BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Book of Three (Chronicles of Prydain Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 127 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(95)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Awesome

At first I wasn't even going to read this book, but I was persuaded otherwise. And now I'm glad I was! It was great from the first sentence to the end. Anyone who likes adventure should read this.

posted by Anonymous on September 26, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Is this a short story?

I find it hard to believe that this book is the great novel that everyone makes it out to be. I read it in one sitting, and could only think to myself when I was finished that a majority of this book was missing... There is almost little to no detail about anything, and...
I find it hard to believe that this book is the great novel that everyone makes it out to be. I read it in one sitting, and could only think to myself when I was finished that a majority of this book was missing... There is almost little to no detail about anything, and if there is it seems totally irrelevant to the story. Lots of people compare this series of books to Narnia or LOTR, but I really can't see the connection. I guess I expected more from what most of the reviews out there said about this. Maybe if I read the other four books it will actually feel like a whole story?

posted by danBOOKe on December 23, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 127 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2008

    Awesome

    At first I wasn't even going to read this book, but I was persuaded otherwise. And now I'm glad I was! It was great from the first sentence to the end. Anyone who likes adventure should read this.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2006

    Put down 'Harry Potter' and pick up 'Prydain'!

    An assistant pig-keeper? Where is the adventure in that? This may be a question running through your head as you read the summary on the back of 'The Book of Three,' but you'd be surprised to learn that the assistant pig-keeper himself agrees with you and doesn't stay so for long. Taran, a truly unique youth, has the heart of 20 grown men and the height of half of one, but that matters little when this pig-keeper sets out on the adventure of a life time. Funny, heart warming, and original, this book would make ANY 'Harry Potter' fan put down 'Half-Blood Prince' and pick up 'The Chronicles of Prydain' series.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2012

    Favorite Middle School Book

    This was my favorite middle school book as a child, and I still do love it. I taught it this year to my 7th graders, who enjoyed it as well. It's great for studying dynamic characterization.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 23, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Is this a short story?

    I find it hard to believe that this book is the great novel that everyone makes it out to be. I read it in one sitting, and could only think to myself when I was finished that a majority of this book was missing... There is almost little to no detail about anything, and if there is it seems totally irrelevant to the story. Lots of people compare this series of books to Narnia or LOTR, but I really can't see the connection. I guess I expected more from what most of the reviews out there said about this. Maybe if I read the other four books it will actually feel like a whole story?

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 13, 2012

    I first read this book in 2010, since then I have loved this and

    I first read this book in 2010, since then I have loved this and the rest of Lloyd Alexander's novels. The Book of Three is one of the rare books dealing with Celtic (Welsh) myths. This book and its accompanying four novels deserve to stand alongside Narnia and Harry Potter.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2006

    amazing book!!

    This book i read in 5th grade and i loved it! i read it again and again! it was such a breath taking adventure through so many different places. the characters were amazing and lovable. i loved the entire book, not a sour moment whatsoever. Read this book! you won't regret it!!! =D

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2000

    Only for people who like fantasy!

    Where as I didn't like it, others have. It is a story of fantasy and ficton. I did not care for it. We had to read it in school. If you like dragons and knights in shinning armor, go for it!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2013

    By Alex 11/17/13

    This book is awsome!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 29, 2013

    This is the first book of the Prydain Chronicles, which follows

    This is the first book of the Prydain Chronicles, which follows an orphan boy named Taran and his journey to not only find out about his parentage but fight the forces of evil which plague the world around him. While the main storyline revolves around Taran and his band of friends fighting evil, the books also focus on the nature of friendships, of love, and sacrifice. Very thought provoking books, and they are still a joy to read even thirty plus years after I put them down the first time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 11, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    *The Chronicles of Prydain* is a five-book high fantasy series b

    *The Chronicles of Prydain* is a five-book high fantasy series by Lloyd Alexander. Since it's initial release, it has become a classic of children's literature. As it is well-loved by some of my friends, I decided to start reading it, beginning, of course, with the first novel, *The Book of Three*.

    The story opens with a young man named Taran, who is an Assistant Pig-Keeper at Caer Dallben, in the fictional world of Prydain. Young Taran thirsts for adventure, and he may regret it. One day, literally out of the blue, the “oracular pig” Hen-Wen (who prophesies and gives information that she knows) digs a hole and escapes her enclosure. She is trying to escape the bad guys who want to kill her before she can be used against them. And there are bad guys, as we shall soon see. Hen-Wen escapes, so the boy goes after her.

    He comes across an army led by the fearsome Horned King. This evil and powerful warrior is the chief military commander of the forces of Annuvin, the realm governed by Arawn, an evil god based upon the god of death from Welsh mythology. Please note that much of the series is very loosely based on Welsh myths and epics.

    Anyways, Taran is injured fleeing these forces, and is discovered by Gwydion, Prince of Prydain, heir to the house of Don, whose ancestors originally defeated Arawn. He seeks to warn his house at Caer Dathyl of the coming invasion. Taran ends up having to join Gwydion on his quest, but soon must take the quest upon himself when Gwydion appears to have perished.

    Our young hero is joined on this journey by Princess Eilonwy, who can perform magic and is knowledgeable about many things, but is a snobbish motor-mouth; the bard Fflewddur Fflam, a one-time king who decided to become a bard instead; and Gurgi, a cowardly and strange half-man/half-beast creature who improves after Taran treats him with kindness and respect.

    Their quest is one of danger and a mix of really bad and really good choices on Taran's part. In the end, though Taran feels everyone else did well but him, the other characters disagree. He lead the quest ably, kept everyone together, and did the right thing in a hard time. He did well, in other words.

    The only real criticism I have of this tale was in the pacing. It takes a bit for the story to get exciting. The early pages are a tad boring, and only at the point where they are captured by Achren does the tale become the exciting adventure that will hold the reader's attention. To be fair, that is the only real critique I can say about the story. Yes, Taran is a little bit featureless compared to other characters, but that is because he is the audience surrogate. I understand we learn more about him as the series goes on, but this early, he is left somewhat vague.

    As a character, Eilonwy fascinates me. I am only half-joking when I say that the Japanese must be fans of Lloyd Alexander, as the "tsundere" character archetype that is so popular in Japanese anime and manga is perfectly encapsulated by Eilonwy. Go ahead, look up the the term, then read the book, and tell me I'm wrong. What makes this fascinating instead of annoying is that Alexander kept her likable, instead of irritating. Many authors can not do that, even in Japan where the concept and term are a part of popular culture.

    *The Book of Three* is an excellent adventure that will keep you engaged and cheering for the good guys, as well as groaning and laughing at their faults. It was well-worth my time to read.

    Highly Recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2013

    Excellent fantasy series

    I first read this book way back in sixth grade as an assignment. At the time, I had never read fantasy, and really had no urge to do so. But I gave the book a chance because I loved my teacher. I'm so glad I did- this series has remained one of my favorites.

    The Book of Three introduces us to the young Taran, who is itching to be a hero. Through a series of setbacks and errors, he gathers a little band of misfits- Eilonwy, Gurgi and Fflewddur Fflam. It sets the stage for the rest of the series while remaining a good stand alone book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2013

    A totally great book adventure

    Read this.Thought it was AMAZING! Very thrilling and amazing. I would highly recomend this for anybody who loves thrilling adventure. This book is full of strange, funny and scary charactors. THIS BOOK IS A MUST READ?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2013

    Great book

    Loooove the whole series. Lloyd Alexander is.... THE HIGH KING OF FANTASY!!!!!
    P.S read Westmark trilogy more mature but so awsome


    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2013

    A great book, but it wouldnt ooen.

    I have read these books, and wished to read them again. When I went to read them, all I saw was a blank white page that would not turn.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2013

    Great book

    I loved it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2013

    good

    good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2013

    TIME CAT

    WE NEED TIME CAT

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2013

    Not loving it

    L tbsfhhjtffvbbh sszxcfffeex dcvvvv b

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2012

    Great

    I really liked this book. l am really exited to read more about Prydain







    M

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2012

    Dull nd dumb

    It is

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 127 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7