Customer Reviews for

Bonnie (Eve Duncan Series #14)

Average Rating 3.5
( 406 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(179)

4 Star

(76)

3 Star

(59)

2 Star

(44)

1 Star

(48)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

19 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

excited

I have read all Iris Johansen's books and they were all good, so can't wait to read the next one.

posted by marianne68 on September 22, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

33 out of 47 people found this review helpful.

I agree

With what everyone else said . I realy like the stories but I"m tired of waiting . The last few books have not been as great as the others in this series .

She realy has milked this for all its worth . I have a feeling she is dragging this out because she has nowh...
With what everyone else said . I realy like the stories but I"m tired of waiting . The last few books have not been as great as the others in this series .

She realy has milked this for all its worth . I have a feeling she is dragging this out because she has nowhere to go with eve after this . And from her other non eve books it would seem she is running out of stories .

She can still use these characters in other books but she needs to finish this story , it's getting very old and kind of boring .

Hope she reads these and give us her readers what we would like . After all without us there is no one to read it .

posted by siillyy2000 on July 30, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 406 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 21
  • Posted July 30, 2011

    I agree

    With what everyone else said . I realy like the stories but I"m tired of waiting . The last few books have not been as great as the others in this series .

    She realy has milked this for all its worth . I have a feeling she is dragging this out because she has nowhere to go with eve after this . And from her other non eve books it would seem she is running out of stories .

    She can still use these characters in other books but she needs to finish this story , it's getting very old and kind of boring .

    Hope she reads these and give us her readers what we would like . After all without us there is no one to read it .

    33 out of 47 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 28, 2011

    ?his trilogy is a dud!

    The author has used the device of finding "Eve's Bonnie" in several previous books---with the teaser that they would find her soon. Read "Eve" and started "Quinn", but just got tired of Eve looking for "her Bonnie". Couldn't finish "Quinn" and am not going to read "Bonnie". At this point, so bored with the entire series that I could care less how the story ends, if it ever does! The author has just used too much of a good thing and dragged the series on too long.

    21 out of 35 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 22, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    excited

    I have read all Iris Johansen's books and they were all good, so can't wait to read the next one.

    19 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 6, 2011

    Read all of Iris Johansen Books

    I agree with all of the post, that it's time to put Bonnie to rest and move on to a new series.

    18 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2011

    Is this the end?

    Does this mean that we will be rid of the whiny Eve? This series was fascinating to start with but Eve seemed to never get past the loss of her daughter and she just became whiny. Not a likeable character at all.

    14 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 2, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    The final of the Bonnie trilogy an exciting twisting thriller

    Forensic sculptor Eve Duncan was a kid having a kid when she gave birth at sixteen years old to Bonnie. Eve thought Bonnie's father John Gallo died on a military mission, but she and her long time significant other police detective Joe Quinn learned John lived incarcerated by the North Koreans until he escaped. Meanwhile when Bonnie was seven, she was abducted in Atlanta. Owing Eve for saving her son, FBI Agent Catherine Ling targeted John who suffers mental illness from his ordeal as the killer of Bonnie, but he proved to be innocent.

    Clues lead the quartet to the Louisiana bayous and from there to Georgia as Bonnie's spirit guides her mom. They track a new suspect with powerful ties enabling a government cover-up of unsanctioned mind experiments. As they get nearer to the truth, the new target prepares to kill if they get too close.

    The final of the Bonnie trilogy (see Eve and Joe) is an exciting twisting thriller as the truth can set you free to a degree. Although the serpentine sensational story line contains too many spins that slows down the pace, fans of the Eve Duncan saga will relish learning what happened to Bonnie.

    Harriet Klausner

    11 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2011

    Hopefully not more of the same!

    I became absorbed in the Eve Duncan series several books ago, but inevitably, even the new characters introduced in the book fit the same stereotypes used in previous Eve novels (The would-be strong female who is alternately antagonistic/in love with a strong male character, etc. while Eve grieves over yet another skull and her loss of Bonnie. Closure, at least about Bonnie's demise, is long overdue. I don't mind if the ghostly appearances continue, but it is time this character is moving forward with more interesting plot lines.

    8 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2011

    Finally

    The mystery of Bonnie's death has finally come to a conclusion. That is the only thing about this book that I was happy about. There is no reason that this 3 part series couldn't have been one book and the whole 3 part series was a disappointment. Loved the early books about Eve, the last not so much.

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2011

    Sadly disappointed

    I was hoping to be wowed by the truth behind Bonnies death but instead i felt let down. It was like the author ran out of ideas and just went with some lame plot. I wasnt happy at all with mrs. Johansons book and if i could get back the wasted time it took to read it i would. All her other books were SOOOOOO much better. This was a total let down.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 23, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    On the edge

    I think this series is awesome and find myself counting down for the next book release. I can't wait for the release of Bonnie I M really excited and believe a lot of answers are hidden in this book. I do not think Bonnie is dead I think she has been held captive for all these years for leverage against her father, however only time will tell. I tip my hat to Iris she is doing something many of us only dream about and getting paid forl it.

    4 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2013

    ?

    You might know harriet klausner will pop up with her cliff note synopsis and ruin the book. This poster seriously needs to be banned from posting as she ruins every book she reviews. Thank god i read the book before she plot spoiled it.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2011

    A little disappointed!

    In the past I would get a new Johansen book and couldn't put it down until I was done. Unfortunely latley I've been disappointed in the series that she created. It took me forever to finish Quinn but I thought that perhaps I would still give Bonnie a try. I wish I hadn't. I found the book to be redundant and almost boring. I've even found myself to dislike the characters Eve and Jane, same character just different names.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 25, 2013

    highley recommend

    I have followed this story from the very beginning and am very happy with the way it was fianlly resolved. Ms. Johansen did a wonderful job of pulling it together and letting a mother have the final chapter of a life taken too soon.
    If you have read the other book in the Eve Duncan series please don't miss this one.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2012

    After so much anticipation, the series turned out to be quite disappointing!

    As a fan who followed this series for years, the explanation of what happened to Bonnie just did not come up to my expectations. Come on, I was hoping for so much more drama; I wanted to get emotional and I wanted a book I wouldn't be able to put down once I started reading it. Instead, what should have been the main focus of this story, the way Bonnie died, I saw as an afterthought to everything else that was taking place with the main characters. Without giving it away for future readers, the way she died was difficult to believe. After years of building up to this highly anticipated finale, I was sorely disappointed with the absurd ending.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2011

    Kp72

    I've read all of irir jo's books, and while i do believe bonnie'sstory dragged on a long time, i also was so relieved to finally know what happened! As a mother to an only child who is my whole heart,i completely understood where eve was coming from. Honestly, i dont know how she kept breathing or putting one foot in front of the other. Iris kept bringing n wonderful new characters, and i do think this is just a beautiful new beginning. And for those readers out there that said eve wasnt likable anymore, well, would you be very likable if your child had been killed?

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2013

    Anonymous 4-5-13

    Waste of time and money....book is ugh...i understand why so many of you didn't like....deleted...not worth keeping or archiving.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2013

    Well done

    But too short to be a novel

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 22, 2013

    Worth reading

    Not my favorite Iris Johansen book, but she's a great writer and the story was well written. The content was not what I was expecting from her. This book provided the details of Bonnie's death which was nice to finally find out the details, however, there was not the action and suspense that I was expecting that we received from Johansen's other books. I would not read this book again, but it was worth it to read the story to give some closure to Eve's story.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2013

    Ok...I gave it only four stars because she is an exceptional wri

    Ok...I gave it only four stars because she is an exceptional writer and the writing is great. However, after all the books and waiting to find out what happened to Bonnie, it was weak. Very weak. It almost seemed like she ran out of ideas. It all lead to this exciting development but then it just got kind of boring.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2013

    Hkhoyyiyo ,mv

    Hlyibmuiyobmilimyi k .oub, yogkyoyhk.
    Bm
    I

    Yo .

    B,iyb,yoho

    1 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 406 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 21