Customer Reviews for

Boneshaker (Clockwork Century Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 379 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(136)

4 Star

(155)

3 Star

(60)

2 Star

(17)

1 Star

(11)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

My First Steampunk

Boneshaker is the story of Briar Wilkes searching for her son Zeke in walled-in Seattle swarming with zombies and the deadly fumes that transform the living into the walking dead. Oh, and did I mention that this is a steampunk alternate-history setting? This story has t...
Boneshaker is the story of Briar Wilkes searching for her son Zeke in walled-in Seattle swarming with zombies and the deadly fumes that transform the living into the walking dead. Oh, and did I mention that this is a steampunk alternate-history setting? This story has the most intriguing and fascinating setup of any novel I've read in the past few years, and the world that Priest has created is well worth exploring.

The story itself is basically a time-pressure rescue story, with a strong sub-plot of searching for family history. The narrative flips back and forth between Briar and Zeke, as they each explore the deadly downtown Seattle. It works, and it's fun.

Ultimately, though, I wound up caring a lot more about the world than about the protagonists of the story... Which is unfortunate. The middle of the novel dragged a bit, but did manage to pick up by the end.

Boneshaker has also been nominated for a 2010 Hugo award (while I was reading it, which made me feel like I was a trend-setter for once...).

4 of 5 stars.

posted by SteveTheDM on May 24, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Had a hard time finishing this book. Horrible. The main charac

Had a hard time finishing this book. Horrible. The main characters were so annoying and unlikable i found myself rooting for the rotters.

posted by pedd on June 2, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 136 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7
  • Posted December 18, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Pay attention that the cover says science fiction

    Can there be science fiction in the gold rush era? You bet. Facinating story with old and "new" sciences mixed together with zombies. These zombies are a little bit like the ones in WW-Z. Made me find a map of Seattle. My neighbor, from Seattle, was not familiar with the wall. All the adventures in ruined skyscrapers and deep tunnel work out. The characters all work out well. A good page turner, I have no complaints.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    his is a great Zombie alternate America thriller

    In 1863 in Seattle, Washington Territory, Russians hearing rumors of gold in the Yukon and Alaska Territories hire scientist Leviticus Blue to invent a device to obtain the precious metal buried under the frozen tundra. He creates Dr. Blue's Incredible Bone-Shaking Drill Engine; a steam-powered machine that drills through the thickest layers of ice to extract gold. He beta tests his gizmo in downtown Seattle, but something goes awry leaving several dead people from the ensuing accident and a stripped mining like hole that emits an eerie looking gas dubbed Blight as it turned nearby breathers into "rotter", fresh flesh eating predators.

    Almost two decades later, Leviticus' son Zeke Wilkes wants to clear his dead father's blighted reputation. He sneaks inside the walled containment zone with his concerned mother Briar in pursuit as she fears her offspring will turn into one of those putrefying rotters. However, her fears turn into mortification when she learns that mad scientist inventor Dr. Minnericht looks like the identical twin of her late husband and he seems to have taken a fatherly interested in her child.

    This is a great Zombie alternate America thriller that hooks the readers from the moment that Dr. Blue turns on his machine and never takes even a gruesome puke break. The story line is fast-paced yet the three prime characters are fully developed though the rotters are what the BONESHAKER is all about. One should not read this on a full stomach unless a toilet is nearby as the descriptions are bone-shaking and breaking steampunk. .Readers will relish Cherie Priest's sensational Seattle saga as a mom without apple pie battles zombies, mad scientists and other ilk to rescue her cub.

    Harriet Klausner

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2010

    brilliant steampunk book!

    This book is superbly written with in depth characters and a strong plot. Those new to the steampunk genre will lve this book as well as those that are already fans. I can't wait for cherie priests next book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 5, 2009

    Cherie Preist Falls To Disappoint Me Again!

    I just finished BONESHAKER this morning. I was late for work, but it was worth it. I have read all of Cherie's novels, and must say that I enjoyed this one the best. It was an action-packed, heart-pounding, rollicking great time. The main characters were so vividly written that I felt they were in the room with me sometimes. I felt the atmosphere was a character in itself, and I was inclined to keep all my lights on. It was a real page-turner, and right up until the last page, my knuckles were white and I had to almost pry my fingers from the covers. It left me wanting more, and am so happy that there will be more stories set in this alternate universe called Clockwork Century. I just hope that she keeps the strong female charaters front and center in the future novels. I loved Lucy and Princess! I know that Cherie heard this already, but if this were made into a movie, I would overcome my fear of theatres, and be the first in line to see it. I am now a fan of steampunk! Great work Cherie. You deserve all the praise and awards that are coming your way. I rave about your writing to all my friends that will listen. I hope it was okay to write my little review here. Cheers and keep writing! A huge fan in Nova Scotia.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    steampunk zombie apocalypse

    Cherie Priest puts a new twist on a worn genre. Her take on Steampunk is fresh and terrifying. Boneskaker is chocked full of space pirates,dirigibles, psychotic captains and zombies. Set in Seattle it features many of our famous landmarks in new horrific ways. This book is Preist's breakout novel, smart, fresh and fabulous. Remember her name, she's a celebrity in the making. Tight writing and witty dialog make this novel a must.
    Pre-order this book you won't be sorry. Oh and wait til you see the cover..it says it all, for reals!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2014

    Steampunk at its best.

    I came upon this author after checking out a few other books in this genre I have always been so fascinated with. Priest does a fantastic job of delivering an alternate 1800s steampunk world set in Seattle unlike many other stories focusing on Victorian England. I can honestly say that I breezed the book faster than is usual for me (considering I am constantly reading multiple books at a time) and that I just kept getting drawn to continue reading. A highly recommended read I'd say.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2013

    I adore this series!

    I adore this series!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2012

    Outstanding

    Might get off to a bit of a rocky start for some readers, but it gets pretty gripping pretty quickly!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 21, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    This was the first of Cherie Priest’s books I read, and le

    This was the first of Cherie Priest’s books I read, and let me tell you, she hooked me. If you’re interested in steampunk, zombies, pirates, adventures, horror, alternate history, strong women characters, post-apocalyptic/disaster, science fiction, or Seattle, this is the book for you. Did I mention zombies? Steampunk with zombies. I admit, I mainly picked up this book because 1) steampunk with zombies sounded like it could be spectacular 2) I’d read rave reviews from several sources 3) Scott Westerfeld’s review on the front cover: “A steampunk-zombie-airship adventure of rollicking pace and sweeping proportions, full of wonderfully gnarly details. This book is made of irresistible.” The book definitely lived up to my expectations, and surpassed them. It’s certainly in my top 5 favorite books, and I have a new series to fall in love with. Thank you, Cherie Priest, for this marvelous gem.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2012

    Sci-fi history

    This was the first of Priest's books that I've read. If you enjoy alternate histories and imaginative gadgets you will love this book as I did. Seeing the events through different characters helped to pull the story together. A great read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 15, 2011

    Good Seattle zombie fun!

    Seattle steampunk with zombies! What more could a seattleite ask for. Seriously, it's fun even if you don't recognize anything. If you don't live here and you ever have reason to visit. Do yourself a favor, take the Underground tour out of Pioneer Square and then read this in your hotel. You won't regret it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 13, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Outstanding book!! Great introduction to Steampunk!!

    This was my first "Steampunk" book, and I absolutely loved it. Since the Nook cost was only $2.99, I figured I didn't have a lot to lose. I just downloaded "Clementine," Cherie Priest's second book in the series. Assuming it is as captivating as the "Boneshaker," I plan on reading the whole series. I was sucked in from the very beginning, and I recommend this book to anyone wanting to try this genre or even someone who is already a fan!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 9, 2011

    Awsome book

    At first i didnt think any steampunk books had come to light. But when i read some of the steampunk bible i found this little jem. Its quite worth the read! Check this book out as any follower of steam/zombies would love this!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 6, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Steampunk in all its glory!

    My first steampunk book and I could not have chosen better. Thanks B&N for the one hour free read in the store - a sample would not have done this book justice. After that one hour I had made it to chapter 5 and knew I had to finish it. Now I know I can't wait to read the next book in the series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 13, 2011

    Steampunk at its best!

    Loved this book! A steampunk, zombie, adventure novel that keeps you enthralled and turning the pages.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 8, 2011

    AWESOME!!

    Cherie Priest is my new favorite author! This series is great!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 5, 2011

    Thoroughly enjoyable.

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Posted August 2, 2011

    My first steampunk fun book

    Great character development

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 2, 2011

    Great first time exposure to steampunk

    I'm glad I picked Boneshaker as my first steampunk book. It is filled with drama and characters that transcends genre and just makes for a great read. I look forward to reading more of her books and digging deaper into the world of steampunk.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 26, 2011

    Not your average zombie story

    I'm not really a fan of zombie stories. They just don't interest me. So I was initially skeptical of reading this book, even though I love steampunk. But now I'm very glad that I read it, because this is one of the better books I've read in a long time. I highly recommend it, and now I can't wait to read the rest of the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 136 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7