Customer Reviews for

The Book of the Dead (Special Agent Pendergast Series #7)

Average Rating 4
( 160 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(90)

4 Star

(34)

3 Star

(20)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

My First Pendergast Novel

I found this book before knowing about all the other Pendergast novels but it's safe to say this one got me hooked! I love the character and the pace of this book, truly thrilling to read.

posted by Anonymous on August 20, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

'Dead' indeed

This was just awful. The characters, the writing, the plot. All of it was a joke. Really bad stuff. Stick to the better known names in this genre.

posted by Anonymous on January 5, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 207 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 11
  • Posted October 25, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    GREAT BOOK!

    Loved this book. Although it doesn't have to be read in sequence---this is the first Pendergrast novel I have read, it does have references to prior events and would probably be even better read it sequence. Characters are odd enough to hold your attention, plot with the Egyptian tomb was really good. It had enough, supernatural to keep you guessing. I'm going to order the other novels now since this one was so good!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2008

    My First Pendergast Novel

    I found this book before knowing about all the other Pendergast novels but it's safe to say this one got me hooked! I love the character and the pace of this book, truly thrilling to read.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2008

    Another spine chiller!

    This was a great story. It never stopped being interesting and kept me on the edge my seat the whole time. Dark, musty museum basements crammed with ancient artifacts are the perfect eerie setting for a good thriller.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2008

    Frigging Good Book

    The Book of the Dead by Douglas Preston, and Lincoln Child is well written. The over all story had many twists and turns in regards to whom was Digeones Pendergast.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2008

    The best of book ever!

    The Book of the Dead had me wanting to read more and more as the action never stopped. This thrilling roller coaster ride of a story always had you thinking one thing but changed to the exact opposite.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2008

    Another success

    I really enjoyed this novel. I do wish, however, that the one character, who will remain unmentioned, that 'died' would make an amazing return in some way... and continue to taunt Pendergast. I really enjoy these outstanding novelists. Keep it up.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2007

    Satisfying Solution

    As the final book of what the authors term 'The Diogenes Trilogy' I was all set for a final battle to the death between Pendergast and his very evil brother Diogenes. I was pleasantly surprised to see the book move in a very different direction. Perhaps too much time was spent in extricating Pendergast from his unjust confinement, but the detailed process was executed with fascinating and belivable precision. As with the other Pendergast books, the strange protagonist manages to carry out his plans with such amazing ability that it is a bit mystifying that Diogenes could have accomplished so much of the mayhem that he has pulled off in the past. It was painful to watch Diogenes in action as he duped the the innocent Constance, but the reversal which happens is both believable and highly satisfying. The character of Constance is one which bears even further development, which I suspect is what will happen in Wheel of Darkness. I certainly hope so!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2013

    I just finished reading this book and ordered the 8th in the ser

    I just finished reading this book and ordered the 8th in the series. Starting with book one and then going forward is the way to go. Each book introduces someone new but included is past characters. This makes for an easier read and quite frankly a sentimental attachment. I am attached to the older characters and their personalities and what they will contribute to the book. The introduction of a new character is just an addition to the family. Pendergrast is what holds it all together and is a must appearance in all the books. I have read 7 books of the series within a short time as I cannot seem to stop myself. Start with book one and you will find that with each book you are drawn into the world of Pendergast and the meeting of old friends.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2012

    One of my favorite crime novels of all time!

    Book of the Dead was my first introduction to Preston and Child and the Pendergast series - and now I'm completely hooked! The plot is so intricate that we're always left guessing who is good and who is bad, and if, perhaps, there are some supernatural forces at work. A brilliant mix of suspense, crime, psychology, and history - this book won't disappoint readers of many genres - and will probably having you running into your local Natural History museum asap! Preston and Child have a wonderful writing style that sucks you in, terrifies you, and won't let you go until the final battle. Agent Pendergast at his finest!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2012

    Another excellent entry to the series.

    The authors have once again created a page turner that you simply cannot put down. You become engaged in the fates of all the characters. What a spectacular story they weave!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Really 10 stars

    How do Preston and Child come up with the plot twists, turn of events, original plot lines, unique characters and weave everything into an incredible story? I don't know, but they amaze me and I'm hooked on their books. I thorougly enjoy how not only the Pendergast character has developed, but Smithback, Nora Kelly - and of course, Vincent. The Pendergast "brain" just always amazes....

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2008

    'Dead' indeed

    This was just awful. The characters, the writing, the plot. All of it was a joke. Really bad stuff. Stick to the better known names in this genre.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2007

    What a wonderful surprise!!!

    This is the first Preston/Child book I have read. What a delight! Quick read, suspensful, great characters, intricate plot and just enough reality to keep you looking over your shoulder. I'm hooked and recommend this book to great mystery fans.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    cerebral mystery within non-stop adventure

    Serial killer FBI special agent Aloysius Pendergast is serving time in solitary confinement in upstate New York¿s Herkmoor Federal Correctional Facility, a maximum security prison that no one has ever escaped from. At the same time that the disgraced Fed assumes his adversarial brother Diogenes set him up, the New York Museum of Natural History is trapped in scandal, embarrassment and fabrication. The museum has been exposed by the media concealing that dust is what has become of the priceless diamond collection stolen by them during a less than ethical era and recently purloined by Diogenes. --- To distract the public, the museum hires archaeologist Nora Kelly and British Museum Egyptologist Dr. Adrian Wicherly to reconstruct the Tomb of Senef from artifacts in their basement. The plan is to dazzle wealthy patrons and the press especially her spouse a New York Times reporter, who broke the diamond story. Adrian realizes that the tomb's hieroglyphics include a curse of insanity on whoever besmirches it, which happens as workers and visitors become crazed murderers. FBI agent Vinnie D'Agosta frees his peer Aloysius from prison while Diogenes stands trial for murder. --- Though THE BOOK OF THE DEAD is exciting and can stand alone, newcomers should first read the previous Special Agent Pendergast thrillers (see DANCE OF DEATH and BRIMSTONE) because this tale ties up the dangling participles from the previous novels. The story line is action-packed with supernatural overtones and homage to Holmes and Moriarty gripping readers from start to finish as Douglas J. Preston and Lincoln Child deliver a terrific thriller that never takes a breather. No one combines a cerebral (think Holmes) mystery with non-stop adventure (this team wrote RELIC) than this pair as they prove this once again. --- Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 27, 2014

    Highly Recommended

    This book is one that will keep you on your toes. Each page keeps you reading more. Can't put the book down. This is an awesome series and you must read every one in order. Highly additive.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2013

    Gj tuyo

    Yitu . Yt

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2013

    As usual, I cannot put this book down. What a story!

    As usual, I cannot put this book down. What a story!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2013

    Excellent

    I always enjoy following A. X. L. Pendergast.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 21, 2013

    Excellent detective series - play with your mind a bit

    This 7th books doesn't end the series but offers some closure on events and, if you've read others by these guys you'll welcome the background character development. These authors reward Nook reading where slightly unfamiliar words can be quickly looked-up and added to your vocabulary.

    Wouldn't it be neat if Barnes & Noble hosted a Preston & Child night for six weeks or so and facilitated discussion! They could even use this series as a way to help people understand additional ways to use their Nook.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2013

    Good read

    I loved this book. I have read almost the whole series and could read for hours. However if there is a problem with Barnes and noble customer service emails never get an answer and calling them I just get transferred to departments end up going in circles.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 207 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 11