Customer Reviews for

Book of Air and Shadows

Average Rating 3.5
( 81 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(18)

4 Star

(19)

3 Star

(23)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(13)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Good Read

This was a summer book read for me and it fulfilled all of my expectations. It provides a thrilling plot stretched over three narrators. Good characters, I learned something, and was happy to be along for the ride. I've since bought and finished another by this autho...
This was a summer book read for me and it fulfilled all of my expectations. It provides a thrilling plot stretched over three narrators. Good characters, I learned something, and was happy to be along for the ride. I've since bought and finished another by this author about art and time travel and found it just as satisfying.

posted by CRCDS_Student on August 3, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Could have been a great read

Great premise but extremely shallow protagonist and ultimately a MOST BORING read. Gave up about halfway through. Don't bother.

posted by 7926763 on June 1, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 81 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted June 1, 2011

    Could have been a great read

    Great premise but extremely shallow protagonist and ultimately a MOST BORING read. Gave up about halfway through. Don't bother.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 28, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Don't even bother!

    The characters were unlikable. The writing style was a jumble and confusing. There was nothing whatsoever redeeming about this book. I read over half of the 466 pages since I paid for the book, and I was irritated, not entertained. I finally decided to throw the book away, but then I thought I'd read the last couple of dozen pages, and I'm glad I did not bother slogging through the whole book. The author had a great plot idea, but it was executed very poorly. I will certainly never read anything else by this author.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 27, 2009

    When will it start?

    Ok - so I haven't finished this book - I am plowing through it and it is rough tilling. I have a rule - once you start a book, finish it but I keep waiting for the book to get started. It seems weighed down in a bit of over explaination I am typically a "start and read to the finish" type person - have picked up and finished 4 other books at this point. I don't go back to this book out of interest - just trying to get my money out of it and the hopes it will start to "run along."

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2009

    Good Read

    This was a summer book read for me and it fulfilled all of my expectations. It provides a thrilling plot stretched over three narrators. Good characters, I learned something, and was happy to be along for the ride. I've since bought and finished another by this author about art and time travel and found it just as satisfying.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2013

    Least Fav Gruber Book

    Michael Gruber is one of my favorite authors, unfortunatly this is his only book ~I've read them all,Karp novels included~ I didn't enjoy. I've loved every one of the rest of his books, can't put my finger on why I didn't enjoy this one. I found the long letters teadious & maybe the topic wasn't of much interest to me. Michael Gruber is still an author of outstanding talent & depth.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2013

    Great read...RADAR...

    When I finished this novel...I went back to the book store and bought all of Michael Grubers novels...RADAR...07-13-2013...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2012

    seems decent

    I read a different book by this author (The Forgery of Venus) and it was unexpected but quite fun to read. This one is a bit confusing so far (a lot of different names to keep track of), but I think it should also be fun & interesting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2012

    Boring

    Never made it through chapter one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2013

    Never could get through it

    I'm not usually one to give up on a book, but I had to let thus one go. There were long excerpts from letters, which I'm sure were ultimately importsnt to the plot, that really did not hold my attention. The redt of the plot was a bit slow for my persinal taste as well. The characters wwre interedtung and well developed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2010

    Great premise gone awry with loathsome protagonist Jake

    I had great hopes for this book. The premise was interesting. Who would not relish another gift from the Bard! The author is very intelligent and speaks with clarity on many subjects and his wit is superb. However, the character development, especially that of Jake was based on his sexual prowess and everything else in his character was shadowed by his sexual escapades that always took precedence. I felt he was so shallow and one dimensional when given all the experiences, I would have expected more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2010

    Dan Brown for Intellectuals

    The story resembles the Dan Brown books but this one is much more literary. I'm wanting to read his other books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 10, 2010

    Bellcurve of a Book.

    I had high hopes for this novel. The writing style was unique and little hard to get used to, taking me about 100 pages to really get into the story. Once in though, I was captivated. However, I was ultimatly disappointed.

    The author did a wonderful job developing the flawed characters. The plot was webbed together fantastically. Nearing the end however I felt as if the author got tired of his own story and tried to wrap it up too quickly. Too much resolution to fast. I would have rather had a longer book, than the anticlimatic ending I was given.

    That to me was the biggest "surprise", how such a talented author could rush through the end of such a wonderfully written story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Excellent-non formula writing. Gruber steps out of the box to write one of the best books I have read in years. You want to continue reading to see if he can match or top his imagery while telling his story. Good all the way to the last page.

    Excellent-non formula writing. Gruber steps out of the box to write one of the best books I have read in years. You want to continue reading to see if he can match or top his imagery while telling his story. Good all the way to the last page.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    For those who enjoy a book where the ending is not obvious.

    Michael Gruber's books are always challenging and rewarding. He weaves complex plots with twists and turns that the make it impossible for the reader to anticipate where it is going next. As in his other works, the narrative develops in several different time periods; in this case the present, the times of William Shakespeare and those of a writer of a missive that contains the plot's mystery. A knowledge of literature will make the reading more interesting and deeper.
    The plot requires your undivided attention if you are to follow the intricacies of the action. It is, nevertheless, a fascinating book difficult to put down.

    I found the Forgery of Venus more interesting, but this one will not disappoint.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2009

    Maybe but. . .

    I have started this book several times but cannot get past the first 100 pages. I realize I might be missing something really good if only I pressed on; however, I am quitting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Fair Book

    The story about the research on the book was good, it was the meandering plot about the character's love life that had nothing to do with the book that decreased its value for me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 8, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Worth the Read eventually

    It took me quite some time to get into this book but by the time I got finished it was one of the best books I've read this year. The time period is not one I like to read about but I like medicine, science and mystery and I am a woman so this was just the book for me. I didn't know there were any women doctors during the 1100's much less one like this character who was really a coroner. Overall I liked it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 1, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Best of a bunch

    The plot of chasing after an original lost Shakespheare manuscript is not new, but this book is about the best of the bunch. It drags however as the author rambles on and on about not much.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Excellent, mentally stimulating book

    I really enjoyed the writing style of this book - very different. Also, the three story lines - wonderful. Very mentally stimulating as well as great subject matter. Good character development. Plot kept you wanting to read more.

    I will be reading some of his older books now as well.

    Thumper3

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Minds Think Alike

    I found out about this book because a friend thought I was talking about this one when I was actually referring to Jennifer Lee Carrell's "Interred With His Bones" (Oct. 2007). Both books are about the possible discovery of a lost Shakespeare play, and both deal with conspiracies trying to cover it up. Carrell's book is much more like "The DaVinci Code", and is fraught with the same 'potboiler' narrative. Gruber's style jumps you back and forth between a first person narrative and a third person narrative, frequently interrupted by letters written in the 17th Century. They're both fun to read, however, especially if you have any kind of background in Shakespeare.
    Gruber's book actually is a good companion to some of the many non-fiction speculations about the Bard of Avon so prevalent today.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 81 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5