Customer Reviews for

The Book of the Dead (Special Agent Pendergast Series #7)

Average Rating 4
( 206 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(115)

4 Star

(51)

3 Star

(22)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 159 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8
  • Posted October 25, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    GREAT BOOK!

    Loved this book. Although it doesn't have to be read in sequence---this is the first Pendergrast novel I have read, it does have references to prior events and would probably be even better read it sequence. Characters are odd enough to hold your attention, plot with the Egyptian tomb was really good. It had enough, supernatural to keep you guessing. I'm going to order the other novels now since this one was so good!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2008

    Another spine chiller!

    This was a great story. It never stopped being interesting and kept me on the edge my seat the whole time. Dark, musty museum basements crammed with ancient artifacts are the perfect eerie setting for a good thriller.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2008

    Frigging Good Book

    The Book of the Dead by Douglas Preston, and Lincoln Child is well written. The over all story had many twists and turns in regards to whom was Digeones Pendergast.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2007

    Satisfying Solution

    As the final book of what the authors term 'The Diogenes Trilogy' I was all set for a final battle to the death between Pendergast and his very evil brother Diogenes. I was pleasantly surprised to see the book move in a very different direction. Perhaps too much time was spent in extricating Pendergast from his unjust confinement, but the detailed process was executed with fascinating and belivable precision. As with the other Pendergast books, the strange protagonist manages to carry out his plans with such amazing ability that it is a bit mystifying that Diogenes could have accomplished so much of the mayhem that he has pulled off in the past. It was painful to watch Diogenes in action as he duped the the innocent Constance, but the reversal which happens is both believable and highly satisfying. The character of Constance is one which bears even further development, which I suspect is what will happen in Wheel of Darkness. I certainly hope so!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2012

    Another excellent entry to the series.

    The authors have once again created a page turner that you simply cannot put down. You become engaged in the fates of all the characters. What a spectacular story they weave!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    cerebral mystery within non-stop adventure

    Serial killer FBI special agent Aloysius Pendergast is serving time in solitary confinement in upstate New York¿s Herkmoor Federal Correctional Facility, a maximum security prison that no one has ever escaped from. At the same time that the disgraced Fed assumes his adversarial brother Diogenes set him up, the New York Museum of Natural History is trapped in scandal, embarrassment and fabrication. The museum has been exposed by the media concealing that dust is what has become of the priceless diamond collection stolen by them during a less than ethical era and recently purloined by Diogenes. --- To distract the public, the museum hires archaeologist Nora Kelly and British Museum Egyptologist Dr. Adrian Wicherly to reconstruct the Tomb of Senef from artifacts in their basement. The plan is to dazzle wealthy patrons and the press especially her spouse a New York Times reporter, who broke the diamond story. Adrian realizes that the tomb's hieroglyphics include a curse of insanity on whoever besmirches it, which happens as workers and visitors become crazed murderers. FBI agent Vinnie D'Agosta frees his peer Aloysius from prison while Diogenes stands trial for murder. --- Though THE BOOK OF THE DEAD is exciting and can stand alone, newcomers should first read the previous Special Agent Pendergast thrillers (see DANCE OF DEATH and BRIMSTONE) because this tale ties up the dangling participles from the previous novels. The story line is action-packed with supernatural overtones and homage to Holmes and Moriarty gripping readers from start to finish as Douglas J. Preston and Lincoln Child deliver a terrific thriller that never takes a breather. No one combines a cerebral (think Holmes) mystery with non-stop adventure (this team wrote RELIC) than this pair as they prove this once again. --- Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2013

    Gj tuyo

    Yitu . Yt

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2013

    Excellent

    I always enjoy following A. X. L. Pendergast.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 21, 2013

    Excellent detective series - play with your mind a bit

    This 7th books doesn't end the series but offers some closure on events and, if you've read others by these guys you'll welcome the background character development. These authors reward Nook reading where slightly unfamiliar words can be quickly looked-up and added to your vocabulary.

    Wouldn't it be neat if Barnes & Noble hosted a Preston & Child night for six weeks or so and facilitated discussion! They could even use this series as a way to help people understand additional ways to use their Nook.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2013

    Good read

    I loved this book. I have read almost the whole series and could read for hours. However if there is a problem with Barnes and noble customer service emails never get an answer and calling them I just get transferred to departments end up going in circles.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 2, 2012

    Always like Pendergast

    Another in a good series. Lots of action, good read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 30, 2012

    More! We want more!

    The cast of characters by installment #7 should be well known to all. Agent Pendergast continues to do amazing things in an astounding way, and together with his brother, this is NOT a book with which to read yourself to sleep.
    I have a slight disagreement with the collaborators, and suggest the entire portfolio be read in order of creation. Looking forward to further adventures, Agent Pendergast is decidedly not a "regular guy".

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 13, 2012

    A good read

    I've loved this character from the first book. This book has a lot of twists and turns, Pendergast as you've never seen him.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2012

    Another great book!

    This book was a little slow starting out, but picked up nicely, a great book as all the rest in the Pendergast series has been!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 15, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Diogenes Trilogy Comes to an End

    I was looking forward to the final installment to the trilogy. Everything before the opening of the tomb was great. Nice twist at the end but you started to see it coming. I was just so disappointed with the last 100 pages or so. Just a waste. Over 60 pages of Pendergast following Constance following Diogenes with a laughable anti-climatic ending to the main villian.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 1, 2010

    Give me more

    I have thoroughly enjoyed another several hours of shere enjoyment listening to this story.I recommend this series over and over again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 10, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Rene Auberjonois should not be a "reader"

    This was an interesting story, although the abridged version left a lot out and was kind of hard to follow. The reader Rene Auberjonois "sucked".

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2009

    A great book with lots of adventure

    I listened to this while cleaning around the house. The first CD is a bit confusing if you aren't paying close attention to the names. It is a good book that keeps you very active in listening. I had to stop cleaning a few times because I was enthralled with the drama. The acting on the CDs was very good and it is an important aspect anytime you are listening to a book. I will listen to this again and I don't say that often.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 19, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    The Book of the Dead was Anything but Dead!

    I don't know where to begin reviewing this book (cd). I was two steps behind solving this every step of the way. The characters were great, the plot fantastic and enough action for a Bond movie. This was a WOW.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Did not Finish

    I did not finish this on compact disc. Maybe the book is better - but could not listen to this and drive - plot to hard to follow. Nowdays I do most of my books on Compact Disc. This is the first in a long time I did not finish. I have read/ or listened to their other books and they were great.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 159 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8