Customer Reviews for

The Book of Joe

Average Rating 4
( 86 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(48)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(17)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 87 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2012

    AMAZING

    I loved this book!!!!!! This is the second book of his
    I have read and he has yet to disappoint. He makes me laugh and surprisingly made me cry with this one. I highly recommend this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 30, 2010

    Hilarious and touching

    he writes about real life but in a way that makes you literally laugh out loud one minute and tear up another. Tropper is my favorite author anc i recommend him to everyone i know. once people read one of his books they cant wait to read all of his others!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2004

    A Brilliant Book

    The Book of Joe is an amazing book; it's smart, funny, and deeply compassionate - the kind of book you want all of your friends to read, but you're reluctant to lend them your copy because you've grown attached to it. Joe is about a writer who returns to the hometown he left seventeen years earlier, then trashed in a hit novel. The writer comes home to discover that the people in the town are real - not the characters he imagined and can control. And these people - family, friends, enemies, and a woman he still loves - make the writer confront not only themselves, but the person he was seventeen years before. There is a great deal to this book, but suffice to say that it will move everyone who reads it. For anyone who is startled to realize that seventeen years before they actually already were a formed person, The Book of Joe will especially touch a nerve. For anyone who, like the protagonist, came of age in the Eighties, The Book of Joe may well become an anthem.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2013

    "This is Where I Leave You" was such a funny, crazy bo

    "This is Where I Leave You" was such a funny, crazy book that I couldn't wait to read another Tropper. This book is not quite as laugh-out-loud funny, but the story is just as wild. Dysfunctional people who are very real and very well represented by this author fill the book. The premise of the story lets you know up front what might be coming, you can't begin to imagine it all. It's very funny, feels very true, has it's sad moments. Tropper's great art is his dialogue which makes me wish I could think of all those clever things to say all the time in any circumstances. And I'm moving right on to my next Tropper book.  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 31, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I was apprehensive to start this book because I loved "This

    I was apprehensive to start this book because I loved "This Is Where I Leave You" so much that I didn't want to be disappointed by Jonathan Trooper this time around. Disappointed I was not!! This book makes you laugh a lot and sometimes cry and I did  not want to put it down.  Although it touches on some important issues, they are well-delivered and well-handled.  The characters are all very well-developed and fun to get to know, especially Joe who usually has his foot in his mouth but does not fail to see his own flaws. As many others have stated, I would highly recommend this book!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2012

    What a great read. This was recommended by a friend and I thoro

    What a great read. This was recommended by a friend and I thoroughly enjoyed it. I cannot wait to read the rest of Jonathan Tropper's books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 23, 2012

    love this author!

    Great read, great author!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 8, 2011

    Liked

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Posted August 11, 2011

    Wonderful and fun

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Posted April 27, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Sad story with happy tears.

    The Book of Joe handles some scary issues, but does it with style, class and humor. I highly recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2011

    Excellent

    Fantastically written. A must read!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 29, 2011

    life changing

    This book was literally fantastic. It made me laugh and cry all the while helping me view life and people in a different light. This is a MUST read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 31, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I absolutely love this book...

    I'm a huge fan of the short-lived TV series "October Road". I heard that there was a book called "The Book of Joe" that loosely inspired the show. Something about this book makes it perfect. I'm not sure if it is the nostalgia (sp?) of high school glory days, or re-living a first time romance but it works. I felt that while it dealt with a lot of hard issues, it was still humorous. I highly recommend this novel and will probubly continue to read books by this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 18, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    I actually laughed out loud

    I was very recently introduced to Jonathan Tropper and have loved both of his book I've read so far. The Book of Joe follows an author who is returning to his small hometown years after writing a scathing novel based on the people who live there. His book was a smashing success, but his former neighbors are less than pleased with him for airing their dirty laundry. This book was a perfect combination of many emotions. It was a funny twist on the "you can't go home again" theme.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 6, 2009

    Know This Author? If Not, Discover Him

    Heard this author pushing his latest book at a New York book store and found him quite amusing in person. Bought what I think is his first book which apparently made the reading world aware of him. I liked this book very much. The lead character is quite willing to examine himself, make changes, listen to criticism. Passed the book on to friends. Alas, I then bought a second book by the author which unfortunately I liked less. But I definitely have not given up on him. There are more of his books in my future.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2009

    Excellent read.

    Engrossing and unique.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2009

    One of my top favorite books

    This is one of my top favorite books of my adult life. The protagonist is a flawed and damaged man, but desires renewal and redemption. His story is written with such heart and sensitivity that the reader can't help but be sympathetic. There will be moments of nearly every emotion, and every moment spent buried in this world will be worth it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2008

    Love this book!!!

    I really enjoyed this book. It was one of those books, that you don't put down, and you just keep reading until you find out how it ends. You feel like one of those little kids who stay up late with a flash light looking at comic books trying to finish. The reality in book was so believable and relatable, on some level, that it was so fun to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2008

    Amazing

    This was the best book that I've read in a while. You could picture everything, as if there was a movie going on in your head! I never wanted to put it down. I was so sad when the book was over, too. I just wanted to keep reading. This is a great book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2006

    Phenomenal

    One of if not the best novels I've ever ever read. The Book of Joe is so real and heartfelt. The characters are so true to life. And, within the whole plot, lies the inner teenager that we all want/wanted to be. This book somehow makes you feel better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 87 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5