BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Book of Mormon

Average Rating 3.5
( 159 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(84)

4 Star

(20)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(36)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

26 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

Wow

Ok, well. I myself am not of the Mormon religion, but a girl I am courting is. And I did go out to a school in Utah which was run by Mormons. Let me start off by saying, they do get a bad rap.

The generalization of Mormon being a cult is repulsive to me. And I was ig...
Ok, well. I myself am not of the Mormon religion, but a girl I am courting is. And I did go out to a school in Utah which was run by Mormons. Let me start off by saying, they do get a bad rap.

The generalization of Mormon being a cult is repulsive to me. And I was ignorent to the religion myself at one point, but being the type of person who tries to better understand things he does not understand, and not continuing my ignorence, I picked up a copy of The Book Of Mormon.

Although I have not read through all of it, what I did read was enough to allow me more incite into the religion. It is a very true religion. Based of the same basic principals as any religion. Sure, there are some differences, but then again, so does every other religion.

Being a child brought up in a house with no strong hold on any religion, I have always been the type to look for enlightenment in any place that I can find it, and thus far, I have found alot within the Mormon religion.

So, instead of bashing something because you simply don't know anything about it, or because you don't like something that is different than what you expect, stop, go to your library, and read the book. Understanding the religion is alot more productive than going against what is different.

posted by Kick21 on April 19, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

14 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

great book, terrible nook interface

Let me start off by saying that I LOVE THE BOOK OF MORMON! My rating is not about the book! My rating is about the navigation in the Nook. For this edition of the Book of Mormon, there are no chapters under "go to chapter". Therefore, the only way to move around in th...
Let me start off by saying that I LOVE THE BOOK OF MORMON! My rating is not about the book! My rating is about the navigation in the Nook. For this edition of the Book of Mormon, there are no chapters under "go to chapter". Therefore, the only way to move around in the book is to page forward page by page. This is fine if you are planning to read it from front to back. Unfortunately, I want to be able to skip around in this book, so I will be looking for a different copy. There are many editions available, I'm hoping to find the right one, but don't waste your money on this one!

posted by Kiminminn on May 24, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 160 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8
  • Posted April 19, 2010

    Wow

    Ok, well. I myself am not of the Mormon religion, but a girl I am courting is. And I did go out to a school in Utah which was run by Mormons. Let me start off by saying, they do get a bad rap.

    The generalization of Mormon being a cult is repulsive to me. And I was ignorent to the religion myself at one point, but being the type of person who tries to better understand things he does not understand, and not continuing my ignorence, I picked up a copy of The Book Of Mormon.

    Although I have not read through all of it, what I did read was enough to allow me more incite into the religion. It is a very true religion. Based of the same basic principals as any religion. Sure, there are some differences, but then again, so does every other religion.

    Being a child brought up in a house with no strong hold on any religion, I have always been the type to look for enlightenment in any place that I can find it, and thus far, I have found alot within the Mormon religion.

    So, instead of bashing something because you simply don't know anything about it, or because you don't like something that is different than what you expect, stop, go to your library, and read the book. Understanding the religion is alot more productive than going against what is different.

    26 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 24, 2010

    great book, terrible nook interface

    Let me start off by saying that I LOVE THE BOOK OF MORMON! My rating is not about the book! My rating is about the navigation in the Nook. For this edition of the Book of Mormon, there are no chapters under "go to chapter". Therefore, the only way to move around in the book is to page forward page by page. This is fine if you are planning to read it from front to back. Unfortunately, I want to be able to skip around in this book, so I will be looking for a different copy. There are many editions available, I'm hoping to find the right one, but don't waste your money on this one!

    14 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 25, 2011

    Hahaaha

    It says it was written by Joseph Smith.....technically it wasnt...it was written by prophets of the Lord and translated by Joseph nice try, Nook, nice try.

    6 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2012

    Racist. Misogynistic. Disgusting. Brainwashing at its worst.

    Growing up my family was Mormon. Suddenly when I was 10-yo Grandpa announced we were never going back. I don't know what happened, but I am eternally grateful, or too might have been sucked into this disgusting cult.

    DO NOT BUY THIS BOOK. DO NOT ACCEPT A FREE COPY. DO NOT GIVE LDS HOUNDS YOUR NAME OR YOUR ADDRESS.

    This book is nothing but a sick fantasy from a perverted, sex-obsessed con-man. This nonsense has no place in modern society.

    4 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 3, 2011

    Digital Quality is Poor

    This is a digital download, not a scan. There are too many typo's. It is not accurate at all and isn't correct. It may be free, but not at all worth your time to download.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 26, 2010

    The text was jumbled.

    This is a copy from Cornell University's library that was converted to ebook, but in the conversion much of the text is jumbled and illegible. You'd be better off trying a different version.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 8, 2011

    Don't Buy

    This version has misspelled words, and strange notes at the end of chapters. Do yourself a favor and download a version from a reputable LDS site.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2013

    Nice.

    Cool cool cool cool cool cool cool cool cool cool cool cool.It is cool. Not gross.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2012

    Book of Mormon to a 12 year old girl

    Just started going 2 young women and love it by the way!!!!!!!! Anyway the book of mormon to me is an amazing tru story packed to the brim with adventure, saddnesa and more. This book changed my life forever

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    Very inspiring

    The book of mormon is a record that is very true. I encourage everyone to read it even though it has typos.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2014

    EVERYONE!!!

    Mormons ARE christian!! Christian means 'believer in christ!' The three kindoms are the three placess you go afyer you die! And hell is outer darkness! Mormon os just a nickname some one called us millions of years ago! We are christian! We belive in christ! We also believe that there is much more to christs storie than just the bible, and moroni burried the rest of christs storie so the bad guys wouldnt destroy it! Then, Joseph Smith found them and wrote them on paper with Gods help! If you love christ so much, why wont you WANT to know more about him!? Dont you wish you kne more sometimes? Joseph Smith just wrote the rest of his storie in English for us!! He wote the book of mormon for EVERYONE who had an open mind to reading it! In the beginign, very begining, of the book of mormon, it says- The Book Of Mormon, Another Testiment of Jesus Christ- and if you read the king james version of the bible, that is the LDS version too! Now, o kniw some of you might not have read this whole thing, but if you did and STILL critisize us, you really dont care about anyone but yourself and your own problems between you and god! And converting people to the church isng really our decision, its the persons decision if they believe our words! We all have our own mid to decide, at least get your facts strait!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2014

    I am a mormon

    If you dont apriciate us just leave us alone

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2014

    Hey guys

    This is amazein

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2014

    Mormons suck brigham youngs dick

    If they wear the br@ over the underwear

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2014

    Honestly...

    I am extremely happy to be a mormon. I know it. I live it. I love it. And I am proud of all of you. Everyone on this Earth. I am proud because in Heaven you made that choice to follow Heavenly Father. I love everyone so much and you are my family. I just hope that you can be saved. It makes me sad beyond measure that all of you cannot make it. That not all of you can live in any of the three kingdoms after death. And I ask of you, just remember you are a child of God and he loves you beyond compare. You are royalty. Son or daughter of a king. At all times. You have infinite worth and endless potential and you can make a difference in this world. And you don't have to faithlessly believe me either. You can pray. If you pray with an open heart and mind then I know you will get an answer. You will get a response. If you do these things. I promise. And one thing about the book of mormon, how could anyone possibly make that up? That's like 400 years of life and generations, each having countless teatimonies and histories to tell.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2014

    To all!!! Part two. (Read part 1 1st)

    Continued from my last one)<p>
    Number Six states that the Church of Jesus Christ of Latterday Saints has the same organization as the church that Jesus Christ created when he was on the earth.<p>
    Number Seven states that we believe in the gift of tongues, prophecy, revelation, visions, healing, interpretation of tongues, and so forth.<p>
    Number Eight states that we believe the Bible to be true, if it is translated correctly(the King James' version), and the Book of Mormon to be true.<p>
    Number Nine states that we believe all the things God has revealed, is revealing, and that he will reveal many great and important things about His Kingdom.<p>
    Number Ten states that Zion will be the New Jerusalem and will be created on North America when Christ comes to earth and restores it to its former glory.<p>
    Number Eleven states that we have the privelege to worship how, where and what we want, and that we allow others to worship how, where, and what they want.<p>
    Number Twelve states that we follow the law.<p>
    There is something different about Article of Faith Thirteen. It requires a different type of explanation. To aid in this explanation, l will type it again.<p>
    13. We believe in being honest, true, chaste, benevolent, virtuous, and in doing good to all men; indeed, we may say we follow the admonition of Paul--We believe all things, we hope all things, we have endured many things, and we hope to endure all things. If there is anything virtuous, lovely, of good report or praiseworthy, we seek after these things.<p>
    Say this aloud to yourself slowly. We believe in being honest(are you being honest in all your dealings with your fellow men?), true(are you being true to yourself?), chaste(are you keeping yourself se<_>.xually clean for your future spouse?[there. I said it. Se<_>.x. I'm a Mormon, and l said it.]), benevolent(are you being kind and helpful to those around you?), virtuous(are you filling your life with moral goodness?), and in doing good to all men(are you serving and helping everybody? Even your enemies?); indeed, we may say we follow the admonition of Paul(and we do!)--We believe all things(this is theoretical, not that we believe in the Greek Gods), we hope all things(all things that are good), we have endred many things, and we hope to endure all things(good or bad). If there is anything virtuous, lovely, of good report, or praiseworthy, we seek after these things.<p>
    Consider the questions. Are you doing these things?<p>
    Our young women have a motto:<p>
    WE ARE DAUGHTERS of our Heavenly Father, who loves us, and we love Him. WE WILL "STAND as witnesses of God at all times and in all things, and in all places" (Mosiah 18:9) as we strive to live the young women values, which are: FAITH • DIVINE NATURE • INDIVIDUAL WORTH • KNOWLEDGE • CHOICE AND ACCOUNTABILITY • GOOD WORKS • INTEGRITY • and VIRTUE. WE BELIEVE as we come to accept and act on these values, WE WILL BE PREPARED to strengthen home and family, make and keep sacred covenants, receive the ordinances of the temple, and enjoy the blessings of exaltation.<p>
    By keeping this promise, our young women have made a beautiful commitment. <p>
    I'm a Mormon. I know it. I live it. I love it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2014

    To all!!! Part one.

    This is what The Church of Jesus Christ of Latterday Saints believes:<p>
    1. We believe in God, the eternal Father, and in his son, Jesus Christ, and in the Holy Ghost.<p>
    2. We believe that men must be punished for their own sins, and not for Adam's transgressions.<p>
    3. We believe that through the Atonement of Christ, all mankind may be saved, by obedience to the laws and ordinances of the gospel.<p>
    4. We believe that the first principles and ordinances of the gospel are: first, faith in the Lord, Jesus Christ; second, repentance; third, baptism by immersion for the remission of sins; fourth, Laying on of hands for the gift of the Holy Ghost.<p>
    5. We believe that a man must be called of God, by prophecy, and by the laying on of hands by those who are in authority, to preach the gospel and administer in the ordinances thereof.<p>
    6. We believe in the same organizaton that existed in the Primitive Church, namely, apostles, prophets, pastors, teachers, evangelists, and so forth.<p>
    7. We believe in he gift of tongues, prophecy, revelation, visions, healing, interpretation of tongues, and so forth. <p>
    8. We believe the Bible to be the Word of God, as long as it is translated correctly; we also believe the Book of Mormon ti be the Word of God.<p>
    9. We believe all that God has revealed, all that he does now reveal, and we believe that He will yet reveal many great and important things pertaining to the Kingdom of God.<p>
    10. We believe in the literal gathering of lsrael and in the restoration of the Ten tribes; that Zion (the New Jerusalem) will be built upon the American continent; that Christ will reign personally upon the earth; and, that the earth will be renewed and receive it's paradisiacal glory.<p>
    11. We claim the privelege of worshipping Almighty God according to the dictates of our own consious, and allow all men the same privelege, let them worship how, where, or what they may.<p>
    12. We believe in being subject to kings, presidents, rulers, and magistrates, in obeying, honoring and sustaining the law.<p>
    13. We believe in being honest, true, chaste, benevolent, virtuous, and in doing good to all men. Indeed we may say we follow the admonition of Paul. We believe all things, we hope all things, and we have endured many things, and hope to endure all things. If there is anything virtuous, lovely, of good report or praiseworthy, we seek after these things.<p>
    Let me walk you through these Articles of Faith.<p>
    Number One states that we believe in God, the eternal FATHER (that means that we are all His children), and in His SON(that means that Jesus is not the same being as Heavenly Father), Jesus Christ, and in the HOLY GHOST (that states that there ar three separate beings in the Godhead).<p>
    Number Two states that we WILL not be held accountable for another's sins and transgressions, for we will not be accountable for Adam's transgressions.<p>
    Number Three state that we CAN be saved from our sins through the Atonement of Christ, but only if we follow the ordiances of the gospel.<p>
    Number Four states the first principles and ordinances of the gospel. You cannot be baptised without repenting and having faith in the Lord Jesus Christ.<p>
    Number Five states that you cannot have a calling without having been called of God and you must have the laying on of hands by those who are in authority to fulfill your calling.<p>
    I will continue this in another post.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2014

    My belief

    To below its ok if those are your beliefs... but these are ours and we will always thrive and spread the gospel.-Darb

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2014

    Something I need to point out

    Members of the church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints do not stop reading the Holy Bible since they have the Book of Mormon. The Book of Mormon is another testament of Christ not a replacement for the Bible. I am LDS and every night I read a chapter of the new testament. I know that Christ lives and that he suffered and died for me. In the name of Jesus Christ Amen.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2014

    WARNING TO ALL WHO SEEK THE TRUTH!!!!

    Joseph Smith was a charlatan. This book is most certainly not a continuation of the ministry of Our Lord. This book contradicts itself over a score of times. Where are your mighty towers, your fortified cities, that are described herein? And, if the "seer stones" and the enchanted bowler hat were for real, ( which is dubious) that's what the Bible calls WITCHCRAFT,folks! And, if Smith was truly God's chosen, why was he struck down by a common man's bullet? So much for the magic underwear.;) IOXE

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 160 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8