Customer Reviews for

Book of the Dead (Kay Scarpetta Series #15)

Average Rating 3.5
( 444 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(198)

4 Star

(77)

3 Star

(48)

2 Star

(61)

1 Star

(60)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Outstaning Book

You go Patricia, this is a great book! All my friends love it and they are buying it for their family members for Christmas. We just can't wait to see what Dr. Kay has going next. We like Lucy too, she is something else. What a wonderful writer you are. All we can say i...
You go Patricia, this is a great book! All my friends love it and they are buying it for their family members for Christmas. We just can't wait to see what Dr. Kay has going next. We like Lucy too, she is something else. What a wonderful writer you are. All we can say is you go Girl keep up the great work. I think what makes you such a good writer is that you live in the world you write about.

posted by Anonymous on November 18, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

I Quit

I have read all Cornwell's Scarpetta novels and with each one I found myself liking the books less and less. Now I quit! I don't think I can endure Cornwell's writing or the character,Kay Scarpetta. Scarpetta, with each novel, becomes more and more self-centered and ...
I have read all Cornwell's Scarpetta novels and with each one I found myself liking the books less and less. Now I quit! I don't think I can endure Cornwell's writing or the character,Kay Scarpetta. Scarpetta, with each novel, becomes more and more self-centered and arrogant. It is apparent in each novel that she thinks she is better than everyone else. She constantly puts Pete down because of his lack of education, his grammer, and his appearance. (When he does lose weight, it is weeks before she even mentions noticing it to him.) Eventually, the only character I was left liking was Pete, and with this novel she even makes him unlikable. As I read 'Book of the Dead,' I felt like I was reading a first draft because each chapter began with an incomplete sentence stating the location and time. There were many, many places in the book where Cromwell did this. She also kept repeating, word for word, from previous chapters and from her previous books as though she didn't have enough new material for this book, or just didn't care enough to come up with something new. I usually read her books in one or two days, but this one took me almost two weeks to finish. I started reading and became angry with the characters. The story was confusing and I got bored with. I would put the book away for a while, soometimes even days, then would try reading it again. I kept doing this for the duration of the book. When I finally finished it, I felt drained. I have never liked the abrupt endings to her books, and this one didn't stray from that. It seems like even Cornwell gets bored and just wants the story to end so she rushes through to get it over with.

posted by Anonymous on April 30, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 61 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2008

    Oh, Patricia, what happened to your fine writing

    I think Patricia Cornwell needs to go back and re-read her first book. I used to love her books. She was kind to Martino even though he drove her nuts and she loved her niece. She loved cooking for them. I miss the life they used to share.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 19, 2009

    Worst in the Scarpetta series by far.

    Poorly conceived and executed. The author, usually one of my favorites, had a really bad book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 20, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Big Disappointment

    All this book offered was thousands of dull, boring conversations. Very little action and I could have cared less about the characters. The relationship (?) between Benton and Kay was dull. The off the wall Lucy was not even remotely likable. She's a spoiled brat. Marino went nutso and nobody really cared...including this reader. And Dr. Self was a self-inflicted bore. I am just sorry I spent so much time trying to get something out of this awful book.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2009

    Giving this author up for good

    I used to love reading these books early in this series when Kay Scarpetta solved murders using forensic science. I gave them up when they became more about the disfunctional charaters in Kay's life than solving murders. I had not read one in a few years so I thought I would give them another try. Big mistake! This book is more wierd psychology than forensic investigation. All of the same charaters are still around and more messed up than ever. I won't try again.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2008

    Don't loose your old fans!

    I have read every book in the Kay Scarpetta series. I fell in love with the characters on the first read....and grew to love them more with each book.....loved their vulnerabilty, their weakness, strengths, and demons. They each had such power and depth as individuals. This book is so disjointed and so technical...I'm a crime buff...but it seems more about the technology than the characters....and nothing feels connected. I don't feel like I'm reading about the characters I know. I'm 3/4 of the way through...and I will finish it....but the only person who's feeling I understand are Marinos. Lucy and Kay are closed up....and Benton.....have long wondered what he is about.....and this book makes it worse...are we supposed to dislike him? Love your writing...and I'm always waiting at the bookstore for your next book...think now I'll wait for some reviews.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2014

    Dazed & Confused

    What has happened to these characters??? I have read all of the Scarpetta series since the first book, and this one just makes no sense! I can't believe how bad it is. Am having a hard time finishing the book. Hopefully the author was just off her game for this one in the series , because usually they are so great you can't put the book down. This is what I am hoping anyway, because I purchased the rest of the series, including the latest, on my Nook.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2014

    Losing Luster

    I used to love the Kay Scarpetta books. I feel like they are slowly declining each book and I am reading them more out of habit then enjoyment.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2010

    Book of Unknown Origin

    I hated the whole book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 15, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Big Let Down

    There was so much more character "development" then really was needed. I found myself bored during much of said development because I was hoping for more development with the mystery at hand. Instead, it seemed like the crime was second to Scarpetta's personal life, which really wasn't very interesting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2008

    Disappointing Read

    I opened this novel with high expectations. Although I had never read a Cornwell novel before, many people said her books are entertaining and worth reading. Unfortunately, I can't say this is the case with Book of the Dead. First of all, I expected the book to be well written, and it is not. For example, chapters typically begin with sentence fragments. Perhaps this is to reflect the way a scientist would write, but I like fluid, florid prose, and Cornwell did not deliver. Second, I found the plot somewhat interesting, but there were times when Cornwell's details and methods of moving the plot forward were confusing and poorly explained. As for the ending itself, it was abrupt and disappointing. I wanted more detail about the villain in the novel, but the author fails to provide satisfying information.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2008

    Disappointing

    Way too much time spent on the emotional/health issues of Scarpetta, Marino and Rose. I usually love Cornwell's books but this one was not worth reading. This is one Cornwell book that won't stay on my bookshelf.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2008

    What happened to Cornwell?

    If I wanted to read someones political opinions, I'd go to the internet or buy a book on politics!I wanted to be entertained but found no recognition of any of the main characters in this book!I won't be so quick to pick up the next Cornwell book, I think I'm finished with her.The politics really turned me off!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2008

    Confusion and Disappointment

    I've read all her novels and I'm almost finished with this book and still have the feeling that I was just dropped into the middle of something that still isn't clear. It's like we've missed out on the part where she explains who these characters are. This book is so dis-jointed that it's hard to keep track of the characters and I'm still trying to grasp the story line. Yikes Patricia....did you really write this book?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2008

    Book of Torture and Hate

    Okay, I get it, Patricia Cornwell hates President Bush and hates the War in Iraq. Her right, her opinion. But why does she hate her five primo characters that have made her millions - Scarpetta, Benton, Lucy, Marino and Rose? Why does she hate her readers? Cornwell is torturing her characters - such a miserable, sad, unhealthy group of people. And, she is torturing readers. Thank heavens someone gave me the book and I did not have to spend my money on it. I am a devoted Cornwell fan and have read everything she has written. But will I ever again? Only if someone gives me a copy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2008

    Stop Already!

    Kay Scarpetta was, at the beginning, a great character. Ms. Cornwell was...and I'm sure still is...a great author. But, it is time to stop this nonsense already! For someone who started her writing based in real-life (Timothy Spencer and the 64 killings), she has gone way too far. People don't follow people all over the country to work with them. Maybe one close associate...but the Scarpetta clan started in Richmond and has followed her everywhere! It is not reasonable and, apparently, it is showing in her characterizations. The Scarpetta novels have been going downhill for a while. Try something else to show us your true skills in writing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2008

    BAD CHRISTMAS WISH

    I was so excited to receive this as a Christmas gift and couldn't wait to start reading. Wish I had asked for a bag of cookies instead! Kay was boring, Lucy was lost and Marino was a looser! I skipped over page after page and still was not interested in the book-it jumped around to much and never finished out a scene. Maybe its time to kill off everyone and start fresh with new characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2008

    What's happened to Patricia Cornwell's writing?!

    I've been reading her novels for over 15 years with great pleasure and anticipation. Her earlier works had me riveted. But the most recent books are just not the same caliber. The characters are becoming unlikeable, whiny, and repetitious. I think this will be my last Cornwell book...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2008

    What happened to her writing?

    I was really disappointed with this Kay Scarpetta novel. In fact, I have been disappointed with the last 2. It seems like they are not really written by Cornwell. I used to look forward to her next book and pre-order it. But...I may wait for them to be available at the library in the future so I don¿t spend the money on them. I agree with another post¿too much drama and not enough forensics.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2008

    Book of the Dead is dead

    Come on Patricia! Enough already. I've read EVERY book you've written. This one, and Predator, is so not like the Patricia Cornwell I've loved for years. Readers want characters they can feel for [doesn't have to be a 'good' character] and plots that make us want to turn pages and not put the book down. I put this one down, unfinished. :-(

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2008

    First Cornwell novel I didn't finish

    Never made it past Chapter 3. Scarpetta gets more paranoid & bizarre, and the mood of Cornwell's books keeps getting darker. She's morphed Scarpetta into a character I don't particularly like anymore. For that reason, I won't buy a Cornwell book, instead I borrow them from our local library. That way, I'm not disappointed AND out the money.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 61 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4