Customer Reviews for

The Book of Fate

Average Rating 3.5
( 143 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(34)

4 Star

(41)

3 Star

(32)

2 Star

(23)

1 Star

(13)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

His best book yet

I've read all but his first two and found this one the most entertaining. The characters are sympathetica and real and the plot gets more than complicated enough to keep me guessing for a long while. The book is being marketed with references to the Masons. The plot ...
I've read all but his first two and found this one the most entertaining. The characters are sympathetica and real and the plot gets more than complicated enough to keep me guessing for a long while. The book is being marketed with references to the Masons. The plot stands just fine without them so I figure the publisher's marketing department was searching for the next Da Vince Code which this novel, thank goodness, is not. Can't wait for the next one, Brad!

posted by Anonymous on October 4, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Another okay read from Brad Meltzer

This story was another okay read from Brad Meltzer. From the description on the cover I thought I was going to read a story about Masons, codes and the book would be a thrill to read. The Masonic plot never really developed and the ancient codes was a big let down. I su...
This story was another okay read from Brad Meltzer. From the description on the cover I thought I was going to read a story about Masons, codes and the book would be a thrill to read. The Masonic plot never really developed and the ancient codes was a big let down. I suppose this book was marketed to perk up all the readers that enjoyed Dan Brown's "The DaVinci Code" and they would step up and buy this book. The marketing ploy worked on me, because I bought it. In summary, its not a terrible read, but with a little more time spent on developing the story by the author, the book could have been a great read.

posted by conniejackson on January 25, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 143 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 8
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2012

    Great book

    I loved this book and I loved the characters. I would recommend to my friends

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 15, 2012

    dont waste your money or time with this book

    this book is misleading and just a chore to read .

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2011

    Worst book ever

    This is hands down the worst book I've ever read. Ever. Really has nothing to do with the title, which taught me again...not to judge a book by one.

    Luckily, I borrowed this from a friend instead of paying for it - and she even warned me that it was terrible. But I didn't listen.

    Worst book ever.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2009

    Just OK.

    I have liked other Meltzer books but this one was only ok. I found this book easy to put down. I finished it because I wanted to know how it ended but I won't re-read it. There's no point. --K--

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 6, 2009

    A big disappointment.

    I bought this book after I'd read the author's previous "Book of" story (the one about the Superman comic books) lent to me by a friend. That one had snappy diaglogue, humor and a main character who was appealing.

    This story had a main character I thought was a wimp. A whiner. A guy who always hesitated and second-guessed himself and others. I liked his best friend much better than him.

    I thought the plot could have been used to make something much better. This felt like the author needed to crank out a book to keep the checks coming and didn't work up to his ability.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Frustrating book

    The title and graphics seem designed to appeal to the Da Vinci Code reader. "Book of Fate" could be loosely grouped into the thriller niche dominated by Dan Brown's books due to the Freemason hook that seems to have been tacked on after the book was edited, but it's decidedly short on interesting historical factoids and straight-ahead action that Brown's readers may crave. The primary problem with "Book of Fate" is that the main character is a pathetic wimp and he, as well as half the other characters, are entirely too melodramatic - descriptions of shaky hands, gritted teeth, flowing tears, weak knees, fear and self loathing accompany almost every action and reaction. I've listened to other audiobooks read by Scott Brick and although he has a strong voice and can "act" the books quite well, his tendency toward over-the-top melodrama, on top of the author's, triggered angry outbursts from me - not the kind of reaction I normally (or ever!) have when reading or listening to a book. Combine the overwrought emotional tone with character motivations and plot elements that are even more preposterous than those typical of the genre, and they add up to reader/listener frustration. (The President of the U.S. rates his key aides as to their trustworthiness by making mysterious markings alongside their initials embedded in clues to crossword puzzles, on at least a couple of occasions - why? And a newspaper gossip columnist figures that out - come on!) It's too bad because Meltzer's writing reveals a core competence, but he should focus on driving the plot forward (and ideally having it make sense) and allowing readers' imaginations to fill in the characters' feelings. If I could have gone inside the book and slapped the characters a few times, I would have. I'm giving this audiobook two stars only because listening to it in my car was better than other elements of my daily commute - at least it provoked unusually strong reactions, which is something.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2009

    So - So

    If you read it - buy used not as good as his other books. Cover is awesome makes you think you will not be able to put it down. Very easy to put down and forget.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2008

    Boring

    Bought this book when it first came out. I reluctantly read the first few chapters and gave it up to a used book shop. May interest those who are into political fiction and freemasonry. Story is slow. Good thing I bought the autographed edition because I got my money back.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2007

    Decent Thriller

    Started fast, slowed a bit and then picked up speed nicely. Better than average plot, relatively solid characters and well written. Some unbelievable spots, but it IS fiction!! Would not recommend you rush to buy it, but this one isn't a bad read.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2007

    A Swing and a Miss!

    I've read all of Meltzers previous books and thought highly of all of them, until this one. I never read a book halfway and disgard it (didn't with this one either) but I was very tempted to put this down midway through.I couldn't work up any interest in the plot and thought it overly complicated with a ho hum pay-off.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2007

    the book of fate

    I kept waiting for this book to take off but it never did. Finally with maybe 100 pages to go or so I got into it but was dissapointed at the end. Money might be better spent finding something else.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2007

    Great

    this was a great book that at firsy seemed boring but got better and better..if your really into law and mystery and stuff like that this is a great book

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2006

    like cotton candy

    As a general rule, I don't read mass markets, but I made an exception for this one. And, while The Book of Fate was better than I expected it to be, it wasn't great either. It was like cotton candy - enjoyable, but little substance. The suspense kept me going, and I would definitely say it was a better book than the Da Vinci Code. The jacket flap blurb about the Freemasons is misleading though, since the Masons have very little to do with the actual story. It's a good book for reading on the train or at the beach.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2007

    A good read

    I thorougly enjoyed the book - it was just a little slow in the beginning, but once it took off, I couldn't put the book down. I like a tale that moves fast, and this one certainly did. This is the first of the author's books I've read and plan to read more of his novels. If you like FBI, secret service and Washington D.C. settings, this is a book you'd like.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2007

    Superb Thriller

    Brad Meltzer has written a superb can't put the book down thriller! Great storyline about power and politics however, two flaws stood out 1. no clear connection between masons and the story itself 2. ending a bit too far fetched in my opinion. Otherwise, great read.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2007

    A true thriller, but...

    ...nothing to do with the Freemasons. It's a very good plot, and it keeps you guessing right until the end. It is basically a satisfying read for thrill-seekers. But, I must say that if you're looking for more inside information on the Freemasons, then this isn't your book. I don't know why they put the Masonic symbol on the cover, and the story barely had anything to do with the Masons. Hmmmm? Maybe to sell more books? Probably. But either way, highly recommend it for a good read.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2007

    RUBBISH

    I was almost 200 pages into this book when I put it down and said to myself, why am I reading this rubbish? I enjoyed Meltzer's first book, it was a good read. He is a one-book writer. Now it's just stylized gibberish. The characters are shallow and unappealing, even the main protagonist, Wes, I should have cared about him but I didn't. Meltzer seems to find character building difficult. And frankly, I've never heard a grown man say, 'I swing my feet under my tush and sit down.' Maybe that's how they speak in DC, I'm in New York, thank goodness. Also, his view of politics and politicians is frightening. If there is so much corruption and immorality, I would rather not know about it! A reviewer on the back of the cover compared Meltzer favorably to Grisham. Not in my book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2006

    Waste of Time

    What a boring, confusing waste of time. Freemason connection was lame, included, I guess, to ride the Da Vinci wave. No zip in the plot at all.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2006

    Not quite interesting -- nothing to do with Masonry

    Putting the Masonic emblem on the cover must have been a marketing idea. This book has about as much to do with Masonic conspiracies as the DaVinci Code has to do with oil painting techniques. The plot is okay, not great, but it is a quick read. Biggest problem is the central character. You don't care a whit if he lives or dies -- I've never seen such an anemic protaganist.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2006

    MY First Brad Meltzer

    I had heard great things about this author's work, but apparently this was not his best effort. I would have enjoyed it a bit more perhaps if not for his incredibly annoying habit of interrupted dialogue. There are instances of such on nearly every page! This is not how people speak, at least not ALL OF THE TIME! A mediocre story and characters. And by the way, someone should tell Mr. Melzter it is called an 'index finger.' He constantly calls it a 'pointer finger.'

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 143 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 8