Customer Reviews for

The Book of the Dead

Average Rating 4
( 160 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(90)

4 Star

(34)

3 Star

(20)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

My First Pendergast Novel

I found this book before knowing about all the other Pendergast novels but it's safe to say this one got me hooked! I love the character and the pace of this book, truly thrilling to read.

posted by Anonymous on August 20, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

'Dead' indeed

This was just awful. The characters, the writing, the plot. All of it was a joke. Really bad stuff. Stick to the better known names in this genre.

posted by Anonymous on January 5, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted January 27, 2009

    Why go to Italy?

    I know at least one of the authors has lived in Florence, but it doesn't have to be in every book. The first part of the story was good, but the chase through Florence seemed more like the author just demonstrating his knowledge of the place, rather than being essential to the story. The last two chapters were just a little too clean and easy, considering the build up. Still, the first part of the story was exciting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2006

    ok book

    This book was my least fav in the series like the book was a little rushed and they just said ok just add the frist thing we think of to it. Over all it was a ok book but you must read the other 2 books befor this One or youll just feel lost and wont like it at all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2006

    Rhymes With Dastardly

    Messers Preston and Child are brilliant. Capable of creating characters of quirky and often breathtaking ingenuity, scenarios of genuine terror. I've been hooked on their books since the beginning, and thought I would happily read anything they put out. As it happened, this was my chance to prove it. Not to say Book of the Dead is bad, necessarily. Just . . . contrived. While all PrestonChild books thus far have been enjoyable and quotable, this is the first that seems to have been written with blatant attempt at getting a theatrical release . . . or perhaps it's own soap opera. Pendergast's aided escape from prison is brilliant, and there are some thumping good scenes all throughout, but the end is a bit, well . . . Unhappily, Pendergast and Co. seem to be giving up the ghost. Gone is the overlapping, sneaky, delightful plot in it's place is a generally straightforward chase after Pendergast's irregular baby brother, Diogenes, complete with seduction, diamonds, smooches, and foot races. It's almost as though the writers were pressured to finish this quickly rather than well. To put it simply, I feel a little cheated here is everything in a handful of blockbuster summer movie titles reheated and stirred into a rather unappealing lump. I bought the last two Pendergast books immediately upon their release I think I'll wait for the next to hit the library shelves. But not if it incorporates any more of the sad, unappetising little plot twists like the one featured on the last page of this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2006

    A little disappointing

    I love Pendergast and all the characters, but I wasn't impressed with the 'Event' which reminded me too much of Malin Hatch & his brother's death from RIPTIDE. The insanity-inducing strobe lightshow seemed hardly something that would have been Diogenes' big finale and life's work. Viola Maskalene was a more boring character in this book. I didn't remember her being an Egyptologist at all. The prison scenes were predictable. The Egyptian Senef curse thing lure was strong, but it was so contrived here as was Menzies sudden appearance. The pages turn quickly and the excitement builds beautifully, but it didn't carry me away like their other books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2