Customer Reviews for

The Book of Basketball: The NBA According to The Sports Guy

Average Rating 4.5
( 171 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(101)

4 Star

(47)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Highly Intelligent and LOL Funny Review of the Long History of Pro Basketball

The core of this book is a ranking of the 96 greatest players of all time. This ranking is both highly intelligent and highly idiosyncratic. I strongly disagreed with only a single ranking, which is remarkable. The reviews are peppered with Simmons' tangents on margi...
The core of this book is a ranking of the 96 greatest players of all time. This ranking is both highly intelligent and highly idiosyncratic. I strongly disagreed with only a single ranking, which is remarkable. The reviews are peppered with Simmons' tangents on marginally related, analagous and sometimes totally unrelated topics of interest to young (at heart) sports guys. These tangents are often contained in copious footnotes that you can avoid if you don't want a full belly laugh every couple of pages. A thorough delight for the already well informed, engaged hoops fan.

posted by pfahey68 on December 3, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

Tabloid Fandom at it's Finest

A friend purchased this for me due to my love of NBA basketball, and thought it would be a good read...as it was highly recommended here.

Suffice it to say that I felt this was one of the worst "books" I've ever had the misfortune of reading. Though I used to read hi...
A friend purchased this for me due to my love of NBA basketball, and thought it would be a good read...as it was highly recommended here.

Suffice it to say that I felt this was one of the worst "books" I've ever had the misfortune of reading. Though I used to read his columns (and listen to his podcasts) intermitedly (and admittedly, they were funny), I found all that was wrong with his writing in this massive tome to tabloid sports writing.

I can take his rapid Boston fandom. There are over-testosteroned imbeciles all over the country. I can even take the rest. Ridiculous, disrespectful opinions on a variety of NBA players (most of whom are widely considered great representations of the sport), his shameless bashing of other teams, playres, and organizations not Boston-affiliated, plus over 200 pages of Simmons' childhood obsession with the Boston Celtics (according to him, the most important organization in the history of sports).

Then there are his glorious lists. List upon list comprised of his personal bias, masquerading as an excercise in impartiality. Even more pathetic is that this excuse for "professional" sports writing looks and reads like the drunk, under-average IQ "fan" at your local sports bar took notes on his incessant spouting of nonsense, and spends a majority of its convulted pages seemingly being a diary for the typical ESPN board warrior idiot.

There is one caveat. If you bleed Celtic green, spend your free time poking needles in Laker player voodoo dolls, engage in conversations consisting of "the NBA is nothing without the Celtics" and "unless you are Michael Jordan or were a Celtic, you are trash," and believe that the city of Boston is the Almighty's greatest gift to humankind, this is definitely the book for you. If you enjoy the sport of basketball, irregardless of which team you support, and are looking for a decent, relatively impartial read on anything relating to the subject matter, this "book" is better off in the recycling bin.

posted by 2439805 on December 15, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 101 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted December 3, 2009

    Highly Intelligent and LOL Funny Review of the Long History of Pro Basketball

    The core of this book is a ranking of the 96 greatest players of all time. This ranking is both highly intelligent and highly idiosyncratic. I strongly disagreed with only a single ranking, which is remarkable. The reviews are peppered with Simmons' tangents on marginally related, analagous and sometimes totally unrelated topics of interest to young (at heart) sports guys. These tangents are often contained in copious footnotes that you can avoid if you don't want a full belly laugh every couple of pages. A thorough delight for the already well informed, engaged hoops fan.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 14, 2012

    One of the greatest books I've ever read. The amount of detail i

    One of the greatest books I've ever read. The amount of detail is overwhelming and actually unbelievable. I hope someday someone writes the same book for other sports, especially college football. This was truly a wondrous undertaking by the Sports Guy. It was funny and incredible. 5 Stars!!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2011

    Best book

    My kid and me both love this book we fight to see who get to read the book first.
    Best book about sport

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2015

    For the hardcore NBA fan!

    Started watching basketball in the 80s as a child and my love has evolved ever since. Grew up as a big fan of Magic, Bird, and the entire Bad Boys! And like everyone else, became a huge Jordan fan. Reading this book gives me an entirely new perspective on my childhood favorites, which was entirely based on narratives of my father, my child-like awe towards giants with freakish athleticism, and whatever color commentator was on during games (talking about you Bill Walton). Using a combination of the narrative, statistical analysis, and pop culture metaphors, Simmons gives us something fun and refreshing. Warning: diehard, sensitive Laker-Kobe Belly Bryant fans may find this book difficult to read since it is written by a diehard Celtic fan. With a forward by the ever insightful Malcom Gladwell and nearly 1000 pages of basketball goodness, league pass viewers, stat geeks, and hardcore bball fans young and wise will not be disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2014

    Jayhawks suck

    They do. NBA is more fun cause they te better shots other than a ton of jayhawks who takes threes and airball them. You think NBA sucks did you like A.Wiggins cause he's from Kansas and in the NBA. I'll admit march madness is better than the regular season in NBA but now way the playoffs are fun because they play real HARD. P.S GO DUKE

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2013

    NBA( NATIONL BASKETBALL ASSOTIATION)

    NBA ALL DAY

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    Great book on pro basketball history

    Simmons does a great job to illustrates his points about players over the decades. The analogies may ramble on at times but he is making a point. As a die hard Bulls fan, his love for Boston did not turn me off at all. I would love to see him revisit this subject in 10 years.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2012

    Sexpdidusjspussyjdzjxkdpenis

    Whjsjsfleeb no habla espanol

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2012

    Coret

    What up

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 11, 2011

    A must for any NBA fan

    I just finished reading the TBOB this week, and can't recommend it highly enough. Bill Simmons's pure obsession with and dedication to the NBA comes through loud and clear in this book, which basically reads as an obsessive fan getting almost everything he ever wanted to get off his chest about the sport down on paper. It's a true labor of love, one that will help you recall and appreciate memories you may have of the NBA through its history, place different eras and players in historical context, and laugh over and over again at Simmons's ridiculous pop-culture references and occasional mockery of the NBA's ridiculous moments and characters.

    Highly recommended!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2010

    pg. 106 mistake

    on page 106 text is inserted that is not supposed to be there which comes from a few pages back. great book though

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 11, 2010

    If you ever need proof that Bill was better than Wilt ...

    ... you'll find that here as well as why the Basketball Hall of Fame should be blown up. If that's not enough, you get the lowdown on the 96 best players of all time (but really, Patrick Ewing in the top 50 -- pleeese! Lots of history, lots of funny lines and (what's important) a good overview of the history of the NBA.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    the only book about the NBA

    Simmons does an excellent job.
    The BEST book about the NBA

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 21, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Perfect for any NBA fans.

    The definitive book for NBA fans young and old! Russell or Wilt? West or Oscar? Bird or Magic? Best team of all time? The best player ever?

    These are just a few of the questions asked and answered in this 700+ page testimonial to professional basketball. This means from 1946 till now, the modern NBA. Each opinion while not meant to be definitive provides an exquisitely researched (and footnoted) guide to some of the biggest questions and debates of NBA fans through the years. And even more importantly than just statistical data is some esoterica. Who made their teammates better? Who owns the better basketball IQ? Who is the most effective leader?

    The book is divided into easy to handle chapters that make reading easy. It lends itself to being read voraciously or just skimmed (although I'd recommend the former). I didn't necessarily agree with all the author's opinions, but he gave a very reasoned and informed argument for each decision. It makes you really examine your responses similarly.

    Bill Simmons, the author, grew up as a fan of the Boston Celtics, but is careful not to let that color the book. He works now as the ESPN sports guy. He speaks clearly and passionately about the NBA. You can tell it was a labor of love.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2010

    Insightful, entertaining and a must read for basketball fans

    The Sports Guy has written a great book for anyone who has an interest in the NBA, 80's culture and a good laugh. The footnotes literally made me laugh out loud a few times. But ultimately, it is a very well researched and insightful look at the history of the NBA. It will be sure to spark arguments and debate and is a must read for anyone with an interest in the NBA.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 4, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Wonderful book

    Bill Simmons writes with great passion. His book is very informative and entertaining. There is great information about the players. The player section is the best part of the book. Even though, he's a little biased towards the Celtics, it's a great read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Book

    This is a great book for the basketball fan, casual or intense. Simmons offers not only his opinionated (cut the book open and it will bleed green) takes on the NBA, but offers empirical evidence and strong arguments. Comparisons, such as between Russell and Chamberlain, are made not simply based on statistics or championship rings. Interviews with others, articles from the time period, and head to head statistics are used to show the relationship between the two. The best part of the book comes during the latter part, when Simmons ranks the 90+ best players of all time. Great book for the basketball lover, young or old.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 101 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6