Customer Reviews for

Boneshaker (Clockwork Century Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 386 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(141)

4 Star

(156)

3 Star

(60)

2 Star

(18)

1 Star

(11)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

My First Steampunk

Boneshaker is the story of Briar Wilkes searching for her son Zeke in walled-in Seattle swarming with zombies and the deadly fumes that transform the living into the walking dead. Oh, and did I mention that this is a steampunk alternate-history setting? This story has t...
Boneshaker is the story of Briar Wilkes searching for her son Zeke in walled-in Seattle swarming with zombies and the deadly fumes that transform the living into the walking dead. Oh, and did I mention that this is a steampunk alternate-history setting? This story has the most intriguing and fascinating setup of any novel I've read in the past few years, and the world that Priest has created is well worth exploring.

The story itself is basically a time-pressure rescue story, with a strong sub-plot of searching for family history. The narrative flips back and forth between Briar and Zeke, as they each explore the deadly downtown Seattle. It works, and it's fun.

Ultimately, though, I wound up caring a lot more about the world than about the protagonists of the story... Which is unfortunate. The middle of the novel dragged a bit, but did manage to pick up by the end.

Boneshaker has also been nominated for a 2010 Hugo award (while I was reading it, which made me feel like I was a trend-setter for once...).

4 of 5 stars.

posted by SteveTheDM on May 24, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Had a hard time finishing this book. Horrible. The main charac

Had a hard time finishing this book. Horrible. The main characters were so annoying and unlikable i found myself rooting for the rotters.

posted by pedd on June 2, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 156 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8
  • Posted May 24, 2010

    My First Steampunk

    Boneshaker is the story of Briar Wilkes searching for her son Zeke in walled-in Seattle swarming with zombies and the deadly fumes that transform the living into the walking dead. Oh, and did I mention that this is a steampunk alternate-history setting? This story has the most intriguing and fascinating setup of any novel I've read in the past few years, and the world that Priest has created is well worth exploring.

    The story itself is basically a time-pressure rescue story, with a strong sub-plot of searching for family history. The narrative flips back and forth between Briar and Zeke, as they each explore the deadly downtown Seattle. It works, and it's fun.

    Ultimately, though, I wound up caring a lot more about the world than about the protagonists of the story... Which is unfortunate. The middle of the novel dragged a bit, but did manage to pick up by the end.

    Boneshaker has also been nominated for a 2010 Hugo award (while I was reading it, which made me feel like I was a trend-setter for once...).

    4 of 5 stars.

    13 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 1, 2013

    I thoroughly enjoyed this book.  It was my first read in the ste

    I thoroughly enjoyed this book.  It was my first read in the steampunk genre and it has piqued my interest to read more of this genre type.
    I read Dreadnought, another in this series and enjoyed it as well.  Steampunk, zombies, pirates in zeppelins,  what more can you ask for 
    in a steampunk adventure? Very fun read

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 14, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Steampunk Seattle

    Thanks to the Seattle Public Library for hiding this book at Bird on a Wire Espresso for me to find, part of SPL's Steampunk Summer 2011 teen reading program. The day I finished the book, I was able to meet Cherie Priest at an author event in Seattle. So bonus all the way around! Being a Seattle resident, I was thrilled to read a book set in long-ago Seattle, albeit with some historical facts changed; those changes are noted in the book although this was not so for early editions. The airships, zombies, and mechanical devices intrigued me. The relationship between Zeke and his mom, Briar, was agonizing to read about as it was so distant. But Briar risks everything to save her boy so the ending ties up nicely. In the middle, the rotters threaten both of them. Such fun, lots of action, lots of emotion. A great read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Liking this is eazzy

    Zombies, gold greaaaat!!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 5, 2009

    Steampunk and Zombies? What's not to like?!

    A terrible accident leads to the walling up of Seattle, as noxious gas turns fleeing citizens to zombies. Trying to resurrect his father's reputation, a young man enters into the walled city and his mother attempts to bring him home alive, holding deep within her own dangerous secret.
    I enjoyed the premise and the storyline, although the zombies seemed almost like an afterthought, a way to develop another element of danger to the otherwise exciting tale. The characters were believable and the conflict unrevealed until the end, although you knew that there had to be more to the mother than she let on.
    Boneshaker did what I want in a book, though, it made me want more! What happens next?!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 24, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Alternate History SteamPunk Zombie Adventure!

    There is so little SteamPunk fiction out there that any contribution to the sub-genre is welcome. That being said, Boneshaker is genuinely good. Richly atmospheric and visually striking, it begs to be made into a movie or mini series with a video game companion. Boneshaker's Seattle is a great setting for fiction, but I'm sure glad I don't live there. The characters are believable, even the over-the-top ones. The main characters are actually likeable despite - or because of - their flaws. The zombie action is not the primary focus, for good or ill. Boneshaker is a book about people in an intollerable situation and how they cope. A must for any SteamPunk fan.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2014

    Pretty good

    I actaly don't care for the whole zombie genre genre, and this is not 100% perfect or in my list of faves, but this was sure well paced and entertaing! Sequels are fun too

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2014

    Never a dull moment!

    Good story. Excellent pacing. Solid, well-defined and believeable characters. Definite page turner. I'd never read Priest before and have only begun a dalliance with the steampunk sub-genre recently. This is steampunk only around the edges. You hardly notice it, frankly. As I said, I'd not read this author before. I have an appointment this afternoon to begin another of hers. She's an impressive author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2014

    Boneshaker introduces you to the wild world of a Seattle that ha

    Boneshaker introduces you to the wild world of a Seattle that has become ground zero for the zombie plague. While some of the dialogue feels a little stilted at times, the characters and setting more than make up for it. The walled up city and its mysterious inhabitants are only the beginning. Briar Wilkes is one tough mama and no one, not even a band of zombie Rotters is going to stop her from finding her son. A strong start to a good series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2013

    A great read

    Itll keep you hooked till the last page

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2012

    New author I'll deginitely will read again.

    Great story, and endearing characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2012

    Loved it!

    Some people might pass this little gem over thinking steampunk and "alternative history" isn't for them. Well think again because the heart of this story is really about the lengths a mother will go to to protect her child, even when that child is pig-headed, foolish 15 year old and even when those lengths include dropping out of a smuggler's dirigible into a walled up "alternative" Seattle and battling flesh-eating zombies and mad scientists to find him and bring him home.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 29, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    More Punk Than Steam...

    After finishing the Leviathan series I was told over and over that the Clockwork Century serial HAD to be my next to read. I'm sure that had I read this series first I probably would've found it more exciting and memorable than I do. Alas I did not read it first so I am left to comparisons and regrets whether warranted or not.
    1. I found the characters to be as dull as Briar's favorite color. They were all rather heathery-grey.
    2. Zeke is supposed to be a 15 yr old. He is fleshed out much more closely to a 13 yr old. I kept waiting for him to just get it over with and call Briar "Mommy".
    3. Blight is such a well rounded, full bodied poison. Not only will it zombify one, if stewed up it will also get you high.
    4. The characters that were interesting were only minorly fleshed out. (Cly, Lucy, Yaoste)
    I realize these are nitpicky things. Which for me means I'm trying to find excuses for not finding the book amazing. Please read and enjoy this, just don't read it on the heels of Leviathan or the Parasol Proctorate series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2012

    for you steam punk lovers

    You will like

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 25, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Read it as fast as I could and wanted more when I was finished

    I'm actually torn about this book. I enjoyed it quite a bit. The writing was pretty good and the story moved along nicely. The setting, as unbelievable as it was, was fun and exciting. The characters were well drawn and likable and unlikable as appropriate. I read it as fast as I could, and wanted more when I was finished. On the other hand, there were quite a few times where it was difficult to stay oriented about how buildings were laid out on streets or rooms were laid out in buildings. Maybe that's just hard to do in books. It didn't really detract from the story, since the characters were confused about their location anyway. The ending was a bit of a letdown. Even so, I like the characters, world, and writing so much that I can hardly wait to get my hands on the next books in this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 21, 2011

    I don't remember paying $9.99 for it..but worth the read

    Good story that was well written

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2011

    We all need books like this once in a while. An absolute blast of a page turner. I ate it up like candy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 28, 2011

    Pretty cool

    This is the first Steampunk novel I've read so far, and now may be hooked. A fun read, as Seattle is my home.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 22, 2011

    Fun!

    I really enjoyed this book. You can't beat steampunk and zombies!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 24, 2011

    Wonderful Read!

    Alternative history and science fiction, the twin pillars of steampunk, have a tendency to the same problem - many authors are so enamored by their own concepts their writing and/or storytelling are awful. Not so, this delightful read! The author has done an impressive job creating a unique world in a fast paced plot that draws the reader in. It's certainly not perfect, and the ending is satisfying if not particularly memorable, but it was a fun read I couldn't wait to get back to every evening. I'm looking forward to more from this fine author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 156 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8