Customer Reviews for

Bonhoeffer: Pastor, Martyr, Prophet, Spy

Average Rating 4
( 433 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(251)

4 Star

(85)

3 Star

(52)

2 Star

(23)

1 Star

(22)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

84 out of 86 people found this review helpful.

Inspiring....

BONHOEFFER Pastor, Martyr, Prophet, Spy by Eric Metaxas is really, really great. This is a heavy book. Yes, the subject matter is serious, but I mean this book is heavy, like three pounds. Metaxas is so detailed in his description of Dietrich Bonhoeffer's life that's it...
BONHOEFFER Pastor, Martyr, Prophet, Spy by Eric Metaxas is really, really great. This is a heavy book. Yes, the subject matter is serious, but I mean this book is heavy, like three pounds. Metaxas is so detailed in his description of Dietrich Bonhoeffer's life that's it feels like you are reading every possible bit of information that could be found on him. Metaxas did all the work for us and wrote an amazing biography. This book covers Dietrich's upbringing, family life, spiritual formation, ministry and eventually his involvement in the plot to end Hitler's life and ultimately Bonhoeffer's execution.
Bonhoeffer's insistence that a spiritual life is a life fully lived, in service to God and others, not a life split into sacred and secular divisions seems especially relevant in a culture where we too easily fall into the trap of a lifestyle of consumption and compartmentalization.
I would definitely recommend this book. It was fascinating to read about this theological giant, and about the world he lived in, his thoughts on what it truly meant to be a follower of Jesus, and the struggles he dealt with as he saw the church sit idly by while evil men had their way.
I received this book as a part of Thomas Nelson's BookSneeze program.

posted by Jimmyd8466 on May 7, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Responding to how to delete books

You need to go into your barnes and noble account from the web. Click on manage my account. Then click on my library. Your good to go. I hadthe same problem. Good luck and Happy reading!

posted by KELLIRUE on September 20, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 85 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted October 4, 2010

    Great Book!

    I just finished this powerful book. It's amazing how a man's entire life can be reduced to a mere 542 pages. But what a life! This German Pastor came from a prominent family. His father was an anti-Freudian psychiatrist, his older brother worked with Einstein to split the atom! Dietrich? Well, he just fought Hitler. He pastored, taught seminary and wrote extensively as well, but amazingly, he was involved in three of the fifteen attempts on Hitler's life. He was arrested on a trivial charge, but evidence was eventually discovered by the Gestapo that illuminated the true depths of his involvement in the widespread intrigue against Hitler. It is widely agreed that Hitler himself ordered his execution, which was carried out mere weeks before the Americans reached the prison where he was being held.

    Bonhoeffer gave us terms like "cheap grace" (forgiveness with little or no repentance) and "religionless Christianity" (in which one maintained a relationship with God as opposed to observing "religious" rules and customs). Two of his famous works were assigned to me in seminary: The Cost of Discipleship and Ethics. I also recommend them to you. The book is not light reading, but life-changing materials rarely are. Do yourself a favor, get this book and meet and get to "know" Dietrich Bonhoeffer, you'll be the better for it.

    30 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2012

    Warning for nook buyers - no photos included!

    Superb biography, but be forewarned that the nook edition contains none of the many photographs included in the print edition. This can be especially frustrating for a biography.

    Please: can BN list this information in advance of purchase?!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2012

    Bonhoeffer

    Wonderful book and held my attention throughout. However I was extremely disappointed that the e Book failed to include the photogaphs and writings that are in the hard copy particularly the beautiful Who Am I?.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2012

    Gets ya thinking

    Overall, this was a great book with many things to ponder, struggle with, debate, and share. I personally did not prefer the author's style of writing (very biased & the order I felt was jumbled), but once you get past it, you discover that that is a minor detail in regards to the topics it covers and the abundance of discussion this book brings. I enjoy books that challenge me to think outside of my preconceived box and this one did just that.

    I would recommend this for:
    - anyone 13 on up who enjoys a good read
    - small groups as this is sure to produce discussion

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2011

    An excellent read.

    This book answered many of the questions that I have had for many years. Questions about how the German people were so taken in by Adolph Hitler? Why were the Christian Churches so silent during this era? Where were God's men and women? "Bonhoeffer, Pastor, Martyr, Prophet" answers those questions and much more.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2012

    well worth it

    This is a difficult read but well worth the time. I had to put it down often just toabsorb the scope of the content. I am glad i stuck with it. Profound life lived.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2011

    Very Good...easy read.

    This is a wonderful look into the theology and practice of one of Christendom's most famous martyrs. The story of Bonhoeffer's life and the times in which he lived make for serious contemplation of one's own faith journey.

    I found it captivating. It would be a great read for historians, theologians, and church leaders, and not a few politicians.

    The only negative I have is the pettiness or silliness with which the authors write at times, especially in describing many of the characters who worked with and for Hitler in these grave times. The pathos of the times and the serious discipleship of Bonhoeffer himself, demand less frivolous and trite descriptions.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 2, 2011

    Fascinating Insight!

    The book gives a much needed understanding of Germany in the Hitler era. By no means were the German people of one mind in the support of Adolf Hitler. This is an account of genuine courage and bravery in the face of unbelievable tyranny.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 4, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Very interesting book but no pictures...

    I enjoyed the book and learned a lot but I had to check the book out of the public library to see the pictures included in the book. Why were they not in my Nookbook? Other than that, very interesting.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 10, 2013

    Excellent!

    Well told, engaging. This book will inspire serious soul-searching in any thoughtful person. Bonhoeffer is an example not just to Christians, but to all who honestly seek truth and the deeper meaning of our human existence. My only negative reaction is that there were no photos as you might expect in a biography of a modern person.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2013

    An amazing book

    This book does an amazing job presenting who Bonhoeffer was and what he believed within the social-historic context that he lived in. Bonhoeffer's writings challenge your belief system while the historical perspective on the rise of the 3rd Reich challenges the simple narrative so often presented. I highly recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2013

    Bonhoeffer

    Gives good perspective if WWII Germany

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2012

    Highly informative

    Highly informative not only of Bonhoeffer but also how the German people became stuck with an negative image because of their association with Hitler.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2012

    recommended

    Book reads well Bonhoeffer is a must read for those who want to know what happened inside Germany during the war.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2012

    Test

    Test

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2012

    Excellent!!!

    This book is great. Couldn't put it down. So interesting to see the religious side of the holocoust!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2011

    very interesting read

    Needed to do a paper on Church Histroy, picked Bonhoeffer and was pleasently suprized by what this man did for Germany and the world.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 12, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    An insightful, tremendously uplifting book of sustaining faith by a tremendous theologian living under the most evil regime in human history.

    Metaxas splendidly recounts the life of Bonhoeffer as he comes facde to face with unprecedented evil in a time of hardship and trial. He recounts the unfailing faith of this theologian as things become progressively more difficult and menacing in Hitler's germany. His progression of events leaves no details in the descriptions of the relationships to which Bonhoeffer attached himself, nor to the challenges which the theologian faced- both physical, and emotional. With amazing insight, Metaxas reveals thought processes which produced in Bonhoeffer a strong determination and faith to remain true to Christ, and shows through his example the truth of dependence on the Lord Jesus even when we ourselves must walk "through the valley of the shadow of death."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 85 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5