Customer Reviews for

The Book of Fate

Average Rating 3.5
( 144 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(35)

4 Star

(41)

3 Star

(32)

2 Star

(23)

1 Star

(13)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

His best book yet

I've read all but his first two and found this one the most entertaining. The characters are sympathetica and real and the plot gets more than complicated enough to keep me guessing for a long while. The book is being marketed with references to the Masons. The plot ...
I've read all but his first two and found this one the most entertaining. The characters are sympathetica and real and the plot gets more than complicated enough to keep me guessing for a long while. The book is being marketed with references to the Masons. The plot stands just fine without them so I figure the publisher's marketing department was searching for the next Da Vince Code which this novel, thank goodness, is not. Can't wait for the next one, Brad!

posted by Anonymous on October 4, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Another okay read from Brad Meltzer

This story was another okay read from Brad Meltzer. From the description on the cover I thought I was going to read a story about Masons, codes and the book would be a thrill to read. The Masonic plot never really developed and the ancient codes was a big let down. I su...
This story was another okay read from Brad Meltzer. From the description on the cover I thought I was going to read a story about Masons, codes and the book would be a thrill to read. The Masonic plot never really developed and the ancient codes was a big let down. I suppose this book was marketed to perk up all the readers that enjoyed Dan Brown's "The DaVinci Code" and they would step up and buy this book. The marketing ploy worked on me, because I bought it. In summary, its not a terrible read, but with a little more time spent on developing the story by the author, the book could have been a great read.

posted by conniejackson on January 25, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2006

    His best book yet

    I've read all but his first two and found this one the most entertaining. The characters are sympathetica and real and the plot gets more than complicated enough to keep me guessing for a long while. The book is being marketed with references to the Masons. The plot stands just fine without them so I figure the publisher's marketing department was searching for the next Da Vince Code which this novel, thank goodness, is not. Can't wait for the next one, Brad!

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 30, 2011

    Sleepless In Atlanta

    I couldn't put it down. Each chapter left me wanting more. Being a 32nd degree Mason, I was glad to see thay it wasn't another Masonic conspiracy novel. In contrast, it was a well written mystery which leaves a lot to your imagination when it comes to the actual workings of our national government. Now that I've completed The Book Of Fate, I can get a little sleep before I begin The Book Of Lies.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2006

    Brad Meltzer has penned a winner!

    This book is a suspenseful thrill ride and psychological character study all in one. If that's not enough, you'll also learn facts about the Freemasons and Washington, D.C. that weren't even revealed in 'National Treasure.'

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 3, 2011

    I Love, Love, Love this Author and Book!

    I am a new fan of this author, his books and now his show "Decoded".....and I very highly recommend his books....you won't be disappointed! : )

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 12, 2011

    CANT WAIT FOR MORE!

    I have been reading for years, books like James Patterson, Dan Brown, and these are THE BEST!! Cant believe I just found out about him. His website is great too!! I read the latest and now i am going to start with the first. CANT WAIT! These books make me want to visit Washington D.C.! And take this book along as my tour guide!!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2014

    Book of Fate

    Wonderful book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2012

    How is this not 5 stars?!

    I read the book and thoroughly enjoyed it! A suspense to the end , i put this author at the top of my list of amazing with james patterson and david baldacci. Defintly one of the best books ive ever read in my entire life! Worth the 5.99? Yes every penny!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2012

    Great book

    I loved this book and I loved the characters. I would recommend to my friends

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2006

    First real book I've read in a while (all the way through)

    As a college student the only books I usually have time to read are text books and some what boreing ones at that. The Book of Fate is the first book I have read on my own all the way through in a long time. I could not put it down. I'm usually a movie guy becasue I like the action, but this author does an emaculate job of brining the book to life in my mind and allows me to visualize every step of the novel. The twists and turns are not expected but are easily understood after they are unveiled, which allows the reader to follow along easily while stilling making you use your brain. The characters play off one anohter nicely and it is the perfect match up between the antagonist and the protagonist. It's a well written thriller in opinion and I intend on reading more of this authors books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2006

    Outstanding audio book

    The book is wonderfully written and the story very absorbing. The reason I want to write a review is because the quality of the audio book is especially good. The reader sounds believable whether he is reading a male or female part. His voice is clear and exciting. Last but not least, this book took days to hear. We travel by car many hours every week since we live in the country. We thoroughly enjoyed this audio book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    a reviewer

    Eight years ago, then presidential aide Wes Holloway permitted Deputy Chief of Staff Ron Boyle to ride in President Leland Manning's limousine. As they drove to a NASCAR event, Nico Hadrian fired shots at their vehicle. Secret Service, FBI and local law enforcement assumed Hadrian targeted POTUS when he killed Boyle and destroyed the right side of Wes's face.----------- Now that Manning is out of office, Wes, who still works for the former, finds his juggling assignments much easier to achieve. However, to his shock Wes sees Boyle attending a conference in Malaysia as impossible as that seems. Unable to ignore this as he feels guilt over Boyle¿s death, Wes investigates how a dead man is alive. As evidence surfaces that the Masons are involved and have been behind the scenes running the country since its foundation, several splinter groups have plans to increase their influence. The knowledge means death for Wes and his allies.------------- The Brownian legacy spins into the United States with this fun conspiratorial thriller. The story line is action-packed though convoluted and at times difficult to follow as readers and Wes struggle to understand what happened eight years ago that camaraderie the audience shares with Wes makes him an empathetic protagonist. The use of unsolved real mysteries add to the feel of a super group in power behind the scenes and plotting to gain even more control. Brad Meltzer¿s fans will enjoy his latest tale focusing on the ¿truth¿ behind DC politics.---------- Harriet Klausner

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2