very logical mind. She has a hard time believing anything that can not be proved by science. So she applies to be a part of the expedition to try to unearth more remains. Her superior at the museum doesn’t want her to be a part of this expedition and tries multiple times throughout the book to keep her from finding out anything about the bones that have been discovered.

    They mystery surrounding these bones just gets bigger and bigger as the story goes on. There are a couple of side plots… like what happened to the original group that went to unearth these bones… but they all lead back to finding out the identity of this hand. But the bigger part of the story was the romance that blossoms between Henry and Arabella. For me that overshadowed everything else.

    And just a little sneak in about another of my favorite characters… Newton….Arabella’s dog! So this is the second book in a week that I’ve read where an animal plays such a vital role in the story. Newton is smart, he has a vocabulary far beyond what most other dogs recognize and Arabella has trained him very well. I kind of wish she were real so she could come train my two lazy dogs!

    This was a fantastic historical romance, with a huge mystery to solve (and in true Holmes/Watson style!)… with some amazing twists and turns along the way. Great for a summer read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 17, 2014

    Arabella Holmes, daughter of Sherlock, finds herself at home i



    Arabella Holmes, daughter of Sherlock, finds herself at home in the Mutter Museum. Henry Watson, son of John, finds himself working along side Bella, and together they face a mystery of the bones, is it a giant or proof of fallen angels??

    this was very different to my usual reads, but not in a bad way! it spin on from the books of Sherlock Holmes and Dr Watson, although Watson plays a large part in this book, Holmes does not, except for the very last bit. it takes some of the quirks of Holmes and transplants them into his daughter, and I've not read any Holmes books, I can see the quirks from him in various films, in Bella.

    the tale tells of bones found, that are massive, and Bella, being the scientist, plans a paper that proves they are Neanderthal, not Nephilim. But someone is conspiring against her, and Henry, as they dig for more bones, and deal with the fallout.

    facing several attempts on her life, Bella finds herself inbroiled in an age old mystery, that is neither proven nor disproven in the book, but the way the author goes about it, is really well written! the love affair between Henry and Bella, such as it is, is not steamy or hot off the page, but it IS passionate, in a way only Bella can be, and THIS is what makes the book for me. the little twists and turn keep you page turning, right to the end.

    written from both Henry and Bella's point of view, in the first person, each change is headed. there is some violence, attempted rape and talk of drug abuse, but only heavy petting, its farily clean so i'm rating this a 16+

    I'll certainly look out for more books in this series, as and when they come out.

    4 fangs

    reviewer for Paranormal Romance and Authors That Rock

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 16, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    In the flair of second-generation Sherlock Holmes, there's myste

    In the flair of second-generation Sherlock Holmes, there's mystery, danger, romance, and definitely major snark.




    The story opens in the past with a group of men discussing a matter of importance and their willingness to do whatever is necessary for their cause ... a cause vaguely disclosed to the reader. From here the story moves into the present then to another chapter from the point-of-view of one of the lead characters. The next chapter is then from the other man lead's point-of-view. I wasn't sure I was going to like the story from the way the opening was structured, but the MC's voices along with the snippet of mystery introduced urged me to keep reading. I'm glad I did. 




    I loved the fact that Arabella is introduced as Sherlock Holmes' daughter and her BFF (best friend forever and eventual boyfriend forever) Henry as Watson's son. I'm not giving anything away by describing Henry as I just did. Trust me. It will be obvious to you from the start that these two are destined to be together and have been since childhood. But don't let that fool you. The author does a wonderful job of tossing up roadblocks to get in their way.




    Arabella and Henry have been life-long friends. How could they not with the tempestuous friendship between their fathers? They find themselves employed on a bone recovery mission for a museum after a few years apart. Between the bone recovery dig itself, murder, physical attacks, their childhood memories and snarky fromance (friendship/romance), and Henry's alleged promiscuity, this is no simple tale. 




    Through Bella and Henry's taunting romance, a mystery slowly rears its annoying head. It appears someone is sabotaging the dig. This is where Arabella's traits of details and detection, obviously gained from her Holmes' father, begin to work overtime. It was fun watching her, all while poor Henry did his best to keep her out of trouble--deja vu to their fathers' relationship.




    Arabella is witty, bold nonsense, and at times she felt too old for her age. But she can't really be to blame. Having the amazing Scotland Yard detective as a father was not easy. She's learned that life is all scientific with no room for the unexplained--love being one of those unexplained. But Henry has something to say about that. I found it amazing how Arabella's capacity for love goes from nonexcited (knowing she feels different when Henry's around), to full-fledged passion. All I can say about Henry is that I love him and his internal struggle to resist Arabella. He desperately tries to fend it off, but alas ... 




    The writing is both poetic and dreamy. There are strong, forceful moments, yet extreme tender ones, too. The author has a nice command over the language of the time period. At times, the tale held a CSI feel, crime scenes and all. 




    My only negative is the overall feel of the story is a mixture of young adult and new adult. The lead characters are both in a profession, both hold a demeanor of older characters, and both tend to think with more wisdom than the average YAer.




    I have to tell you. I am head-over-oodles in love with Henry. Wish they'd put a snippet of him on the cover. Even a faded out background. #growls

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 16, 2014

    This review first appeared on my blog Christy's Cozy Corners. I

    This review first appeared on my blog Christy's Cozy Corners. I received a copy free for an honest review which I've given.

    First of all, let me say, I love this cover! That is what first drew me in and made me want to read the book. Then I read the description and knew I had to read it! Who wouldn't want to read about Sherlock Holmes' daughter? Throw John Watson's son into the story, and you have a must read!

    The characters in this book are amazing! They are all so well written and extremely interesting! Arabella could probably be characterized as having a bit of a social disorder perhaps even Asperger's syndrome. She doesn't interact with people well, but that could also be due to her upbringing. If you know anything about Sherlock Holmes, you know that he is very socially awkward. I love the BBC version of Sherlock played by Benedict Cumberbatch. He just hits the nail on the head for Sherlock's inability to interact properly with people. Arabella would much rather be in her lab working with bones than out acting like a lady of leisure. I love Henry! He shows so much loyalty to Arabella.

    The premise of the story deals with bones thought to be those of fallen angels or neanderthals. It is very exciting and the plot moves very quickly! The settings are intriguing and the way they are described make you feel as if you are immersed in the story. I could feel the gloom and damp. That is rare in so many books! Boneseeker is a book I highly recommend, and I give it 5 stars!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 12, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Boneseeker was a nice, romantic read. It was a clever retelling

    Boneseeker was a nice, romantic read. It was a clever retelling of sorts, featuring the daughter of Sherlock Holmes and the son of John Watson as the protagonists. The book felt a little unbalanced at times though. The mystery and plot were overshadowed by the romance at many moments.

    ARABELLA + HENRY

    Aside from the show Sherlock and one movie, I'm not familiar with the Sherlock Holmes mysteries. From what I could tell, though, it seemed that the author did a good job with adding Sherlock and Watson traits to Arabella and Henry. This made for some pretty interesting characters!

    Arabella was a feisty, clever, and strong heroine, yet she had quite a few insecurities. A lot of the book was focused on her and Henry's relationship and the two (mostly her) struggled with the love they felt for one another. I loved the romance!

    I was a little surprised to see so much of it--lots of kissing--but that was a good thing. I do have one complaint about it, though . . .

    PLOT + MYSTERY

    Maybe I was just interested in the romance more, but it seemed that the main characters' relationship was the largest focus of the entire novel. It overshadowed the rest of the story. The mystery didn't seem like such a big deal--I never even came up with theories like I usually do. I was both unsure on what was going on and disinterested in the events pertaining to the expedition/mystery of the novel.

    OVERALL

    Romance stole the show for me! Boneseeker was one of the books in which my enjoyment stemmed almost solely from the protagonists' relationship and their scenes together. Anything aside from that didn't interest me as much, which is a shame because I would've loved to see a stronger mystery (seeing as there's a Sherlock and Watson). Nevertheless, I had a great time reading it and think many others would as well.

    *I received a copy of this book for review purposes. This has not affected my opinion of the book in any way.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 27, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    4.5 Stars 'Boneseeker' is a delightful mystery full of twists,

    4.5 Stars

    'Boneseeker' is a delightful mystery full of twists, action, and romance. The two main characters are Arabella Holmes - daughter of the famous Sherlock Holmes, and Henry Watson - the son of Dr. Watson, Sherlock's partner. They have been best friends since childhood, although they've been separated for a few years because of schooling. Now Henry is in the United States and working at the Mutter Museum - the same place that Arabella is employed. Reunited after years, the two easily slide back into their friendship and become inseparable once more. Being together brings back feelings on both sides that they have tried to deny for several years - but this time there's no denying their love for each other. Sent to recover mysterious skeletal remains from upstate New York, Arabella and Henry discover much more than they intended to - including secrets that some people want to remain hidden. Will they be able to escape the danger surrounding them and uncover the truth?

    I was immediately drawn to this book after reading the description. I love mysteries and thrillers - so when you add in a paranormal aspect with dark secrets - I'm in. Add to that the fact that the main characters are the son and daughter of Sherlock Holmes and Dr. Watson - and, of course, some romance - it made the book a must read. The plot was fast paced and told from alternating viewpoints - from that of Arabella and Henry. I liked that the author used this technique because we get to know the characters on a deeper level than when a single viewpoint is used. I loved how spunky and bold Arabella was - she was a fantastic leading lady. Henry was a great character as well - he was smart, protective, and determined to find out the truth. They made a great pair and I absolutely loved watching them both struggle with their feelings and then seeing their relationship grow. The plot was exciting and had great twists and turns that kept you guessing throughout most of the book. The Nephilim aspect put the story on a new level for me and gave the novel something that made it stand out from others in the genre. Everything was well done concerning the book - from the characters and the plot to the vivid descriptions and fast paced plot. Definitely recommended for fans of the genre and those looking for a fun and quick read.

    Disclosure: I received a copy of the book in exchange for an honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 27, 2014

    I loved this twist on the classic Holmes tale! The fact that th

    I loved this twist on the classic Holmes tale! The fact that the heroine is a young and smart woman is amazing and unique. And of course the author keeps with the theme by making Arabella the daughter of the great Sherlock Holmes. Arabella is headstrong and wily just like her famous father, but there is a battle raging inside - her love for Henry Watson. Henry is engaged to Priscilla but the sparks fly and it makes for a superbly interesting read! Action-packed and fun, Arabella takes center stage in everything with her intelligence and knowledge. And Priscilla knows it - and hates her for it and the fact that she knows Henry is truly in love with Arabella.

    The constant "foreplay" between Henry and Arabella keeps the reader on their toes because we don't know if they will end up together. Arabella is not the typical "lady" as everyone thinks she should be, but that doesn't matter. The author does an amazing job of bringing Sherlock back to life through his teen daughter. There is even a little "tidbit" at the end of the book about Sherlock Holmes himself. So go grab your copy and read it, because if you love tales about Sherlock you will certainly love this book! The next generation of Holmes and Watson is here!

    ***I received a complimentary copy of this book in exchange for an open and honest review***

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 26, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    I was given this book via Science Fiction and Such in exchange

    I was given this book via Science Fiction and Such in exchange for an honest review...

    I love the novels and stories of Sherlock Holmes and John Watson, so when I was asked to read a book whose main characters were their progeny, jumped at the chance. I expected to be reading a mystery novel (it is), set in late Victorian or early 20th century (it was), in London… and here is where Ms. Chapman diverts from the classic ideology of Sherlock Holmes, and creates a new world and the possibility of a new series of adventures.

    Boneseeker is set in the USA! Some scenes are at the Mutter in Philadelphia, PA and also along the Hudson River in New York. If you can imagine what the early 20th century was like in Philadelphia, then you have a great idea of where our characters live.

    Arabella Holmes is very similar to Sherlock. She is quite socially disconnected and is happiest among her bones and lab at the Mutter. She is aware that she does not react like other girls, but just cannot learn the social graces.

    Henry Watson is John’s youngest son. While the rest of the Watsons followed their father’s footsteps in the medicine, Henry is a scientist too, studying forensic anthropology. He is influenced into this study because of growing up with Arabella, and of course, there is a romantic interest there.

    The two of them embark on an adventure to identify the burial remains of a giant, which some believe are the children of humans and angels, or nephilim. The first team to reach this destination vanish, and she and Henry may be in danger themselves.

    Boneseeker is a very well crafted, well thought through novel. Clearly Brynn Chapman understands how to organize her story as there was never a time when I felt that the narrative was slowing down, not detailed enough, or left holes in the mystery itself or ancillary plots. However, she was also great at providing clear places for me to take reading breaks (even if I didn’t) and balanced them will with various cliff hangers, so I could find places to walk away and join the real world without too much disruption. i appreciate that. Even with the resolution of this story, I sincerely hope she is starting a series so I can read more of their adventures.

    If you enjoy mystery shrouded with paranormal suspense, then you will love Boneseeker as much as I did.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2014

    I received this copy via NetGalley to review. Admittedly I misj

    I received this copy via NetGalley to review.

    Admittedly I misjudged this book. I originally thought it was a steampunk book based on the title and cover. I should have read the blurb better.
    I do not like mysteries or romances and this book was both. Sorry Sir Doyle but I could really care less about Sherlock Holmes even though I do enjoy the American movies and the BBC series.  That being said I really did enjoy this book.
    Arabella is so unlike any woman from her time and that thrills me. I often say if I was born any time before now I probably would have been hanged or put in an asylum. I love that she works at a museum and goes against the grain. Henry is very typical of a wealthy young man of the age but he too is not quite what you would expect. It is almost ludicrous for a man of his standing to want such a headstrong brazen wife. Their romance is a whirlwind of heat, passion, and plain old fury. Neither is willing to concede but both are paining for the other. The anti-Arabella is such a typical pain in the ass aristocrat that I was happy to see her out of the book. Dr. Watson is much like what you expect from other Holmes stories.  I can only image the pain and sorrow he must have felt all those years watching Sherlock try and raise a child especially a girl.
    The idea that science and theology can reside side by side is still up for debate and I like that Chapman had Arabella change her mind on the subject as the book progressed. The Nephilim have come up in many books lately. The idea that giants could have walked among us and might still be around is quite intriguing and scary. I do not feel that I would want to meet one.
    Newton the dog is quite a character. It only makes sense that someone as smart and quick witted as would have a pet that was her equal. I am not sure that a dog could learn commands as specific as those referenced but I do know some very intelligent animals. I was upset that poor Newton got hurt but I was relieved he could be healed. I am one of those people that cries when the horse dies, but doesn't care when the rider does in a movie.
    Overall I gave this a 5 star review but it was fast paced and held my attention (not an easy thing to do for someone with ADHD). There was one error that I hope they worked out before the final copies ship. At one meeting Dr.Earnest calls Watson and Henry, Dr.Holmes and Mr.Holmes instead of Dr.Watson and Mr.Watson. Minor but annoying.
    I hope to read more from Brynn Chapman and perhaps more about Ms. Arabella Holmes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 10 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1