Customer Reviews for

Book of Vice: Very Naughty Things (and How to Do Them)

Average Rating 3.5
( 11 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(4)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 11 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2010

    Vice is nice

    Sit back in your easy chair and prepare to follow Peter Sagal as he and his wife explore the spice of vice. Sagal's unique perspective, insightful vision and keen wit make this a delightful read. Loosen your Puritanical side and enjoy the journey.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Funny but realistic look at the life you think you want

    The book was funny and insightful. It basically goes through a laundry list of things you'd like to do, only to show the reality behind it and why a little is enough.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 8, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Surprisingly wholesome, considering the subject matter

    I was introduced to this book by my partner Mike and, while I didn't love it as much as he did, it is pretty cute. The author is an NPR host (and he writes like one...he's very academic and square, but in a nice way) who has decided to see how "the other half" lives, if the other half is comprised of sex addicts, gluttons and gamblers. He visits sex clubs, swingers clubs, high stakes casinos, ultra gourmet restaurants, usually with his wife in tow (including to the sex clubs). The result is an oddly quaint account of the world of naughtiness in which Sagal and his wife come off less as prudes and more as just very nice people who have no idea how they came to find themselves being propositioned by swingers or asked to sample food made entirely out of flavoured air. The conclusion is equally sweet, that all of us are really just looking for the same thing: a happy life. But for most of us, Sagal concludes, it's perfectly okay if our quest for happiness involves more movies on the couch with a loved one than kinky wife-swapping leather clubs.

    For more reviews, please visit my blog, CozyLittleBookJournal.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2009

    It failed to deliver

    With that title, you would expect a book about vice, and doing naughty things, right? Well it turns out, not really. It is by a guy from NPR, who decided to write a book on vice. He first defines vice, then says he's going to go into more depth on certain types of it.

    The problem is, he has a supercilious attitude throughout the whole book, and doesn't actually explore vice. He picks them one at a time, then tells a lame anecdote about it. For example, he talks about sex clubs. He went to two, stood around, and talks about it. He did not participate, and pretty much slyly makes fun of anyone who is there except for him.

    There is a chapter on gluttony/eating - except all he does is go to a very fancy restaurant($300 a plate or something) makes some wry comments, and essentially says he didn't like it. How is that a vice? How does it demonstrate anything, except that sometimes the rich may go overboard?

    A chapter on strip clubs - and all throughout it feels like A) he is a judgmental jerk who thinks he is better than anyone else there, or B) he would totally be one of those creepy dudes at the strip club, if he hadn't gotten married.

    The chapter on gambling is all - "Oh, how could anyone ever waste money at a casino? I wouldn't do that, so obviously it is a stupid thing to do".

    I cannot adequately express how this book failed to live up to its promise. It pisses me off that I wasted $15 on this, when I would have gotten more fun wasting that money on actual vice instead.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 15, 2008

    Tries to be witty but...

    The outward package of the book was compelling enough to buy it, and it seemed like it would be an interesting outtake on vice from the early pages. Unfortunately, I would never recommend this book, and I will try to return it as soon as possible. Mr. Sagal's writing style is hard to follow; he tries to come up with witty prose as he blabbers pointlessly in excruciating detail. To no one's surprise (this guy is the host of an NPR show), some of the substance has a tinge of the political left criticizing the political right (he uses many of the same examples of conservatives to make no points). Overall, I am extremely disappointed with the purchase.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    A reviewer

    NPR radio host Peter Sagal provides an amusing look at the behavior of people when they indulge in vice vs. virtue. He makes a point that vice is not sin, but actually socially accepted as long as one follows the military practice of don¿t tell. For instance the porn industry rakes in billions, but has no customers (try surveying their tastes with a questionnaire). Gambling is illegal in much of the country, but how much is bet on Superbowls and World Series. Whether it is Chicago, San Francisco or New York, Mr. Sagal insists vice is the perfect supply and demand model that should be used to explain economics as the demand goes up the supply increases, etc.------------------ Well written and irreverent yet relevant with Congressmen finding their supply of vice in workhouses and bathrooms while pushing virtue legislation on the rest of us hedonistic pleasure seekers, readers will appreciate this witty look at vice. Although some of the anecdotal seem padded with reiteration (for instance Mr. Bennett¿s gambling vice vs. his family values virtue goes on and on and on) this is a fun look at America¿s pleasure domes with the people the author interviews coming across as you and me.------------ Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 11 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1