Customer Reviews for

Book of Dreams

Average Rating 4.5
( 9 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(6)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 10 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted August 20, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    It isn┬┐t often I read a book that balances thrills, faith, and r

    It isn’t often I read a book that balances thrills, faith, and romance
    in an entirely believable package. But that is what Davis Bunn does in
    Book of Dreams. The main character, Elena, does not come across as pious
    or unsympathetic. She is real, she has doubts, and she suffers fears and
    conflicts of faith just as any of us. Davis Bunn has a compelling Voice
    and writing style. It draws the reader into the lives of the characters
    in such a way that you cannot help but continue to turn the pages. You
    root and rave for the end game, heart palpitating and mouth dry as the
    thrills and suspense hammer at your imagination. In addition to his
    compelling style is the true-to-life conflict his characters are facing.
    It is a gentle shake to the shoulders and – almost – a call to arms for
    our own economical plight for this country. Overall rating: 5 out of 5
    stars Would I read it again: Definitely Would I recommend it to
    others: A resounding ‘yes’!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2012

    Amazing!

    In book of dreams author davis bunn asks the important question can the will of God be found.? And if so how? All while providing a great storyline. Don't miss this book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 19, 2011

    Another Intriguing book my Davis Bunn

    My Thoughts on ¿Book of Dreams¿

    While Elena is helping her patient Sandra deal with her dreams, she finds the help she needs to deal with her husband¿s death. An old friend gives her a copy of an old ancient book that no one has deciphered down through the years. But it just so happens that when Elena starts reading and checking out this ancient book, interesting things start to happen in her life. And this book is so detailed, so much stuff here there is no way to explain it all. So to find out about these things, you really need to read the book.

    Well, Davis Bunn has done it again! I will have to say this is one of the most fascinating and intriguing books I have every read. The first pages captured my heart and I was hooked until the very last page. These characters were just real! Well they seemed real to me, that is. After getting to know these characters through this story, I felt like I had a new set of friends!

    What can I say except that this is just an awesome, professionally written book by one of Christian fictions greatest authors. I am always in awe of the detailed and complex stories written by Davis Bunn. I appreciate the way he teaches readers in Book of Dreams how we can trust God and have the confidence that He will direct our paths, even when He calls us to do those things beyond our confidence level. And he helps us understand the question, ¿How can we understand and fulfill the will of God?¿

    This book is mixed with a little of everything, romance, thriller, historical things of the Bible, and an exciting mystery with a little lesson on the international front as well.

    I think this book could be for just about anyone. So grab a copy, read and enjoy it. You just can¿t go wrong reading Davis Bunn!

    This book was provided by Howard Books, a Division of Simon & Schuster for me to read and review. I was not required or expected to write a positive review. The opinions in this review are mine only.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2012

    Beachy

    This was a confusing book at times, and some of the typos should have been caught with the proof reader. The author took too many leaps of "space" instead of "faith"..! But it was ok. Not a best seller list type book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 3, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Defintely Interesting

    Dr. Burroughs is a expert in dreams. Intrepreting them, and general knowledge about why you are dreaming. What she is not an expert on, however is dealing with grief and moving on past her husband's death. Nor can she really give herself the meaning of some of the dreams she has about him. A new client moves her practice into a totally new level. The wife of a high powered dignitary, the new patient's dream is so disturbing, it even has Dr. Burroughs rattled.

    The gift of an ancient family heirloom from her friend and mentor, takes her dream intrepretation into a whole new arena. This book was so different from most books I read, that I really have struggled to put into words my review of the book. First of all I have to say I liked the book, and it gets 4 stars. But it was so different, a bit more political than I normally read, but the author truly had his finger 'spot on' the political and economic scene of America, and the world in fact. A bit of a conspiracy theory story, but not so much that you feel like someone is after you too for reading the story. All in all I have to say a great book, definitely interesting!! 4 stars 328 pages US $14.99




    This book was provided by Howard Books for review purposes only, no payment was received for this review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 22, 2011

    Truly a masterpiece!

    I have read quite a few Davis Bunn books by now and all of them are highly enjoyable. However, I think I can say without a doubt that this is my favorite so far. The book grabbed my attention from page 1 and didn't let go until the very end. In fact, I was greatly disappointed at the end.not by how it ended, but because there was no more to read! It was truly a masterpiece! Dr. Elena Burroughs is the main character, a psychologist and dream interpreter in Oxford, England, with the inability to completely deal with a personal tragedy in her own life. She is soon joined by an interesting new patient who is experiencing frightening dreams on a regular basis. When Elena is given an ancient book that she is required to decipher, things take a very interesting turn. The book, which is fascinating in and of itself, has been in the possession of her very good friend for a number of years and has yet to be understood. But when Elena takes possession, interesting things begin to happen and her life takes a dramatic turn. Very soon after the opening chapters, the main character shifts from Elena, to a small group of people working as one unit (of which she remains the unofficial leader). These other characters include Antonio d'Alba of Rome and financial advisor to the Vatican and Lawrence Harwood, the American Ambassador to England. The character development is rich and you soon feel connected to each character for different reasons. This book is not only about an ancient artifact, but is in reality about letting the Holy Spirit guide you and stepping out into unknown territory with the confidence that God is with you and will guide you. The story sounds like one out of today's headlines, with the added bonus of the ancient thrown in. If you are interested in international intrigue, this book is for you. If you like romance, you will love this book. If you enjoy a good mystery, look no further. If biblical history is your forte, this is the book for you. I would highly recommend this book. It is one I plan to read again and again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 21, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A page turner until the very end! What secrets does an ancient book of dreams hold?

    Synopsis:

    From bestselling and award-winning author Davis Bunn comes a relationship-driven narrative about an internationally acclaimed psychologist, still coping with the death of her husband. But Elena Burroughs' life takes a dramatic turn when a mysterious patient comes to the doctor, asking her to interpret the intense pattern of dreams she's been having. When Elena inherits an ancient manuscript, she is granted a succession of insights about these dreams with dangerous warnings. As Elena rediscovers her dream-interpreting gifts, she also finds a fresh connection to God and love. The Book of Dreams holds both a strong message of biblically inspired prophesy linked to global financial chaos, as well as a rich interweaving of transplanted lives, lost hopes, and second chances.
    For Dr. Elena Burroughs, life is divided into two chapters - before and after the death of her husband. Today marks the point that her span of being a wife is equal to her span of being a widow. Even her success as a psychologist and her world wide acclaim for a book on the interpretation of dreams is dimmed by an unspoken If only.

    Then a new patient arrives, one so private only her first name is given. Impeccably dressed and escorted by two bodyguards, Sandra recounts a frightening series of recurrent nightmares. Elena agrees to consider her case more carefully, convinced that something ominous may be at work here. Elena's interpretation of her dreams confirms that, indeed, the new patient and her family confront a powerful global network of dangerous forces. As the story unfolds, they face a key question of the Christian life: How do you understand and fulfill the will of God?

    As Elena struggles to help Sandra understand the recurrent nightmares that have been occurring for the past 26 days, she meets with her mentor, Miriam who reveals a secret she has kept hidden since she was nine years old. She passes along an ancient olive wood covered book printed on velum which houses interpretations of what God wants Elena to see. She is instructed to focus on the book a page at a time and wait for divine inspiration to help her understand her patients dreams.

    Elena is soon drawn into a series of encounters with various high ranking people who are being troubled with nightmares that are wrecking havoc in their business and personal lives, and only she is the key that God will use to unlock His purpose in their lives.

    I received the novel, Book of Dreams by Davis Bunn compliments of Howard Books, a division of Simon and Schuster for my honest review. This is my third book by Davis and once again, he does not disappoint his readers. Building on a readers curiosity, he starts them on a roller coaster ride complete with twists and turns that will leave them guessing until the very end. Another 5 out of 5 star rating and one that I highly recommend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 14, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I found this hard to put down.

    This is the story of Dr. Elena Burroughs, a clinical psychologist practicing at the University of Oxford in England. She is known worldwide as an expert in the field of dreams because of her bestseller, Book of Dreams, a book her friend and fellow psychologist, Miriam, urged her to write. The publication of the book provides Elena money as well as status. However, it does not afford her happiness.

    Grieving the loss of her husband who died five years earlier, Elena's work and daily routines have become mechanical and she hates herself even more for having to act as if she is okay.

    When a special client, referred by her friend Miriam, appears on the scene everything changes. This client is the wife of the American Ambassador to England and what Elena sees in her dream is something that affects the patient, and possibly many other people around the world.

    Eighty-one year old Miriam gives Elena possession to an ancient book given to her by her great-grandmother. The book contains the Lord's Prayer in Aramaic with one phrase per plate. Miriam had been told to study one plate until it spoke to her before going on to the next. Unfortunately, she never got past the first plate. It is different for Elena.

    This is much more than a book about an ancient document and the interpretation of dreams, however. As usual, the author mixes riveting characters with important news events. In this case, he uses the economic disaster brought on by the subprime mortgages. And, to make things more challenging for our heroes, the opposition is quite willing to resort to murder to achieve their goals.

    I found this book difficult to put down and I loved the ways the characters developed. I also found it interesting the way the author used real places in Oxford, making me want to visit the area again to experience the settings. There was also an exciting scene in Rome which was probably based on real places as well.

    The inclusion of the ancient document and the interpretation of dreams could make some readers wonder if the book takes on a supernatural nature. It didn't for me. The way it is handled makes it all totally believable.

    In reviewing a book there is always that tradeoff between telling enough about the book so that you can decide to read it or not and telling too much and ruining it for you. That's why I'm stopping here.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 7, 2011

    Dreams God and Psychology Meet Banking and the Economy a Novel

    Psychologist Dr. Elena Burroughs receives a request for emergency counseling to a woman who arrives with bodyguards. These men thoroughly search Elena's office before allowing the patient to enter. This woman has had one horrible dream reoccur every night for weeks. As guidance for the case, Elena's mentor gives her an ancient book printed in gold calligraphy. Each page contains a line of the Lord's prayer and those who read the page may hear from God. Elena's mentor had never heard anything, but Elena, on reading the first page, clearly does. Soon she's enmeshed in world-shaking conspiracies that will destroy the world's economy and countless lives. In the light of present world economies, this book sounds almost prophetic. According to internet news reports, some events written as fiction may already be happening in our world. From page one Davis Bunn's writing creates sympathy for his characters' lives. His pace keeps readers turning pages for hours. In the story, a small group learns to pray, trust and follow God into adventures dictated by visions that come through the Books of Dreams. The plot involves romance, mystery, arson, thievery --and murder by a ghost-like assailant. The pace of the tale slows somewhat in the last part of the book. However, the characters growing relationship with God may make readers hungry to also know Him that well. The ending is a neat, unexpected twist that leaves room for a sequel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 10 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1