Customer Reviews for

The Book of Awakening: Having the Life You Want by Being Present to the Life You Have

Average Rating 4
( 138 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(62)

4 Star

(34)

3 Star

(20)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(11)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

16 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

Courageous, Honest, and Motivating

This short series of motivational vignettes address the author's (a poet) experience of life. His love, loss, friendships, fight against cancer, moments of joy...it's all there in a lyrical thrust of wisdom and perspective on what's to be valued in this life. Like, Emot...
This short series of motivational vignettes address the author's (a poet) experience of life. His love, loss, friendships, fight against cancer, moments of joy...it's all there in a lyrical thrust of wisdom and perspective on what's to be valued in this life. Like, Emotional Intelligence 2.0, it's the kind of book you want to keep by your bedside and check in with nightly. I thumb through it as I drift off to sleep and reading passages on those mornings where it's hard to find the motivation to leap out of bed and seize the day. Leaning on their wisdom makes life that much sweeter.

It may sound too simple at first from afar, but once you experience the book you'll see how much it helps you to appreciate each day that you've been given on this earth.

posted by Claire_Moores on January 10, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

9 out of 37 people found this review helpful.

Pass Go (this book) and Go Directly to God !

I was given this book as a gift by a friend. While I was touched by the intent of the gift, I could not believe the "hooey" in this book. I had a hard time getting past the introduction where the author describes the "orange light" of clarity he saw through his orange...
I was given this book as a gift by a friend. While I was touched by the intent of the gift, I could not believe the "hooey" in this book. I had a hard time getting past the introduction where the author describes the "orange light" of clarity he saw through his orange juice ! No where in this book did I see any reference to God (or ANY higher power). He seems to think that surviving cancer has given him some great wisdom or insight into the "ways of the world". I am the first to admit that surviving cancer may give one a heightened sense of how they spend their time left on this earth; but many, many people survive cancer and don't go around perpetuating the religion of the "orange light". Pass on this book, for sure.

posted by 3848866 on January 15, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 62 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted January 10, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Courageous, Honest, and Motivating

    This short series of motivational vignettes address the author's (a poet) experience of life. His love, loss, friendships, fight against cancer, moments of joy...it's all there in a lyrical thrust of wisdom and perspective on what's to be valued in this life. Like, Emotional Intelligence 2.0, it's the kind of book you want to keep by your bedside and check in with nightly. I thumb through it as I drift off to sleep and reading passages on those mornings where it's hard to find the motivation to leap out of bed and seize the day. Leaning on their wisdom makes life that much sweeter.

    It may sound too simple at first from afar, but once you experience the book you'll see how much it helps you to appreciate each day that you've been given on this earth.

    16 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Highly Recommended? Definitely!

    This is often the first thing I pick up to read to start my day in the morning and the last thing that I read before bed. It is very uplifting and would definitely make a great gift this holiday season. I'd also recommend that you buy "When God Stopped Keeping Score," an intimate look at the power of God and forgiveness. Given the chance, this book too will change your life.

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2005

    An Everyday Must

    I found this book 2 1/2 years ago and it is my everyday companion to gently remind me of what is really important in this world.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    The Book of Awakening.

    I loved this book! Very inspirational. It's very Zen-like. Wonderful.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2001

    Superb!

    This book is a pure joy to peruse. Read one section a day, browse, or from cover to cover, it doesn't matter. This book deserves to be on a list of life's simple pleasures. Presented in daybook format, each section is headed by a quote or passage which relates to that day's reading. I assume the unidentified ones are Mark Nepo's. I am going to attempt to find all his other works. His insights are truly deep, not preachy or pedantic. Each day includes meditations and exercises, which I don't do, but probably should. The writings themselves are enough to enrich my day.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 21, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    This book is one of Oprah's favorite things.

    This is one of Oprah's favorite things. This lovely book of great inspiration is a day-to-day guide from a man who has traveled through battles such as cancer, to give examples that inspire us to carry on and to see the light. Well-chosen quotations help us find that deeper meaning to life and to see ourselves in all our glory. This book should be shared with the people you care about.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    Wonderful, inspiring book!

    I loved this book! It is perfect for a quick morning meditation, and great way to start my day. Each day has a simple exercise for you to do and then a meditation. The readings are geared to grow your spirituality day by day. I would recomend this book to anyone who is beginning to meditate and would like a way to start their day our inspired!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 26, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Wonderful!

    This book is perfect-very spiritual and thoughtful, without being Jesus-y. Each day has either given me something new to think about, or has shown me a new way to perceive something I thought I already knew. The meditation prompts at the end of each essay are pleasant and peaceful.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2014

    Mark Nepo

    Brilliant

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2014

    Start your 2014 journey with this book!

    My husband and I read a daily passage together. Some is quite moving as it relates to our relationship with ourselves, each other and our planet. Mark Nepo's insight and teachings are soul searching and often humorous but always beautiful. I would like to call it a spiritual companion but it really is an offering to the reader.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2013

    Great read

    Great devotional book. This book is so easy to follow, and speaks to the common every day person. I look forward to reading each morning to see what it will say today. I was not one who ever did this. Check it out. You won't be disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2013

    Best book ever!

    I love this book! I have been reading it everyday for about 2 years and I am awed and never tired by how much wisdom is packed into each entry. I have bought many copies to give to the special people in my life.
    Mark Nepo has an amazing way of looking into our hearts and describing experiences that we can all relate to, helping us feel part of something bigger and wonderful!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 24, 2013

    Best soul searching & discoveries

    awesome, inspiring, uplifting
    Have purcashed 2 x-tra 4 family

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2013

    Though the subtitle may seem a bit cheesy, don't let it fool you

    Though the subtitle may seem a bit cheesy, don't let it fool you. This is one of the most inspirational books I have ever read. It's daily simple readings always lift me up when I'm feeling down. It definitely helps putting things in perspective in an "out of the box" sort of way. One of my favorites. :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2013

    The Best Daily Reader!!

    I was given this book as a gift and loved it so much I ordered it for my Nook so I could have it with me when I travel. So well written and inspirational.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 15, 2012

    This book is bringing me much comfort and spirituality into my l

    This book is bringing me much comfort and spirituality into my life. I recently awoken after being dead inside for over 15 years. I took a risk, fell in love, and promptly had my heart crushed. I now see that love is everywhere. I even sent the Heartbreaker a copy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 15, 2012

    Beautiful inspiration

    I have loved searching through this book to find inspiration and perspective

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2011

    Great inspiration for teachers!

    Great for yoga teachers!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 5, 2011

    Treasure

    I really enjoy each nugget given by the day. Its a great spiritiual tool but its not religious

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2011

    I Just Want To Say Thank You.

    I don't know what more I can say about Mark Nepo's book than what has already been said. Instead, I'd like to say thank you to those that brought "When God Stopped Keeping Score," causing it to be featured on this page. Because of this, I brought it the minute I saw it. This book has honestly changed everything that I thought I knew the power of God in forgiveness. Don't take my word for it. Read it for yourself and find out why for yourself.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 62 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4