Customer Reviews for

Book of Days

Average Rating 4
( 74 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(36)

4 Star

(21)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Book of Days - James L. Rubart

James L. Rubart ran to the top of my favorite authors list this week. After reading both "Rooms" and "Book of Days," I find myself astounded by his story-telling. His descriptions inspire me. I enjoy phrases like "something about you crumbled his Oreos" on nearly every ...
James L. Rubart ran to the top of my favorite authors list this week. After reading both "Rooms" and "Book of Days," I find myself astounded by his story-telling. His descriptions inspire me. I enjoy phrases like "something about you crumbled his Oreos" on nearly every page. His wordsmithing is refreshing, like ice cold sweet tea on a hot summer's day.

Both novels are deep, searching, and thought-provoking. They challenge a believer to reflect on their faith, to look for a deeper relationship with God. And for the unbeliever or the doubter, Mr. Rubart writes in such a way that one can relate to his characters' stories without preaching a sermon to them.

In "Book of Days," we meet Cameron Vaux. Cameron already lost his wife and his father, and now he thinks he's losing his mind. Afraid of what that may mean, he decides it's time to go on a journey to look for some answers. His wife and father asked him to search out an ancient book upon their deathbeds. Either they were both crazy, or the book is real. Will Cameron be able to find it before he forgets them altogether?

James Rubart weaves an intriguing tale of Cameron's search for the Book of Days. Filled with obstacles and characters who don't want to reveal secrets hidden for decades, Cameron faces many challenges during his quest. Several secrets remain untold until Cameron nears the end of his journey. Filled with gripping suspense peppered with subtle hints, one will not find closure until the final chapters.

This is one of the first books I've read where I've been tempted to skip ahead a bit in search of answers to the questions each chapter brings.

I also enjoyed the movie and music references throughout the story. Being a lover of both, they assisted in my ability to relate to the characters.

A perfectly engaging read, I highly recommend "Book of Days." I enjoyed every second of reading it. I'd also encourage you to pick up a copy of "Rooms." Mr. Rubart will not disappoint.

I purchased my copy of "Book of Days," and I wasn't paid to write this review.

posted by AlyciaM on August 1, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Book of WASTED Days

I gave this book one star because of the illustration of the cover. This book is not that good. I found myself wanting to finish the book so I can get on with my life. The most gratifying aspect of this book was counting the editing mistakes. If your looking for a spiri...
I gave this book one star because of the illustration of the cover. This book is not that good. I found myself wanting to finish the book so I can get on with my life. The most gratifying aspect of this book was counting the editing mistakes. If your looking for a spiritually feel good book i.e. The Shack, this is not it. However, I do recommend Tom Pawlik or Bill Myers.

posted by rjp1130 on April 24, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2012

    I enjoy this author

    Great read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2012

    My husband and I really enjoyed reading BOOK OF DAYS. It was a b

    My husband and I really enjoyed reading BOOK OF DAYS. It was a bit slower than ROOMS but a very good read. We are now starting THE CHAIR, that must tell you we enjoy the author's way of writing. Debs from the mtns in Colorado

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2012

    Great read

    I really enjoyed this one. It did seem that it was a bit drawn out at times but overall I really enjoyed it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2012

    Gripping book about Book of Days

    This book was a page turner from the start. It really comforts you in the thought that maybe one day we will be able to see again the moments that we cherished.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2014

    Great!

    It took a bit for this story to catch my interest but when it did I was hooked! :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2013

    Great follow up to Room

    This book really hit home...showed how someone can walk around holding onto a secret and how much that can change them. And how a different world opens up when we forgive ourselves and learn that god always forgives.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2013

    Take a Ride   Reading ¿Book of ¿Days¿ by ¿James Rubart

    Take a Ride   Reading “Book of “Days” by “James Rubart is like taking a wild roller coaster ride that will leave you on the edge of your seats because of it’s riveting sense of immediacy,imaginative plot and unique character This crypic journey has humorous metaphors and colorful personifications,as well as effective foreshadowing and use of symbolism, so suspend your disbelief and let your imaginations fly.                   The author dispels myths about the new age movement and shows the reader the truth about the reality of Christ. He does it in such a subtle, non intrusive way that surely the non believer will believe and the believers will be encouraged even in their most unfortunate circumstances. The character Tricia sums up the theme when she says :”The path life takes you down isn’t always where we would choose to go,but in the end it is possible to wind up where we wanted to be anyway,which encourages the most abject faith and sets us on a sincere quest for the truth about the meaning of life like the protagonist,Cameron. I highly recommend this enjoyable read and look forward to reading more of Rubart’s novels.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2011

    Great read and interesting concept

    I enjoyed this book and had a hard time putting in down, the only issue I have is when he writes about a trip the main character took to Disneyland he mentioned Cinderellas castle,but Cinderellas castle is in Walt Disney World. Disneyland has Sleeping Beauties castle.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2011

    unexpectedly good

    I was worried it was headed in a not so biblical direction. I ended up really enjoying the story even with the artistic license it took.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Book Of Days

    Cameron Vaux was twenty five when his father died, his dad was only forty-nine. The last conversation Cameron had with his dad was on a day when his dad was pretty lucid, you see Cameron's dad suffered from memory loss, dementia. When he warns Cameron that he too will lose his mind, and when he starts losing his memory that he must find the book of all days Cameron just brushes it off. Fast forward eight years and Cameron's memory is starting to fail. It has been going on for over a year and its getting progressively worse. Could it be possible that his father's prediction is coming true?
    This book was quite interesting, the characters were solid and very well fleshed out. As we get the back story of Cameron it is easy to understand why he would fear losing his memory. Ann has her own reasons for looking for The Book Of Days, and we also see her trying to deal with her long held feelings for Cameron.The author provides several secondary characters that round out the story quite well.

    While this book started out a bit slow for me, once it got going it was filled with enough mystery and suspense and plenty of plot twists that kept me reading to try and figure out what was going to happen. The ending was a twist that I didn't expect.

    This book would easily appeal to anyone who likes a good suspense/mystery with spiritual undertones woven into the story. I am so glad that I kept reading because I enjoyed it and will look for more from this author.
    A complimentary copy of this book was provided by the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 5, 2011

    Compelling story and great writing

    Book of Days by James L. Rubart is a fascinating look at memory, forgiveness, and God. Cameron Vaux watched his father die eight years ago, but even more terrible than his death was watching him lose his memories to a devastating illness. Now, two years after the death of his beloved wife Jessie, Cameron is starting to worry that he may suffer from that same illness. He's forgetting conversations moments after they happen, missing appointments, and reading notes in his own handwriting as if for the first time, but even worse than that, he's losing his memories of Jessie. Just before his father and Jessie died, each told Cameron of a book of days that he must seek out, but he's ignored their instructions until now, as he begins losing himself, he feels that the book just may hold the answer he needs. He heads to Three Peaks, Oregon in his search and asks Jessie's best friend Ann Bannister to help him in his quest. Ann has her own reasons for going to Three Peaks, more than just her long hidden feelings for Cam. She wants to find out more about her mother who died of a heroin overdose when Ann was just eleven. Cameron and Ann meet Taylor Stone, who seems to have all the answers they need; Jason Judah, whose malicious manipulations and desire to own the book turn them off, and others in the small town, all of whom are enigmatic at best and threatening at worst. Their investigation tells them that the Book of Days was written by God with everyone's memories, the past, and the future all written out for anyone to read, and each person has their own reasons for wanting, or not wanting, to find it. Rubart's writing is compelling and fascinating, as he pulls readers in farther and farther with each turn of the page. My one quibble is that in his attempt to throw readers off in the identity of the bad guy, he leaves them confused as to just why the antagonist was willing to go so far; it's motivations are a mystery. Still, the story is thoroughly entertaining, and the revelation about the Book both satisfying and poignant. Rubart is an exciting new Christian fiction who will be changing the face of the genre with each book he writes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 30, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    awesome book from James L. Rubart

    A Novel

    James L. Rubart

    B & H Publishing

    2011

    Fiction/Christian/Suspense




    Reviewed by Cindy Loven




    What if there were a book that showed us all our days, that told us what the future held for us. All my days were written in Your book and planned before a single one of them began. Psalm 139:16 Cameron Vaux is on a quest to find out if there is a physical book, here on this earth that tells us of our days. Having faced the tragedy of loosing his father, first to Alzheimer's and then to death, while his father was still young, then loosing his dear wife Jessie after only five years of marriage, Cameron remembers things they told him.

    Things about the Book of Days, things that would show him what the future held for him. Would he end up loosing his memory like his dad did.

    Traveling to Three Peaks Oregon, to research what Jessie had told him about the Book of Days, he asked Ann Banister to help him. Ann and Cameron's wife Jessie had grown up in the same foster home and were the best of friends. Ann was on a quest to find out about her mom and the one picture she had of her mom, was taken in Three Peaks Oregon.

    Would Cameron and Ann find the answers they both needed for their lives to move forward? They both had been trapped in the past by their hurts and confusion, would they find healing in Three Peaks? Jim Rubart once again brings us a book that will keep you reading to the end. His wonderful writing will weave the story right into you, and you will have to finish this book to know how the story ends! I love Jim's writing, and this book is no exception. Another great book from Jim Rubart and from B & H Fiction!400 pages US $14.99 4 stars




    This book was provided by B & H Fiction for review purposes only, no payment was provided for this review

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2