Customer Reviews for

Book of Days: A Novel

Average Rating 4
( 74 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(36)

4 Star

(21)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Book of Days - James L. Rubart

James L. Rubart ran to the top of my favorite authors list this week. After reading both "Rooms" and "Book of Days," I find myself astounded by his story-telling. His descriptions inspire me. I enjoy phrases like "something about you crumbled his Oreos" on nearly every ...
James L. Rubart ran to the top of my favorite authors list this week. After reading both "Rooms" and "Book of Days," I find myself astounded by his story-telling. His descriptions inspire me. I enjoy phrases like "something about you crumbled his Oreos" on nearly every page. His wordsmithing is refreshing, like ice cold sweet tea on a hot summer's day.

Both novels are deep, searching, and thought-provoking. They challenge a believer to reflect on their faith, to look for a deeper relationship with God. And for the unbeliever or the doubter, Mr. Rubart writes in such a way that one can relate to his characters' stories without preaching a sermon to them.

In "Book of Days," we meet Cameron Vaux. Cameron already lost his wife and his father, and now he thinks he's losing his mind. Afraid of what that may mean, he decides it's time to go on a journey to look for some answers. His wife and father asked him to search out an ancient book upon their deathbeds. Either they were both crazy, or the book is real. Will Cameron be able to find it before he forgets them altogether?

James Rubart weaves an intriguing tale of Cameron's search for the Book of Days. Filled with obstacles and characters who don't want to reveal secrets hidden for decades, Cameron faces many challenges during his quest. Several secrets remain untold until Cameron nears the end of his journey. Filled with gripping suspense peppered with subtle hints, one will not find closure until the final chapters.

This is one of the first books I've read where I've been tempted to skip ahead a bit in search of answers to the questions each chapter brings.

I also enjoyed the movie and music references throughout the story. Being a lover of both, they assisted in my ability to relate to the characters.

A perfectly engaging read, I highly recommend "Book of Days." I enjoyed every second of reading it. I'd also encourage you to pick up a copy of "Rooms." Mr. Rubart will not disappoint.

I purchased my copy of "Book of Days," and I wasn't paid to write this review.

posted by AlyciaM on August 1, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Book of WASTED Days

I gave this book one star because of the illustration of the cover. This book is not that good. I found myself wanting to finish the book so I can get on with my life. The most gratifying aspect of this book was counting the editing mistakes. If your looking for a spiri...
I gave this book one star because of the illustration of the cover. This book is not that good. I found myself wanting to finish the book so I can get on with my life. The most gratifying aspect of this book was counting the editing mistakes. If your looking for a spiritually feel good book i.e. The Shack, this is not it. However, I do recommend Tom Pawlik or Bill Myers.

posted by rjp1130 on April 24, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 74 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2013

    Take a Ride   Reading ¿Book of ¿Days¿ by ¿James Rubart

    Take a Ride   Reading “Book of “Days” by “James Rubart is like taking a wild roller coaster ride that will leave you on the edge of your seats because of it’s riveting sense of immediacy,imaginative plot and unique character This crypic journey has humorous metaphors and colorful personifications,as well as effective foreshadowing and use of symbolism, so suspend your disbelief and let your imaginations fly.                   The author dispels myths about the new age movement and shows the reader the truth about the reality of Christ. He does it in such a subtle, non intrusive way that surely the non believer will believe and the believers will be encouraged even in their most unfortunate circumstances. The character Tricia sums up the theme when she says :”The path life takes you down isn’t always where we would choose to go,but in the end it is possible to wind up where we wanted to be anyway,which encourages the most abject faith and sets us on a sincere quest for the truth about the meaning of life like the protagonist,Cameron. I highly recommend this enjoyable read and look forward to reading more of Rubart’s novels.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 21, 2013

    Awesome.....James L. Rubart has become one of my favorite author

    Awesome.....James L. Rubart has become one of my favorite authors. I love his ability to pull you into the story line. His books always leave you wanting more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2013

    Wo

    S

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2013

    Anonymous

    A great book. Love the local Oregon view.
    All of his books are thought provoking and also entertaining.
    I can't wait for his next read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2013

    Another GREAT book by James L Rubart! Highly Recommend!

    The first book I read was "ROOMS" and I thought that book was wonderful. Book of Days is just as good if not better. Loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2012

    Forgiven"

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2011

    Great read and interesting concept

    I enjoyed this book and had a hard time putting in down, the only issue I have is when he writes about a trip the main character took to Disneyland he mentioned Cinderellas castle,but Cinderellas castle is in Walt Disney World. Disneyland has Sleeping Beauties castle.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2011

    unexpectedly good

    I was worried it was headed in a not so biblical direction. I ended up really enjoying the story even with the artistic license it took.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2011

    Interesting read.

    This was an interesting quick read. I felt that it ended a little abruptly and I didn't get a full sense of completion. Overall it was an enjoyable read. Certainly not in my "top ten", but worth the time. It was thought provoking.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2011










    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 18, 2011

    Loved this

    Looking forward to reading more of his stories!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Book Of Days

    Cameron Vaux was twenty five when his father died, his dad was only forty-nine. The last conversation Cameron had with his dad was on a day when his dad was pretty lucid, you see Cameron's dad suffered from memory loss, dementia. When he warns Cameron that he too will lose his mind, and when he starts losing his memory that he must find the book of all days Cameron just brushes it off. Fast forward eight years and Cameron's memory is starting to fail. It has been going on for over a year and its getting progressively worse. Could it be possible that his father's prediction is coming true?
    This book was quite interesting, the characters were solid and very well fleshed out. As we get the back story of Cameron it is easy to understand why he would fear losing his memory. Ann has her own reasons for looking for The Book Of Days, and we also see her trying to deal with her long held feelings for Cameron.The author provides several secondary characters that round out the story quite well.

    While this book started out a bit slow for me, once it got going it was filled with enough mystery and suspense and plenty of plot twists that kept me reading to try and figure out what was going to happen. The ending was a twist that I didn't expect.

    This book would easily appeal to anyone who likes a good suspense/mystery with spiritual undertones woven into the story. I am so glad that I kept reading because I enjoyed it and will look for more from this author.
    A complimentary copy of this book was provided by the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 5, 2011

    Compelling story and great writing

    Book of Days by James L. Rubart is a fascinating look at memory, forgiveness, and God. Cameron Vaux watched his father die eight years ago, but even more terrible than his death was watching him lose his memories to a devastating illness. Now, two years after the death of his beloved wife Jessie, Cameron is starting to worry that he may suffer from that same illness. He's forgetting conversations moments after they happen, missing appointments, and reading notes in his own handwriting as if for the first time, but even worse than that, he's losing his memories of Jessie. Just before his father and Jessie died, each told Cameron of a book of days that he must seek out, but he's ignored their instructions until now, as he begins losing himself, he feels that the book just may hold the answer he needs. He heads to Three Peaks, Oregon in his search and asks Jessie's best friend Ann Bannister to help him in his quest. Ann has her own reasons for going to Three Peaks, more than just her long hidden feelings for Cam. She wants to find out more about her mother who died of a heroin overdose when Ann was just eleven. Cameron and Ann meet Taylor Stone, who seems to have all the answers they need; Jason Judah, whose malicious manipulations and desire to own the book turn them off, and others in the small town, all of whom are enigmatic at best and threatening at worst. Their investigation tells them that the Book of Days was written by God with everyone's memories, the past, and the future all written out for anyone to read, and each person has their own reasons for wanting, or not wanting, to find it. Rubart's writing is compelling and fascinating, as he pulls readers in farther and farther with each turn of the page. My one quibble is that in his attempt to throw readers off in the identity of the bad guy, he leaves them confused as to just why the antagonist was willing to go so far; it's motivations are a mystery. Still, the story is thoroughly entertaining, and the revelation about the Book both satisfying and poignant. Rubart is an exciting new Christian fiction who will be changing the face of the genre with each book he writes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 30, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    awesome book from James L. Rubart

    A Novel

    James L. Rubart

    B & H Publishing

    2011

    Fiction/Christian/Suspense




    Reviewed by Cindy Loven




    What if there were a book that showed us all our days, that told us what the future held for us. All my days were written in Your book and planned before a single one of them began. Psalm 139:16 Cameron Vaux is on a quest to find out if there is a physical book, here on this earth that tells us of our days. Having faced the tragedy of loosing his father, first to Alzheimer's and then to death, while his father was still young, then loosing his dear wife Jessie after only five years of marriage, Cameron remembers things they told him.

    Things about the Book of Days, things that would show him what the future held for him. Would he end up loosing his memory like his dad did.

    Traveling to Three Peaks Oregon, to research what Jessie had told him about the Book of Days, he asked Ann Banister to help him. Ann and Cameron's wife Jessie had grown up in the same foster home and were the best of friends. Ann was on a quest to find out about her mom and the one picture she had of her mom, was taken in Three Peaks Oregon.

    Would Cameron and Ann find the answers they both needed for their lives to move forward? They both had been trapped in the past by their hurts and confusion, would they find healing in Three Peaks? Jim Rubart once again brings us a book that will keep you reading to the end. His wonderful writing will weave the story right into you, and you will have to finish this book to know how the story ends! I love Jim's writing, and this book is no exception. Another great book from Jim Rubart and from B & H Fiction!400 pages US $14.99 4 stars




    This book was provided by B & H Fiction for review purposes only, no payment was provided for this review

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 21, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Revelations

    Do you believe in a Book of Days? A book that lists the past, present, and future of everyone on Earth. Cameron Vaux doesn't, but he is starting to experience lapses of memory. His dad had died eight years ago after a devastating bout with dementia. His last conversation with Cameron had centered around the idea of a book that showed the future, which his father had seen. His dad believed it would be Cameron's salvation when he also would start to loose his memories. Cameron was not a religious man as his father had been. He finds it extremely hard to believe in a book from God that held all the answers. When his father's prediction starts to come true, Cameron has to search to find the answers to his father's riddle. Would a Book of Days be a curse or a blessing to those who find it? Is our future written down so that it cannot be changed? Are all our actions and their consequences predetermined before we are even aware of them. Do we have a choice? Can we change what is written? Some intriguing concepts presented in a mildly suspenseful story with interesting characters. Book provided for review by the well read folks of B&H Publishing Group. Comment

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 14, 2011

    Definitely Worth Reading

    This was a very good story that kept you wanting to read and figure it out. Very different story from the author's first book "Rooms". This author is definitely on my "favorites" list.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 16, 2010

    Great Supernatural Suspense

    Book of Days is a page-turner from James Rubart. With some authors it's hard to sustain the success of a first novel. But with this book, the author has exceeded the skill he showed with his debut release.


    Cameron Vaux's losing his mind. Each day it feels like his memories are slipping farther and farther away. In a desperate effort to restore them and avoid the end his father faced, he makes a desperate bid to find the Book of Days, a mysterious volume that both his father and his wife made him promise to find before they died. The search takes him to a small town in Oregon that is filled with secrets and hidden agendas. If his plight weren't so desperate, it would be easy to give up but he can't.


    He is helped on his search by his reluctant friend Ann Bannister, who has her own reasons for being in town. And her presence adds a touch of romance to the book.


    The plot hurtles through twists just like a rock climber who's slipped in their climb. The result is a book that I thoroughly enjoyed and couldn't put down. One aspect that I loved the most is that I did not identify the person behind the suspense thread. In many books lately, I've been able to do that, so it was a welcome relief to have a book that surprised me at the end. This book is perfect for those who like suspense with a twist. This time that twist is what if people thought the book of days really existed...here on earth?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 13, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Alzheimer's Disease, Highly Recommended

    When I started this book, I thought I am not going to like it! But as I read on a few pages it really got my interest. It started out with Cameron Vaux in his father's room at an assisted living complex. His dad was only in his fifties so it was hard to believe that his dad's mind was gone. His Dad had been asking for someone and the hospital assumed it was Cameron as he was the only close relative. When Cameron got there his dad knew him and started to tell him about a book that would tell him his future, his past and when he was going to die, and Cameron's dad told him that unless he found the book, his mind would be gone also.

    Cameron took some time off from his work and went to the small Oregon town where his father had lived when he was a little boy to try and find the book of days his father was talking about. By this time his dad had passed away and Cameron's own mind had started slipping. He keep forgetting a lot about this wife's death and where he put things, why had he written down a number and so on. He had to find that book before he became as his dad was.

    This book was so interesting, things just keep happening while he tried to find the book. What were the people hiding and how could he find this book. He got his late wife's sister to come and help him. They just keep running into obstacles. You really need to buy this book when it comes out in Jan. 2011.

    This advanced copy of this book was sent to me by Julie at B&H Book for review, thanks Julie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 74 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 4