Customer Reviews for

The Book of Fate

Average Rating 3.5
( 144 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(35)

4 Star

(41)

3 Star

(32)

2 Star

(23)

1 Star

(13)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

His best book yet

I've read all but his first two and found this one the most entertaining. The characters are sympathetica and real and the plot gets more than complicated enough to keep me guessing for a long while. The book is being marketed with references to the Masons. The plot ...
I've read all but his first two and found this one the most entertaining. The characters are sympathetica and real and the plot gets more than complicated enough to keep me guessing for a long while. The book is being marketed with references to the Masons. The plot stands just fine without them so I figure the publisher's marketing department was searching for the next Da Vince Code which this novel, thank goodness, is not. Can't wait for the next one, Brad!

posted by Anonymous on October 4, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Another okay read from Brad Meltzer

This story was another okay read from Brad Meltzer. From the description on the cover I thought I was going to read a story about Masons, codes and the book would be a thrill to read. The Masonic plot never really developed and the ancient codes was a big let down. I su...
This story was another okay read from Brad Meltzer. From the description on the cover I thought I was going to read a story about Masons, codes and the book would be a thrill to read. The Masonic plot never really developed and the ancient codes was a big let down. I suppose this book was marketed to perk up all the readers that enjoyed Dan Brown's "The DaVinci Code" and they would step up and buy this book. The marketing ploy worked on me, because I bought it. In summary, its not a terrible read, but with a little more time spent on developing the story by the author, the book could have been a great read.

posted by conniejackson on January 25, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted April 3, 2013

    Read "The Book Of Fate" First

    I made the mistake of reading "The Inner Circle" the "The Fifth Assassin" before reading t"The Book Of Fate." Reading this book before the other two gives one the back story for the plot lines for Brad's last two books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2009

    Just OK.

    I have liked other Meltzer books but this one was only ok. I found this book easy to put down. I finished it because I wanted to know how it ended but I won't re-read it. There's no point. --K--

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 6, 2009

    A big disappointment.

    I bought this book after I'd read the author's previous "Book of" story (the one about the Superman comic books) lent to me by a friend. That one had snappy diaglogue, humor and a main character who was appealing.

    This story had a main character I thought was a wimp. A whiner. A guy who always hesitated and second-guessed himself and others. I liked his best friend much better than him.

    I thought the plot could have been used to make something much better. This felt like the author needed to crank out a book to keep the checks coming and didn't work up to his ability.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Frustrating book

    The title and graphics seem designed to appeal to the Da Vinci Code reader. "Book of Fate" could be loosely grouped into the thriller niche dominated by Dan Brown's books due to the Freemason hook that seems to have been tacked on after the book was edited, but it's decidedly short on interesting historical factoids and straight-ahead action that Brown's readers may crave. The primary problem with "Book of Fate" is that the main character is a pathetic wimp and he, as well as half the other characters, are entirely too melodramatic - descriptions of shaky hands, gritted teeth, flowing tears, weak knees, fear and self loathing accompany almost every action and reaction. I've listened to other audiobooks read by Scott Brick and although he has a strong voice and can "act" the books quite well, his tendency toward over-the-top melodrama, on top of the author's, triggered angry outbursts from me - not the kind of reaction I normally (or ever!) have when reading or listening to a book. Combine the overwrought emotional tone with character motivations and plot elements that are even more preposterous than those typical of the genre, and they add up to reader/listener frustration. (The President of the U.S. rates his key aides as to their trustworthiness by making mysterious markings alongside their initials embedded in clues to crossword puzzles, on at least a couple of occasions - why? And a newspaper gossip columnist figures that out - come on!) It's too bad because Meltzer's writing reveals a core competence, but he should focus on driving the plot forward (and ideally having it make sense) and allowing readers' imaginations to fill in the characters' feelings. If I could have gone inside the book and slapped the characters a few times, I would have. I'm giving this audiobook two stars only because listening to it in my car was better than other elements of my daily commute - at least it provoked unusually strong reactions, which is something.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2008

    Boring

    Bought this book when it first came out. I reluctantly read the first few chapters and gave it up to a used book shop. May interest those who are into political fiction and freemasonry. Story is slow. Good thing I bought the autographed edition because I got my money back.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2007

    A Swing and a Miss!

    I've read all of Meltzers previous books and thought highly of all of them, until this one. I never read a book halfway and disgard it (didn't with this one either) but I was very tempted to put this down midway through.I couldn't work up any interest in the plot and thought it overly complicated with a ho hum pay-off.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2006

    Waste of Time

    What a boring, confusing waste of time. Freemason connection was lame, included, I guess, to ride the Da Vinci wave. No zip in the plot at all.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2006

    Not quite interesting -- nothing to do with Masonry

    Putting the Masonic emblem on the cover must have been a marketing idea. This book has about as much to do with Masonic conspiracies as the DaVinci Code has to do with oil painting techniques. The plot is okay, not great, but it is a quick read. Biggest problem is the central character. You don't care a whit if he lives or dies -- I've never seen such an anemic protaganist.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2006

    MY First Brad Meltzer

    I had heard great things about this author's work, but apparently this was not his best effort. I would have enjoyed it a bit more perhaps if not for his incredibly annoying habit of interrupted dialogue. There are instances of such on nearly every page! This is not how people speak, at least not ALL OF THE TIME! A mediocre story and characters. And by the way, someone should tell Mr. Melzter it is called an 'index finger.' He constantly calls it a 'pointer finger.'

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2006

    Not what I thought at all

    This book was very deciptive by the cover with a Freemason symbol. I didn't think that this was at all about Freemasons. For one it took about 20 chapters to finally get an understanding about what was going on, and for two it took 50 chapters to get good. I would recommend anything else.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2006

    Where's the beef?

    So much dialogue, so much 'intended' mystery for such a boring reason! The big mystery the characters spend so much time dancing around and investigating and the huge cover-up worthy of a faked death turned out to be such a flop! I also didn't care for the way the author just threw in the factoids about the Mason's. It seems like he did it just to be trendy, because aside from the explanation of the symbols and Nico's rants, he went no where with the Mason's history or influence in the actual plot of the book. I was disappointed - I just thought the whole 'tips for money' plotline was boring.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2006

    Misleading

    The plot was confusing and most of the characters little more than cartoons, but overall an enjoyable yarn. However, the author is disingenuous when he places the Masonic square and compass on the cover trying to cash in on Dan Brown's phenomenal success. What is really irritating are his notes at the end about his lengthy 'research' on the Masonic Order All he seems to know is some pedestrian and popularly known facts about the Masonic Order that anyone could have gleaned from the internet in less than an hour, and none of which have any bearing on the novel itself. I won't waste my time reading any more of his novels.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2006

    Blah!

    The title was great. The book cover was great. The number of pages made you think the book was going to be great. It wasn't. The story lacked compelling characters, and any type of 'good book' rhythm. It kind of jumped around a lot. Worse, the plot wasn't gripping. Overall, this was a major disappointment.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2006

    Kinda Misleading

    This is the first novel that i've read by Mr.Meltzer, and it was oooooook. If the reader is looking for a sort of Dan Brown thriller with murder and masonic code, don't bother. The code is really a small part of the story. After the ?attempt on the presidents life, the book reeeeaaaally slows down and take a while to rebuild. So if your a Brad fan then you should be use to his style of writing, but to me this one was ok...

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2006

    Very Disappointing

    This was not what I was expecting. The masonic tie-in was barely in the book. The book was overly convoluted and drawn out. Not Mr. Meltzer's best work. I felt duped after seeing the book cover.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2