Customer Reviews for

The Book of Lost Things

Average Rating 4.5
( 238 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(140)

4 Star

(61)

3 Star

(24)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

15 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

The Book of Lost Things

Take Pan's Labyrinth and remove all the period-piece drama (so, basically the majority of the film), throw in a healthy dose of what The Brothers Grimm (yes, the Matt Damon and Heath Ledger film) COULD have been and you will have a vague concept of this amazing book. Th...
Take Pan's Labyrinth and remove all the period-piece drama (so, basically the majority of the film), throw in a healthy dose of what The Brothers Grimm (yes, the Matt Damon and Heath Ledger film) COULD have been and you will have a vague concept of this amazing book. The most apt description I have heard for the Book of Lost Things so far is that it is a fairytale for grownups. The synopsis on the back gives you the setting, but please don't mistake that for the actual plot of the book. This story is about growing up and about loss. It is touching and creepy. Great characters, phenomenal prose and some excellent twists make The Book of Lost things as captivating a book as any reader can hope for.

posted by Janus on January 2, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

A reviewer

I finally finished this novel, after reading on, despite many thoughts of abandoning the book in mid-stream,to see what great truths the author is trying to reveal about life and death. There are none. I was quite disappointed to see that the story led nowhere. The b...
I finally finished this novel, after reading on, despite many thoughts of abandoning the book in mid-stream,to see what great truths the author is trying to reveal about life and death. There are none. I was quite disappointed to see that the story led nowhere. The book is a poor attempt at piecing together a few fairy tales, and despite a feeble attempt at creating some kind of a plot, there is no rhyme or reason to the story. I will try another book by this author, however, will not plod through the entire book if it appears to go along the same path of boredom as this one did.

posted by Anonymous on April 5, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 140 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7
  • Posted January 2, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    The Book of Lost Things

    Take Pan's Labyrinth and remove all the period-piece drama (so, basically the majority of the film), throw in a healthy dose of what The Brothers Grimm (yes, the Matt Damon and Heath Ledger film) COULD have been and you will have a vague concept of this amazing book. The most apt description I have heard for the Book of Lost Things so far is that it is a fairytale for grownups. The synopsis on the back gives you the setting, but please don't mistake that for the actual plot of the book. This story is about growing up and about loss. It is touching and creepy. Great characters, phenomenal prose and some excellent twists make The Book of Lost things as captivating a book as any reader can hope for.

    15 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2009

    The Book of Lost Things

    I am an avid reader of varied fiction and non-fiction and I have to say that the Book of Lost Things is one of the best books that I have read in a long time. The author takes classic Grimm fairytales and turns them around to give the reader a new view of what they were brought up being told as a child. The fairytales also help to advance the well-thought out plotline and give credence to many of the main characters decisions. Although the book is based in fairy tales I would not reccomend it for children under the age of at least fifteen due to very graphic scenes and sexual allusions. However, the book is phenomenal if read by the right age group and provides a unique perceptive on well-told tales. This is a book I will read over and over again.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 3, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Wonderful Read

    If you ever loved fairy tales this is a book for you. It reminded me of all the reasons that I love to read in the first place.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 20, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A Must Read!

    After putting down and letting it sink in for a second, I cried. It was full of adventure and character growth. With every twist and turn the book took me down I would try and guess how it would work out of our little David, but every time it would surprise me. Nothing is as it seems. The fairy tales have a wonderful twist as if you're reading them for the first time. This is an amazing book and would have everyone I know read it.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2012

    Great read!!

    Got this book from the library and loved it so much I had to buy a copy for myself! I would recommend it to anyone high school aged and older since it has some dark parts that may not be acceptable for young children. Otherwise, my new favorite book!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 11, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    SO GOOD!

    This is exactly the type of book I love!!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2012

    Great Book!

    You should read this book, it has action gallore and a deep meaning. The very few bad reviews must be written by people with no taste in good writing and cant read at a high school level. Seriously, get it.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2010

    Wow!

    Awesome book! Takes existing fairytales and adds some darkness to them! Along with a great story! If you like fantasy this is a must read for you!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2009

    Awesome!

    Such a great book! Connolly really puts a dark twist to all the classic fairy tales!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2014

    LoveLovedLoved

    !!!!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2013

    One of my favorites

    I have read this book a half dozen times. I will read it again. It is as powerful as a name given to the Crooked Man. I love the fairy tale elements.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2013

    This book quickly became one of my favorites, and I do not judge

    This book quickly became one of my favorites, and I do not judge lightly. The prose is beautiful, the craft is outstanding, and the story is memorable and poignant.




    The book follows a young man, David, after is life is turned on its head by the loss of his mother, WWII and he father's new marriage. It focuses on loss in various forms, but most importantly the loss of the selfish peace that is inherent in childhood. As he is forced to cope with the difficult and unwanted changes in his world, the stories of his youth begin to change also. He is drawn into world of fairytales, which has become twisted and dark, as they are mixed with his own impressions of an adult reality. Soon, David is torn by the real-world responsibilities he is forced to take on throughout his journey, and the venal fantasy-land that is temping him to abandon reality altogether.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 17, 2013

    Excellent story! It is both thrilling and beautiful.

    Excellent story! It is both thrilling and beautiful.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2013

    Perfect!

    I loved this book. I loved the darkness and the weirdness and everything about it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2013

    Greatest book ever

    Best book. Must have. Love the way u ise differnt storries. Keep it up. Sequal?????????? Bes book ever

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2013

    This was an excellent book. Highly recommend.

    This was an excellent book. Highly recommend.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2012

    Amazing

    Such a great book, couldn't put it down.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 6, 2012

    A great book to read if you love adventure and a good imaginatio

    A great book to read if you love adventure and a good imagination!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2012

    Fantastic!!

    This book was phenomenal! It was exactly what I have been searching for, and is my favorite book by far. It's Pan's Labyrinth combined with every fairytale you've ever heard and more. In another way it reminded me of Army of Darkness, with it's adventurous fairytale plot. It does have a hidden meaning (growing up) but it's not thrown at you and rubbed in your face, like other books. Overall I couldn't get enough of it, and even now I am looking for another book to read that's just like it! I absolutely recommend this book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2012

    So Creative!

    It was strange and had ideas i had never even thought of. It was a really good book and i recommend it to anyone!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 140 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7