Customer Reviews for

The Book of Lost Fragrances

Average Rating 4.5
( 48 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(24)

4 Star

(21)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

The Book of Lost Fragrances is the latest release in M. J. Rose'

The Book of Lost Fragrances is the latest release in M. J. Rose's long, successful career, and the fourth installment in her Reincarnationist series. It is full of intrigue, mystery, a race for a historical artifact, family, and timeless romance. Although it is a part o...
The Book of Lost Fragrances is the latest release in M. J. Rose's long, successful career, and the fourth installment in her Reincarnationist series. It is full of intrigue, mystery, a race for a historical artifact, family, and timeless romance. Although it is a part of a series, the book is a standalone novel.

The story contains a host of minor characters from ancient Egypt, 18th century France, and modern day, but focuses mostly on Jacinthe L'Etoile and, to an extent, Xie Ping. Xie is an artist living in China who has a secret, and is trying to survive under the watchful eye and heavy hand of the Chinese government. Jac is a mythologist television personality whose family perfume business is on the verge of collapse. When her father's declining mental facilities forces him to retire and her brother goes missing, Jac's life begins to spin out of control. She only has days to find her brother and his mysterious, ancient Egyptian pottery shards that hold the potential to save the family business from financial ruin. Xie and Jac are on opposite sides of the world, but are thrust into the midst of intrigue, murder, and the age-old question of whether or not the possibility of reincarnation truly exists.

I found The Book of Lost Fragrances to be a beautiful and well-written novel. The story flowed seamlessly across time and continents to tell a story of the search for the scent of memory. I was never bored by the flashbacks of the past or by the steady change in character focus. I would be reading what is going on in modern day Paris, then suddenly find the book describing events in ancient Egypt. The only problem that I had with the book was something that slightly offended my old-fashioned sensibilities. It was not a huge deal, but it made me a bit uncomfortable. However, it served a purpose at the end of the novel. The ending would not have been as powerful if not for that particular plot point.

As I stated in my summary, the book contains a multitude of characters. I think in this instance they were beneficial to the pacing and wove the story together more completely. Each was necessary to develop a major character or better explain a scene. Jac may have been the diamond, but she would not have shown without the never-seen little girl, Elsie. The assassin for the Chinese mafia added another dimension to Xie, in my opinion. The relationships between the characters were also stunningly lovely threads that wove this engrossing story together. To say more than that could potentially ruin the surprise of how everything was tied.

In the end, The Book of Lost Fragrances is a story about love. It is about the love between strangers, the love between family, and that intense love of a sweetheart (for lack of a better word). Anyone who enjoys a love story without a lot of romantic elements, a murder mystery without the gore, and a treasure hunt without an insane amount of twists and turns will enjoy this book. I am thrilled that I had the opportunity to review it, and I look forward to starting the series at the beginning. This is a book that I will definitely read again.

*To satisfy FTC guidelines, I am disclosing that I received this book for free from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. It has in no way affected the outcome.

posted by KaylaBeck on March 28, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Intriguing!

The Book of Lost Fragrances by M.J. Rose is a novel that spans centuries as well as continents. With the heavy them of reincarnation, The Book of Lost Fragrances involves a handful of diverse characters all with a mysterious common goal. They're all after the same thin...
The Book of Lost Fragrances by M.J. Rose is a novel that spans centuries as well as continents. With the heavy them of reincarnation, The Book of Lost Fragrances involves a handful of diverse characters all with a mysterious common goal. They're all after the same thing but you don't know exactly what. This book takes on a slow but steady pace building the mystery that is not only historical but also spiritual.
The story centers around Jac L'Etoile and her brother Robbie. They come from a long line a perfume makers. Jac and Robbie are going through tough times. They've both had difficult lives, especially Jac. They know the power that certain scents have over us. They know how it can trigger a powerful memory. Their family has kept many secrets over the years and now the secrets are coming back to the surface.
The story is told from several points of view. This aspect keeps you guessing but also broadens the scope of the mystery at hand. At first the different characters can be a little confusing. As the story moves along the author slowly reveals not only how the characters are connected but are also the serendipitous nature of the story.
Overall this book is an interesting read. The historical elements as well as the mythological elements are very enjoyable. M.J. Rose teases the olfactory senses with her descriptive words and reminds us how powerful a memory can be.

posted by Marcie77 on March 15, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted March 28, 2012

    The Book of Lost Fragrances is the latest release in M. J. Rose'

    The Book of Lost Fragrances is the latest release in M. J. Rose's long, successful career, and the fourth installment in her Reincarnationist series. It is full of intrigue, mystery, a race for a historical artifact, family, and timeless romance. Although it is a part of a series, the book is a standalone novel.

    The story contains a host of minor characters from ancient Egypt, 18th century France, and modern day, but focuses mostly on Jacinthe L'Etoile and, to an extent, Xie Ping. Xie is an artist living in China who has a secret, and is trying to survive under the watchful eye and heavy hand of the Chinese government. Jac is a mythologist television personality whose family perfume business is on the verge of collapse. When her father's declining mental facilities forces him to retire and her brother goes missing, Jac's life begins to spin out of control. She only has days to find her brother and his mysterious, ancient Egyptian pottery shards that hold the potential to save the family business from financial ruin. Xie and Jac are on opposite sides of the world, but are thrust into the midst of intrigue, murder, and the age-old question of whether or not the possibility of reincarnation truly exists.

    I found The Book of Lost Fragrances to be a beautiful and well-written novel. The story flowed seamlessly across time and continents to tell a story of the search for the scent of memory. I was never bored by the flashbacks of the past or by the steady change in character focus. I would be reading what is going on in modern day Paris, then suddenly find the book describing events in ancient Egypt. The only problem that I had with the book was something that slightly offended my old-fashioned sensibilities. It was not a huge deal, but it made me a bit uncomfortable. However, it served a purpose at the end of the novel. The ending would not have been as powerful if not for that particular plot point.

    As I stated in my summary, the book contains a multitude of characters. I think in this instance they were beneficial to the pacing and wove the story together more completely. Each was necessary to develop a major character or better explain a scene. Jac may have been the diamond, but she would not have shown without the never-seen little girl, Elsie. The assassin for the Chinese mafia added another dimension to Xie, in my opinion. The relationships between the characters were also stunningly lovely threads that wove this engrossing story together. To say more than that could potentially ruin the surprise of how everything was tied.

    In the end, The Book of Lost Fragrances is a story about love. It is about the love between strangers, the love between family, and that intense love of a sweetheart (for lack of a better word). Anyone who enjoys a love story without a lot of romantic elements, a murder mystery without the gore, and a treasure hunt without an insane amount of twists and turns will enjoy this book. I am thrilled that I had the opportunity to review it, and I look forward to starting the series at the beginning. This is a book that I will definitely read again.

    *To satisfy FTC guidelines, I am disclosing that I received this book for free from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. It has in no way affected the outcome.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 20, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    a tale that takes you from the tombs of Egypt to the catacombs of Paris

    The Book of Lost Fragrances is a captivating historical fiction. It offers a tale of suspense with paranormal elements, religious oppression and a romance that spans the ages. Rose masterfully blends fact and fiction as she takes us from the tombs of ancient Egypt to the catacombs of Paris. I was fascinated by the history and drawn to the characters. Told from multiple points of view we travel from past to present as different groups search for the fragrance of lost souls. Believed to have been created by the perfumer of Cleopatra, this scent is said to help one remember their past lives. The main characters are Jac and Robbie L’Etoile. They are heirs to one of the oldest perfume companies in France; The House of L’Etoile. Their family business is in financial trouble when Robbie uncovers pottery with hieroglyphics. He asks his friend Griffin to decipher the ancient writing. When Robbie ends up missing and a man is found dead, Jac returns to Paris to search for her brother. Despite a painful past relationship, Jac and Griffin work together to find Robbie. We also meet a doctor who believes in past lives, Tibetan monks, a young man believed to be a reincarnated lama and members of the Chinese mafia and government. All of them are seeking the shattered remains of pottery. Each has a reason for wanting them and some of them will stop at nothing to obtain it. While at times the leaping from past to present and the multiple POV’s had me re-reading the beginning of a chapter, I urge you to read on. This seems to be a trend in a lot of books I have read of late and Rose beautifully weaves all of these chapters and timelines into a tale I will not soon forget. The characters have depth and I quickly became invested in their tale. I found the history of perfume, Tibet, Egypt and France to be fascinating. I even stopped reading to goggled some of the subjects. I became completely engrossed in this tale and was moved by the outcome. I want to thank netGalley and Simon & Schuster for providing me with this ARC in exchange for my unbiased review.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 5, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Once again, I am fascinated and impressed with Rose's knowledge

    Once again, I am fascinated and impressed with Rose's knowledge of reincarnation. By now, everyone knows about my interest and belief in the subject and I truly never tire of reading about it, whether it be in a fictional context or in non-fiction (although some may argue that it's all fictional). What I like about Rose's portrayal of the subject is her incorporation of it with history, as well as the current events of the day.

    In this book, the fourth installment in The Reincarnationist series, we are treated to ancient Egypt, another subject of endless fascination for me, and the culture's use of fragrance as a link to past lives, particularly during the Ptolemaic period. From there, we are whisked forward to present day China and the endless struggle between Tibet and the Chinese government to control the reincarnation of the next Dalai Lama. As usual, there is mystery and intrigue, which adds a suspenseful element to the story. For me though, the historical aspects of the story are sufficient to keep my interest. Add in a bit of alchemy, and you have a well-rounded and interesting story of history, science, and mysticism.

    The beauty of this series is that you really can read the books without having read the earlier books. I still have not read the first and second books in the series (although they are on my shelf), but I had no problem reading the third, The Hypnotist, and the fourth (this one) books as stand alone novels. Rose is a talented author, with a gift for writing about a subject of whic she is clearly passionate. I sincerely look forward to any and all future offerings from her, whether it be more books in this series, or a new set of books down the road.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    don't know if this is as contradictory as it seems to me, but th

    don't know if this is as contradictory as it seems to me, but the premise of the novel and Chapter 1 had me hooked immediately, but it took me a while to fully invest in the storyline. Once I did though, I couldn't put the book down. The story flowed seamlessly between past and present, and from present to present in a completely different part of the world, both transitions I usually find very difficult to navigate. The plot and characters are incredibly fleshed out and very intriguing. This story covers romance, loss, family, mystery, suspense, intrigue, history, and much much deeper elements and I closed the book feeling enjoyably satisfied.

    This has something for everyone. Side note: The ARC provided to me by Historical Fiction Blog Tours included an author's note section full of pictures and stories of her research for this novel. It was awesome! I hope this is included in the book store releases because it drew me in at the beginning and was great to go back to once I finished the novel!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 12, 2012

    This is the second or third book I've read by M.J. Rose. It was

    This is the second or third book I've read by M.J. Rose. It was a interesting mystery with paranormal added to it. My favorite kind of book! I find the whole idea of possibly having lived a previous life very interesting. This book weaved back in forth from the past and present with ease.I don't think you'll be disappointed!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2012

    Fun Book

    Perfect summer reading. Light and fun. It also teaches you alittle about the fragrance industry that is interesting.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 29, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    THE BOOK OF LOST FRAGRANCES by M.J. Rose is a suspense/thriller

    THE BOOK OF LOST FRAGRANCES by M.J. Rose is a suspense/thriller that will have you on the edge of your seat. It weaves reincarnation,intrigue,perfumery,a book of scents,suspense,legends,Egypt,family secrets,murder,mystery,and romance.What an intense thriller that you can almost smell the fragrances from the pages of “The Book of Lost Fragrances”. Jac L’Etoile haunted by visions of a past and exotic smells,her mother’s suicide,she embarks on a career as a mythologist T.V. personality. Her brother Robbie,takes over the family business,the House of L’Etoile,learns a family secret but suddenly goes missing.Jac goes to Paris to look for her brother and finds a discovery of her own. Filled with passion,history,and suspense,you will not regret picking up “The Book Of Lost Fragrances”. A fast paced story. Ms. Rose pulls the reader into the story with her vivid descriptions and her intriguing characters. Received for an honest review from the publisher. Details can be found at Atria Books, a division of Simon & Schuster,Inc.,the author’s website,and My Book Addiction and More.
    RATING: 4
    HEAT RATING:Sweet: No sex or scenes of physical intimacy except some kissing. No graphic violence or profanity.
    REVIEWED BY: AprilR, My Book Addiction and More

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 20, 2012

    Loved the historical details of the world of scents intermingled

    Loved the historical details of the world of scents intermingled with mystery. I'm definitely more appreciative and aware of scents and smells that can be created for pleasure and other...

    I also liked how this book got me thinking about reincarnation.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2012

    Highly recommended for anyone interested in fragrances, ancient or modern.

    As someone who was employed in the fragrance industry for many years, I've found this book to be very interesting and intriguing. The concept of ancient fragrances with powers of their own being rediscovered is indeed quite fascinating.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 1, 2012

    An adventure thriller that was a roller coaster that you didn't

    An adventure thriller that was a roller coaster that you didn't want to end. From the beginning, the reader meets Jac L'Etoile who is the daughter of a long line of professional perfumers. She has left the family business and her brother is left trying to continue it on without her "nose."

    At the same time as the reader is trying to figure out where this storyline is going, there is another one running at the same time that centers around Tibet and a political fight they are having with China as they are denied their theory of reincarnation. People are being kidnapped and somehow these two storylines will intersect.

    This book takes the reader on a trip through a few countries and there is quite a load of characters, but I was never lost or confused. The writing was effortless which makes it more than just a piece of fiction.

    I would absolutely recommend this to the readers who love a little challenge to their reading. It took quite awhile for the roads to intersect, but when they did it was magic. This author effortlessly twisted this story into one big masterpiece.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 29, 2012

    The Book of Lost Fragrances continues M J Rose's theme of re-inc

    The Book of Lost Fragrances continues M J Rose's theme of re-incarnation that she did so well in her previous novels; The Reincarnationist, The Memorist & The Hypnotist. In The Book of Lost Fragrances she continues to excel and does not disappoint.
    The novel is the tale of the family of L'Etoile and their quest for the frangrance created for Cleopatra in ancient Egypt that when released can regenerate memories of past lives. Throw in some Chinese spies, the Dalai Lama and the underground maze that is catacombs of Paris and you have a rollicking fun time.
    Rose tosses in just enough history to keep the intrigue moving without bogging it down and make you feel like you are somehow back in high school.
    A fun fast paced novel!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 25, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    This book was an amazing journey from present day NYC to 1800's

    This book was an amazing journey from present day NYC to 1800's Paris to Ancient Egypt and back again. M.J. Rose takes us into the world of reincarnation theory and perfume making spanning continents and millenia. And what a fascinating journey it is!

    I love a book that I can enjoy reading while at the same time learn from and this was one such book...from the history and techniques of perfumary to the evolution of the reincarnation theory to the political unrest in China and Tibet...I learned much more than I expected to and I thoroughly enjoyed the process. I also loved the religious debates the characters had as well as the Joseph Campbell quotes peppered throughout. (I love Campbell!)

    There are many characters, spanning many time periods, in this novel and most are pretty well fleshed out. I can't say that I formed any particularly strong attachments to any...but that didn't in any way hinder my enjoyment of the story. I'd also say hat the story moves at a fairly slow pace...constantly building and constantly kept me turning the page to see what would happen next. The story line did tend to jump around a bit from character to character and from time period to time period which was a little annoying at first but I quickly acclimated to M.J. Rose's technique and it actually ended up helping to increase the tension, mystery, and suspense of the story.

    Lastly, I'll just say that I loved the whole premise behind the idea of creating a fragrance that not only is powerful enough to evoke memories of this life...but can actually bring back memories of previous lives and perhaps even reconnect soul-mates lost over the centuries. We all know how powerful a scent can be...how it can transport us back in time to a place or a feeling...and how for some people with synesthesis it can actually literally evoke other senses. The smooth and effortless way that the author blends fact in with fiction will leave you wondering what is real, what isn't, and what you actually believe...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 22, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    If you know me, you know that my two favorite genres are histori

    If you know me, you know that my two favorite genres are historical fiction and mystery/thrillers, so it was with joy that I was able to score a copy of The Book of Lost Fragrances by authorM.J. Rose. Although Ms. Rose is an established author, this is the first book of hers that I have read, and I must say, it combines the best of both genres. In this book M. J. Rose crafts an engaging story of Jac L'Etoile and her brother Bobbie, who are wrapped in the search for the mysterious lost book of fragarances that is so much a part of their family heritage. In the pursuit of this mystery the author takes us on a journey through time and across continents, bringing it all together is a satisfyingly interesting ending. Highlighting the story of the L'Etoile family of perfumers is a wonderful plethora of characters. In fact, there are so many characters in this book that at time I had to refere back to remind myself who was with whom. Normally this would bother me, but in this case, the characters were so interesting, that it was more of a joy than a problem. In fact, the vast number of interesting characters is one of the things that I most liked about this book. Though the characters came from areas that seemed to have no connection, you just knew they would all connect in the end, and the author did not disappoint in this respect. Add that with the fact that each one had an interesting back story that made them jump off the pages, and you have a wonderful ensemble that kept me turning pages to see where they would all end up. Suffice it to say that I thought this book was a very enjoyable historical mystery. M. J. Rose is a new author for me, but I will be eagerly looking up more of her work. In fact, when I started researching her work further, I found that this book is actually the fourth in a series called the Reincarnationist Series, so I will probably start with the first three books of that series.

    One caveat -- Although this book is part of a series, it read perfectly as a stand alone, and I am usually pretty strict about reading a series in order. The fact that I was able to follow the story line and enjoy this book without benefit of the first three books is a testament to how well written this book is. Kudos to MS. Rose.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 19, 2012

    MJ Rose really knows how to take great characters and a complex

    MJ Rose really knows how to take great characters and a complex plot and tie them together to make an incredible story! I love that fragrances played such a strong part of this story. I know that I personally can sometimes have memories triggered by familiar smells. It makes sense that there could really be a certain fragrance that would allow you to remember your past lives.

    I also love how history is tied into the story. Cleopatra is always an interesting element to add. Also, there is some current world events included in the story. The plight of Tibetans and The Dali Lama is really a very sad one. I liked the elements that added to the story as well. This is one book that I never did guess how things were going to work out.

    There are certain books that you can read and you brain barely needs to participate in the process, this is not one of those books. While I like my share of mindless brain candy, I also love when a book has my mind fully present in the experience. There are a lot of characters to keep track of but thanks to MJ Rose’s writing, I was never confused. There is mystery, suspense and even romance. I really enjoyed it!

    BOTTOM LINE: Lots of great elements combine to make a great story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 19, 2012

    Fascinating Tale

    This was a very interesting book. Not a time travel novel but rather a novel taking place in three different time periods at once with the same characters playing their roles over again in their reincarnated selves. It is written in a fascinating and masterful way and I really wanted more - more meetings in time of the protagonists. At its heart the book is about discovering the secret to reincarnation and learning about past lives so one can learn from the mistakes of the past to move forward mixed with a bit of Chinese/Tibetan politics. Trust me, it works.


    Jac is the daughter of the famous House of L'Etoile, a perfume house that has fallen just about to ruin after years and years of vibrant life. Although she has a very sensitive nose she has not entered into the family business leaving that to her brother. He is far more romantic and more convinced of the family lore of a book of Lost Fragrances that will make them rich. When a tragedy brings her to Paris, Jac starts having flashbacks to revolutionary Paris and even further back in time to the era of Cleopatra. She thinks she is going crazy - she does not realize she is seeing her past.


    It could take me the length of the book itself to explain it so I will stop here hoping I have whetted your appetite for this most enjoyable tale. It's part romance, part thriller, part suspense, part political lesson all tied together with a most interesting tour of the catacombs of Paris. The writing keeps you well involved and turning the pages until you reach the end where you realize you are sorry you are there. The characters are quirky and appropriately good or nastily bad with some quite on the fence between the two. It really was a good all around fun read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 18, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    The Book of Lost Fra­grances by M. J. Rose is fic­tional book in the Rein­car­na­tion­ist series. This is the fourth book in the series, how­ever they are all stand­alone books. An Enter­tain­ing Re

    The Book of Lost Fra­grances by M. J. Rose is fic­tional book in the Rein­car­na­tion­ist series. This is the fourth book in the series, how­ever they are all stand­alone books.

    After her mother’s sui­cide, French woman Jac L’Etoile moves to the United States. Jac , an heir to the famous L’Etoile per­fume com­pany now at the hands of her brother Rob­bie, is haunted by past memories.

    Sud­denly Rob­bie goes miss­ing after hint­ing at her great dis­cov­ery which has some­thing to do with the lost per­fume fac­tory of Cleopa­tra. Jac has to get back into the world she left behind in order to help her brother and save her family’s company.

    I have read the pre­vi­ous three books in M.J. Rose’s Rein­car­na­tion­ist series but I have to say that I enjoyed The Book of Lost Fra­grances the most. While many peo­ple don’t read fic­tion, and I was one of those, I changed my mind with the con­di­tion that I’ll learn “some­thing” from the book. That some­thing could be about his­tory, human con­di­tion, or any­thing else. I espe­cially appre­ci­ate the Author’s Note at the end of such books which tells me what is real and what isn’t. Actu­ally, if there isn’t an Author’s Note I might not even bother read­ing it.

    The Rein­car­na­tion­ist series deals with cer­tain objects which help peo­ple remem­ber past lives. There is a soci­ety for such objects, vil­lains try­ing to get their hands on them and heroes who save the day. But the books also talk about his­tory, cer­tain beliefs about rein­car­na­tion and the cul­tural impli­ca­tions of such beliefs.

    What’s dif­fer­ent about this book is that there is no mysterious/magical object, but cer­tain smell, con­cocted by the ancient Egyp­tians which brings one back vivid mem­o­ries of past lives. For me, smells cer­tainly bring up mem­o­ries prob­a­bly more than any­thing else. Some­times I dream and when I wake up I can actu­ally smell what I dreamt about (a per­fume, flow­ers, the dessert, etc.), so this novel was, to me, more believ­able than the first three.

    The char­ac­ters in this book are writ­ten very well, but much like the other books I didn’t form any spe­cial attach­ment to any of them. The nar­ra­tive builds up slowly, but keeps you turn­ing the pages to find out what hap­pens next. As is in the rest of the series, the sto­ry­telling style is jump­ing from char­ac­ter to char­ac­ter and in time and space.

    While I still haven’t made up my mind about rein­car­na­tion (it sure would be nice to be rein­car­nated but as a per­son that sees the world in 0s and 1s it’s dif­fi­cult to com­pre­hend), I do like the premise of the series and, if any­thing, could cer­tainly believe that a fra­grance would do the trick of res­ur­rect­ing sup­pressed memories.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 17, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    This book takes you to America, Paris, China and Ancient Egypt.

    This book takes you to America, Paris, China and Ancient Egypt. Add a scoop of the supernatural and a handful of mystery and a little bit of romance and you have all the makings of a book that will have you entranced. Once you get into the thick of the book (and it does take a bit to get there so be patient), you won't be able to put it down. The last third of the book found me straining my eyes to read on my Kindle up the dark escalators of the DC metro because I couldn't bear to put the book down quite yet.

    The subject matter itself is fascinating. I didn't realize how important perfume had been to civilizations like the Egyptians. It's so interesting that such a thing is so enduring. I'm a bit of a scent junkie myself so to read about all of the different scents was pretty awesome. Jac L'etoile has an amazing nose in the book. She can smell just about anything. The way that Rose describes what Jac is experiencing throughout the book through scent is sort of a cool, different feature. Scent doesn't usually seem to make its way in to too many books. On the downside (but not really), the book made me sort of wish that it was a scratch and sniff book of some kind so I could experience some of the more amazing smells!

    This is definitely one of those books where you're going to be anxious for all of the different story lines to come together and eventually they do fall together but it takes awhile for Rose to lay everything out and put everything all together. The wait is definitely worth it!!! I've talked about my love of authors being able to keep readers on their toes with anticipation of how all of the story lines are going to come together. I thought I started to figure out what was going on sort of with how things were coming together but Rose still managed to surprise.

    Bottom line: This is a great book for history lovers who like a bit of mystery.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2