Customer Reviews for

The Book of Fate

Average Rating 3.5
( 144 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(35)

4 Star

(41)

3 Star

(32)

2 Star

(23)

1 Star

(13)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

His best book yet

I've read all but his first two and found this one the most entertaining. The characters are sympathetica and real and the plot gets more than complicated enough to keep me guessing for a long while. The book is being marketed with references to the Masons. The plot ...
I've read all but his first two and found this one the most entertaining. The characters are sympathetica and real and the plot gets more than complicated enough to keep me guessing for a long while. The book is being marketed with references to the Masons. The plot stands just fine without them so I figure the publisher's marketing department was searching for the next Da Vince Code which this novel, thank goodness, is not. Can't wait for the next one, Brad!

posted by Anonymous on October 4, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Another okay read from Brad Meltzer

This story was another okay read from Brad Meltzer. From the description on the cover I thought I was going to read a story about Masons, codes and the book would be a thrill to read. The Masonic plot never really developed and the ancient codes was a big let down. I su...
This story was another okay read from Brad Meltzer. From the description on the cover I thought I was going to read a story about Masons, codes and the book would be a thrill to read. The Masonic plot never really developed and the ancient codes was a big let down. I suppose this book was marketed to perk up all the readers that enjoyed Dan Brown's "The DaVinci Code" and they would step up and buy this book. The marketing ploy worked on me, because I bought it. In summary, its not a terrible read, but with a little more time spent on developing the story by the author, the book could have been a great read.

posted by conniejackson on January 25, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 144 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2006

    His best book yet

    I've read all but his first two and found this one the most entertaining. The characters are sympathetica and real and the plot gets more than complicated enough to keep me guessing for a long while. The book is being marketed with references to the Masons. The plot stands just fine without them so I figure the publisher's marketing department was searching for the next Da Vince Code which this novel, thank goodness, is not. Can't wait for the next one, Brad!

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 30, 2011

    Sleepless In Atlanta

    I couldn't put it down. Each chapter left me wanting more. Being a 32nd degree Mason, I was glad to see thay it wasn't another Masonic conspiracy novel. In contrast, it was a well written mystery which leaves a lot to your imagination when it comes to the actual workings of our national government. Now that I've completed The Book Of Fate, I can get a little sleep before I begin The Book Of Lies.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2006

    Brad Meltzer has penned a winner!

    This book is a suspenseful thrill ride and psychological character study all in one. If that's not enough, you'll also learn facts about the Freemasons and Washington, D.C. that weren't even revealed in 'National Treasure.'

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 3, 2011

    I Love, Love, Love this Author and Book!

    I am a new fan of this author, his books and now his show "Decoded".....and I very highly recommend his books....you won't be disappointed! : )

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 12, 2011

    CANT WAIT FOR MORE!

    I have been reading for years, books like James Patterson, Dan Brown, and these are THE BEST!! Cant believe I just found out about him. His website is great too!! I read the latest and now i am going to start with the first. CANT WAIT! These books make me want to visit Washington D.C.! And take this book along as my tour guide!!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Another okay read from Brad Meltzer

    This story was another okay read from Brad Meltzer. From the description on the cover I thought I was going to read a story about Masons, codes and the book would be a thrill to read. The Masonic plot never really developed and the ancient codes was a big let down. I suppose this book was marketed to perk up all the readers that enjoyed Dan Brown's "The DaVinci Code" and they would step up and buy this book. The marketing ploy worked on me, because I bought it. In summary, its not a terrible read, but with a little more time spent on developing the story by the author, the book could have been a great read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2009

    Good read

    Overall a good book and quick read.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 24, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Too long and too many bad guys

    There is a conspiracy in Washington D.C.! What a new idea. The conspiracy is dragged on way too long. This book was about 200 pages too long. Also, the cover is very deceiving. There is hardly anything about the Masons in the storyline. It was one of those books that I finished, but I'm sure it will be forgettable. It was not what I expected.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2009

    The Book of Fate

    This was a nice read during a recent bout of the flu. It had some very slow sections but overall was a decent read.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Good Characters and a Twist!

    I enjoyed the characters in this book, but the plot was a little telling especially if you have read Brad Meltzer books in the past. The twist at the end was one I was anticipating, but did not put into place until later in the book. All in all, it was a great "read" and held my interest. Scott Brick did a very good job with the reading, as well.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2009

    Holds your interest until the end.

    While the characters were believable, they were not developed in depth to my satisfaction. I use these books to listen on my travels. This was a wonderful book to hold my attention while driving. I like reading heavier books- this is a great light read or listen and I would recommend it for a long car trip. It would appeal to most listeners.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2008

    Wasted money and time

    I bought this book out of curiosity and was highly disappointed. I was attracted to the book because of the Masonic Square and Compasses on the front. As a member of the Masons, I'm always on the lookout for books that use us as a plot vehicle. Seeing that the author lists his uncle as a Mason also, I thought I was in for a good ride, showing the Masons in a positive light. Boy was I disappointed!!! That symbol was placed on the cover for marketing only in my opinion. If the author actually talked to his uncle or did any research at all, it was minimal as far as the Masons are concerned. The plot was weak, characters cartoonish and just really slow to read overall. Wouldn't buy another book by this author and am shocked to see any of his titles have made anyone's best seller list, let alone the NY Times. Very disappointing.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2014

    Book of Fate

    Wonderful book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2014

    more from this reviewer

     A secret service agent,Wes Halloway, was shot in the face durin

     A secret service agent,Wes Halloway, was shot in the face during what looked like an attempt to assassinate the president. Wes survived, but another agent, Boyle, was killed. Eight years later, Wes is still a secret service agent for the now former president and literally runs into a living agent Boyle. After years of blaming himself for the Boyle's death, Wes will do anything to unravel what really went on the day of the shooting, even if it endangers his life and others.




    A well-written mystery, it was interesting watching the puzzles come together. Although I think the title is a little misleading; the Book of Fate is only mentioned about twice, and I thought there was going to be maybe a little something paranormal about the book. Turns out there is no real Book of Fate. It's just something a crazy person mentions. So I was a little bit of disappointed, but it was a somewhat entertaining book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2014

    Good reading

    A curious premise mixed with some fact. Meltzer is always a good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2013

    Convoluted, boring, and way too long!! I kept hoping it would g

    Convoluted, boring, and way too long!! I kept hoping it would get better and read all the way through. Should have turned on the TV instead.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 27, 2013

    The beginning was a little slow. It took a while for all the cha

    The beginning was a little slow. It took a while for all the characters to come together. The final 200 pages were most exciting. I liked Nico - very mysterious! Every now and then some funny dialog. A good drama thriller.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 3, 2013

    Read "The Book Of Fate" First

    I made the mistake of reading "The Inner Circle" the "The Fifth Assassin" before reading t"The Book Of Fate." Reading this book before the other two gives one the back story for the plot lines for Brad's last two books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2012

    How is this not 5 stars?!

    I read the book and thoroughly enjoyed it! A suspense to the end , i put this author at the top of my list of amazing with james patterson and david baldacci. Defintly one of the best books ive ever read in my entire life! Worth the 5.99? Yes every penny!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2012

    Read

    I have read this book i loved it. The only downside was the link to the freemasons. I felt like the link was not set in stone almost put in as an after thought. However i would recomend this book to anyone. I plan on reading all his books.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 144 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8