Customer Reviews for

Book One of the Travelers (Pendragon: Before the War Series #1)

Average Rating 5
( 18 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

How Interesting..............

This will be good for any hardcore Pendragon Fan. I doubt a new comer to the series will pick it up and enjoy it, not knowing the importance behind each character, but a returning fan will. How exciting will it be to learn about the Travelers before they laid their life...
This will be good for any hardcore Pendragon Fan. I doubt a new comer to the series will pick it up and enjoy it, not knowing the importance behind each character, but a returning fan will. How exciting will it be to learn about the Travelers before they laid their life on the line for Halla? This book series will bring an interesting insight to the Travelers.


About the Pendragon series itself:

If you have not started the adventure of Bobby Pendragon yet, stop reading this and go start that! Why? Because it is a really good book. Not only does it have interesting characters, both evil and good, but it also has morals. It brings up the subject of when you cross the line between evil and good, about giving something your all, about death and losing loved ones, about when you want to just give up?
Still not hooked?
There is this really cool evil guy named St. Daine, except he isnt a Saint at all. This fascinating character makes you just want to jump up and take a swing at him yourself, and when Bobby on Zadaa gets the upperhand...... i guess you'll have to find out about that yourself...
or the betrayal on Quillian? read about it! its awesome!

Well, i hope i have convinced you to read them. If not, you dont know what you are missing =]

posted by Antram_lover on December 29, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Get to know the characters better

I read the books with bobby and knew the other travelers but with this book you get to find out things that were never mentioned in the other 10 books Machale wrote

posted by 11396356 on January 8, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 42 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted December 29, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    How Interesting..............

    This will be good for any hardcore Pendragon Fan. I doubt a new comer to the series will pick it up and enjoy it, not knowing the importance behind each character, but a returning fan will. How exciting will it be to learn about the Travelers before they laid their life on the line for Halla? This book series will bring an interesting insight to the Travelers. <BR/><BR/><BR/>About the Pendragon series itself:<BR/><BR/>If you have not started the adventure of Bobby Pendragon yet, stop reading this and go start that! Why? Because it is a really good book. Not only does it have interesting characters, both evil and good, but it also has morals. It brings up the subject of when you cross the line between evil and good, about giving something your all, about death and losing loved ones, about when you want to just give up?<BR/>Still not hooked?<BR/>There is this really cool evil guy named St. Daine, except he isnt a Saint at all. This fascinating character makes you just want to jump up and take a swing at him yourself, and when Bobby on Zadaa gets the upperhand...... i guess you'll have to find out about that yourself...<BR/>or the betrayal on Quillian? read about it! its awesome!<BR/><BR/>Well, i hope i have convinced you to read them. If not, you dont know what you are missing =]

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2011

    Travelers

    A very good after series series

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 1, 2010

    IT was so GOOD

    In English class, I read the story pendragon, Before the war.
    By: D.J. Machale. This book is very developed because, inside this story, the characters and the plot are really well told.
    Sorry for my introduction to be short, but inside this novel, the main character also known as Kasha is well described. The author, " D.J. Machale makes the character very interesting. Kasha is known as a brave, intellegence, and a resposible, female black panther inside this story. She looks like a very cute, female, black panther inside this story. She has some friends such as Durgeon and Boon. Durgeon is like the character that is like a mother to Kasha. Because, Kasha's brother and her parents had been murdered by the Tangs. After that incident, Kasha only trusted Boon and Durgeon, but especially Dourgeon, because Durgeon was the most trustful person to Kasha. To Kasha, Boon was like her brother. It is because Boon, is the second person that Kasha could trust. Boon kills a lot of the tangs and he is a very funny character. He is also the driver to take Kasha and her clan out of the Tangs.Durgeon Makes the book really actionable, baecause Kasha and her clan was in a danger by the Tangs but then, Durgeon came out of nowhere and shot down every single Tangs that were nearby and atleast 5 Tangs had died. Well, Boon was the character that made the story have humor. Because, he always acts funny and have a joke all the time.
    The second reason why this book is interesting is because of its plot. Because, there is one big problem that occurs inside this story. That problem is that, she is responsible and has to make her clan escape out of the Tangs. In the end, Kasha succeeds this goal.
    I hope you will enjoy this story. It is very exciting and makes you want to read above pages to pages.If you read this story, you can learn a lot about how Kasha's clans live. The characters in this story can make the people read and act like them.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2013

    Love it!

    Totally EPIC!!!!!!!!!!
    ________________

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2013

    Why barns and noble?????

    Please answer me!!!! :( 8 feel like cutting myself because of you!!!!!!!!! FREAKIN PEOPLE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! AAHAHAAHAHAAAAHHAAAHAHAAA I HATE WHAT YOUVE DONE TO USSSSSSS PEOLPE ROLE PLAYERS !!!!!!!! POR QUE YOU DO THIS EHH????? WHY MAN WHY!!!!!!! I WILL SELL YOUR CMPANY TO KINDLE IF YOU DONT INDO THIS FIRE WALL TODAY MAN!!!!! FOR REAL IM NOT PLAYING AROUND WITH YOU!!!! PLEASE UNDO THE FRE WALL AND I TAKE BACK ALL THAT KVE SD ABOUT BARNS ND NOBLE!!!! PLEASE UNDO THIS FIRE WALL!!!!!! I LIKE POSTING AND RPING HERE ITS SO FUN AND GIVES ME A CHANFE TO MEET NEW PEOPLE FORM OUT OF MY STATE!!!! PLEASE IM BEGGING YOU TO UNDO THIS FIRE WALL!!!!!*sits in a corner and cries*

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2013

    To:boring and predictable

    1. Not predicatble, on veelox he actually lost. Normally in book its the "happily ever after" kinda thing.
    2. This book is constantly in some sort of action and "exites" the imagination.
    3. THIS IS THE BEST FREAKIN BOOK EVER. YOU CANT EVEN TRY TO ARGUE THAT.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2012

    Hey Guys

    I havnt read these books yet but I have read the Pendragon series. I am acualy on the ninth one. Could someone tell me if these books r good or not? Thanks a ton!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2012

    ?

    Are these books as good as the other pendragon series?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2012

    Great

    Eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 17, 2011

    AWESOME

    I read the series with bobbie this sounds preety good

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2009

    Boring and predictable.

    I would have like it if I was eight year old.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 20, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Travelers

    I think the travelers books are really good. I think that they give you a good insight into the lives they lead before they meet Bobby. It kind of shows you exactly why they are the way they are and it is interesting to see what kinds of experiences they have as people.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    terrific series

    i hope the book turns out as the rest of the pendragon series turned out to be. pendragon is an amazing series, and any newcomers should start reading it NOW

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2008

    pretty good title

    This book name is very interseting but not interesting enough for a pendragon expert/reader. I think it kinda dosen't give enough info for a starter to begin this wonderful series. I think, in my opinion, a good title would be maybe somthing like this... Pendragon: The beginning. I think it was a ok title but could use some more tweeking. But what's my opinion agaisnt the great author's story?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 42 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3