Customer Reviews for

The Book of Lost Things

Average Rating 4.5
( 239 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(141)

4 Star

(61)

3 Star

(24)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

15 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

The Book of Lost Things

Take Pan's Labyrinth and remove all the period-piece drama (so, basically the majority of the film), throw in a healthy dose of what The Brothers Grimm (yes, the Matt Damon and Heath Ledger film) COULD have been and you will have a vague concept of this amazing book. Th...
Take Pan's Labyrinth and remove all the period-piece drama (so, basically the majority of the film), throw in a healthy dose of what The Brothers Grimm (yes, the Matt Damon and Heath Ledger film) COULD have been and you will have a vague concept of this amazing book. The most apt description I have heard for the Book of Lost Things so far is that it is a fairytale for grownups. The synopsis on the back gives you the setting, but please don't mistake that for the actual plot of the book. This story is about growing up and about loss. It is touching and creepy. Great characters, phenomenal prose and some excellent twists make The Book of Lost things as captivating a book as any reader can hope for.

posted by Janus on January 2, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

A reviewer

I finally finished this novel, after reading on, despite many thoughts of abandoning the book in mid-stream,to see what great truths the author is trying to reveal about life and death. There are none. I was quite disappointed to see that the story led nowhere. The b...
I finally finished this novel, after reading on, despite many thoughts of abandoning the book in mid-stream,to see what great truths the author is trying to reveal about life and death. There are none. I was quite disappointed to see that the story led nowhere. The book is a poor attempt at piecing together a few fairy tales, and despite a feeble attempt at creating some kind of a plot, there is no rhyme or reason to the story. I will try another book by this author, however, will not plod through the entire book if it appears to go along the same path of boredom as this one did.

posted by Anonymous on April 5, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 61 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted September 11, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Great Book!

    I really liked this book. It's a fantasy similar to The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe, however. The young boy in the story loses his mother and he escapes into an alternate universe where he learns to cope with his loss, change and begins to grow up.

    Really liked this book, and will be reading other titles by this author!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 25, 2010

    Clever

    At first I thought it'd be really silly, but it came together on a much deeper level. Also deeply entertaining! Clever storyline!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 7, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Fairy tales with a twist

    part Pan's Labyrinth, part Narnia. A fascinating melding and reinterpritation of classic fairy tales and fables.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2008

    You're never too old for fairytales

    this book does an amazing job in transforming children's fairy tales into adult tales. The author does an outstanding job being descriptive through out the whole story. The only complaint I have though, is that the characters in the story 'aside from the main character' don't have too much of a personality to them and seem rather dull. The main character, David, matures through the story and is the type of character you can't help but love. The other characters in the story, however, are just....meh, but there are some characters with some spunk to them. Anyway, the story is good, the moral is good, awesome plot twisters, and the ending is one of the best endings I've read in a long time.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2014

    As an avid lover of Fairy Tales especially Fairy Tales for adult

    As an avid lover of Fairy Tales especially Fairy Tales for adults this book was a great read. I am not a great reviewer of books but this one was well worth the reading time. I was not particularly surprised by any of it but I was delighted by almost all of it. His perspective of a young boy's need to grow up a bit too quickly is right on the money. I loved this book. I think the strangest thing is how this book lead me to the Bitterbynde trilogy and the progression seems almost perfect.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2014

    Unexpected like

    Wasn't sure about this book until I gave it a chance and kept reading past the part where David's mom passes. I think it was the fairy tale references that kept me going. The tales reminded me of dreams where reality is twisted and anything goes.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 27, 2013

    I really liked this book, except for a few things here and their

    I really liked this book, except for a few things here and their. But I have found over the years snce I read it that t has really stuck with me. I guess that is the mark of a very good book. It is quite violent and it is also very funny in places. If you like his style and the humor in the book, try reading John Connolly's "The Gates" and "The Infernals"--absolutely laugh out loud funny.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2013

    Fairy tale fantasy with a dark side

    Great book. Could not put it down . Very creative and imaginative, but has it's sick & twisted moments. Themes of jealousy, revenge, and child abduction but with familiar figures (The Woodsman) , knights in shining armor and scary beasts. The Childcatcher came to mind......

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2013

    Pleasantly surprised

    Quick review, was nice to lose myself in this book.... Was a quick read and when you let yourself go and let your imagination take over really leads you into another world....

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2012

    Excellent read.......

    A rich story, reminiscent of Dark Tower and Pans Labrynth. Very enjoyable.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 15, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Captivating

    Don't bother if you hate fairy tales.
    If you happen to love them, then read it.
    It's fantastic, and yet Connolly is ever so real. He intricately meshes several well-loved fairy tales together in a compelling story that reaches deeper than ink. It might be grotesque to some; but that is only because it is true. No story is perfect. But, as far as this book goes, its author has done a pretty excellent job.
    If you love a good, old-fashioned story, then get ready to fall down the rabbit hole, or however the saying goes. Because you've never seen a story quite like this.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2008

    A wonderful story

    If you enjoy slightly dark faerie tales' think grimms, but not so bloody' you'll enjoy this novel.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2007

    So much fun to Read!

    I loved it. It's a quick read, but not watered-down it's both enchanting and grisly. Comparable to the film THE BROTHERS GRIMM with a much better plot. Reminiscent in tone to the film PAN'S LABYRINTH.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2007

    Wonderful

    This book was meant to be a fantasy: One that bloomed from a young boys mind. The story is his passage of healing and coping with his new life. I enjoyed the book and I thought the little twists on the fairy tales I loved so much as a child were an interesting way to expain life in this world beyond the tree.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 61 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4