Customer Reviews for

The Book of Bright Ideas

Average Rating 4.5
( 49 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(27)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 49 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted July 7, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A Fabulous Novel Filled with Winsome Characters

    I'd had this book for quite some time before actually reading. The cover drew me in with the sassy "Winnalee" character portrayed with her bright hair and eyes, pink cherubic lips and over the top demeanor and garb.

    I read the book in a day and a half - I didn't want the story to end. Winnalee's sassiness was a joy to read and Button & her mother's "coming to self" filled my heart. Freeda's name fits her well, though ironically. Her "freedom" of self - is freeing to those around her but for her - is her prison. Verdella's loving heart has helped her keep herself in a prison of sorts as well - it is also her own loving heart that helps her break free of those self imposed bars.

    I will read this book again and again and have already told someone else to read. A fabulous novel!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2010

    Heart warming read for women without weird "Girl Power" statements

    I loved this book and found it disappointing that it isn't available in hardcover as I would love to add it to my library. The story is light-hearted but grasps your attention. If I didn't have responsibilities, I could have read it in a day or two. Lovely, spunky characters, relatable and fun. I would reccommend this book to nearly anyone who loves stories with children and women without any deep weirdness or sickness in it :)

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 28, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Intriquing and bittersweet!

    Freeda Malone and her sister Winnalee come to the small town of Dauber during a hot Wisconsin summer and magically change the lives of some of its residents. The characters and the relationships are complicated and intriguing. It's warm, funny, wise and bittersweet.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    This Book Teaches One To Appreciate Others Unlike Ourselves

    We don't all have to have the same background. We don't all have to have the same style. Understanding how to have fun and loving each other for who we are is what's important. Hats off to all of those who love unconditionally.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2008

    I want more Sandra Kring books!!!

    I, too, was saddened when the book was over, so I purchased her other book 'Carry Me Home' and fell in love with THOSE characters as well! I find myself checking once a month or so to see if thre are any new Kring books and HOPE she writes more very soon. Maybe it's because I was born and raised in Minnesota and it brought back memories from my childhood, but I absolutely ADORED both of her books, but this was my favorite. I had to 'police' myself because many nights I was up until past 3 a.m. reading when I should have been sleeping!!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2015

    Love this book

    I love this book. In fact I just bought my second copy, to make sure I always have a copy in case my loaner book doesn't make it's way back to me. I am in a book club. This is the only book we've read that everyone came in all excited to talk over. Most everyone walked in the door, book up in the air, saying, "I loved this one." My favorite question after it was all discussed, was, "Which character do you feel you were most like as a child? Winalee or Button?". I think this is one that should be made into a movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2013

    This book is exceptional in so many ways. The characters are so

    This book is exceptional in so many ways. The characters are so lovable that it seems by the end of the book you have gained friendships with them. The story itself is a beautiful story about acceptance- of yourself and others. This book will make you laugh out loud, bawl your eyes out, and experience every emotion in between.
    I've recommended this book to countless people, and didn't actually discover it until it was given to me as a gift.
    Word of caution: A reviewer said this was good for readers 12+ and I would strongly disagree. There is very strong language used throughout the entire book and some of the themes may be difficult (a "loose" motherly-figure sleeping around, for example).
    Overall I thoroughly enjoyed this story and rushed out to buy the sequel as soon as I had caught word of it's release!

    Enjoy the read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    Do yourself a favor....read it!

    This was a wonderful book with delightful characters. From beginning to end I enjoyed everything about it. It not only had a good story line, interesting characters, but it is a book that makes you think outside the box. It came highly recommended to me and it grabbed me from the first pages!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 18, 2013

    Great read

    Iloved this book.Funny yet pulled on the heart strings. I ordered the sequel before I even finished. Loved The Life of Bright Ideas also.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2012

    <3

    Fantastic! I loved every bit of this book. Just what I was looking for this weekend, a fun, easy read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2012

    I absolutely loved this book, a must read

    I have read this book a couple of times and I recomend it to everyone I know.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2012

    I Loved It!!!

    The kind of book that keeps you involved... you don't want to stop reading until it is over...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 18, 2011

    Tis This book is awsome This book is awesome read it

    AWESOME

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2011

    Great read!

    A truly excellent novel for ages 12 and above. Winnalee and Evelyn are the protagonists of the novel, with the latter of the two being the calm and logical of the pair, while Winnalee is the complete opposite. The book chronicles their various adventures, all leading down to a surprising discovery about Winnalee's deceased mother- one nobody in their small town, from Evelyn's mother to the owner of the Five and Dime, would ever suspect.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 16, 2010

    yey

    Love Love Love it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2009

    Great Story

    This story was recommended by a co-worker. "Fast read" she said. It wasn't my usual type of story but I figured I'd give it a try... I could not put this book down. I can't remember the last time a book made me laugh out loud. Although it's been out awhile, I recommend this to all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2008

    A reviewer

    I hadn't read a book for my own personal enjoyment in quite a while, but I picked this book up and read it in a week. It was a great book and I suggest it to anyone who loves reading stories about children.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2007

    A reviewer

    This was the most heartwarming book I've read in quite a while. I remembered what is felt like to be a child, living through a carefree summer with a new best friend, surrounded by loving family! The friendships that form between the all of the women in the story is life-changing and inspiring.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2007

    Great Read!

    This book had me laughing as well as crying! I felt like I knew Button and her whole family! I could picture everything like they were all around me. This book is excellent and you will be sad when it is over because you feel like you are part of the story!! I read this book in two days, couldn't get enough! You will not be disapointed.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2006

    I didn't want this book to end

    I loved this book. I am somewhat sad that I have finished it, and don't get to spend some time during the day with Button and Winnalee!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 49 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3