Customer Reviews for

The Book of Adam: Autobiography of the First Human Clone

Average Rating 4
( 159 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(68)

4 Star

(39)

3 Star

(21)

2 Star

(14)

1 Star

(17)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

18 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

Excellent book but really low down, dirty trick.

I downloaded this as a free book. I was amazed. It doesn't read at all like a first book or free book. I couldn't put it down and I'm somewhat picky. HOWEVER, the "free" book doesn't include the ending. AND it leaves you with a cliffhanger. I was pretty ticked off...
I downloaded this as a free book. I was amazed. It doesn't read at all like a first book or free book. I couldn't put it down and I'm somewhat picky. HOWEVER, the "free" book doesn't include the ending. AND it leaves you with a cliffhanger. I was pretty ticked off. Then when I read the reviews, there is a comment about the ending that led me to beleive it wasn't all that great. Since the comments are the same for the full purchased book and the free book, I'm not sure if that means you are drawn into this and then end up paying for a lame ending or if the person who left that comment read the "free" book that just didn't end. If they wanted you to read a sample or half of the book and pay for the other half, that is fine. Many books do that. But this was done in a very underhanded manner and really ticked me off. I would have gladly paid for this book after the first few chapters. Now I don't know if I'm buying a 1 page lame ending, 1 more chapter, or something worthy of the rest of this book. I'm so ticked off that I refuse to buy it, now (I'll probably cool off, eventually). The point is, this book was incredible and worth more than the $2.99 they are asking for the ending. It is really best seller quality. So why end it on a cliffhanger and pay for just the end. They could easily cut it at the end of the previous chapter and I would have rushed to the computer to download. The last sentence they give you is not even in the same style as the rest of the book. It just leaves a bad taste and makes me really suspicious. Right now, I just feel like I could end up downloading one sentence that says "Screw you, Sucker. THE END."

posted by 6295644 on January 18, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

disappointed

thought this was a good read but disappointed to find out that a FREE book was not free at all!!! had to buy the last section to FINISH THE BOOK!!! absurd!!!! shame on you BN!!!!

posted by ravagedreader on January 30, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2011

    Excellent book but really low down, dirty trick.

    I downloaded this as a free book. I was amazed. It doesn't read at all like a first book or free book. I couldn't put it down and I'm somewhat picky. HOWEVER, the "free" book doesn't include the ending. AND it leaves you with a cliffhanger. I was pretty ticked off. Then when I read the reviews, there is a comment about the ending that led me to beleive it wasn't all that great. Since the comments are the same for the full purchased book and the free book, I'm not sure if that means you are drawn into this and then end up paying for a lame ending or if the person who left that comment read the "free" book that just didn't end. If they wanted you to read a sample or half of the book and pay for the other half, that is fine. Many books do that. But this was done in a very underhanded manner and really ticked me off. I would have gladly paid for this book after the first few chapters. Now I don't know if I'm buying a 1 page lame ending, 1 more chapter, or something worthy of the rest of this book. I'm so ticked off that I refuse to buy it, now (I'll probably cool off, eventually). The point is, this book was incredible and worth more than the $2.99 they are asking for the ending. It is really best seller quality. So why end it on a cliffhanger and pay for just the end. They could easily cut it at the end of the previous chapter and I would have rushed to the computer to download. The last sentence they give you is not even in the same style as the rest of the book. It just leaves a bad taste and makes me really suspicious. Right now, I just feel like I could end up downloading one sentence that says "Screw you, Sucker. THE END."

    18 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 16, 2011

    Last pages missing with free download!

    I loved this story and was very pleased to see that it was free. I speant the day reading -- not being able to put my nook down.....only to find the part of the last chapter and epilogue was not included in the free download! NOT COOL!

    15 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2011

    Loved it!

    Great read with fascinating concepts and compelling characters. The deep family drama blends brilliantly with the societal consequences of the emergence of cloning, artificial intelligence, and other social and medical revolutions of the coming century. As the free version indicates, it's only 3 of the 4 parts of the full book (the sudden ending of the free version isn't really the ending!). Probably the only way for new authors to be discovered. But don't worry -- if you don't want to purchase the full version, the complete novel is free on the author's indicated site. So definitely read to the end one way or the other!

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 16, 2011

    Fantastic!

    This was such an amazing book that I read it in about 16 hours. The only reason I didn't give it five stars was that it wasn't the complete book. I honestly wouldn't have minded paying for the ending except for the fact that this claims to be the complete book and it isn't. I had purchased the book that is parts 1-3 and then I saw that was supposedly the complete one so I bought it as well. Luckily I was able to read the rest on the author's website for free as I certainly wasn't going to pay for it a third time. Despite all of that, it was captivating and I can't for the next one. But, please only put the complete book on BN. I will gladly pay for the entire book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2011

    Intriguing

    Teen. Interesting read about the morals and ethics and cloning and man's desire to preserve his life. Told as an autobiography, it falls into trap that everyone does great things and can access everything - losing a bit of its humanity in the story. Odd plot turns (whipping a eunuch??), but overall an engaging book to read

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2012

    Excellent science fiction and social commentary

    I found it hard to put down. This would be an excellent choice for a classroom or bookclub discussion.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2011

    Excellent story

    I loved this book and hope that it will be expanded on in the near future. The questions and thoughts posed in the story for a possible future of our world are interesting and relate to our history. I like the diary like format that the author used to tell the story.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 3, 2011

    Just buy it now

    You are going to read the free chapters and then spend the $3.00 to buy the last part anyway. Save yourself the trouble and just buy it now.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 28, 2011

    Great Book

    It has an interesting plot. There are suprises throughout the novel. I cannot wait to read the next novel by this author!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 9, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Very Different

    The Book of Adam was my first "free" book. I was just seeing how buying a free book worked and then read some of it to test out how I would like my new Nook. I got "sucked" in to this fictional autobiography by the first human clone -- interesting and kind of weird. It was a believeable story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2