Customer Reviews for

The Book of Adam: Autobiography of the First Human Clone

Average Rating 4
( 160 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(68)

4 Star

(39)

3 Star

(22)

2 Star

(14)

1 Star

(17)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

19 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

Excellent book but really low down, dirty trick.

I downloaded this as a free book. I was amazed. It doesn't read at all like a first book or free book. I couldn't put it down and I'm somewhat picky. HOWEVER, the "free" book doesn't include the ending. AND it leaves you with a cliffhanger. I was pretty ticked off...
I downloaded this as a free book. I was amazed. It doesn't read at all like a first book or free book. I couldn't put it down and I'm somewhat picky. HOWEVER, the "free" book doesn't include the ending. AND it leaves you with a cliffhanger. I was pretty ticked off. Then when I read the reviews, there is a comment about the ending that led me to beleive it wasn't all that great. Since the comments are the same for the full purchased book and the free book, I'm not sure if that means you are drawn into this and then end up paying for a lame ending or if the person who left that comment read the "free" book that just didn't end. If they wanted you to read a sample or half of the book and pay for the other half, that is fine. Many books do that. But this was done in a very underhanded manner and really ticked me off. I would have gladly paid for this book after the first few chapters. Now I don't know if I'm buying a 1 page lame ending, 1 more chapter, or something worthy of the rest of this book. I'm so ticked off that I refuse to buy it, now (I'll probably cool off, eventually). The point is, this book was incredible and worth more than the $2.99 they are asking for the ending. It is really best seller quality. So why end it on a cliffhanger and pay for just the end. They could easily cut it at the end of the previous chapter and I would have rushed to the computer to download. The last sentence they give you is not even in the same style as the rest of the book. It just leaves a bad taste and makes me really suspicious. Right now, I just feel like I could end up downloading one sentence that says "Screw you, Sucker. THE END."

posted by 6295644 on January 18, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

disappointed

thought this was a good read but disappointed to find out that a FREE book was not free at all!!! had to buy the last section to FINISH THE BOOK!!! absurd!!!! shame on you BN!!!!

posted by ravagedreader on January 30, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 68 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted June 24, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Amazing book by a new author!

    This book was fabulous! I hardly could put it down! It's packed full of action, adventure, romance, and a little bit of comedy and mystery. I would recommend this book to anyone over the age of about 15 due to the controversial nature of the book's topics. The Book of Adam has become one of my favorite books, and I look forward to reading more from Robert Hopper. :D

    12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 12, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Hard to put down!

    This book was very good, but heartbreaking. It reminded me a lot of some of Stephen King's best work. The characters are well developed and you find yourself caring what happens to them. It also does a good job of building and sustaining suspense. It is hard to put down!

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2011

    Definately a must read

    This book was too hard to put down. It was compelling and very touching showing the difficulties of being different in a world that might not be so excepting. Loved it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2012

    Absolutely mesmerizing!!

    Truly a credible account of the future of the human race and technology.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    Great BUT

    Good sci-fi read but be warned that the last few chapters must be read at the authors site if you wanr rhem for free.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 14, 2011

    Loved it

    I felt this book was well written, interesting, and heart felt. Word ot the wise, but the entire book ($2.99) as the free version is not the entire story. It is well worth it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2011

    Awesome book

    I downloaded this because it was free, and it's way too easy to just keep downloading books on the Nook. Turns out I'm glad I did, because this is probably one of my favorite books of all time. Really interesting plots and theories, gives you a lot to think about!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 7, 2011

    The most captivating eBook I've ever read.

    I could NOT put this book down. I wish there were more to read. I drew so much inspiration from this book. The reality of the book was incredible and it really made you think. I will DEFINITELY be recommending it to anyone and everyone who will listen!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 28, 2010

    I can't believe this was FREE!

    I would have absolutely paid for this book had it not been free. It was excellent with a very surprising ending. And I'm not easily surprised anymore it seems because I'm such a heavy reader. I absolutely recommend it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 3, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A must Read

    I could hardly put this book down. It was a great example of technology and morality clashing. It had romantic parts as well as deep family dark sides. Many parts had humour, intensity, tear jerking, and the reality of our human nature.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2013

    Best book ever

    I read this book faster than i have ever read a book before. This is probably the best book i have ever read. I would strongly recomend to anybody to read this book. The charcters in the story you quickly fall in love with, you care about there wellbeing and what happens to them. You feel so sorry for Adam 1 and than Adam 2. But mostly you want them to be happy aganst impossable odds. I found myself crying several times during this book (and i never cry over anything) i couldnt even put my Nook down, it died 5 times on me (i guess i am a slower reader than most).


    READ THIS BOOK!!!!!! (But buy it, this free one is missing the ending)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2013

    Loved it!

    I found this book to be an unexpectedly wonderful, heartful story and loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 28, 2012

    Interesting

    good book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2011

    Good book

    Although lengthy, this book dicusses human cloning in an interesting way. I recommend it as a good scifi read that brings up topics more on the social side of science fiction rather than the technological side.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 25, 2011

    Superb!

    I can't believe this was a free download. The writing style is so believable that I sometimes forgot that I was reading a fictional "autobiography". The issues raised are thought provoking, and the characters are lovely. The downside was the ending... both of them! This free download is Parts 1-3 of a 4 part book, but you can read Part 4 on the author's website or download the entire book for $2.99. Part of me wishes I hadn't read Part 4, where the tale suddenly took a turn to the hardly believable. Regardless, this is a book I'll recommend to everyone I know!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 20, 2011

    Fantastic!!!

    This book is by far one of the best i have read in a while, and i read all the time. It pulls you in and wont let go. I cant wait for book 2, The Book of Evelyn. I HIGHLY recommend this book! And to make it even better, its FREE!!! Loved this book!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2010

    Deep and Entertaining

    This book is very thought provoking AND entertaining. A must read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 68 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4