BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Book of Days: A Novel

Average Rating 4
( 74 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(36)

4 Star

(21)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Book of Days - James L. Rubart

James L. Rubart ran to the top of my favorite authors list this week. After reading both "Rooms" and "Book of Days," I find myself astounded by his story-telling. His descriptions inspire me. I enjoy phrases like "something about you crumbled his Oreos" on nearly every ...
James L. Rubart ran to the top of my favorite authors list this week. After reading both "Rooms" and "Book of Days," I find myself astounded by his story-telling. His descriptions inspire me. I enjoy phrases like "something about you crumbled his Oreos" on nearly every page. His wordsmithing is refreshing, like ice cold sweet tea on a hot summer's day.

Both novels are deep, searching, and thought-provoking. They challenge a believer to reflect on their faith, to look for a deeper relationship with God. And for the unbeliever or the doubter, Mr. Rubart writes in such a way that one can relate to his characters' stories without preaching a sermon to them.

In "Book of Days," we meet Cameron Vaux. Cameron already lost his wife and his father, and now he thinks he's losing his mind. Afraid of what that may mean, he decides it's time to go on a journey to look for some answers. His wife and father asked him to search out an ancient book upon their deathbeds. Either they were both crazy, or the book is real. Will Cameron be able to find it before he forgets them altogether?

James Rubart weaves an intriguing tale of Cameron's search for the Book of Days. Filled with obstacles and characters who don't want to reveal secrets hidden for decades, Cameron faces many challenges during his quest. Several secrets remain untold until Cameron nears the end of his journey. Filled with gripping suspense peppered with subtle hints, one will not find closure until the final chapters.

This is one of the first books I've read where I've been tempted to skip ahead a bit in search of answers to the questions each chapter brings.

I also enjoyed the movie and music references throughout the story. Being a lover of both, they assisted in my ability to relate to the characters.

A perfectly engaging read, I highly recommend "Book of Days." I enjoyed every second of reading it. I'd also encourage you to pick up a copy of "Rooms." Mr. Rubart will not disappoint.

I purchased my copy of "Book of Days," and I wasn't paid to write this review.

posted by AlyciaM on August 1, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Book of WASTED Days

I gave this book one star because of the illustration of the cover. This book is not that good. I found myself wanting to finish the book so I can get on with my life. The most gratifying aspect of this book was counting the editing mistakes. If your looking for a spiri...
I gave this book one star because of the illustration of the cover. This book is not that good. I found myself wanting to finish the book so I can get on with my life. The most gratifying aspect of this book was counting the editing mistakes. If your looking for a spiritually feel good book i.e. The Shack, this is not it. However, I do recommend Tom Pawlik or Bill Myers.

posted by rjp1130 on April 24, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 74 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted August 1, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Book of Days - James L. Rubart

    James L. Rubart ran to the top of my favorite authors list this week. After reading both "Rooms" and "Book of Days," I find myself astounded by his story-telling. His descriptions inspire me. I enjoy phrases like "something about you crumbled his Oreos" on nearly every page. His wordsmithing is refreshing, like ice cold sweet tea on a hot summer's day.

    Both novels are deep, searching, and thought-provoking. They challenge a believer to reflect on their faith, to look for a deeper relationship with God. And for the unbeliever or the doubter, Mr. Rubart writes in such a way that one can relate to his characters' stories without preaching a sermon to them.

    In "Book of Days," we meet Cameron Vaux. Cameron already lost his wife and his father, and now he thinks he's losing his mind. Afraid of what that may mean, he decides it's time to go on a journey to look for some answers. His wife and father asked him to search out an ancient book upon their deathbeds. Either they were both crazy, or the book is real. Will Cameron be able to find it before he forgets them altogether?

    James Rubart weaves an intriguing tale of Cameron's search for the Book of Days. Filled with obstacles and characters who don't want to reveal secrets hidden for decades, Cameron faces many challenges during his quest. Several secrets remain untold until Cameron nears the end of his journey. Filled with gripping suspense peppered with subtle hints, one will not find closure until the final chapters.

    This is one of the first books I've read where I've been tempted to skip ahead a bit in search of answers to the questions each chapter brings.

    I also enjoyed the movie and music references throughout the story. Being a lover of both, they assisted in my ability to relate to the characters.

    A perfectly engaging read, I highly recommend "Book of Days." I enjoyed every second of reading it. I'd also encourage you to pick up a copy of "Rooms." Mr. Rubart will not disappoint.

    I purchased my copy of "Book of Days," and I wasn't paid to write this review.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 29, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Loved It

    Another Great book by my new favorite author! I thoroughly enjoyed every page and could barely put it down to go to sleep.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2012

    Amazing.

    This book is incredible. Well written. Beautiful. I have NOTHING but praise for this book.

    What if there really was a book on Earth that had everybody's lives written down?

    She DEFINATELY supports the idea of predestination.....as do I. If you TRULY believe that God has power over everything, then you believe in predestination. A good book to read( on that topic) is called "Chosen by God". It is a truly amazing book as well!

    I hope that this book will strengthen your relationship with Christ. Show you He is all powerful.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2011

    Decent read

    It was an easy read, interesting story line, and I would recommend it for a rainy day book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2011

    A painfully long read

    Blah this was an ok book that could have been a lot shorter got too drawn out

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2011

    Love it

    This was a great book and makes me want to have a closer relationship with GOD !

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 28, 2011

    A gripping story sure to become a best-seller

    This novel is almost impossible to put down, once a reader begins the story. And the tale makes some stories by even my favorite authors feel ordinary and tame.
    A mysterious Book of Days supposedly reveals a person's past and future, but has been hidden somewhere in Oregon. Before each one died, Cameron Vaux had promised both his wife and his father that he'd search for the book. He delays for several years, until he experiences symptoms of the brain disease that took his father's life.
    When he finally reaches in a small Oregon village, the supposed site of the book, townsfolk (and others) insist the volume is a myth. Cameron desperately needs to find this book for his own future. Can he survive the disease that killed his father? Will his memory stay with him to remember details until he finds the Book of Days? And can he choose wisely about a woman he loves?
    Several characters in the story need the freedom of forgiving others who hurt them. Will they make that decision?
    Rubart skillfully blends mystery, romance, sub-plots and themes for a gripping story. The dialogue never sounds preachy, although several characters talk about how to find God and why this is important. The characters feel real and likeable. Even the villain gains some sympathy.
    By knowing how mystery plots work, the villain of the tale was easy to spot, but his unmasking was still suspenseful. A most enjoyable story with a satisfying ending.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 24, 2011

    Book of WASTED Days

    I gave this book one star because of the illustration of the cover. This book is not that good. I found myself wanting to finish the book so I can get on with my life. The most gratifying aspect of this book was counting the editing mistakes. If your looking for a spiritually feel good book i.e. The Shack, this is not it. However, I do recommend Tom Pawlik or Bill Myers.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2012

    I enjoy this author

    Great read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2012

    My husband and I really enjoyed reading BOOK OF DAYS. It was a b

    My husband and I really enjoyed reading BOOK OF DAYS. It was a bit slower than ROOMS but a very good read. We are now starting THE CHAIR, that must tell you we enjoy the author's way of writing. Debs from the mtns in Colorado

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 4, 2012

    Great Book

    This is one of the best books I've read. It was hard to put down and do anything else. Very much recommend this book. Will looks for other books by this author.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2012

    kelleykid

    This book is amazing a must read. Verry verry good!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2012

    Amazing

    Right up there with William Peterson's "The Shack". Thanks for the loan, Mom!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2012

    Great read

    I really enjoyed this one. It did seem that it was a bit drawn out at times but overall I really enjoyed it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2012

    Easy reading, good story, I recommend it!

    Little romance, little suspense, maybe drawn out in some areas, too brief in others. In all a good book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2012

    My first book by James L. Rubart

    This is my first book by James L. Rubart, I really enjoy this book. I couldn't put it down. Highly recommended.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2012

    Gripping book about Book of Days

    This book was a page turner from the start. It really comforts you in the thought that maybe one day we will be able to see again the moments that we cherished.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2011

    A waste of hours

    Not a big fan of faith based fiction. Too often it's not up to contemporary writing standards. Like this one.

    The concept sounded intriguing. The search for a book actually written by God (not inspired by or even placed into the minds of men. An actual book written by God's own hand) which shows all the days of every person's life - past, present and future. A young man is told about it by his father and wife just before each of them die. And it may save him from losing his mind. Interesting concept even if I have certain theological concerns. Hey, I'm broadminded. The problems are many. The writing feels like that of a talented high school student. The characters are cardboard cutouts and the really interesting issues raised by the story never really get explored. Important story points never get explained. I'll admit I read the book through to the end because I kept hoping that the story would resolve in an interesting fashion. It didn't.

    Rating - ** (Not Impressed)

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2014

    Great!

    It took a bit for this story to catch my interest but when it did I was hooked! :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2013

    Great follow up to Room

    This book really hit home...showed how someone can walk around holding onto a secret and how much that can change them. And how a different world opens up when we forgive ourselves and learn that god always forgives.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 74 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4