Customer Reviews for

The Book Thief

Average Rating 4.5
( 4279 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(3028)

4 Star

(710)

3 Star

(272)

2 Star

(108)

1 Star

(161)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

228 out of 252 people found this review helpful.

Great Book! The Book Thief Steals Your Attention and Keeps It!

This is probably one of the most unique books I've read in like¿forever!

The story is narrated by Death and centers around the events of Nazi Germany in the 1940's.

I rarely give a book five stars. In that same token, I try to steer away from reco...
This is probably one of the most unique books I've read in like¿forever!

The story is narrated by Death and centers around the events of Nazi Germany in the 1940's.

I rarely give a book five stars. In that same token, I try to steer away from recommending books that have a morose tone, but this is a true exception. As much as you hope for, long for, and pray for a happy event to occur, you need to keep reminding yourself that the story is being told by Death, so chances of that happening are slim-to-none.

The main character of the story, Liesel Meminger, captured my heart. I loved the way the author, Markus Zusak, developed Liesel's character throughout the story and by a slight-of-hand, he added a side kick to the story, Rudy, who out of no where comes be one of the favored characters of the story. Great technique Zusak!

The premise of the story is unique and captivating. The narrator, Death, is much like Liesel where he/she has a way with words. Both of them recognize words for what they really are¿they can be used to stimulate good or evil. Through the power of words, we see how Hitler was able to control a country and persecute people.

Great book, awesome character development, insightful recount of Nazi Germany, and a life-long lesson¿what else can you ask for in a book?

posted by AvidBookworm on January 8, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

40 out of 45 people found this review helpful.

Download The Book Thief For Free

Download The Book Thief For Free From Here goo.gl/sSuJt

posted by 9114493 on August 5, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 108 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted July 8, 2011

    So difficult to get into and follow

    I wanted to like this book so much, but just couldn't get into it. I tried several different times and just could get past page 88. It had too many footnotes and German lingo to follow. I love historical fiction, but this book felt like a difficult lesson in German language and told by the narrator Death. Very strange and hard to follow. The story line is great and I am sure it could be a good read, but it just wasn't for me. :(

    4 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2011

    Not reccomended

    This story starts out very nice and I couldn't put the book down, it was very good, BUT the end was absolutely terrible! I was so disappointed, it seemed like the writer didn't know how to end the story so had no choice but to kill them all. This book had a potential to be a classic, if it wasn't for the atrocious ending.

    4 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2014

    Slooooow

    I read other reviews prior to buying this book so I was ready for a slow start. What I wasn't ready for was getting 3/4 of the way through the book before things got going. The pluses are good characters, the narrator (Death) and an emotional ending. The negatives are a very slow story & historical inaccuracies in the time line. My recommendation would be to have someone who's read the book explain the first 3/4 of the book to you and read the last 1/4 yourself.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2014

    I have not read this book but purchased it for my 12 year old gr

    I have not read this book but purchased it for my 12 year old granddaughter that loves to read.  She gave it back to me and said, "Grandma, that book has too much bad language.  The book was in the preteen section of the book store and highly rated.  It seems that now days all movies and books have to have filthy language or sex.  why?.

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2013

    May I please have my money back?   This book was one of the mos

    May I please have my money back?  

    This book was one of the most boring I've ever tried to read. 
    Don't waste your money buying it.  
    Don't waste your time borrowing it. It's BAD!

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 13, 2013

    So so read

    Book was ok. I liked the story. However the writing was pedestrian I can not suggest this book and was surprised I did not enjoy it more

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 7, 2012

    ugh!!! I didn't finish it. I love that death was telling the sto

    ugh!!! I didn't finish it. I love that death was telling the story. I love what the story was about. I hated the way it was written. The style of writing gave me a headache. I hated how it jumped from one scene to another without finishing what was happening in that scene and then jump back to it a few pages later. It was also really slow. Not for me. If you can get past the style of writing I think you will like it, maybe even love it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2009

    The Book Theif

    It was boring. I barely got through 1/3 of it. I returned it...

    1 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2014

    Nook Version missing sections

    To begin with, I loved the book--very riveting. However, this Nook version was horrendous--I don't know if it was only MY copy but it skipped some very important parts and I felt like the book itself was a puzzle trying to figure out exactly what happened that I had missed. I ended up borrowing the book from a friend to find out what I missed. I have never had a copy of a book like this.
    PLEASE fix this for anyone else who gets a NOOK copy!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2014

    Saw the play

    Oh my goodness I was in this play want to read the book and see the movie

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2014

    Was not what I expected

    I had previously watch the movie in advance. If you want to read this read it BEFORE you see the movie. It is also slowpaced. Read it and see you like it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2014

    The Book Thief

    I am dissappointed. There are pages missing and many pages refuse to.advance so.i.miss some of the story. The story line is great but it is disjointed because pages skip. I wish i had not bought it on nook and read it in paoerback instead.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2014

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 3, 2014

    My take on this misguided book was that the author spent more ti

    My take on this misguided book was that the author spent more time on trying to wow us with his writing skills than pay better attention to moving this story along. The theme of the "book thief" was very weak, and the rest of the dialog was quite boring. Particularly those "Attention" inserts, which did little for the story at hand. I tried, but after some 100 pages, I finally gave up. It reminded me of a rehash of Anne Frank, and was just another story about the horrors of Nazi Germany. I know a little of what it was all about, as we fled the advancing Russians that winter of 1944.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2014

    Tfgbgvb

    Ccbfv vcvg

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2014

    The book theif

    Should I read this I heard it was rather good

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2014

    slow and hard to keep up book.

    I have always been interested in this time in our history, but this book is written in a format that was was very confusing. I expected to warm to the the main characters, but I really never did.
    No one likes to think of death waiting for us, but in this book that is all you get from it.
    This book takes a long time to get anywhere and then finishes very abruptly.
    I would not suggest this book to anyone, unless you want a very depressing read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2013

    New years peeplez !!

    Gosh finally ! Imma light my fireworks and barbeque :)
    -Leah

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2013

    The bookTheaf

    Isn there a movie on this?

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2013

    Hi

    Just starting ro read it.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 108 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6