BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Book of Joby

Average Rating 5
( 20 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(16)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 20 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted March 26, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A must read for lovers of Heaven/Hell's trials

    I was skeptical at first, this being Mark J. Ferrari's first known work to me. I bought it in paper back and didn't put it down. I now also have it on my Kindle and Ipad - Nook reader. I have read this book 4x and cannot wait until my next journey into Joby's "trial" ;)

    It is a wonderful and encouraging look at our Creator's hidden plans and faith in us. Try it, you will not regret it!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2012

    Magnificant!

    Loved every word in this book from the first to the last. Forever one of my favorite books!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2012

    This book is the bomb

    Listen one of the other guys above got it right when he said after this book it will be hard to find another as great. U will be at a loss to fill that voidu

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 12, 2011

    The read of a lifetime

    This is one of those books that will stay with you. The story telling that Mark has is beautiful and the imagery is second to none. All of the characters have great depth and a purpose throughout. An impressive first novel by what I can only imagine, from an author destined for great things! A MUST READ!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2010

    the best book I've EVER read (really!)

    Honestly, this is my favorite book. And I am a reader. I absolutely could not put the story down and the character of Joby lived in my head for weeks, and to an extent, will always be with me. This is the sort of story that instantly captivates you - grabs on and won't let go. At times you feel as helpless and hopeless as Joby himself and want to climb right into the pages and get him out. At other times, you find yourself rooting for him and cheering and breathing a sigh of relief at a turn of events. To say the story will stay with you is an understatement. The only down part about reading a book like this one is that it is SO hard, almost impossible, to find anything to hold your interest afterward. I swear - I was depressed when it ended (and this is long read!)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2009

    A good read- sad but happy

    I liked this book. It has a great mix of fantasy and reality, which when combined well, makes for an amazing story. The main character I found to be quite sympathetic, and his self-loathing broke my heart and made me wish to be able to comfort him (another sign of a good book; one that makes you feel as though you're in it). Overall, a story to remind that there are joy, love and beauty to be found in the seemingly mundane, everyday things in life, if we can get just see past all the (devilish?) doubt and distractions thrown in the way. One of those distractions for me and the only reason I didn't give it 5 stars: annoying overuse of exclamation points in the narrative. Exclamation points are better utilized in dialogue.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 17, 2009

    Perfect book for big time readers!

    The Book of Joby is a riviting story, an epic journey of one man stuck between the forces of God and Lucifer. Joby, a man who has been chosen by God to defeat the devil; Ben, Joby's athletic best friend; and Laura, the love of Joby's life.<BR/><BR/>Joby, as a nine year old boy, was a worshiper of King Aurthur and his knights. He created a Round Table at his school, turned himself and his friends into knights, and Fought for what he beleived in.<BR/>As a man, he was selfless, caring, and brave. He helped the homeless and worked hard for a living.<BR/>All the way through his life he is attacked by the demons of Lucifer. He cant be helped by the angels unless he asks them... but who ever asks the angels for help?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2008

    Ambitious and Entertaining

    Joby Peterson is a popular and charismatic student, and leader of a group of 20th century ¿Round Table¿ knights, after the legend of King Arthur. His idea of anonymous aid to less fortunate classmates inspires his entire school, and few doubt this young boy will grow to be a brilliant and successful man. But overnight he goes from being a confident and athletic young man, to an accident-prone stumblebum. As tragedy follows him like a black cloud, his family life disintegrates, his grades fall, and the once golden boy now seems cursed, which he is. It seems that God and Lucifer have, once again, decided to replay the trials of Job. The 26-year battle waged against Joby by Lucifer¿s legions shows how the subtle grind of mediocrity can be as destructive a force as overt wickedness. It also shows the consequences of standing by and doing nothing in the face of suffering, and how easily the self-righteous can become a tool of evil. --- This is an extraordinary and ambitious first novel, and a satisfying read for anyone. The story is enthralling and Ferrari¿s writing style is extremely engaging. I cannot recommend The Book of Joby highly enough.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2007

    One of the best books I've ever read!!!

    Absolutely stunning!!! This is a book that you won't want to put down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2007

    One of the best books I've read in AGES!!!

    Fabulous book! Beautifully written. Includes all the great elements that make up a truly amazing story. I highly recommend it to anyone who loves a book that takes real life and interweaves it with myth and faith. This is one that will never leave my book shelves, one I will read over and over.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 20 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1